Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Being approached..

• 17-01-2010 1:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭

And asked do you have a spare cigarette?
    Has happened to me twice this week!
    Once an oldish woman standing next to me at a bus stop then told me afterward that I was a lying b***h :eek:
    Then not too long after that a young girl came up to me and asked the same thing and walked off swearing under her breath.
    Thing is I'm 16 and have never touched a cigarette in my life!
    On both occasions I was with one other person who was not asked.
    I was astounded when the woman asked as she was of legal age to buy them,
    Do ye think its just random that it happened twice or is my appearance give people the impression that I smoke?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

Do you have yellow teeth,by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

Ha! Fúck that. I don't smoke but I think it's very fúcking rude to ask someone for one. Although any situation Iv'e been in where it has happened to a friend or whatever, it was usually a knacker. I dunno what it is, just ticks me off.

Buy your own smokes, you junky fúck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Dman001

I hate when people are so ignorant when you refuse to give them something of yours. Like someone came up to me on a night out and asked me was I with Vodafone or did I know anyone who was on Vodafone as they wanted to text his friend. I said no, and he said "Yeah Bulls**t". Its my bloody phone and I give it to who I want. Id be stupid to give it to some random drunk fella.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Liar! *mutter under breath*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

People are just asking if you have a spare smoke, nothing to worry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

MaybeLogic wrote: »
    Do you have yellow teeth,by any chance?
    Maybe I do but they wouldn't have been able to seem them as I wasn't talking before they asked
    GrumPy wrote: »
    Ha! Fúck that. I don't smoke but I think it's very fúcking rude to ask someone for one. Although any situation Iv'e been in where it has happened to a friend or whatever, it was usually a knacker. I dunno what it is, just ticks me off.

Buy your own smokes, you junky fúck.
    Yeah, it is rude! I felt more worried when it was the younger person as she had just left a group of people! You wouldn't know what could happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Scrambled egg

Yeah and then I was mugged, don't fall for it.

RMD wrote: »
    People are just asking if you have a spare smoke, nothing to worry about.
    I'm not even at the legal age to buy them! And being asked by someone 3 times older than me is a bit strange to say the least!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Tell em to fup the fup off.

M&S* wrote: »
    Maybe I do but they wouldn't have been able to seem them as I wasn't talking before they asked

They must have spotted them from afar.
    Use Arm and Hammer , nobody'll bother you for a smoke then.

Agricola wrote: »
    Tell em to fup the fup off.
    And risk getting the crap kicked out of me ?

They must have spotted them from afar.
    Use Arm and Hammer , nobody'll bother you for a smoke then.
    Too bad I don't actually smoke.

I meant the toothpaste.
    Or just use an actual Hammer.

I meant the toothpaste.
    Or just use an actual Hammer.
    Can't use anything but Colgate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

I'm not even at the legal age to buy them! And being asked by someone 3 times older than me is a bit strange to say the least!

And a **** load of people under the legal age to buy them smoke themselves. If I was looking for a smoke I'd be asking you before the old lady beside you.

RMD wrote: »
    And a **** load of people under the legal age to buy them smoke themselves. If I was looking for a smoke I'd be asking you before the old lady beside you.
    If I had actually been smoking then it wouldn't have been as big an issue to me,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭cashville

And risk getting the crap kicked out of me ?

Yeah, definitely don't say that. Unfortunately there are loads of scrotes out there who will try and bum cigarettes off you. I usually tell them to fu*k off but then I look like I could probably do them some damage.

Not a nice situation for you to be in. Just say 'I don't smoke' I guess. Don't say 'sorry' though, you've nowt to be sorry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

If a stranger asks you for a spare cig, ask them if they have a spare fiver or can of beer etc. Once they get that confused stare on their face, just walk on.

