Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's best loop hole you have found and exploited to your own advantage?

• 17-01-2010 8:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭

About 20 yrs ago when I was living in Japan, North-West airlines ran a promotion whereby if one refered ones friends to join their frequent flyer milage club, and they actually fly one round trip international flight, they awarded 5000 miles for every friend introduced. All one had to do was get a friend to fill in an application form which already had the freq flyer number pre allocated on the form to use, for 10 friends at a time. One could get as many of these forms as one had friends, there was no limit to the number of friends one could introduce.

So I thought 'where can I find these people' The Airport!!!! queing at North West gate to check in. So off to the airport I went and sure enough all these Japanese tourist waiting to check in with their suitcase which had lables hanging on them with their name and address on display. I Jotted down the info, went to the phone and called Northwest reservations. Most of these people were not members of their freq flyer club, and I just asked the reservation clerk to imput the freq flyer number I had for each person and got 5000 miles on my freq flyer a/c for each one I introduced that flew one RT int flight. I did this almost every day. If I tried it today, security would come down on me like a ton of bricks

When I got my North West airlines milage statement each month, I just contacted a frequent flyer Milage Broker in the USA who got them converted into first Class tickets for his clients. I was getting about US$6-7000 each month for about 8 months. I was minted then as that would be about 10-1500 euros per month in todays spending power. I blew it all on cars, and women and drink.
    Also when ever I flew with Northwest, because of the number of miles I had collected I was always bumpt up to business or first class.

I was young then and my only regret was I did not save the money and buy a house in Ireland, cos today 20 yrs later and compared to then I am poor and skint.....but finding that loophole gave me the best months of my life. Well I Hope you enjoyed the read anyway, cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

c4cat wrote: »
    About 20 yrs ago when I was living in Japan, North-West airlines ran a promotion whereby if one refered ones friends to join their frequent flyer milage club, and they actually fly one round trip international flight, they awarded 5000 miles for every friend introduced. All one had to do was get a friend to fill in an application form which already had the freq flyer number pre allocated on the form to use, for 10 friends at a time. One could get as many of these forms as one had friends, there was no limit to the number of friends one could introduce.

So I thought 'where can I find these people' The Airport!!!! queing at North West gate to check in. So off to the airport I went and sure enough all these Japanese tourist waiting to check in with their suitcase which had lables hanging on them with their name and address on display. I Jotted down the info, went to the phone and called Northwest reservations. Most of these people were not members of their freq flyer club, and I just asked the reservation clerk to imput the freq flyer number I had for each person and got 5000 miles on my freq flyer a/c for each one I introduced that flew one RT int flight. I did this almost every day. If I tried it today, security would come down on me like a ton of bricks

When I got my North West airlines milage statement each month, I just contacted a frequent flyer Milage Broker in the USA who got them converted into first Class tickets for his clients. I was getting about US$6-7000 each month for about 8 months. I was minted then as that would be about 10-1500 euros per month in todays spending power. I blew it all on cars, and women and drink.
    Also when ever I flew with Northwest, because of the number of miles I had collected I was always bumpt up to business or first class.

I was young then and my only regret was I did not save the money and buy a house in Ireland, cos today 20 yrs later and compared to then I am poor and skint.....but finding that loophole gave me the best months of my life. Well I Hope you enjoyed the read anyway, cheers

I could see someone getting away with that for a few days... but 8 months? Did the staff at the airport not recognise you/cop your plan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

For some reason I immediately thought of Punch Drunk Love.

Closest I've come myself to exploiting a loophole was getting a year's worth of paid subscriber status to Last.fm.. came about by accident, really. I charged the subscription to my paypal account which I thought had the required 3 euro in it. It didn't (short by like, 30 cent), but it gave me subscriber status anyway. It charged my empty paypal account every month, but for some reason never copped on that it wasn't getting money out of it.

Unfortunately, they figured it out a few months ago, and I've had to pay ever since. :( Not that I mind. It's a brilliant service, so it's money well spent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Last year with Littlewoods your first order you got 15 euro off so I ordered items for 15 euro friends and family got delivery over the next few weeks in the name of ben dover, max payne etc all good stuff too I had seen it on here i got some great stuff mugs, bags make up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

Not so much a loop hole, but for years I'd dress up as a Pan Am pilot and trick the staff into letting me fly for free in the cockpit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭c4cat

I could see someone getting away with that for a few days... but 8 months? Did the staff at the airport not recognise you/cop your plan?

