Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HBO [US] Boardwalk Empire **Spoilers**

• Registered Users Posts: 11,933 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Great episode, the stuff with Jimmy and Capone was great.Don't really care for the Margaret/Nucky stuff atm.

The scene with Van Alden at the end was pretty creepy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Really enjoying this show. Carmody is a great character but I fear that it wont end well for him, its hard to know where he stands with Al. The more i think about it, Al will see him as competition rather than a "buddy".

Nucky is great though, he has some quality lines and the way he changes tone and expression expecially with his butler/driver/general helper.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Another very good episode. Jimmy and Al taking out their competition was really well done.

Van Alden is creeping me out. That scene at the end was really weird.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

At the start of Ep 5 and Nucky and Eli were having breakfast was it a little nod to Reservoir Dogs? Nucky says he is a good tipper then Eli says it doesn't make sense...Nucky replies "because it doesn't mean anything"....I thought so anyway. Pretty cool.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

An excellent episode in an already great TV show, I'm really liking it so far.

I knew Van Alden had something more to him but.............jeez, what a dark wierd man. It does solidify his straight as an arrow character though.

Jimmy and Al doing the business on the "micks" was ace, I'm beginning to warm to Jimmy now. Plus I thought Al was going to blow him the fùck away after Jimmy embarrased him in front of everyone. Stephen Graham really plays the up the intense with Al.

Can't wait for next week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭Mindkiller

The main plot is about prohibition in the United States during the 1920's...maybe its to complicated for you to follow..:P
    That's not the main plot of the show, it's the historical context. Just like how Mad Men is about ad-men in Madison avenue, but the main plot is about ... well feck all as well tbh.

Watching Ep.5 atm and my views haven't changed. Poor show.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Shane St.

always weary when there is so much hype. but this show is brilliant:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Great episode there. Really like the way Jimmy and Al are starting to go around pushing their weight now and in such a snakey fashion. There should be even more bloodshed in the next few weeks. I can see the potential for things to kick off between Jimmy and Al also. That was a pretty nervy scene when Jimmy answered the door of his room.

Stephen Graham is really beginning to steal the show for me, bringing everything he has to the table in his scenes. I thought the part where Jimmy was checking to see if the kid was deaf and eventually Al copping it was brilliantly acted. No need for dialogue at all

As for Margaret, I think she's only now beginning to realise what she's getting herself into with Nucky. Her reply to Lucy in the clothes shop was absolutely fantastic, "maybe your cunny isn't quite the draw you think it is". It really put her back in her box considering the stuff Lucy had been saying to her before that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭La frog fairy

and another great episode! and now they even squeezed in some lesbian actions too in there...was wondering how Jimmy's wife didnt have a guy in the picture for 3 years while he was gone;)

All around, im loving the show!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭Mindkiller

Ok, I was thinking of dropping it, but I can't pass up on any lesbian action now can I?

Although The Walking Dead will be taking priority over this from now on methinks.

Mindkiller wrote: »
    Ok, I was thinking of dropping it, but I can't pass up on any lesbian action now can I?

Ahah yep, if thats any interest to you then sure stick to it cos it didnt seem like a one off moment, seems theres a relationship going on there so more to come im guessing.

That show is just brilliant

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

I had a double episode catch with ep. 6/7....HOT LESBO ACTION!!!!!
    Love it!....that guy, the soldier...well creepy, good characterisation though....loved how Jimmy got yer man to take out the fella in the diner with the sniper rifle.

Again....lesbo action!, nice twist, think we were all expecting Jimmy's wife to be porkin' male photographer guy. Why did they elude to Nucky possibly seeing them?....that was never shown was it?

No creepy Van Alden, i think Buchemi is getting better, it's still all rather slow...if you're looking for shootouts and what not, but it's more of a character based show.

Two solid eps. back to back...best way to watch it i think.

Promo for upcomg/unaired episodes....be warned!

Great scene with Jimmy and that bastard who cut his girl.

I like this show, but this episode didnt feel like a good vehicle for the character of Knucky.