Works for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Alternatively keep a packet of fags about your person for just such eventualities!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

In work 99.9% of the time I won't, I work in a meth clinic. On the street 95% I won't I make rare exceptions. I was having a smoke outside work a few weeks ago, when I was approached by an annoying client requesting a smoke. Normally I just said I only brought one down, but this idiot had one behind his ear. I really enjoyed telling him to jog on, but I would supply a light for the one behind his ear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I keep my headphones in when I'm walking around town. Don't even need to be listening to anything. People just leave you alone then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

I get asked for smokes all the time on nights out, and whenever i say i dont smoke (which i dont) they give me this stupid fụcking look on their face as though they know i'm lying.
    One of these days i'm gonna crack and unleash the pain train

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Random chance, I still get asked all the time and I neve smoke - well except once a long time ago and I was drunk. LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

bonerm wrote: »
    I keep my headphones in when I'm walking around town. Don't even need to be listening to anything. People just leave you alone then.
    Yep, same here. Social self-exclusion for the win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

I never give smokes (unless I'm drunk). They are too expensive to be giving away to strangers. Don't really care what the asker says or thinks about me tbh, I'm content with my smoke in my gob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

bonerm wrote: »

Walking around naked covered in lube has the same effect

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Agricola wrote: »
    Alternatively keep a packet of fags about your person for just such eventualities!

Impregneted with Anthrax like the CIA onetime tried to do with Fidel's cigars :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Does this happen to adults aswell or just mostly teens? It's fair annoying, you'd be out at night and some knacker would basically harass you because they want to use your phone. "I don't have a phone on me" usually gets rid of them though. Fair annoying though.

If somebody asks you for cigarettes, don't say "no, sorry", say "I don't smoke". For some reason they take that alot better (maybe a superiority complex because you're not as hard as they are).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

This thread just got me thinking, I gave one to girl about 19 last week, I was having a smoke outside a shop I was going into to buy a new toy, so I was in a very good mood. However, this girl appeared to be with her mother, imagine bumming smokes in front of your mother. I was a little bollix when I was that age, but would never thought of doing that.

The other example is similar but worse, we have a young person's programme in my building its a specific unit for under 18s, I was delighted when it became operational as I used to have to deal with them before that. This girl was about 14 and once again in front of her mother, tried to bum a smoke off me. The mother never said a word, it suggested a lot about why she was attending a young persons programme.

As a smoker I don't like to see a person without a smoke if there is a genuine reason, but just bumming smokes, and peoples attitude about it annoys me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

"No, I need it in case this one breaks".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

I'm asked for a spare smoke most times I am out. Nearly always preceeded by spare change.

Pushtrak wrote: »
    I'm asked for a spare smoke most times I am out. Nearly always preceeded by spare change.
    Yeah but your hardly going to go up to a girl whos only 16 by herself and ask?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭xw2lj9uspm1eyh

Doesn't happen me much but i remember been in cork and this teen and his two friends came up to me asking me for a ciggie I said sorry your too young to be smoking went into a shop.Ten mins later walking down the street the same fella asked me just blanked him walked past him did he think my opinion was gonna change in 10 mins :confused:

mendusa wrote: »
    Doesn't happen me much but i remember been in cork and this teen and his two friends came up to me asking me for a ciggie I said sorry your too young to be smoking went into a shop.Ten mins later walking down the street the same fella asked me just blanked him walked past him did he think my opinion was gonna change in 10 mins :confused:
    Hmm interested that it was Cork seeing as thats where I live and on both times it happened in the city. Scum I suppose...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Red_Marauder

I was getting the Luas back to Rathmines from the (Dublin) city a while ago and this well dressed, pretty well spoken girl about sixteen or seventeen came up and asked me for a cigarette.
    I said I don't smoke, and was about to put my earphones back on when she started pleading with me for one. I wasn't sure if she was joking, but I told her 'no really i dont smoke;' to which she just shouted "wanker" and walked off to where she had been standing.
    She then started asking every random stranger that passed for one (sometimes crossing the luas tracks to do so. Eventually after about seven or eight attempts, some guy gave her one, I thought she was going to rape him with enthusiasm when he lit it for her.

Then her Luas came and she threw the cigarette away and disappeared.

I've never got the big deal about cigarettes, are the cravings really that bad? and at seventeen? or was she just a bit of a looper.

I was getting the Luas back to Rathmines from the (Dublin) city a while ago and this well dressed, pretty well spoken girl about sixteen or seventeen came up and asked me for a cigarette.
    I said I don't smoke, and was about to put my earphones back on when she started pleading with me for one. I wasn't sure if she was joking, but I told her 'no really i dont smoke;' to which she just shouted "wanker" and walked off to where she had been standing.
    She then started asking every random stranger that passed for one (sometimes crossing the luas tracks to do so. Eventually after about seven or eight attempts, some guy gave her one, I thought she was going to rape him with enthusiasm when he lit it for her.