In those days no one was so security minded as they are today, I was in and out of the airport within 20 mins. The que for flights on Jumbo jets were pretty long in a small airport as Osaka Itami was, I never needed to go anywhere near the front of the que

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

"It is legal for an Englishman to kill a Welshman on the walls of Chester, at 2am, with a bow and arrow"

Came in handy a few times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Red_Marauder

If you're no longer a student in UCD you can still call into the travelcard issuing desk and get a student travelcard which doubles as a student card for general stuff. You also get to reinvent yourself in whatever name you choose.

Currently, according to my card, my middle name is "Danger".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Pete O phile

Lolicon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

I can tell you're going to be around for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

The speed you get on a cable modem is controlled by firmware inside the modem.
    For a time, it was possible to pay for the cheapest package, but install a modified version of the firmware that gave you the highest available speed (sometimes greater than the top speed the ISP was selling).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

When i was unemployed i got a discount at the local gym if you provided your dole card. Not much of a difference mind, maybe two euro?. I'm now back working and have used my dole card to trick them. I would reckon, in the last six months i have saved myself two euro. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭The Express

Laminated piece of paper with 'Midwife on Call' on the dashboard.

No parking tickets (yet). Sweeeet :cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Bugnug

c4cat wrote: »

I love those kind of dreams. Or the one where I won the lotto, thats great.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

aDeener wrote: »
    Not so much a loop hole, but for years I'd dress up as a Pan Am pilot and trick the staff into letting me fly for free in the cockpit.
    You read it too? Great book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Dj Stiggie

Biggins wrote: »
    You read it too? Great book.

I'd say it was the film, which was also great

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Not really a loophole, simply incompetence on behalf of a bank

I got a credit card nearly 6 years ago - they gave an interest free period, and forgot to switch it back on after 6 months - have had an average interest free balance of over 10 grand since:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Dj Stiggie wrote: »
    I'd say it was the film, which was also great

Good film but as most cases, the book was even better.
    Hell of a lot more detail, showed the film up for absolute inaccuracies, and the motivations of the main people behind it all (to say the least).
    The stuff that he got away with in the film is nothing to what he got away with in real life - and its all on record!

As with the OP, North-West Airways had a lot to answer for. They were taken advantage of so so, so many ways.
    I guess the main airline industry learned from their minor and major mistakes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Beasty wrote: »
    Not really a loophole, simply incompetence on behalf of a bank

I got a credit card nearly 6 years ago - they gave an interest free period, and forgot to switch it back on after 6 months - have had an average interest free balance of over 10 grand since:)

I take you don't ring them up much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Coming from Norn Iron, I am able to have a Irish passport and so get less hassle than someone with a British passport. But being a 'UK citizen', I can get free healthcare here in Australia. Best of both worlds. :D

My cousin has an American and Irish passport. He was born in America and lived there for about 5yrs. Best loop hole ever ( well it's not really but pretty handy to have) :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

stepbar wrote: »
    My cousin has an American and Irish passport. He was born in America and lived there for about 5yrs. Best loop hole ever ( well it's not really but pretty handy to have) :D

But he has to pay american taxes on his worldwide income as well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Not really a loophole but....

I sanded down the year on my (expired) student card. I then laquered and polished the card so it doesn't look like it's been tampered with.

Saving myself a fortune. Only one person has questined the lack of date on it so far, I just say that there's no year on the student cards anymore as we now only get one student card throughout our stay in college because of cutbacks, and it's saving the college 40k a year (Which is true for UCD, that's where I got the idea from)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

The best one I've seen (but never actually used) is this one:

Say you receive a bill from ESB/Bord Gáis/Eircom/whoever €XXX. Now, instead of paying €XXX in full, bring your bill down to your local post office and pay a small amount (a small amount to you, whatever you could very easily afford; say €10/€15/€20 etc.) off the bill.

Do this maybe once a week. Ignore all incoming bills from this company and keep your consistent paying of the small amount weekly up. You will never be cut off, will never receive warnings from the company, nothing.

