Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tennis Australian open betting

• 20-01-2010 10:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭

Does anyone here bet on the tennis regularly? I do, I enjoy watching it anyway so it's an added interest, would prefer betting on it to football.
    I do my own bets, but I also follow the tennis tipsters in the racing post, they showed profits from every tennis grand slam they were tipping on last year. There's Dave Horgan and Adrian Humphries and one other guy as well sometime. They tip on a points scale, and explain most of their tips in detail in the racing post.
    I'll post up their tips, but the thread could be also used for general tennis betting discussion.
    I hope there is many more like minded tennis gamblers on this forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Seanohea

The racing post guys tipped outright betting for the men and women's titles, but also tip everyday, below are their outright tips.

Men Australian open:

Novak Djokovic e/w 7/1 stan James, totesport

Juan del Potro 2pts e/w 6/1 betfred

Women's Australian Open:

Justine Henin 4pts win 11/2 blue square, paddy power, totesport

M Oudin 0.25 e/w 250/1 Paddy Power

Henin to win a grand slam in 2010 7pts 7/4 stan jame, totesport

The above is all the outright tips.

From as I've kept a record so far here's the daily tips:

Saturday 16 men's first round selections:
    F Lopez 1pt 8/11 boylesports - won
    D Koellerer 1pt 8/15 general - Lost
    N Lapenti 1pt to win 3-2 in sets 10/1 stan james - lost

Daily tips results:

Bets: 3 (1 won, 2 lost)
    Profit/loss: -2.28

Monday 19th selection:
    Henin v Dementieva
    Henin 2.5pts EV

Del potro just beat Blake 3-2 in the second round :o)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

I bet with a 100 euro on Fed, Nadal and del Potro, if potro wins I make a 10 euro profit, if Nadal wins I make 55 euro profit and for Fed I could make a 75 euro profit.

That's could be a good way to go. What do u think of Djokovic's chances?

Wahoo, Henin just won a classic :o)
    2 hrs 50mins for a women's match, and a brilliant shot under pressure from henin towards the end of the game on dementieva's service to save set point.

Daily tips results:

Bets: 4 (2 won/ 2 lost)
    Profit/loss: +0.22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭radharc

I wouldn't be keen on Henin for the outright, I thought she struggled for fitness today. Twice served for the match and blew it.

Hopefully her fitness improves as tournament moves on, she's back after a break after all.
    With serena not at her best form, as was shown in the last tournament, I think Henin is a good alternative, although I would have gone for clijsters myself.
    Henin seemed to pick up a small injury at the end of the game, hopefully it isn't too serious.

Wednesday selections:

Juan Monaco 4pts 8/13 Blue Square, Totesport

Juan Monaco wins :o)

Bets 5: (3wins/ 2 lost)
    Profit/loss: +2.68

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭Stretchryan

Just about, had a nice few quid on him and checked 1st thing when i got outta bed and he had lost the 2 first sets. Delighted i didnt stay up to watch that one.....

I did, but it wasn't on eurosport, 2 women's matches were on, at least he won :o)

Thursday's Selections:

E Korolev 4pts 4/1 boylesports
    I Karlovic 1pt 5/6 ladbrokes

The tipster that tipped Korolev really does rate him, he tipped him a few times last year, got a few wins at nice prices as well. He's an improving player Korolev, hoping he's progressed again since last year. You might say this is a pricewise tennis selection, but these guys are there to find the value as well, they didn't let me down last year, again I'll say that for every grand slam they showed a profit. The best thing you can do us go on past form of tipsters.

To quote the tipster, "this match between 2 incredibly powerful jitters could well go the distance, but however difficult the task facing the outsider, punters cannot knock the price they are being given". Hopefully people were able to get close to it anyway, price is now 7/2 with boylesports

Haven't been able to put these tips up until now but here they are.

Fridays selections:
    T Haas 1pt win 5/2.... Lost
    C Wozniacki to win 2-0 in sets 2pts win 4/5.... Win
    D Hantuchova 1pt win 6/5.... lost

Saturday's selection:
    Leyton Hewitt 3pts win evs bet365.... Win
    Jie Zheng-v-bondarenko, Jie Zheng 1pt win 6/5

Results:
    With Karlovic winning yesterday and korolev losing and the above results here's how the profit/loss stands.

Bets 11: (6 wins/ 5 lost)
    Profit/loss: +2.11

Lucky I got the racing post early this morning to get the Hewitt tip, baghdatis retired but you still get paid out with most bookies, I hope alot of people were able to get on.
    The Zheng tip is still remaining, hopefully she does the business

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭eldrickwoods

just reading the post. keep them tips coming.

anyone fancy Cilic for an upset tonight? it'll be a tight game for sure. he's in flying form and 13/8 looks juicy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

just reading the post. keep them tips coming.

anyone fancy Cilic for an upset tonight? it'll be a tight game for sure. he's in flying form and 13/8 looks juicy.

