Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Old Mill Airsoft Site

• 23-01-2010 8:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,606 ✭✭✭✭
    Master of the Universe

Just got a request from droghedaairsoft asking to make an announcement about a new airsoft site they're opening up.

It's called Old Mill Airsoft and will be based in the Old Mill Hotel Julianstown.

It will be open tomorrow from 10am and is priced at 15 euro for a half day and 25 for a full day.

Gun rentals are 20 euro
    BBs are 10 euro.

Good luck with the site lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

sounds interesting, look forward to seeing some pictures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,120 ✭✭✭moggser

i could be very wrong but is this the place
    ~??
    old-mill-007.jpg

9aDReND6gz1YAhE8uErHbslygSSOyAAFJZOEElVhHIRtPXBpZSZoPTQ1MA==.jpg

ghGMRql_M5Weib19DJGN4Jy5fxkSBRTVbB7TATSytcFtPXBpZSZoPTQ1MA==.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 droghedaairsoft

Puding wrote: »
    sounds interesting, look forward to seeing some pictures

COME OUT AND PLAY SEE FOR YOUR SELF MAN WORTH UR WHILE

YE IT IS COME OUT IT CLEANED UP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

I don't know the area, but is that a housing estate behind it?

last i remember from it is that it is fairly open so i wont comment on it

im sure John knows what he is doin and has all the proper permissions sorted

YE HE DOSE WERE WE PLAYED THERE TODAY BRILLIANT U WONT NO TIL YE PLAY IT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

YE HE DOSE WERE WE PLAYED THERE TODAY BRILLIANT U WONT NO TIL YE PLAY IT

please stop SHOUTING as your giving me a HEADACHE!!!!!

Spent a few summers there when it was also a pub want to play there now best of luck with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭Private Snafu

looks great :) will hafta get up for a game soon.

best of luck with the site :)

we need people to play tomorrow help us get this up and running anyone call out tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭KonFusion

Looks like it could have a lot of potential.

If ya's need a website done up, pm me :)

are these the right photos, seems very interesting but very open to the public with over looking houses and stuff :(

KonFusion wrote: »
    Looks like it could have a lot of potential.

If ya's need a website done up, pm me :)

its ok man we do our own but thanks

are these the right photos, seems very interesting but very open to the public with over looking houses and stuff :(

not as open as u think we dont use that house part as a office we dont play near the road and them house's are further then u think man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

Any pics of the site cleaned up?

From the pics there it looks like its not particularly safe, what did your safety assessor for your insurance say? Is the building condemned?

gerrowadat wrote: »
    Any pics of the site cleaned up?

From the pics there it looks like its not particularly safe, what did your safety assessor for your insurance say? Is the building condemned?

were in process of taking pics of the place and doing a vid for it

what about the bridge over looking it man id worry about that tbh

andy_g wrote: »
    what about the bridge over looking it man id worry about that tbh

we dont play near the bridge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭FingalAirsoft

not as open as u think we dont use that house part as a office we dont play near the road and them house's are further then u think man

Best of luck with the new site guys:)

I do have one concern and that is that if you are driving north on the N1 through the town of Julianstown as you come down the hill you can see most of the site including the carpark that is to the far left of the photos posted above, I hope you have notified the Gardaí or you'll be getting alot of visits from them as people drive by and see guys with guns and then report it.:(:(

Best of luck with the new site guys:)

I do have one concern and that is that if you are driving north on the N1 through the town of Julianstown as you come down the hill you can see most of the site including the carpark that is to the far left of the photos posted above, I hope you have notified the Gardaí or you'll be getting alot of visits from them as people drive by and see guys with guns and then report it.:(:(

dont worry man gardai have been notified come down tomorrow have a game

were in process of taking pics of the place and doing a vid for it

You didn't answer my question. Was there a risk assessment done on the site, and is the structure condemned?

gerrowadat wrote: »
    and is the structure condemned?