Then her Luas came and she threw the cigarette away and disappeared.

I've never got the big deal about cigarettes, are the cravings really that bad? and at seventeen? or was she just a bit of a looper.
    Looper I would say, sure they all are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

I never got the big deal about cigarettes, are the cravings really that bad? and at seventeen? or was she just a bit of a looper.

she probably was a looper, but how the bloody hell does being 17 make any difference. cigarette cravings are never too bad when you have some in your pocket, its times when you run out or cant have them that people start to go a bit off the wall :eek:

I'm off them a day and a half and yes the cravings are that bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Red_Marauder

corkcomp wrote: »
    but how the bloody hell does being 17 make any difference. cigarette cravings are never too bad when you have some in your pocket, its times when you run out or cant have them that people start to go a bit off the wall :eek:
    I dunno really, I guess I just presumed if shes 17 she hasnt been smoking very long and her nicotine demand wouldn't be so intense but yeah thats probably not how it works.

Why do people start smoking? Ive smoked cigarettes before but it didnt do anything for me. Some people say it's a relaxant but I didnt notice anything, it was just like inhaling warm air.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I don't smoke, but even if I did I wouldn't just hand them out to a stranger. I know people who do smoke and they're paying ridiculous money for these things. I think its extremely rude for anybody to approach you for anything on the street. The city centre freaks me out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Milky Moo

The only problem with the earphone technique is sometimes if the person looks like they need help with directions or something, so when you stop and take the earphones out they think they have you.

I find it is happening alot more frequently lately being stopped while you are walking down the street looking for smokes or monies.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Get this plenty of times, don't smoke and the amount of people who get aggressive about it and claim I'm lying . Like they are entitled to it or something.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

Agree with the poster who said that the 2nd question is usually 'have you got any spare change'. Most of these scrotes dont want a smoke, they are checking you out as a potential muggee (is that a word).

When asked do you have a smoke I reply some of the following ;

- yes thanks I have loads of them
    - tell them the fcuk off
    - ask them for a euro for a smoke
    - tell them you dont speak english (they'll abuse you anyway)
    - tell them to get a fcukin job

I only bring one ciggy out of the pub with me.

This was rampant in New York in early 90s and was stamped out by Guiliani's zero tolerance. Three strikes and you're out. If you are caught asking strangers for smokes/change 3 times then you get sent down. It cleaned the streets of all the petty crime scum most of whom were dealing.

Ask any tourists about Dublin and the first thing they say is the beggars/junkies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Thing is I'm 16 and have never touched a cigarette in my life!
    Weirdo. :pac:

Rollies are the only way out of this, once they see the rolled tobacco they want none of it. The odd time a girl will ask you to roll one for them (I ignore the men that ask) so just have a quick glance down and see if it's worth rolling one for them.

ScumLord wrote: »
    Weirdo. :pac:

Rollies are the only way out of this, once they see the rolled tobacco they want none of it. The odd time a girl will ask you to roll one for them (I ignore the men that ask) so just have a quick glance down and see if it's worth rolling one for them.
    :eek:I'm no weirdo! Quick glance down at what their shoes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭nonsmoker

I'm off them a day and a half and yes the cravings are that bad.
    Hi
    I had my last smoke on Friday, was on 20 a day, you using anything, patches etc?
    I'm really surprised I'm not craving a smoke, I took 1 NiQuitin lozenge today and took 2yesterday - maybe they are whats helping me...

:eek:I'm no weirdo! Quick glance down at what their shoes?
    Down their tops I presume. :pac:

Nevore wrote: »
    Down their tops I presume. :pac:
    To check for butterflies?

Oh, yes, of course! They can be terribly vexatious. I think all fellas in Ireland were pulled aside in First Year and told to keep an eye out for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Get this plenty of times, don't smoke and the amount of people who get aggressive about it and claim I'm lying . Like they are entitled to it or something.

What we really need is for the law to treat people who approach random strangers in the street requesting cigarettes in the same way as it treats people who approach random strangers in the street requesting a BJ