Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deep Fried Mars Bars

• 23-01-2010 2:37am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭

Tried one for the first time last night.

I feel dirty but in a good way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

McChubbin wrote: »

Were you Scottish and p**sed at the time? I thought that was the rule....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Did you make it yourself or did you purchase it
    If you made it How?
    If you bought it where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

There's a chipper in Santry that will deep fry you a mars bar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

McChubbin wrote: »

You disgust me.

I hope you washed yourself after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

Were you Scottish and p**sed at the time? I thought that was the rule....

Me too - and just the thought of chocolate coated in batter and thrown in bubbling lard makes me want to heave - what were ye thinking! :eek:

Our local chippie at home does deep fried cream eggs and all sorts......bleeeuuughhh! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,283 ✭✭✭Glico Man

Just FYI but deep fried bounty is way nicer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭bigron2109

They are real easy to make..Used to do Deep fried Crunchies and deep friedn snack bars too..Anything with carmel in it is lovely too..:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Never had one but they sound lovely. Heard there was a chipper near me making them but I never tried em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

BluesBerry wrote: »

If you bought it where?

Bought it in the Cosy Chipper opposite The Goblet Pub in Artane.
    It was feckin GORGEOUS. Also FYI, I wasn't really pissed- had two pints of Guinness and about 2 pints of Haus in me. Tipsy, merry and hankering for some hot chocolate.

...God, I want another one right now.

Too bad, there's nowhere (to my knowledge anyhow) in Swords that does that sort of thing...

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,974 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Apt username. They are ****ing lovely, but you can feel your arteries harden.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Apt username. They are ****ing lovely, but you can feel your arteries harden.

Indeed. Woke this morning and it was like there was a midget sitting on my chest.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

prinz wrote: »
    There's a chipper in Santry that will deep fry you a mars bar.
    I live in Santry and this is news to me. Only chipper I know that does them is in Ballygall.

They're amazing, like eating a heart attack.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Tried them once. Very nice but I wouldn't get another. I want to live to see 40..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

I don't care what anyone says, or the dirty looks I get when I eat one.

They are absolute heaven, and if they weren't basically a heart attack in bar form I'd have one more than once every six months. Hell, I'd eat them for breakfast if I could do that without getting fat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

Chipper on Capel Street, Dublin, two doors up from Sounds Around (Liffey end), do Mars bars (or any other bar they have handy), for about 3 euro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

THis thread's making me feel queasy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Fries-With-That

BluesBerry wrote: »
    If you made it How?
    If you bought it where?

I'll answer question 2 for you.

I had a chipper in in my distant past and had a great sideline doing these ( or any bar that a customer decided was worth battering.

Step 1. Buy yourself a mars bar, if you're afraid of the calorie count try it with a mars bar mini.

Step 2. This step is of vital importance if you don't want to end up with a soppy gloop, put your mars bar in the fridge for a few hours to chill.

Step 3. Heat your oil to 180. Unless you love the taste imparted to fried food by pre used oil, I'd advice you use new clean oil.

Step 4. Remove the bar from the wrapper :) (common mistake not to) Stick a bamboo skewer into one end of the bar. (makes it easier to handle)

Step 5. Submerge the bar in luke warm water for about 15 seconds.

Step 6. Roll the bar in plain flour and shake off excess.

Step 7. Submerge bar in a bowl of thick batter

Step 8. Take bowl of batter with the bar in it to the deep fat frier.

Step 9. lift bar from the bowl of batter letting excess batter drain ( but don't allow too much to drain off)

Step 10. Holding the bamboo skewer dangle the bar in the hot oil and use a gentle twirling motion to ensure all areas are in contact with the oil.

After about 1 minute (depending on the thickness of your batter) you'll have a beautiful battered mars bar on a stick.

In step 10 above its far easier to do this without a basket in the frier.

Any further questions just ask.

I'm a thanks whore so if you find this useful please click the button. :)

Fries.

I'll answer question 2 for you.

I had a chipper in in my distant past and had a great sideline doing these ( or any bar that a customer decided was worth battering.

Step 1. Buy yourself a mars bar, if you're afraid of the calorie count try it with a mars bar mini.

Step 2. This step is of vital importance if you don't want to end up with a soppy gloop, put your mars bar in the fridge for a few hours to chill.

Step 3. Heat your oil to 180. Unless you love the taste imparted to fried food by pre used oil, I'd advice you use new clean oil.

Step 4. Remove the bar from the wrapper :) (common mistake not to) Stick a bamboo skewer into one end of the bar. (makes it easier to handle)

Step 5. Submerge the bar in luke warm water for about 15 seconds.

Step 6. Roll the bar in plain flour and shake off excess.

Step 7. Submerge bar in a bowl of thick batter

Step 8. Take bowl of batter with the bar in it to the deep fat frier.

