Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Question for you ladies...

• 18-01-2010 6:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭

I have no idea whether this is within the charter or not but sure that has never stopped me before so I'll ask anyway.

When aunt flo the painters are in
    ...when it's that time of the month...does anything sexual happen with your partner? What I mean is...you more than likely don't have sex (I know we probably all have done it at some point but it's not preferable - we can all agree to that much)...but do you do anything else? Do you feel horny during that week...or just constantly want to shower and basically nothing else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Ha I was actually talking about this with the missus a few weeks ago, she definitely feels hornier in the few days before it, and during,we've never done it while she was on it though, neither of us particularly want to, it seems a bit...icky (sorry girls)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

I think it varies from woman to woman to be honest,A lot of the time during it you dont feel your most attractive and it can be kind of off putting,your hormones are going crazy too which i find makes you want it even more than usual,it personally has never stopped me and i wouldnt even think twice about it,but i know a lot of women who never had and never would

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

But what about oral and things like that. (for men obviously) (jaysus)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I'm lucky in that I only see my boyfriend at weekends, and I time my pill so that my period starts on a Tuesday and is gone by Friday night. But if he was around unexpectedly, I'd have no issues giving him plenty of oral etc. I can survive without action for the few days, considering I do it for at least 4 days a week anyway!

I've had period sex before and just felt really gross about the whole thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

was that directed at me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭DancingDaisy

I haven't ever had sex during, and I don't think I would. I tend to be a bit squeamish at the best of times :o However, I do find myself in the mood, and probably have a tendency to shower more often than usual, and masturbate at the same time. It scratches that itch.

I'm quite nice to the o/h though :D

I've, ahem, recieved without returning the favour during the days where it would be a no go area oral wise, NOT at my request i may add, but that my great, gorgeous, selfless girlfriend thought it wasnt fair that just because we couldnt do that, we couldnt do...something:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

while it wouldnt be my favourite time of the month to be doing stuff, its manageable

for sex- shower first and then pop a bathtowel on the bed (or just do it in the shower)

for oral sex- shower first, then put in a tampon

generally, i'd avoid it due to general feeling of ickiness, but there was a time when my then b/f lived a good bit away and only visited alternate weekends, so we were desperate!

oh, and i'd have no probs sorting him out while i've my period!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Accidentally did that once, wasn't as bad as you would expect. So, it's doable, though not preferrable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Accidentally did that once, wasn't as bad as you would expect. So, it's doable, though not preferrable.

*shakes head*

Jesus Dazz...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

*shakes head*

Jesus Dazz...

Don't knock 'til you tried it. I didn't even realise at the time, it was after I realised something was funny (dark, tipsy).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭DancingDaisy

I also know that with my o/h it's very much me who puts a hold on sex during that week. I don't think he'd have a major objection with anything, and often tries to convince me otherwise ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Contessa Raven

I have done it and don't mind doing it but I do feel the least attractive then. So, if the opportunity arises I won't say no ;) I will usually wait until it's all clear and then go crazeh! :p

Tis a very horny time of the month though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Eh, my last ex didn't like the whole blood thing. So not with him. I have slept with other guys while my period has been nearly over. But still, ew.

Wanna hear something really crazy? an ex of mine was going out with a guy before me who wouldnt even sleep in the same bed as her when she was on her period, wtf?! It came up one night where i asked her to stay over and she said she was having it, i said thats fine we can just hang out and have a fun night without the sex side, but she said she only told me in case i didnt want to sleep with her, i was flabbergasted that a guy could be so insensitive, he was a fcuking caveman from the way she described him though, i guess he assumed he's wake up drenched in blood like a scene from The Godfather or something, some guys really dont have a clue about how womens bodys work, gives the rest of us a bad name :D

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

I actually find sex better during. I don't get PMS so don't have to battle with moods. Not a patch on pregnant sex though, it's fecking amazing, highly recommended! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

Doesn't bother me at all, wouldn't think twice about having sex on my period unless it's with a new partner - but if he's ok with it, I'm ok with it :)

I'd agree with other girls when they say period sex is better - I tend to be hornier, and orgasms are great for curing cramps ;) I find it relaxes me and makes me less moody as well - but that could be a personal thing, I find sex therapeutic anyway!

I'd draw the line at receiving oral though, I would feel very self-conscious and the thought of looking at a guy afterwards with... Ugh, can't even finish that sentence. It's just wrong!

Edit: As for sorting my bf out if he didn't want to have period sex... I'm
    not really sure. If it was me saying no to sex then I'd have no problem giving him oral instead... But if he had a sort of "eww" attitude towards me then I wouldn't be particularly inclined to do him any favours, lol. That's mean isn't it?! I think I'm just a stubborn cow. I couldn't reconcile the whole "I don't want to have sex with you but I'll let you blow me" thing.

shellyboo wrote: »
    I'd draw the line at receiving oral though, I would feel very self-conscious and the thought of looking at a guy afterwards with... Ugh, can't even finish that sentence. It's just wrong!

but he wouldnt have to get anything on his face!

seriously, shower first, then pop in a tampon and you're sorted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Rayne

While i can feel horny sometimes, i mainly feel fat, chubby, bloated, irritable, moody etc!
    So no, it doesn't happen in our house!
    The only things I really want is chocolate and ice cream!

I have no problems giving favours though. Not fair to withhold in my opinion!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 edvedfan

The idea of having sex during my period makes me squirm. It's come up when there's been drink involved but knew he would probably be weirded out when he woke up the next morning. Dutch courage and all that jazz.
    At the start of it, I usually have cramps so i' rather he made himself useful by making tea and bringing me chocolate icecream or hot water bottles rather then dropping the hand!