You could receive a bill for €2,000 and yet, because you can be seen to be making (not much of an) 'effort' to pay said bill, no recourse/action can be taken against you.

I see this being done dozens of times each week, and these people get away with it. You will never come close to paying what you owe, but nothing can be done about it.

If your company starts making noises, point out you are paying ''all you can afford at the moment'' off the bill weekly. If they refuse this excuse, you will have a legal right to bring them to court as they are ''refusing to take payment'' off you.

I swear to God all of the above is true, I shít you not. Maybe I don't have it perfectly explained, but you can get the gist of it and go from there.

Thank you, and goodnight...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,238 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

If I told you Id have to kill you...............................Oops maybe Ive said too much!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭marko91

Lolicon

i thanked you for your username not your post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭newmills

When i lived in sydney i used to press the student/apprentice button on the train ticket machine which took 50%of the price of your rail ticket (handy half price weekly ticket).
    Got my ticket checked once...woman says "it says you're an apprentice"...me "yeah"..... her "apprentice what".....me "carpenter".....her "where are you from?".......me "ireland"......her (winking) "best of luck"

You could also press the OAP button and get unlimited travel anywhere all day for a dollar.....yes the mean cork whores i worked with all did it until.....ticket inspector gets on..."jesus lads you're fine looking men to be over 65!!!!!" 100 dollar fine for each of them....they were that stupid that they all gave their proper names and addresses in sydney and paid the fine when it came!!:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭marko91

newmills wrote: »
    When i lived in sydney i used to press the student/apprentice button on the train ticket machine which took 50%of the price of your rail ticket (handy half price weekly ticket).
    Got my ticket checked once...woman says "it says you're an apprentice"...me "yeah"..... her "apprentice what".....me "carpenter".....her "where are you from?".......me "ireland"......her (winking) "best of luck"

You could also press the OAP button and get unlimited travel anywhere all day for a dollar.....yes the mean cork whores i worked with all did it until.....ticket inspector gets on..."jesus lads you're fine looking men to be over 65!!!!!" 100 dollar fine for each of them....they were that stupid that they all gave their proper names and addresses in sydney and paid the fine when it came!!:o

yes my name is johnny bravo and i live on cardboard box lane....retards giving their real info:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

DazMarz wrote: »

Say you receive a bill from ESB/Bord Gáis/Eircom/whoever €XXX. Now, instead of paying €XXX in full, bring your bill down to your local post office and pay a small amount (a small amount to you, whatever you could very easily afford; say €10/€15/€20 etc.) off the bill.

Do this maybe once a week. Ignore all incoming bills from this company and keep your consistent paying of the small amount weekly up. You will never be cut off, will never receive warnings from the company, nothing.

You could receive a bill for €2,000 and yet, because you can be seen to be making (not much of an) 'effort' to pay said bill, no recourse/action can be taken against you.

I see this being done dozens of times each week, and these people get away with it. You will never come close to paying what you owe, but nothing can be done about it.

If your company starts making noises, point out you are paying ''all you can afford at the moment'' off the bill weekly. If they refuse this excuse, you will have a legal right to bring them to court as they are ''refusing to take payment'' off you.

I swear to God all of the above is true, I shít you not. Maybe I don't have it perfectly explained, but you can get the gist of it and go from there.

If anyone could come up with a way to pay a 'bit' off my mortgage each month and not lose the gaff I'd appreciate it. The above post probably explains why they only accept DD for the full amount.

But he has to pay american taxes on his worldwide income as well...

Well considering he's on the dole I doubt he'll have any tax to pay...

You might back up your comment by linking the evidence.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

I've found a loophole in the security of bank ATMs - to get more money than you actually have in your account simply walk into your local council's unsecured garage and pick up a JCB (keys are usually under the floor mat). Drive the JCB at full speed into the side of your chosen bank and help yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

newmills wrote: »
    they were that stupid that they all gave their proper names and addresses in sydney and paid the fine when it came!!:o

123 Fake Street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

In 1998 or 2001 when the internet in Ireland was still in its infancy or maybe it was even early i cant remember. The only available internet connection in my area was eircom dial up 56k modem. At the time only tallaght had cable internet access. As i remember it which is vague, eircom charged you a fortune for off-peak access. In our house we could only use the internet after 18:00, well i didnt want to use it before 18:00 for fear of accumlating a huge bill and having my parents cut it off. I dunno how much the bill was per month but it was probably enough to make a small dint in your wallet.