as far as i know after talking to someone earlier i heard it was a listed building i maybe wrong though but will still pop up :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Sod'o swords

I've visited the pub before it was burnt down, and eh, yeah.. Good luck with that..

andy_g wrote: »
    as far as i know after talking to someone earlier i heard it was a listed building i maybe wrong though but will still pop up :)

http://www.myhome.ie/commercial/brochure/the-old-mill-hotel-grounds-main-street-julianstown-co-meath/166935

Says it's a listed building. It also is selling the site as a devlopment site, which means the building is beyond use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭FingalAirsoft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭cormac128

thinking of useing my firstweek of my mid term to see all the dublin sites might need more than a weekend

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

Best of luck with the site. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Airsoft Reloded

Best of luck John, I'll have to get up for a wee game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,348 ✭✭✭Rhinocharge

Best of luck with it. :):):)

if the site is cleaned up and you have a safety statement to show all here why dont you instead of trying to heard as many cattle in the door

the way them pic's are it looks like if a snadgie farted one of them walls might tumble down

i have to say it dont look one bit safe let alone the fact as was pointed out that ya might get fronted with members of the Eru who have the real slingbackers

How did it go today John, good times?

How was the first day? Any pics or vids?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭JonnyTwoCombs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,829 ✭✭✭Stone.cold

moggser wrote: »
    if the site is cleaned up and you have a safety statement to show

doesnt look to cleaned up??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

In all fairness, it looks far too unsafe to be skirmishing in. Far too many safety hazards from what I saw. How did you manage insurance for that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭k99_64

U can hit the cars going by!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭Silent Death

All true, but its gritty and wrecked, like an abandoned house should be, looks good fun to have a go in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭gungun

if some auld wan was going by in the car they couldnt easily see this,
    i think my granny would be slightly alarmed by the site of it

Thats a directed vid Johnny, looks fun.

Eh, what the hell?

The players there are plainly visible from the road, you can see the windows of the cars going by.

They're playing inside what is both a listed and condemned building.

This is seriously dodgy, and the visibility from the road means that everyone in that vid at the start can be done for a firearms offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭AlternateID

I know this place. Drove past it recently. You can see in clearly from the road driving north as you enter the village. Anyone that goes there would be lucky not to be arrested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 913 ✭✭✭fayer

This is braking section 40.9 (A) of the CJA 2009 as RIF are visible to the public, and I also suspect (B) give this fact.

S40.9(A) also relates to the individual player, so you will face charges under a firearms offence not the site on that count.

We will be hearing about this, and not in a good way, from the papers and Mr. Duffy I suspect. The sad part is people taking blatant short cuts like this tarnishes all site operators and makes their life more difficult.

we dont play near the bridge
    not as open as u think we dont use that house part

What happened to this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Lacertus

f**kin cracking video though..... :D

its like a instruction manual on how to break as many airsoft laws as possible in one sitting

Lacertus wrote: »
    f**kin cracking video though..... :D

not really as it could easy be used against airsoft as a whole to demonstrate irresponsible gaming, on view rifs to public, bb can hit the public, and what appears to maybe be IRA graffiti at the end in the same paint as 'respawn' so assume it was added by management

sorry but the most dangerous irresponsible site i have seen in ireland to this point

sorry its anything but a cracking video

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭Silent Death

Wow, airoft intervention.....

not really as it could easy be used against airsoft as a whole to demonstrate irresponsible gaming, on view rifs to public, bb can hit the public, and what appears to maybe be IRA graffiti at the end in the same paint as 'respawn' so assume it was added by management

sorry but the most dangerous irresponsible site i have seen in ireland to this point

sorry its anything but a cracking video

Granted, but still a cool video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 913 ✭✭✭fayer

Close this disgrace before you wreck all the hard work that has been done to put our sport on a socially acceptable footing.

Granted, but still a cool video.

no, no its not, the more you say its cool and cracking and great, i'm sorry the more you just validating its creation and content, which by common consent is damaging to airsoft