Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chris Morris - Four Lions

• 23-01-2010 9:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9

Had it's premiere at Sundance today

Thank god he's back - Bring on the controversy!
    looks excellent. Can't wait to watch, hope it gets a general release over here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RYfYkO00-JU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

I love Chris Morris, i'm betting this movie will be a hoot!

But doing a movie on Jihadists? I'm not sure he got the memo about them being able to take a joke!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 nuimdave

At long last a movie poking fun at this topic that so many bury their heads in the sand with. and who better than the man who gave us brass eye. will it be showing in many cinemas here though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭Doctor Zaius

Can not wait for this!! Chris Morris, you are a genius.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭rubensni

As it's coming out in the cinema no one can censor him, thank fcuk.

rubensni wrote: »
    As it's coming out in the cinema no one can censor him, thank fcuk.

No one ever censors material shown in the cinema. Not the studios, not the distributors, not the censors office, not the local councils, nobody,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭rubensni

No one ever censors material shown in the cinema. Not the studios, not the distributors, not the censors office, not the local councils, nobody,
    He went to the BBC and Channel 4 first, but they turned him down. So he made it independently precisely to avoid it being censored.
    Why do you think it's debuting at Sundance (an independent film festival). Also, the US has very strict freedom of speech laws so by debuting it there he can get it into the UK press prior to the (inevitable) backlash from religious groups. The Monty Python lads did the same with The Life of Brian, which opened in New York.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Despite it being Chris Morris, I thought the film might be slightly tame. No chance of that, having seen the trailer! Looks excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Chris Morris is a genius and this is why......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

You have got to admire the stones on Chris Morris when you see the trailer for his new film 'Four Lions' which looks to a bit like 'Jihad meets The Office'.
    I've always believed that if you want to really undermine the power of some particularly odious ideology, the best way to do so is to mock it's absurditites. Morris is a master satirist and absolutely fearless, which you have to be to make propper satire work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

I'm a huge fan of everything Morris has done, but to me the trailer looks a bit "meh". Hardly cracked a smile, that said though, the man's got a proven track record, i'll definitely be going to see this one

edit: another trailer here: http://www.slashfilm.com/2010/03/17/movie-trailer-four-lions/

It says that the peep show creators Sam Bain and Jesse Armstrong co-wrote the film. After watching this trailer, my expectations for the film have plummeted, I'll still give it a chance, but can't say I expect much. This makes me sad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

ya the trailer looks a bit weak, and the best bits are usually shown on a trailer....but i'm still going to see it though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

Ha! Excellent - that's the funniest thing I've seen in a while. Can't wait to see the film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

The trailer is a very meh, but I have plenty of faith in Morris. At the very least it should be more hit than miss.

I just hope we don't have to wait long for a cinematic release here!

EDIT: May 7th then! *jots down on calender*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭fcussen

Duggy747 wrote: »
    The trailer is a very meh, but I have plenty of faith in Morris. At the very least it should be more hit than miss.

I just hope we don't have to wait long for a cinematic release here!

EDIT: May 7th then! *jots down on calender*

Anyone who would have faith in Morris (and Charlie Brooker for that matter) has not seen notorious P.O.S. that is Nathan Barley (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6IiuyxIFxoc) (http://web.ukonline.co.uk/toothpickcompanion/nathan.html) on Channel Four

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Morris is widely acknowledged as a genius for Brasseye but there was a lot of really good writers working on that show, including Graham Linehan.

While i admire the audacity of the man to put himself on the frontline, i'm not entirely sure he is the can do no wrong genius many proclaim him to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

Its released in the IFI this weekend. Does anyone know if it is on in any other Dublin cinemas.
    I've checked Dundrum and Dun Laoighre but no joy. Would prefer to see it in the 'burbs rather than making the trek into the city centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

fcussen wrote: »
    Anyone who would have faith in Morris (and Charlie Brooker for that matter) has not seen notorious P.O.S. that is Nathan Barley (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6IiuyxIFxoc) (http://web.ukonline.co.uk/toothpickcompanion/nathan.html) on Channel Four

Nathan Barley was excellent. It just wasn't what people were expecting after Brasseye so a lot were very dismissive of it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,019 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

I've just watched through the entire, ludicrously good Brass Eye series over the last few days so very much looking forward to it now. Haven't seen the trailer so may possibly have the rare luxury of going in blind!

I'm sure it is going to be in more than the IFI too. Cineworld has it listed on its website anyway, so I'd say the odds are decent of a slightly wider release.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

A friend sent me a trailer of this today. Looks class. Never heard the director before hand but seems to get good reviews.