As you know using a 56k modem (i still remember the dial tone) you had to insert a username/password as well as a phone number. I dunno how widespread this was but there was a free number eircom employees would use to use the internet for free. This free number got loose on the internet and it was a glorious bill free time to use the net. I think the number was useful for 9months -18months before things started to change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

Back when we still had the Irish punt /pound instead of the euro I came home from England for Christmas and one of the gifts I got was a twenty pound gift voucher for HMV I forgot to use it while I was there and went back to England where I was studying. One day out shopping I found the voucher in my wallet and decided Id try it out in the English HMV. It worked they let me use the voucher to buy a CD and I got the change back in Pounds Sterling. The Punt was worth a lot less then the Pound at the time so I bought a load more valuable vouchers when I was home next and spent them in England.

One of my mates was in Debenhams in England just after the Euro had come in buying something; he was Irish too and had some euros on him. Debenhams had decided that it would accept euros and so he decided to pay in Euros he had left to use them up. Whoever had added the Euro value to the till had obviously put the decimal point in the wrong place because when my friend paid for whatever he was buying they took his Euro to be worth 10 times what it should have been and gave him back the change in Pounds Sterling. My friend took the change he was given went to the bank and bought euros with it he then came back and bought more stuff got the change and did the same thing over and over again. He was a student too but his wardrobe didn’t look like it after that day. He tried it again the next day but they had coped on by then and changed the euro value to the correct amount.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭iMax

Great in theory, but all the while you're building up a massive mountain of debt which has to be paid off eventually...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

The local pool hall had one table with a small hole in the glass beside the pool balls, you could just use your finger to tip the tray holding the balls. Hours and hours of free pool for a good month.
    In the same pool hall they once forgot to lock both locks holding the balls and money in, we got about £20 out of it in 20p, took the rest of the day off school and went to the offie, twas a good day:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Not so much a scam as a mistake I was happy to take advantage of.

When I was in 1st year in college we had needed special swipe card to use the photocopier. Cards were purchased from the librarian and had 40 pages worth on them for 2 quid. However on one occasion the librarian mistakenly sold me a special "lecturers" card with 1000 units on it for 2 quid. Basically I got free photocopying for my entire time in college.

Only downsides of it was the card could only be used on the special "lecturers" photocopiers (and undergrads were not even supposed to have these 1000cards - hense no reason to be at these machines) which meant I always had to be on the lookout for lecturers lest I be rumbled. Small price to pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

I know this fellow who, along with some accomplices, spotted a loophole in reality that meant he and his friends, who he was charged with 'regulating', could borrow enormous sums of money and lend it to other friends to build loads of houses/apartments which they would then sell to other people, who he was charged with 'leading', who would borrow the money to buy the houses/apartments from the same people who had loaned the money to the people who built the houses/apartments.
    This resulted in many of the people who borrowed the money to buy the houses/apartments being gainfully employed in jobs that existed because of the borrowing and lending of the money and this made him very popular for a while.
    Then it turned out that this loophole in reality didn't exist and everyone involved in it, whether voluntarily or otherwise, ended up in a spot of bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

When i lived in North Wales i used to come over to Dublin quite a lot using the Rail and Sail from Holyhead to Dun Laoighorie.

Cost of this was 50quid return, you got 2 little tickets, 1 for outbound and the other for your return.

Paid for this at the train station in Llandudno

Get on train and buy a single to Holyhead, about a fiver (didn't want my main ticket stamped did i!!!) , when i got to the ferryport i handed in my ferry ticket but had to have it back as it was to Dublin City, so needed it to get on the dart, meaning i had 1 UNUSED TICKET VALID FOR TRAVEL WITHIN 3 MONTHS

Did exactly the same thing on the return leg, paid for the train ticket from Holyhead to Llandudno

Best i ever did was 8 return trips off 1 ticket

As far as i know you can still do this but as i now live here not much point for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Nokia game before the last one 20 Lives

Was really hard to rank high in Ireland, so I registered as living in Kuwait, where I ranked top 50 by default

