Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What radio station do you listen to?

• 21-01-2010 9:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭

Well.

On your way to work in the morning whether it be by car or bus.

I actually cant stand them 2 muppets jim and niamh on fm104. That niamh ones laugh does my bleeding head in! :mad: SHUT THE FVCK UP LAUGHING AT YOUR OWN JOKES..

Ive started listening to spin 103.8 which is fairly decent, my radio is banjoed so can only manually tune in stations so im looking for what AH listen to???

Hosey

edit: POLL FAIL

What radio station do you listen to ? 86 votes

fm104
    0% 0 votes
    spin1039
    16% 14 votes
    rte
    9% 8 votes
    R na G
    31% 27 votes
    newstalk
    2% 2 votes
    Atari Jaguar FM
    40% 35 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

If any ,I listen to Lyric FM.
    Not on the poll,so I gave my vote to the boys over at AtariJaguar FM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

I assume this is purely a Dublin only thread? Not even Today FM on it and you even got the station you listen to wrong in the poll. WTF!

In any case I listen to Eastcoast FM, on occasions newstalk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

On my iPod I get to choose all the music, and no eejits trying to be funny either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

2fm Colm and jim jim morning
    2fm Gerry Ryan Mid Morning :o or today fm Ray Darcy (whoever has the most interesting topic on)
    Phantom afternoon
    radio 1 Sometimes Joe Duffy :o
    back to phantom afternoon/evening
    fm104 phoneshow night time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

I listen to newstalk in the evenings for off the ball, apart from that, Atari Jaguar

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

It's 'Spin 1038' ;)

I alternate between Spin and 104, mainly cause they're the only frequencies I can pick up on my crappy car radio.. bar 2FM of course and those Colm & JimJim clowns go through me in the morning time.. I find the morning show on Spin quite entertaining.. I stopped listening for a while out of protest after Joe and Keith left but I begrudginly came round after a while..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

Tuned in the car is

1 Spin 103.8
    2 FM 104
    3 98FM
    4 Today FM
    5 Q102
    6 RTE 1

I go to RTE 1 first and if it's of no interest I start at Spin looking for some music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,194 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

Spin....... not out of choice, my daughters listen to it.
    Why does that 5 word weather forecast make me cringe?
    At the moment yer man Tubridy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Pure morning, phantom fm on the way to work. Then some off the ball, newstalk on the way home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Your poll is missing some pretty major stations. Therefore, thread fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

Newstalk in the morning,
    Newstalk in the afternoon,
    Newstalk in the evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

I don't understand why people listen to the radio - 2 idiots babbling back & forth in D4 accents trying to be witty, terrible annoying ads, followed by even worse music. Why do you need someone to tell you what to listen to? "Please tell me what's cool at the moment, Mr. Radio Presenter." Even the OP says he hates it, yet feels like it's compulsory! WTF? That makes no sense.

Any time my wife puts it on in the car, it's either one of those 3 Rihanna songs that sound the same, Black Eyed Peas, which have to be the worst band in the world, Lady Gaga or Lily Allen... or whatever other fad happens to be in at the time.

IMO, people who listen to the radio have no interest in music. They're the same people who say "I like a little bit of everything" when asked what music they like, when they actually have no clue what "everything" is because all they know is chart music - i.e. the same 20 songs played over & over. Just because you think Nickelback is "rock" & sing along to that wretched 'Rock Star' song like a knob, doesn't mean you like a little bit of everything.

LOL - rant over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭sorrywhat

I dont live in Dublin give me some more choices to pick from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

106.8 FM

http://www.countrymix.ie/

I take my Outlaw status serious :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Agreed, poll is awful.

Phantom 105.2 is pretty much the only station I'll listen to cause as Forest Master says the music on every other station is "3 Rihanna songs that sound the same, Black Eyed Peas, which have to be the worst band in the world, Lady Gaga or Lily Allen... or whatever other fad happens to be in at the time."

I'll ocassionally tune into Today FM for Ray Darcy in work, but never stick that long and the odd time I'll switch over to Newstalk if something in particular has happened and I want to get caught up. Other than that Phantom all the way, is the saving grace of Irish radio and the only reason I bother to own a radio when in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

I don't understand why people listen to the radio - 2 idiots babbling back & forth in D4 accents trying to be witty, terrible annoying ads, followed by even worse music. Why do you need someone to tell you what to listen to? "Please tell me what's cool at the moment, Mr. Radio Presenter." Even the OP says he hates it, yet feels like it's compulsory! WTF? That makes no sense.

Any time my wife puts it on in the car, it's either one of those 3 Rihanna songs that sound the same, Black Eyed Peas, which have to be the worst band in the world, Lady Gaga or Lily Allen... or whatever other fad happens to be in at the time.

IMO, people who listen to the radio have no interest in music. They're the same people who say "I like a little bit of everything" when asked what music they like, when they actually have no clue what "everything" is because all they know is chart music - i.e. the same 20 songs played over & over. Just because you think Nickelback is "rock" & sing along to that wretched 'Rock Star' song like a knob, doesn't mean you like a little bit of everything.

LOL - rant over.