Its some theme to be taking the piss out of!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭grimm2005

Nathan Barley was excellent. It just wasn't what people were expecting after Brasseye so a lot were very dismissive of it.

Agreed, it was an excellent satire of the "idiot culture"

Can't wait to see this, hopefully it'll be good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I love everything Chris Morris has done (including Nathan Barley, brilliant programme, I really cannot understand the hate for it) and I am so so so excited to see this! The problem is I have absolutely insane expectations of this, so I'm worried I'll be disappointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Fago123

Its released in the IFI this weekend. Does anyone know if it is on in any other Dublin cinemas.
    I've checked Dundrum and Dun Laoighre but no joy. Would prefer to see it in the 'burbs rather than making the trek into the city centre.

Vue in Liffey Valley are showing it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭funlovintapir

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I think I'll be seeing this. I listened to Kermode's review today; he thought it was a more insightful and serious film than the trailers seem to suggest, and not a pure comedy.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭fcussen

Nathan Barley was excellent.

See this is where you're wrong. The subject matter was 5 years behind the times when it came out and the humor was complete David Brent territory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Cactus Colm

phasers wrote: »
    I love everything Chris Morris has done (including Nathan Barley, brilliant programme, I really cannot understand the hate for it) and I am so so so excited to see this! The problem is I have absolutely insane expectations of this, so I'm worried I'll be disappointed.

I saw this in the IFI last night ... and I suspect I may have suffered from those same expectations, because I didn't enjoy it much at all. My enjoyment might also have been hampered by some people in the crowd that would laugh a bit too loud and far too long, at moments that weren't that funny (for the actual funny moments I was afraid these people were gonna spasm their stomachs out of their noses, they laughed that much harder and louder than the rest of the audience).

I suspect though the film may benefit from a repeat viewing when it comes on on dvd, in better viewing surroundings (my sitting room).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭randomchild

Saw it last night in the ifi, thought it was hilarious definitely recommended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,433 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I saw this in the IFI last night ... and I suspect I may have suffered from those same expectations, because I didn't enjoy it much at all. My enjoyment might also have been hampered by some people in the crowd that would laugh a bit too loud and far too long, at moments that weren't that funny (for the actual funny moments I was afraid these people were gonna spasm their stomachs out of their noses, they laughed that much harder and louder than the rest of the audience).

I suspect though the film may benefit from a repeat viewing when it comes on on dvd, in better viewing surroundings (my sitting room).
    I laughed out for most of the movie, and so did everyone else, were you the grumpy lad with the ruck-sack?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Enjoyed it a lot, thought it was a lot more poignant than belly-laughing funny.
    Have everything by Chris Morris from "Why Bother" up to "My Wrongs...".
    Agree with the poster about the above and beyond laughter from some of the crowd.
    Almost like they THOUGHT they should laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,955 ✭✭✭rizzla

Birneybau wrote: »
    Agree with the poster about the above and beyond laughter from some of the crowd.

yeah , I'd agree with that too although I laughed pretty hard at the
    is a wookie a bear bit. It just went on for so
    long and the cops were so
    serious.

Great movie, hope the DVD comes with a directors commentary.

rizzla wrote: »
    serious.

Jesus christ i didn't know the laughter cops were hiding amongst the punters!!
    It seems there may be a few extra scenes for the dvd, for example, Empire has a pic of Barry and the rapper dude at what seems to be their own training camp in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭rgt320q

Caught a trailer for it the other night, looks pretty damn funny (with a good dose of satire). Will definitely have to check it out soon enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭Memnoch

How about you remove your thumb from....

Maybe other people found things funny in the movie that you didn't? Personally, there was a lot of irony and subtlety in the movie as well as some really intelligent commentary, and I found the irony especially quite funny and so did the Mrs.

Is this what watching movies has come to now? You can't laugh at something you find funny because someone else isn't smart enough to appreciate the subtlety or humour?

Reading some of the reviews (especially the one in the Metro which seems especially ignorant), I think a lot of people are missing out on the true brilliance underneath the film.

Memnoch wrote: »

Is this what watching movies has come to now? You can't laugh at something you find funny because someone else isn't smart enough to appreciate the subtlety or humour?

Got me bang to rights there guvnor.
    All bow down to the superior man, the man with a triple digit IQ .
    Thought It was gonna be like "Meet the Spartans"..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

F*ck Mini Babybels!

Got me bang to rights there guvnor.
    All bow down to the superior man, the man with a triple digit IQ .
    Thought It was gonna be like "Meet the Spartans"..