Step 9. lift bar from the bowl of batter letting excess batter drain ( but don't allow too much to drain off)

Step 10. Holding the bamboo skewer dangle the bar in the hot oil and use a gentle twirling motion to ensure all areas are in contact with the oil.

After about 1 minute (depending on the thickness of your batter) you'll have a beautiful battered mars bar on a stick.

In step 10 above its far easier to do this without a basket in the frier.

Any further questions just ask.

I'm a thanks whore so if you find this useful please click the button. :)

Fries.

Do you have fries-with-that mars bar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Fries-With-That

MaybeLogic wrote: »
    Do you have fries with your mars bar?

As with everything in life fries is and always will be the best treat on the menu :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I'll eat practically anything, if I like it, I might have it again.
    Fried Mars Bar is one of those things I'll have again, much nicer than you would expect. Everyone should try them, unless you're the boring fecker who always orders the same thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

I feel ill after reading this thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I don't eat much crap but I'm intrigued by these so I shall try one today as I'm heading later towards the Swords direction and shall be passing said establishment :cool:

Is the Chuck Wagon still out at Blakes Cross?

Might as well destroy my arteries completely while I'm at it.

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Is the Chuck Wagon still out at Blakes Cross?

It was still there,as of last summer.

The Chuck Wagon is a place of legend. I was surprised they survived the motorway taking away their business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Think they're nice? You should try deep fried pizza in batter =)

Those Scots are culinary geniuses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

Chipper in Inchicore Village does them if anyone has any interest!

Think they're nice? You should try deep fried pizza in batter =)

Where can you get one of those beauties?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

kowloon wrote: »
    Where can you get one of those beauties?

I tried it in Glasgow a while ago, but I've made a few at home myself since then.

http://fxcuisine.com/default.asp?language=2&Display=112&resolution=high&page=1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I've made a few at home myself since then.

Now, there's a YouTube vid I wanna see :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

In Edinburgh after the Heineken cup final last year I had deep fried haggis the a deep fried Mars bar!

Heaven!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,974 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Maybe I should try one...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Those Scots are culinary geniuses

Well they are the country that brought us Sean Coronary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

bonerm wrote: »
    Tried them once. Very nice but I wouldn't get another. I want to live to see 40..

40 is overrated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

why do people think these are the worst thing ever to eat?
    If I eat a batter burger and a mars bar no one thinks twice about it but whats the difference? probably the burger and bar are worse for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Had my first one there in Edinburgh on Tuesday.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Providing info that you may already know, the town in Scotland that come up with the idea of a battered mars bar has the highest rate of heart disease in Europe! I wonder why!!!!!!!

On a side note, how, how could you eat a battered mars bar!

djhunter30 wrote: »
    Providing info that you may already know, the town in Scotland that come up with the idea of a battered mars bar has the highest rate of heart disease in Europe! I wonder why!!!!!!!

On a side note, how, how could you eat a battered mars bar!
    It's one of those things you just have to try. When in Rome etc...

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

I suppose there's truth in that, but urrrgggghhhh I don't thinkn I could!!!

If you look at the picture I attached there, it looks like a battered turd but its an experience eating it :)

Haha, I was thinking that when I seen it. It looked like someone took a battered sh**e and stuck it in the chipper! If I closed me eyes and plugged me nose I still wouldnt eat it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

I do enjoy (used to be addicted to) the fried Mars bar.

Chipper that did them is closed down. Arg.

I know of one that does them in Mullingar but I dont know any in Athlone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

I know of one that does them in Mullingar but I dont know any in Athlone!

Mullingar? Stop getting my hopes up with made up chippers in made up places.

I'm not making anything up, there's a chipper near the bus station that does them! I know this after spending a few weeks in the barracks, the lads went on a night out and told me all about! Not on my life though! Fish and chips will do me just fine!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Somnus

Like most people who have had them, I think they're amazing but you are always aware of how incredibly bad they must be for you :P So I've only ever had them 2 -3 times.

So, so good though....

Gotten them in the chipper in Ballygall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 KRIS VL

I am curious Iwant to taste one. Will probable do so when I come to Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

That chipper across from Twister Vics here in Waterford does them (Aarons?)
    Theyre not bad.Very messy on bite 1 :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

tried one once, got it in 'borzas', mail coach road in sligo, the whole way through it, it felt amazingly unheathy, had about a litre of water afterwards to try and flush it away, but atleast i can say i tried one, in no hurry to try it again though

irish-stew wrote: »
    tried one once, got it in 'borzas', mail coach road in sligo, the whole way through it, it felt amazingly unheathy, had about a litre of water afterwards to try and flush it away, but atleast i can i tried one, in no hurry to try it again though

I could imagine the after taste would be great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

I could imagine the after taste would be great!

not so much the after taste, could feel it lying in my stomach and guts