Great scene with Jimmy and that bastard who cut his girl.

I like this show, but this episode didnt feel like a good vehicle for the character of Knucky.

Its as if they are building up to something - the robbery at the casino i would imagine.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Excellent episode, this show isn't disappointing me at all. Jimmy's wife is a saucy little minx getting it on with that photographer's wife.........needs more fisting, though :pac:

I couldn't warm to Jimmy for a while but since the girl was cut up by that "Mick bastard" he's really come into his own, utilising the horror of what he saw in war to his advantage of getting things done.

I kept hoping he wouldn't let the dirty fùcker live as he walked out the door and then *POW* I completely forgot about the sniper buddy he made. Excellent :D

I think the casino robbery is going to be a turning point for things to come, possibly with all sides going against each other (Chalky thinking Nucky is fùckin' around with him!)

Can't wait for next week

• Registered Users Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Excellent episode, this show isn't disappointing me at all. Jimmy's wife is a saucy little minx getting it on with that photographer's wife.........needs more fisting, though :pac:

I thought it was Jimmy's mother and his wife?

She is the ultimate MILF!

Gretchem Mol's nipples/areloa area is really weird!...in fact her boobs in gereral are weird, but i'd totally do her!

ronnie3585 wrote: »
    I thought it was Jimmy's mother and his wife?

She is the ultimate MILF!

No, it was Jimmy's wife the the wife of the photographer on the main pier...remember when Jimmy and his kid visited the shop?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

No, it was Jimmy's wife the the wife of the photographer on the main pier...remember when Jimmy and his kid visited the shop?

Ahhh, so it was the wife taking the sexy photos of her, not the husband.

Gretchem Mol's nipples/areloa area is really weird!...in fact her boobs in gereral are weird, but i'd totally do her!

hilarious! never thought guys would even notice that in a tv show none or less.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Very good episode the nuckie character I still don't know if he's morally good or bad he's a tricky one to judge. Love the chicago side of the series love The jimmy character that sniper lad was mental really fascinating character

• Registered Users Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

Yea I love the duality of Nuckies character

Jimmy is getting better every week and I like the way that they can leave characters out of it totally for a week

The sniper was cool though you could see what was going to happen a mile off :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭Syferus

Thanks for that.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭Ardent

I just want to throw in a mention for the detective who beats himself with the belt. Amazing character! In fact, all the characters in this show are great!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

Ardent wrote: »
    I just want to throw in a mention for the detective who beats himself with the belt. Amazing character! In fact, all the characters in this show are great!
    Agent Nelson Van Alden. great character and i reckon he's going to be one of the biggest problems Nucky et al are going to have to face this season. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭Syferus

vibe666 wrote: »
    Agent Nelson Van Alden. great character and i reckon he's going to be one of the biggest problems Nucky et al are going to have to face this season. :)

I think his biggest nemesis is his blinkered boss and likely corruptable organsation and not Nucky. It's not like it's hard to figure out he's the essential cog in the bootlegging operation, but when you're so well backed by your organsation that the only office you can get is a sorting room in the local post office you know he's not exactly got resources on hand. I think him chasing Nucky will be as much of a sexual issue as it is law enforcement given his infatuation with Margaret.

• Registered Users Posts: 460 ✭✭KeanSeenan

Syferus wrote: »
    I think his biggest nemesis is his blinkered boss and likely corruptable organsation and not Nucky.

Yeah, I got that impression too, especially given he has to set up shop in a post office, really shows how they arent equiped(or even pushed) to do any real work.

Looking forward to tonight!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,589 ✭✭✭Tristram

Good episode. Will be interesting to see Jimmy back in AC. I like the Chicago story so I hope we continue to have a decent dollop of Al and the boys.

Yeah it was pretty solid, Nucky's ex having a meltdown, i think Margaret handled that well and whapped her!, Van Alden....utter weirdo!, sick fecker as well, not sending his wife the money to get the op. - but sends the cash onto Jimmy's wife, finally.

Nucky and Jimmy back together, the war now starts, my only complaint is that it was the shortest ep. yet at 50 mins!!