This is the problem with sarcasm on the internet...

The irony here is that both Cactus Colm's original post and your addendum re: people laughing too hard at stuff that wasn't really funny, smacked of superiority and high mindedness. "Oh look at those inferior mortals trying so hard to pretend they get the joke that isn't really that funny to begin with, if only they were as "triple digit IQ as me," they would realise the error of their mortal ways, *yawn* *yawn* I'm so bored by the mediocrity around me *yawn* *yawn*"

So my (tongue in cheek) comment was simply to point out, that sometimes, it's okay to have different points of view, and not everyone has to find the same thing funny, but really, if your trying to imply or assert that your smarter/better than any of us because you didn't find it funny, well, your statement only goes to prove the opposite.

Have a nice day.

Oh, I got the film, dont worry about that.
    I merely thought it was far better than an out and out comedy.
    I recognised how subtle the underlying humour and tone were.

I really cant see the sarcasm in your post, sorry.

Humour is subjective : http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055766664

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

I haven't seen this movie but I don't see why everybody's ganging up on this statement - I've experienced it a few times myself. The initial buzz on how funny this movie is doesn't really match up with this weekends reviews, where even critics that liked it (such as Kermode) didn't find it that funny. When I saw The Dark Knight I had a guy sat next to me that laughed or gave a short smirky laugh after every single thing Heath Ledger did or said in the movie - even when it was just wasn't intended to be comical or was ridiculously subtle. Again this was most likely because the pre-release buzz about that performance was deafening that he probably was looking (subconsciously or not) to wring enjoyment out of every single details of Ledger. It happens sometimes and it can be really distracting, I don't think the poster is trying to be the "humour police"

I'm just saying....i laughed a lot at this movie....so F**ing what....i paid in, as did my friends, we were looking forward to it for years, it put me in good humour, the characters were so damn loveable, the story was funny why wouldn't people laugh?? The reason I am getting pissed off with these stupid comments is because they seem to follow paticular events. The last one i recall was comedian Stewert Lee. I went to Stewert Lee, I enjoyed Stewert lee and I laughed at stewert lee. Next day i log in here and some goon is giving out about people laughing at the wrong times....Elitism at it's finest.

I really cant see the sarcasm in your post, sorry.

Humour is subjective : http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055766664

The original post took an elitist and high minded stance against people who were "laughing too much." at the film, painting them as people who we're acting sheep like and following expectation rather than taking the material at it's merit. I countered this with an elitist and high minded stance against people who "didn't get the humour" and those laughing at the film, and pointed out that in fact, the original points or the posters making them weren't half as clever as they liked to think of themselves.

I believe this form of riposte is commonly referred to as a taste of your own medicine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

The original post took an elitist and high minded stance against people who were "laughing too much." at the film, painting them as people who we're acting sheep like and following expectation rather than taking the material at it's merit. I countered this with an elitist and high minded stance against people who "didn't get the humour" and those laughing at the film, and pointed out that in fact, the original points or the posters making them weren't half as clever as they liked to think of themselves.

I believe this form of riposte is commonly referred to as a taste of your own medicine.
    For what it's worth, I thought your intention was crystal clear, and that anyone who feels that they have the absolute measure of how funny something should be for someone else is an ignorant mini babybel. Now, could we please get back on topic?

I liked the movie quite a bit. A scattering of good lines wasn't enough to make it side-splitting, but I think the satire will mature on repeat viewings.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

I saw this last night, and I thought it was great. For the first time in ages I'm considering going to see a film at the cinema a second time, in fact. I thought Morris & co did a great job of mixing up some great lines and dialogue with some excellent slapstick, and I couldn't stop laughing and giggling throughout pretty much the whole film.
    Do it Barry! Punch yourself in the face Barry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Cactus Colm

I laughed out for most of the movie, and so did everyone else, were you the grumpy lad with the ruck-sack?
    Enjoyed it a lot, thought it was a lot more poignant than belly-laughing funny.
    Have everything by Chris Morris from "Why Bother" up to "My Wrongs...".
    rizzla wrote: »
    serious.

Well now, my original post wasn't intended to be high minded, or elitist, I'm sorry it hurt your feelings so much. But these laughs did annoy the hell out of me. It's annoying to have some gonk's hollow laughter ringing around the cinema when you're trying to enjoy a film.

You paid into the cinema the same as everyone else? so what? So did the chap who insists on making and taking phone calls, so did the gaggle of girls who talk loudly through the whole film, the kids kicking the back of your chair, and the teens huffing glue at the back. Paying doesn't give you green light to annoy the rest of the cinema going audience.