I cant wait for this, I made decent money on Del Potro in runnings last year because he an AWFUL starter, every time he lost the first set I backed him. :pac:
    I still get wet thinking about his run in the US Open and The Grand Slam..:D:D

But back to this, Cilic is a sexy price I admit BUT Del Potro is a better player, he outlcassed him last year in the US Open after losing the first set:pac:

I would fancy Del Potro but I think I would wait till it begins.

Gonzo at 2/1 to beat Roddick is sexy very sexy. :):):):)

Wickmayer is tempting as well at 9/4 against Henin who was very patchy in her last match.

I've seen worse outsider bets, Cillic is definetley an improving player, and del potro has yet to really hit top form in this tournament. However del potro has proven himself more on hard courts than cillic, and he is one of my outright bets (e/w) for this tournament, so I'm going to be sticking with him.
    I think the best bet for this match is for cillic to claim at least set. 3-1 or 3-2 to del potro.

Henin is going to have fitness issues with coming back from a break but I think she's going to get better as the tournament progresses.
    I think Serena will beat her in the final however :)

Apparently del potro has a niggling wrist injury. I'm not sure how much it's effecting him. At the moment I'd rather lay him on betfair that he wins 3-0 in sets. Nice odds 3/1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

I've serena and nadal to win their next matches in straight sets, as part of an accumulator. what do ye make of that?

I'd be very surprised if either serena or nadal loses to be honest, serena is in a different league to the rest of the women on hard court, and she always seriously targets the grand slams.
    I hope nadal is back to his best, Wimbledon will brilliant this year then with him and federer in line to meet in the final, hopefully :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

Nadal won but dropped the 2nd set, so that put the end to my accumulator! :( If Serena wins straight sets i will be one gutted individual!

Results with Jie Zheng winning last night.

Bets 12: (7wins/ 5 lost)
    Profit/loss: +3.31

Sunday's selections:

N Davydenko 4pts win 2/5 paddy power
    S Stosur-v-S Williams, S Stosur 1pt win 5/1 general

It's pointed out by the racing post tipster that Stosur is too big a price for this match, I can't see her beating Williams however, if I get the chance I will trade out on betfair.
    The lay of del potro winning 3-0 worked out anyway, these type of lays can be really profitable in close matches with a big name player.
    My outright bet on him is gone but at least I got my stake back, I still have djokovic left anyway.
    At this stage I'm thinking of backing Andy Murray outright, he's playing very well in this tournament, has yet to drop a set and looks to be the one player so far of having the beating of federer.

Results after Davydenko winning and Stosur losing.

Bets 14: (8wins/ 6 lost)
    Profit/loss: +3.91

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 pokerdonuts

i'd a good bet on Federer at 5/2 for title before last night's match. still think he's good value at 15/8. if he gets to final(and he should get through to semis handy enough),he'll be 4/6 to win it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭eldrickwoods

think the smart money is Murray to be honest... the man has been different gravy so far. i had him at just shy of 7/1 on betfair before the off so i'm hoping he can do the business in the morning. still available at 9/2 or so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

What are Roddick's chances in his next game?

Monday's selections:
    1: Andy Murray-v- Rafael Nadal, Andy Murray 4pts win 17/20 boylesports
    2: Marin Cillic 2pts win 11/10
    3: Roger Federer-v-Leyton Hewitt to last morevthan 3 sets, 3pts 5/4...lost
    4: Leyton Hewitt 1pt win 8/1....lost
    5: M Kirilenko 1pt win 11/10

Results as it stands with 3 of the above tips still in play,

Bets 16: (8wins/ 8 lost)
    Profit/loss: -0.08

think the smart money is Murray to be honest... the man has been different gravy so far. i had him at just shy of 7/1 on betfair before the off so i'm hoping he can do the business in the morning. still available at 9/2 or so.

I'd definetley agree with Murray, he's some form at the moment and he looks so focused and has a great hunger for it.
    Murray himself knows his best chances of a grand slam victory are here in Australia and in the us open later in the year, he is definetley targetting those 2 slams as his of a grand slam win. I backed him before the game against isner, I just think at the moment he has to be both the best and the value bet to win it.
    I can't wait for his match against nadal 2mrw morning, the 2 of them are such powerful hitters, it should be some game. Murray has a better record against Nadal on hard courts recently and I'm hoping it shows 2mrw.

