Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Comparing Meerkats

• 20-01-2010 2:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭

My insurance is up for renewal this month. I'm sure I can get it for less than what was quoted. What companies do y'all use?

& No I don't want a debate on how I am sexist because I get cheaper insurance, thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Usually you'll get a different quote than someone else in the exact same situation as you from the same company depending on your story. I don't think my dad has ever stayed with the same company two years in a row but will often go back a few years later when they quote him a miraculous new low rate. Just call 10 companies with an almost stupidly low made-up quote from another company and see who bites hardest. :)

I'm with Axa.....the quote they gave me is about 70% cheaper than Quinn Direct.
    They made an effort for me, because my Dad is doing business with them 40 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

When I was insuring my car, ARB quoted me nearly half all the other quotes that I got were

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Rayne

I'm with Quinn, not the cheapest but works as I'm in the UK with the car at moment. But alway find them very helpful and their breakdown assistance (even with third party) is very reassuring. I'm insured to drive other cars - third party, with the owners permission which is great. AND my boyfriend is insured and it cost next to nothing to put him on as a named driver!

Was with Zurich before moved to UK, fantastically cheap but there customer service leaves a lot to be desired and didn't cover in UK (I'm here irregularly for the next few months)

No Claims Bonus is great! Love the discount!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I have to say I am always (well for the last 2-3 yrs) quoted a ridiculousley high price with Quinn, more than twice of other companies. I am going to start the gruelling task of calling around tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Im 300 euros a year with quin :D

€300? Do you drive a moped or something?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Moonbaby wrote: »
    I'm with Axa.....the quote they gave me is about 70% cheaper than Quinn Direct.
    They made an effort for me, because my Dad is doing business with them 40 years.

Same here, I've no previous history of dealing with Axa but it was way cheaper than Quinn.

Think it was about €500 fully comp with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

WindSock wrote: »
    €300? Do you drive a moped or something?

nah my cars a ression bustter :pac:....... Its not perticualrly dissarble but it get me ta to b and smells of dog :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭BennyLava

try some of the brokerages rather than going directly to the insurance companies, generally they can get the same insurance package from the same insurance company for less that you can, and even when you factor in their commission you still pay less, also always shop around, over the years I have and it's saved me alot

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

I'm with Quinn Direct, always have been. Paying €290 on a 1.4l.

Every year I do the phoning around getting quotes, never been able to get quoted less anywhere else :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Silverfish wrote: »

Every year I do the phoning around getting quotes, never been able to get quoted less anywhere else :(

Would you really expect to get it for less??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

How would they quote you any less :D Quinn just quoted me €800 and it was €810 last year!!

I politely informed them that I have three policies with them and would like a further discount - yeh they offered me €50!! I want cheap car insurance :(

fullstop wrote: »
    Would you really expect to get it for less??

Why wouldn't I? It was 240 last year.

Well mine was €1100 last year...and it's €1350 this year.

And were you happy with that, or did you want it to be cheaper as well?

Of course I wanted it to be cheaper, but I'm paying over 4 times what you are.

Grand, but it doesn't mean I should be happy with mine going up. All I said was mine went up by 30 euro, I didn't want it to, and hoped I could get a similar quote to what I paid the previous years. Don't see how what other people pay affects how I should feel about what I pay, really :)

E240 for a 1.4? I'm paying over double that for a crappy 1.1. And I was quoted E900 by Quinn last year. I'm with First Ireland, the brokers at the moment and was offered the same price again this year. I have heard insurance has gone up this year though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭hugoline

Just to throw in another name... halved our annual car insurance cost by going to nononsense.ie (less than 200 for 3rd party). All you need is 2 years no claims.

I politely informed them that I have three policies with them and would like a further discount - yeh they offered me €50!! I want cheap car insurance :(

The recession must be changing Quinns attitude.
    Anytime I've ever tried to haggle, they have steadfastly refused to drop their price.

Moonbaby wrote: »
    The recession must be changing Quinns attitude.
    Anytime I've ever tried to haggle, they have steadfastly refused to drop their price.

I have my health insurance with them and my public liability also, They even offered me 10% off but its still too expensive! Gonna keep looking!

hugoline wrote: »
    Just to throw in another name... halved our annual car insurance cost by going to nononsense.ie (less than 200 for 3rd party). All you need is 2 years no claims.

Fully comp - less than €600 your a star :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭hugoline

Fully comp - less than €600 your a star :D

Glad to help... just make sure you have letters from the previous insurer(s) confirming the 2 years previous coverage. Nononsense.ie want them within 7 days IIRC (and other insurers can sometimes drag their feet...)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

got mine recently through 123.ie

340 on a 1.0 litre, fully comp. 4 yr NCB, no points, 30 yr old female.

got quotes all the way up to 570 from various crowds

hate ringing around, its sooooooooooo f*cking tedious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

I'm with Zurich, it was €550 last year, went up to €720 or thereabouts this year.

That's for third party fire and theft on a 1.3L. I'm 24, full licence, no penalty points, etc ... it's the fact that my boyfriend is a named driver on the policy that drives it up, but he pays the difference! :D

I shopped around lots when I got quoted that in October, but I couldn't get any cheaper - and believe me, I tried! Got quoted €2,200 by Hibernian! And the majority of the other quotes were over a thousand. Most of them were willing to drop it about from the original quoted price, but none would match or beat Zurich's price. I still wasn't a bit happy about it though.