I would usually share the love unless I'm cramping and then i just want hugs :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

sam34 wrote: »
    but he wouldnt have to get anything on his face!

seriously, shower first, then pop in a tampon and you're sorted

I absolutely wouldn't be comfortable with a guy down there while I was wearing a tampon. Dunno why, but it'd be a total no-no for me.
    edvedfan wrote: »
    e .
    At the start of it, I usually have cramps so i' rather he made himself useful by making tea and bringing me chocolate icecream or hot water bottles rather then dropping the hand!

I would usually share the love unless I'm cramping and then i just want hugs :o

But it's good for easing cramps! I agree with you though, sometimes I'd be in such a mood that I'd probably cry if a guy asked me for a bj. Hormones are such a pain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

NEVER do it while I have my period. Gross.

We find that the few days off just makes the next time even better for the anticipation ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭smileysurfer

Malari wrote: »
    NEVER do it while I have my period. Gross.

I agree

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

I guess it depends how heavy your period is. Mines fairly light so I don't feel that uncomfortable having sex when I have mine. I've never had a guy refuse sex cos I have my period so I guess guys dont mind that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Vinta81

I can't :( I think it would be quite unpleasent. I got a call for it last week but I was on my last day and I couldn't do that to him :( But, I'd give oral whilst on it. Done that before.

I have given my girlfriend an orgasm while on her period from just rubbing her while she was still wearing her underwear, although thats probably because she's usually super horny so it wouldnt take much :D err, i mean because of my superb abilities, yeah, that lol

krudler wrote: »
    I have given my girlfriend an orgasm while on her period from just rubbing her while she was still wearing her underwear, although thats probably because she's usually super horny so it wouldnt take much :D err, i mean because of my superb abilities, yeah, that lol

yep, i've had this done to me too

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

does bother us in the sightest, i am assuming the girls here who think its horrible are just very young, wait until you are my age - you couldnt give a feck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Monkey61

Period sex is amazing!!! And it does wonders for cramps. Wonders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭DigiGal

Awh man seriously....bleuugghh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

DigiGal wrote: »
    ....bleuugghh

that's what he said....

my apologies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

irishbird wrote: »
    does bother us in the sightest, i am assuming the girls here who think its horrible are just very young, wait until you are my age - you couldnt give a feck

I'm not very young but any guys I've dated long term have been the fastidious type and didn't find period sex appealing. I personally don't find it appealing either but maybe that's because I had very heavy painful periods throughout my 20s and didn't feel the best at that time. They've calmed down a bit now though.

In some cultures women are considered unclean while they're menstruating and they have a ritual bath at the end of their period and *reunite*:D with their husband after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

You assume incorrectly. I don't like messes. And mine are light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭smileysurfer

Why in Gods name would you assume that anyone who disagrees is ''just very young''. What a ridiculously ignorant thing to say! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

Das Kitty wrote: »
    I actually find sex better during. I don't get PMS so don't have to battle with moods. Not a patch on pregnant sex though, it's fecking amazing, highly recommended! :p

+1 zillion! :D

Orgasm is absolutely the best soother for period cramps in the world - I have a IUD fitted now & I get no periods but I always know when I should be having a period because I'm super horny. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

From a post I made on this very topic a while back:
    Top Tip: A gentleman always ensures that he's stocked up with a few large, dark-coloured towels (my personal preference is burgundy), as it's less hassle to wash towels than to wash bed linen.

IME I've found that period sex is not a big issue if you as a man are comfortable with it. If you're totally comfortable with it, the woman tends to be receptive to it. Some women are more horny during their period, for some it helps with cramps, and I had one ex who swore that it made her period shorter!

The night I earned my Red Wings was hilarious. Still makes me laugh when I think about it even after all these years. She was mortified but I didn't care as very little squicks me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

Gyalist wrote: »
    The night I earned my Red Wings was hilarious. Still makes me laugh when I think about it even after all these years. She was mortified but I didn't care as very little squicks me anyway.

Red wings! lol but ewww! :D

I've never felt comfortable enough to have sex while on my period I suffer with bad cramps & feel quite bloated so I'm admittedly a cranky cow at that time of the month (lol oh the joys of it!)... a cuddle, hot water bottle, painkillers, tea and choc is all I want usually! I don't think I'd be comfortable with it anyway, no boyfriend has never pushed for it during my period so it's never been an issue I guess. Like most I get much hornier during it too.

As for the whole red wings, that would and will always be a no no, it just grosses me out totally. :eek: The leaving him out because I can't, well that wouldn't be fair would it! :P

And this isn't just because I'm young btw! :rolleyes: (24 still youngish right! lol :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭smoggy11

I'll never forget the first time I had sex on my period.

I had just started the contraceptive injection and was protected, but was still having a period. We were at my OHs parents house, felt in the mood and wanted to try sex minus condoms. We were in the living room and we did and it was great. But then we stood up and realised that we had got blood on the carpet and the cream throw that was on the settee...

So the mood was ruined by searching for 1001 stain remover and trying to scrub away the evidence!

Luckily his parents didn't notice! I still can't look at those throws in the same way :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

shellyboo wrote: »
    I absolutely wouldn't be comfortable with a guy down there while I was wearing a tampon. Dunno why, but it'd be a total no-no for me. l

+1million. It completely weirds me out. No contact at all if there's tampons involved.

Am the whole idea weirds me out a little but damn i get extra horny at that time of month. I just dont like the idea of mess and for the first few days i feel hideous anyways! But i dont mind going for it in the last day or two when im nearly finished

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Definitely not into it.

Sorry, but thats a load of rubbish. Its not about age or maturity, its about personal preference and how your body responds. My periods are very heavy, I feel completely disgusting when I have it, the cramps are horrendous and orgasms don't help one bit. Sex is the last thing I want to do when I have it. Now unless there is a huge change in my periods when I get to your age, then I will still give a feck.