Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Buckfast Code

• 18-01-2010 4:00pm

Linkage
    Tonic wine Buckfast has been cited in 5000 crime reports by Scotland’s biggest police force in the last three years, an investigation has revealed.

The figures, obtained under Freedom of Information legislation, show that almost one in 10 of those crimes in the Strathclyde Police area was violent.
    During the three-year-period, a glass Buckfast bottle was used as a weapon 114 times. Police said the figures suggested there is an association between Buckfast and violence.

Part of a BBC investigation, the findings are to be revealed in the programme BBC Scotland Investigates: The Buckfast Code, broadcast tonight.
    Commenting on the figures, Superintendent Bob Hamilton of Strathclyde Police said: “The figures are fairly clear that Buckfast is mentioned in a number of crime reports and over the period requested, the Buckfast bottle was used 114 times as a weapon.

“I think it’s clear from the figures that there is an association there.”
    The investigation also looks at the ingredients of the drink and how they may affect the behaviour of consumers, potentially making them anxious and aggressive if drunk in large quantities.

Around the world there is increasing concern about the effect of caffeine when mixed with alcohol.
    Neuroscientist Dr Steven Alexander tells how there is 281 milligrammes of caffeine in a bottle of Buckfast – as much caffeine as in eight cans of coke.
    Asked about the effects of consuming excessive amounts of caffeine, Dr Alexander said: “It’s going to have him bouncing around all over the place because the anxiety levels, the adrenalin will be running around.
    “He will certainly be feeling very anxious, very aggressive.”

Buckfast is produced by Benedictine monks in a Devon monastery. But its distributor, J Chandler and Co, has previously rejected claims that it is responsible for anti-social behaviour among its drinkers.
    When asked what would be the harm in reducing the caffeine levels, company spokesman Jim Wilson said: “Why should we? It’s been there for over 80 years. Why should we go about changing the recipe of something just to satisfy somebody’s whim?”

A request for an interview with the monks of Buckfast Abbey to respond to the issues raised was turned down, the BBC said.
    However, a spokesman for Buckfast said: “The people who commit crimes are the ones who have to take responsibility.
    “It is completely wrong to blame the knife manufacturer if someone stabs someone. Why just attack Buckfast?”
    BBC Scotland Investigates: The Buckfast Code will be screened on BBC One Scotland at 7.30pm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Yup it's time for the classic Galway Buckfast sign again.

http://thisfragiletent.files.wordpress.com/2009/07/no_buckfast-ashx.jpg

• good ol bucky,

keeps you going all night
    then you cant sleep when you do go to bed
    and then you sh1t coppery water for a week

i love the suff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

Toxic wine Buckfast has been cited in 5000 crime reports by Scotland’s biggest police force in the last three years, an investigation has revealed.

I read it as that with the first glance there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Ah Buckfast, the preferred drink of Facekicker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

The Buckfast Code

Remember,
    one, look for an offy
    two, please hurry, don't stop and wait,
    three look all around and listen
    before you cross the road,
    Remember,
    four, let all the traffic pass you
    five, then walking straight across you
    six, keep swigging,
    that's the Buckfast code!!!!!

safe place, stop and swig
    safe bush, look around, listen for a police sound
    if squad cars coming let it pass
    until the coast is clear at last
    then stumbling straight across the road
    keep swigging, that's the code.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

I hurd that 112 of them attacks were by the Boo.. One hard buck!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭markok84

I stopped drinking that **** about 5 years ago, I thought I was gonna end up getting a heart attack off it. Them Benedictine monks must be full tilt replacing doors in the monastery.

Wreck the hoooos joooooice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭IronMan

Ah, my memories of my days as a stewdent in Galway.

I used to add a can of redbull to the mix, so I could actually drink the stuff. Wretched taste, epic night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Pete M.

And never, ever, ever drink it from anything else other than the bottle!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Useful.Idiot

Buckfast is quite iconic. But ffs it tastes like absolute sh*te!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

BOTTLE OF B!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭Tomebagel

The sooner PopeBuckfastXVI gets here the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

Gotta love Buckfast. I like how the have the number of the bottle from each batch on the side so you can tell if you're getting a syrupy bottle or not :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

bluto63 wrote: »
    Gotta love Buckfast. I like how the have the number of the bottle from each batch on the side so you can tell if you're getting a syrupy bottle or not :D

You are aware thats bull****? The number on the bottom tells you what mold the bottle was cast in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭mike kelly

bluto63 wrote: »

explain please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

You are aware thats bull****? The number on the bottom tells you what mold the bottle was cast in.
    mike kelly wrote: »
    explain please

he just did :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭saltie

Its the syruppynessness ok, just leave it :)