I looked for quotes without himself as a named driver at the time also, and the cheapest I found was its4women.ie. If I remember correctly, I got a quote from the website of around €240 for fully comprehensive!!! No idea what they're like if there's any claims etc though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I'm with Hiberian Aviva. Pay about a grand a year, fully comp on a 1.2L, 20 year old female, full licence, no penalty points. It was the best quote I got too, but I think it's sky high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

sam34 wrote: »
    hate ringing around, its sooooooooooo f*cking tedious

Go with a broker.

I was with a broker for years, and my insurance is quite low. Last year it was 457 for a 2L 7-seater. This year they quoted me 662, so I looked on the internet and got a quote for 410. When I rang them to get a firm quote they said they'd reduce it even more if I put my wife on as a named driver. WTF, she won't even drive my car. :eek: I went with them anyway. And here's the kicker: my broker last year insured me with RSA, and this year the new broker insured me with RSA. €397 for 2L, male (49), full NCB. Campion is the name of the new broker, FYI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Yeah a lot of people assume brokers will be more expensive, but both years I've been insured, I got the cheapest quote from McSharry Foley, and I shopped around a lot both times. In fact, the price I got quoted directly from Zurich was a good bit higher than what I got with them through the broker!

i was with a broker last year, and got a good deal form them.

this yr their quote was too high, when i got a cheaper one i rang them and they couldnt/wouldnt match it.

nothing had happened in the last yr that would have put my premium up, the opposite in fact - another yr older, another yr no claims bonus, no penalty points, and i moved from a city to a rural area

this yr their quote was too high, when i got a cheaper one i rang them and they couldnt/wouldnt match it.

nothing had happened in the last yr that would have put my premium up, the opposite in fact - another yr older, another yr no claims bonus, no penalty points, and i moved from a city to a rural area

Funny, my insurance dropped when I moved from a rural to a city area.

I think they just use random number generators.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

My insurance went up by €19 moving from the country to the city.

I was amazed it was only that much and the guy on the phone said some rural areas are more expensive.

its bizarre

i wonder if they just make up random figures

I know lately that they are increasing premiums because of the amount of people making false claims but this shouldnt affect us normal joe so`s :mad: It makes me mad because of all these people that drive without insurance :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

this yr their quote was too high...

Mine was higher by 40%! I rang them and they said their costs had risen by 20%. LOL. I told them I had a better quote and they wanted to know what it was. I didn't tell them...

...but I did tell them bye bye. After I renewed with the new broker I got a letter in the post from the old one saying they were merging with another broker. So I suppose they just wanted the money before the merger.

Sometimes it does seem like random numbers.

So far, nobody in this thread is paying anywhere near what i'm paying :(
    But this is due to the car I drive. I make that choice because I love my car so I have to put up with the consequences!

Bryn wrote: »
    So far, nobody in this thread is paying anywhere near what i'm paying :(
    But this is due to the car I drive. I make that choice because I love my car so I have to put up with the consequences!

Is that right? You don't have to tell us what it is, just what litre?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

Novella wrote: »
    I'm with Hiberian Aviva. Pay about a grand a year, fully comp on a 1.2L, 20 year old female, full licence, no penalty points. It was the best quote I got too, but I think it's sky high.

I was with Hibernian since i started driving. 1st year i was 17, prov. license, 1.2 ltr and they quoted me 1200 third party, which was the cheapest I could get at the time.

2nd year, full license they quoted me 800.

Now here's the kicker. I renew in September. This year I got a quote from Hibernian....1300. Wait!! WTF?? I rang them up and told them they'd sent me the wrong quote as I had 2years no claims bonus. I said i was expecting a quote of around 650. No, she said to me, our costs have gone up. Everyones insurance went up.

***Hang up phone***

I got it from quinn in the end, and despite having no other policies with them...€515.

Is that right? You don't have to tell us what it is, just what litre?

It's a Honda Integra Type R. They are a 1.8 sports car.....it's over there in my avator <
    :p

Bryn wrote: »
    It's a Honda Integra Type R. They are a 1.8 sports car.....it's over there in my avator <
    :p

Ah, once you have 'type' or 'sports' or a letter in the name, you're pretty much fecked.

Yep, even thought i'm 26!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I was with Hibernian since i started driving. 1st year i was 17, prov. license, 1.2 ltr and they quoted me 1200 third party, which was the cheapest I could get at the time.

2nd year, full license they quoted me 800.

Now here's the kicker. I renew in September. This year I got a quote from Hibernian....1300. Wait!! WTF?? I rang them up and told them they'd sent me the wrong quote as I had 2years no claims bonus. I said i was expecting a quote of around 650. No, she said to me, our costs have gone up. Everyones insurance went up.

***Hang up phone***

I got it from quinn in the end, and despite having no other policies with them...€515.

I was renewing mine, price was the same. I rang up and asked why 'cause I had passed my test and had another year of no claims. The woman on the phone said, "Oh, I don't know....." :rolleyes:

Still though, best quote I got. Have to admit, didn't look THAT hard, whoops!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

I'm with Quinn (for the moment).

Bought a 1.4l at 23 and started to learn how to drive. €950 or thereabouts for 3rd party, fire & theft on my own policy (my brother was quoted around two and a half times that by pretty much everyone as a 22 year old with a clean, full driving license for 4/5 years, stayed a named driver on my dad's policy until this year). Renewed before I passed my test aged 24, dropped to €750ish. Passed my test in November and got €130 rebate.

Other companies wouldn't touch me without a full license and with no experience.

AFAIK nononsense.ie is FBD - I could be wrong, but I think I saw that in the fine print on their ads.