Are you in Dublin? I suggest phantom 105.2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

theteal wrote: »
    Are you in Dublin? I suggest phantom 105.2

Great minds kid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭RoadKillTs

I listen to Mid and North West radio. Mainly for the death and funeral notices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Osgoodisgood

If the chislers are in the car it's Spin 1038.
    On my own it's Phantom or the Ipod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

I even agree! i dont know many stations .. and i know i made a mistake with spin, i know its an 8!

Anyhoo.. i want to know what stations to try out. Im gonna go with phantom i think on the way home

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

103.2 whilst driving around the city in rush hour, constant traffic updates and no ads. Otherwise Newstalk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

My favourite station of all time is tsfJAZZ from when I was living in Paris.
    I normally have it streaming when I'm online.

(click on 'Ecouter TSF' on the left to listen)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭ceegee

newstalk, especially in the evenings for off the ball. The only sports show thats as likely to go off on a funny tangent about some long forgotten mid 90s premiership flop as it is to update you on the latest scores.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Depends on my mood. Maybe Emotion 98.3 or Wave 103.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Probably Today FM, or maybe 4FM, so I'm another that had to vote AtariJaguar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Unpossible

Newstalk except in the evenings or on weekends because I hate listening to sport programs.
    Anyways I only listen to the radio if I'm driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭joeybloggs

I would die a happy man listening to Phantom.

I really do wish it was national so we could save the fine people of Cork, Limerick, Galway etc. from listening to the **** on shuffle out there....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭GirlatdRockShow

today fm isn't here!so i'll have to vote spin,purely for the ten hits in a row and dara quilty.:D

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Radio sucks

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭Notorious

If I have to listen to the radio - Lyric FM

Most of the others are terrible. Especially Phantom and Spin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

RoadKillTs wrote: »
    I listen to Mid and North West radio. Mainly for the death and funeral notices.

Just to make sure you're still alive?

Have to say though - some of those Dublin stations are gas - I'd stick them on the odd time when I'm in the capital.. banging out really terrible dance music with great dedications...

"Eeeeh, dis wan goes out te Macker n'all de bouuys in de flats in Pimlico - g'wan Macker ye mad thinnng!"

THUM, THUM, THUM, THUM...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

I stream this whenever possible

http://www.wxrt.com/

Long time independent radio station that I grew up with. It was bought out by a corporate entity that actually realised that it was better just to leave it alone.

Corporate radio stations suck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Irish_polizei

i105-107, good station... always something to make you leave the road with laughter, and all new music on it too....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭irishdub14

Spin 1038 defo the best dublin radio station (especially for us teenagers!), fm104 has become crap in the last while and 98, well do they ever play music in the morning?? Phantom is EMO by the way!! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 nigel1970

today fm all the way.
    ian dempsey 7-9
    ray darcy 9-12

ray foley 12-2.30

and the saturday premier league show 2-6

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Radio sucks
    Indeed - "blah bla blah bla blaa, now here's a song you don't like followed by some patronising ads with rambling disclaimers".

thispostisregulatedbythepostingregulator,mustbeovereighteentoread,termsandconditionsapply

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

TODAY FM

not on the list :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭hopalong85

Only Phantom for music, Newstalk for the other shiz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

LOL - rant over.
    2fm are after stepping up their game at night. Actual good music, very surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

I just have spin on in the car all the time, 'cuz I'm young and 'hip'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Very odd radio station selection :confused: No Today FM but a couple of Dublin stations that us rural folk can't pick up on our crystal sets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Red_Marauder

I listen to RTE Radio 1 all day, bar the 2pm Whineline slot as per a thread on that topic recently.
    I don't even use my ipod for music anymore. I literally listen to Radio 1 from Maxi first thing in the morning, to Late Date last thing at night. It's like a Radio Station I would have designed myself.

That probably makes me approx 180 years old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

LOL - rant over.
    All those artists you named are what I would call pretty talented. Well the black eyed peas don't exactly write amazing lyrics but truth be told Will.i.am is fairly talented as a producer.

I don't see why some people choose to hate chart music just because its on the charts. Sure you mightn't like their music and that's fine and everything but you can't pass them off as being terrible just because it's being played on the radio.

Most people who say they like a bit of everything though don't really "like a bit of everthing". Most of them would be the type who would call metal or classical music crap without even listening to it.

Personally, I like a bit of everything from pop to blues to funk to hip hop to soul to metal to rock to classical to jazz :D

Oh yeah, I listen to Spin 1038 or 2FM :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

cant believe today fm isnt in the poll, its what i listen to 99% of the time. the other 1% is dublin city fm on sunday morning in work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

today FM
    BBC radio 2
    talksport
    LBC (london station)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

RTE Radio 1, BBC Radio 3, UCB UK, BFBS, Amazing Radio, and on occasion BBC local stations, BBC 6 Music, Classic FM...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭rednik

Isish radio is mostly crap, give me radio 5 live anyday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭Boxfresh

Ray D'arcy in the morning and Matt Cooper in the evening, I can't stand Ray Foley at midday. It would probably be alright if I was 14 or 15 doing my Junior Cert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭Kelda09

I have a crappy car radio but am very lucky toget I102-104. Brilliant station. however, at home, I listen to whatever station I can get. Anything from lyric fm to today fm. Once theres music, Im happy. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Bajingo

I listen to the fm104 phoneshow..it's great stuff so it is..if im awake when that's over ill switch to newstalk and im asleep in no time..