Loop hole was that the Kuwait site was open to Dubai residents, where my sis was livin, so I could have my prize N-gage sent there :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

ascanbe wrote: »
    I know this fellow who, along with some accomplices, spotted a loophole in reality that meant he and his friends, who he was charged with 'regulating', could borrow enormous sums of money and lend it to other friends to build loads of houses/apartments which they would then sell to other people, who he was charged with 'leading', who would borrow the money to buy the houses/apartments from the same people who had loaned the money to the people who built the houses/apartments.
    This resulted in many of the people who borrowed the money to buy the houses/apartments being gainfully employed in jobs that existed because of the borrowing and lending of the money and this made him very popular for a while.
    Then it turned out that this loophole in reality didn't exist and everyone involved in it, whether voluntarily or otherwise, ended up in a spot of bother.

These people weren't linked to FF at all were they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

ascanbe wrote: »
    LOL :D:D:D:D Hillarious

Oh wait...... No its not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Sod'o swords

Went up to the Odyssey in Belfast for a school outing, and stupidly enough most of us forgot to bring sterling, they took Euro, but were shafting us on the exchange rate they used when giving change.
    We then soon discovered that in the vending machines beside the shop you could put in 20 cent and get back a pound, so we bled that machine dry, eventually they copped and turned it off.

So yeah, that's how bland my life is so far in terms of loop holes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Tiny Explosions

Senna wrote: »
    The local pool hall had one table with a small hole in the glass beside the pool balls, you could just use your finger to tip the tray holding the balls. Hours and hours of free pool for a good month.
    In the same pool hall they once forgot to lock both locks holding the balls and money in, we got about £20 out of it in 20p, took the rest of the day off school and went to the offie, twas a good day:D

That story sounds very familiar, My mates and I did the exact same in our local pool hall... I'd say there was plenty of money lifted from dodgy pool tables in Ireland over the years lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

My ex does this, pays 20 on gas bill and 25 on esb. she's in massive arrears though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Bonito wrote: »
    My ex does this, pays 20 on gas bill and 25 on esb. she's in massive arrears though

I'd say that's the one thing: at the moment, it won't have any real effect, but later on it could REALLY come back to bite you in the arse. Still, as I said, I see dozens of people doing it, so it must work to a certain extent. And for very long periods of time. I've seen lads doing it for years...:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Tiny Explosions

I'd say that's the one thing: at the moment, it won't have any real effect, but later on it could REALLY come back to bite you in the arse. Still, as I said, I see dozens of people doing it, so it must work to a certain extent. And for very long periods of time. I've seen lads doing it for years...:eek:

Yeah maybe, but I think it's more than likely that these people are living hand to mouth and trying to make ends meet, rather than taking advantage of any loop holes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

The old Del Boy trick of "tax in post" envelope in the car window used to do the job a few years ago, not now! :p I'm good at finding coupons online meant to be used once or exclusive, manage to save a lot of money! A number of bargain alerts over the years too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Gingy

I went to an All-Ireland semi-final a few years ago and they were selling tickets in a booth outside Croke Park, you could get adult tickets for €60 or juvenile ones for €5, which had a stamp saying juvenile on them. On of my mates and I bought 2 juvenile tickets, but yer one forgot to stamp juvenile on them, so we just sold them to people who didn't want to queue for €60. Pulled the same trick again, before going into the game. Nice €110 profit for 2 15 year olds, at the time we were absolutely delighted with ourselves ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,063 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Bus Eireann had this competition in the Students Union when I was in college, write your name and number on the back of a used bus ticket and drop it in the box, I passed a 3 hour bus trip down to Galway one day writing my name on the back of god knows how many tickets, the floor of the bus was carpeted in them, shoved them all in the box and got a free iPod a couple of weeks later, did the same thing with a competition for a Guinness fridge in the local off licence, just grabbed the stack of entry forms, spent 2 hours filling them out in lectures, stuck them back in and won the fridge aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭daltonr

In the early days of the internet I signed up with IOL.IE.

They never charged me.
    After a few months, I got worried that they might suddenly hit me with months of bills at once. So I rang them and told them they weren't charging me.

They said they'd sort it out.
    They never did.

Every now and again I check and my account is still active.

I think that's 14 or 15 years of free service from an ISP.
    Granted, I haven't really used it for a lot of those years, but still, it's there.

-Rd