Devastator wrote: »
    What are Roddick's chances in his next game?

I'd be leaning more on the side of roddick myself, although the tipsters I follow are going for cillic, they didn't let me down last year so I can't desert their selection, although I might have a little saver on there being more than 3 sets in the match.
    Cillic is definetley an improving up and coming player especially on hard courts but roddick might just be that little bit fresher having had less game time.
    Gonzalez threw everything at Roddick but he remained composed and his serve was magnificent. He is considered to be fitter than Cilic and has been on court a lot less time. Even if Cilic goes on a rampage he does make alot of unforced errors. If both were well rested Cilic would have a magnificent chance, but after another near 5 hour 5 setter he will be fairly exhausted.
    However like I said they are my own thoughts and I shall be sticking with the tipsters that served me well last year, with a little saver on the more than 3 sets of course :)

I placed my bet on andy Murray to beat nadal with boylesports, i just found out that they do not pay out if the match does not finish as if someone leaves injured, a bit worried as nadal has a dodgy knee at the mo. I will not be betting on tennis with boylesports anymore and I would advise everyone to avoid them also.
    Nadal could well come back but it looks very unlikely at the moment.

I don't believe it, nadal has retired, for god sake.
    Paddy power or betfair from now on for me :(
    Time to cancel my account with boylesports.

Turns out most bookies have the same policy as boylesports, including paddy power.
    Bwin pay out on the declared winner of the match, if anyone else knows other bookies with the policy of paying out on the declared winner could you post up.
    Totesport need one set to be completed before someone retires, then they will pay out on the player that moves to next round. Time to open up a few more bookmakers accounts I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Seanohea wrote: »
    I don't believe it, nadal has retired, for god sake.
    Paddy power or betfair from now on for me :(
    Time to cancel my account with boylesports.

Thats brutal, the norm is a pay out if the first set is completed.

I only use betfair for tennis as the prices and liquidity are great. The price swings are huge and if you ask for better then market odds you always get matched(unless its a complete whitewash)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 intercepter

i had 400 on Murray with Boylesports and they have just voided the bet. this is a DISGRACE. The match had started was 2 sets in. There is no way this should be voided. I did a 13euro cover bet at 18/1 with Bet365 literally seconds before Nadal retired and they too have voided the bet. Can someone tell me is this a local bookmaker rule or do they all have it.

Seems like definetley betfair for me from now on.
    I know it's in the rules before I placed the bet but I think it's bad form from the main Irish bookies. I mean for goodness sake it was 2 1/2 sets in, Murray was in control and in line to win, ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

Bookies suiting themselves as usual.

No chance murray losing it

Can someone tell me, Is this a local rule to Boyles, Bet365 only ? Both bookies voided my bets. Does anyone know if Paddypower paid out ? I really think this is scandalous.... I mean Boyles should have more honour than this. The match was all but over...

This is what IBAS (Independent settlement company) say...
    http://www.ibas-uk.com/adjudCase.php?adjudID=3

I don't know for certain but considering paddy power's rules regarding players retiring are the same as boylesports I'd very much doubt it.
    Tennis betting on betfair from now on.
    I'm nearly positive paddy power didn't have this rule last year, I think it was long as one game was played, they must have changed their rules.
    Well I know so far that betfair, bwin and totesport operate on the policy of at least 1 set being played before paying out on the declared winner if someone retires.

Results so far after kirilenko lost and Murray and Cillic won,

Bets 19(10 won/9 lost)
    Profit/loss: +4.52

Tuesday's Selections;

Roger Federer 4pts 4/9
    J-W Tsonga 3pts 15/8
    Na Li 1pt 12/5

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 pokerdonuts

thats sick what Boyles did. ****ing phone them up and close your account now! a player's fitness(or lack of) will be incorporated into the pre-match odds already,so to not pay out after 2 sets is scandalous...

I agree...Paddy power are paying out...
    Andy Murray Payout
    So Rafa Nadal did his ‘It’s my ball and I’m going home’ bit. It still didn’t take away from the fact he was given a sound trashing by Britain’s Andy Murray. And while other bookies use Nadal’s withdrawal as an excuse to void bets on Britain’s Andy Murray that were minutes from being victorious, we’re taking our beating the way we should – the way Nadal didn’t. We’re paying out on all bets – both pre-match and Betting In Running - for Britain’s Andy Murray to win as well as all bets on him to hand Nadal his own ass – or 3-0 in set betting to give it it’s official title.

Im hoping that Boyles succumb to the pressure...only fair...will seriously think bout not betting with them again