Gotta love an old bottle a beat the wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

I heard there's a secret drug in Buckfast that makes you want to fight, have sex with ugly people and piss on the street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I know somebody that drinks it mixed with milk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

stovelid wrote: »
    I know somebody that drinks it mixed with milk.
    For the love of god... why?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Och aye the buckie oh aye etc. etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭oisinmc14

Dudess wrote: »

Buckfast + Calpol = Rocket Fuel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

What a drink. The morning-after vomit is a sight to behold. I can't believe colours like that can come out of a human body without killing you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

They might be tearing the heads of each other,stabbing each other to death and causing general mayhem but at least they won't suffer a cold or any sniffles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

I hear in England you can get naggin size bottles!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭fletch...

Just reading this is making me wanne go down the offy right now

ye gotta love the Bucky!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Me at a posh boat awards dinner on the weekend, drinking the stuff out of the bottle like a true gent:

(The glass was for others around the table for a taste test!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

I heard there's a secret drug in Buckfast that makes you want to fight, have sex with ugly people and piss on the street.

I believe it's called "Alcohol"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

JohnCleary wrote: »
    Me at a posh boat awards dinner on the weekend, drinking the stuff out of the bottle like a true gent:

(The glass was for others around the table for a taste test!)

It does nothing for your complexion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Neuroscientist Dr Steven Alexander tells how there is 281 milligrammes of caffeine in a bottle of Buckfast – as much caffeine as in eight cans of coke.
    hmmm

Sensationalist Steven Alexander tells how there is 281 milligrammes of caffeine in a bottle of Buckfast - less caffeine than in a single large starbucks coffee

It contains the same alcohol as 2,500 slices of rum cake -FACT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

rubadub wrote: »
    hmmm

Sensationalist Steven Alexander tells how there is 281 milligrammes of caffeine in a bottle of Buckfast - less caffeine than in a single large starbucks coffee

It contains the same alcohol as 2,500 slices of rum cake -FACT.

Sounds like Scotlands version of Panorama or Prime Time.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Going out on a limb here - but if anyone has played the game 'Mount and Blade', download the 'Gangs of Glasgow' mod. A bucky bottle is one of the weapons :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Bazzy

I hear in England you can get naggin size bottles!:eek:

You can get them in naggin size up the north the missus lives up there went to a bbq a couples thing and a load of the lads there were supping out of the naggin sized bottles !! mad stuff, there mad for it in the pubs up there too

It's like cut-price Baileys, albeit for hooligans instead of grannies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭sorrywhat

awww good ol' bucky. - Buckfast gets you fcukedfast.

stovelid wrote: »
    It's like cut-price Baileys, albeit for hooligans instead of grannies.

Personally I can't do Buckfast. I've tried - oh lord I've tried - but it's just too puke-inducing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

I was going to say there should be a link to this is the Galway forum and BANG! hey presto it's up. Ha ha! :pac:

Friend of mine went on the Buckfast tour and said they have poster and framed pictures of Galway up about the place (along with 3/4 other spots).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

I once did 20 minutes of an hour of power with Bucky and can't even smell the stuff anymore without vomiting.. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭fletch...

my usual drinkn hole in town sell bottles of bucky at the bar and so far ive never seen any Bucky related trouble

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭icanhearjimi

Tasted it once. It would be easier to drink a glass of ink. Fúcking terrible stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭narwog81

vodka, bucky and monster energy drink is the latest craic in galway. rocket fuel is not the word:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

I adore the stuff.

Its started some of the best and worst nights of my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Apparently, in Scotland it's known as "Wreck the Hoose Juice", "Commotion Lotion" and "Mrs. Brown". :D

oisinmc14 wrote: »
    Buckfast + Calpol = Rocket Fuel
    Calpol is some good sh1t, to be fair... I thought so as a baby anyway.

I've always loved the fact that such a liquid mayhem-enabler is made by monks. :D

Calpol is some good sh1t, to be fair... I thought so as a baby anyway.

Don't forget the Benno too.

Top buzz.

Seriously, I once took a Benylin4Flu on the Dublin-Cork bus when it stopped in Kilkenny. What seemed like a minute later, I was in Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

As a man who works in two offies in Galway. We understand and get "Buckfast", "Bucky", "Buck", "B" or simply (and most popularly) "can i get a bottle please". "Mrs. Brown" too, is quite common.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭howyanow

bottle of life!!