To me, these laughs were hollow, didn't sound real. They seemed to be an attempt by the few people making them to convince everyone else that they got the jokes, as if to say "HEY LOOK AT ME! I REALLY GET CHRIS MORRIS AND THIS MOVIE!"

Now, maybe I'm wrong, maybe they were real laughs, and if they were made by someone reading this, well now they know to be a bit more considerate at the movies. There are limits for everything when you go to the cinema, whether it's getting up to use the bathroom multiple times, making noise with your crisp bags, chatting with your pals; you have to take into consideration those around you and how your actions affect their viewing of the film.

At least I was a good bit away from "the laughers" god help those who had to sit close to them, must have had the patience of a saint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Noelieboats

I'm inclined to agree with Cactus Colm I venture to the horrorthon every year a lot of the films are low grade 80's B films and other sort of stupid films that you watch for the badness. An island of crappy voodoo dolls or Night of the lepus with giant rabbits attacking a town when it was in fact a scale model of a town and normal rabbits, stupid stuff for sure, and I laughed my heart out a lot but there is a small fraction of people who go every year and really really go overboard.

One example would be for your heights only which stars a 2 foot tall phillipino james bond type character, cheap and funny. There was 3 guys seated near me maybe one girl and they pretty much ruined the film at one point a car drove through some boxes during a chase scene and I think one of them nearly fell out of their chair laughing. It was fake. Sometimes you think "I could be wrong" but mostly it's pretty easy to tell and you can tell that a lot of people there are thinking the same as you.

I don't think Cactus Colm is being Elitist by sharing an opinion on a public forum after the film and if he was the laughter police he would of made himself known during the film cause those assh*les always do.

No, he's just the kind of "elitist laughter police," that's too cowardly to say anything directly to people's faces and can only do so under the safety of the umbrella offered by anonymity on the internet.

Also, comparing people talking, or kicking seats, or using their phones, to someone laughing during a comedy is moronic.

My last words on this subject echo those of the very funny John Stewart who said recently to Fox News and co.

Colm Cactus and anyone who wants to presume to tell people what they can and can't laugh at: Go f**k yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Hrududu

I havent seen this yet but I have been subject to the type of thing Cactus Colm is talking about. In the IFI too. In my case it was lots of knowing 'Hmm hmm' type laughter. It did my head in.

No, he's just the kind of "elitist laughter police," that's too cowardly to say anything directly to people's faces and can only do so under the safety of the umbrella offered by anonymity on the internet.

Also, comparing people talking, or kicking seats, or using their phones, to someone laughing during a comedy is moronic.

My last words on this subject echo those of the very funny John Stewart who said recently to Fox News and co.

Go f**k yourself.

I should go **** myself for trying to portray an opinion without directly upset anybody in particular?

And you call Colm an elitist coward?

You directly tell me to go **** myself from your keyboard and call somebody else a coward?

Hypocrisy, come on in.

And then quoting a comedian who's a real hellraiser on the political scene in america just to say go f**k yourself really shows what a left wing against the grain keyboard hero you are who only came to boards.ie to kick ass and chew bubblegum and "SHOCK" you're almost out of bubblegum. I mean go **** yourself is universal you could of just said it but no I need to know that you are the kind of guy who watches John Stewart.

I don't want to argue though you are entitled to your opinion.

Or to quote Salvador Dali, nietzsche, Rutger Hauer and brandon Lee's The Crow

"I don't want to argue You're entitled to your opinion"

I should go **** myself for trying to portray an opinion without directly upset anybody in particular?

And you call Colm an elitist coward?

You directly tell me to go **** myself from your keyboard and call somebody else a coward?

Hypocrisy, come on in.

And then quoting a comedian who's a real hellraiser on the political scene in america just to say go f**k yourself really shows what a left wing against the grain keyboard hero you are who only came to boards.ie to kick ass and chew bubblegum and "SHOCK" you're almost out of bubblegum. I mean go **** yourself is universal you could of just said it but no I need to know that you are the kind of guy who watches John Stewart.

I don't want to argue though you are entitled to your opinion.

Or to quote Salvador Dali, nietzsche, Rutger Hauer and brandon Lee's The Crow

"I don't want to argue You're entitled to your opinion"

Err... bad misuse of the quote option by me, the "go f yourself," was directed at Colm, and anyone else who presumes to tell people what they can or can't laugh at. Will edit my post above to reflect this.

Sincerest apologies.

Well I must admit that took the wind out of my sails. Apology accepted.