Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do Women Look Down Upon Those On The Dole?

• 14-01-2010 7:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭

So heres the story went drinkin with my mate last night just to chat about the weeks adventures, and halfway through the night, he went up to the bar, & then this fine lookin woman came up & started chattin to him, so i was there 'right fair enough i'll see how this develops' and left him too it. 30 mins later he comes back over to the table lookin mad depressed! So i says to mable i says 'What happened did u get her digits?' and he says 'Na she walked off after i told her i was on the dole!'

So my question to AH (As risky as it is):

Do Women Prefer A Man With A Job Nowadays, Even Though Jobs Are Rare Nowadays? Are Women That Materialistic That Even Though We Have No Money & Everythings Overpriced?

OR

Was this woman just selfish and on the prowl for a rich lad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Maybe she wasn't interested in your mate to begin with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Suppose, we haven't had a decent women hatin' thread yet in 2010. Start as you mean to go on lads.... and on and on and on.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Xinkai wrote: »

This. Women like that aren't worth the hassel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

I'd say on the prowl for a rich lad, then again, I'd imagine it'd be reassuring for any woman going out with a fellow to have a secure job and future. Sadly, it's hard to come by these days for young men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

This could be a great thread.....

Anyway, to answer your question, women prefer men with money. And you can't blame them either. All other things being equal, rich people are better than poor people. There, I said it:D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Abigayle wrote: »
    Suppose, we haven't had a decent women hatin' thread yet in 2010. Start as you mean to go on lads.... and on and on and on.......

Is that what this is? I thought it was just a guy wondering if there is a social stigma to being on the dole? If I was going out with a girl who was on it, and I liked her, I wouldn't mind as long as she still had ambitions. It's just the times we are living in at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

You know to avoid the ones that do OP, not worth the effort at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Usually men or women can spot a goldigger a mile off so maybe it was something your friend said or she wasn't interested.

Anyway if it takes someone elses money to motivate a woman isn't he as well off without her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Yes.

All women hate all men who are on all dole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

So heres the story went drinkin with my mate last night just to chat about the weeks adventures, and halfway through the night, he went up to the bar, & then this fine lookin woman came up & started chattin to him, so i was there 'right fair enough i'll see how this develops' and left him too it. 30 mins later he comes back over to the table lookin mad depressed! So i says to mable i says 'What happened did u get her digits?' and he says 'Na she walked off after i told her i was on the dole!'

Do Women Prefer A Man With A Job Nowadays, Even Though Jobs Are Rare Nowadays? Are Women That Materialistic That Even Though We Have No Money & Everythings Overpriced?

OR

There's plenty more fish in Waterfor............................ OH WAIT!

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Is that what this is? I thought it was just a guy wondering if there is a social stigma to being on the dole? If I was going out with a girl who was on it, and I liked her, I wouldn't mind as long as she still had ambitions. It's just the times we are living in at the moment.

Sure isn't that how it always starts out? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

easyeason3 wrote: »
    Usually men or women can spot a goldigger a mile off so maybe it was something your friend said or she wasn't interested.

Anyway if it takes someone elses money to motivate a woman isn't he as well off without her?

Women who go after goldiggers do look up at them a lot ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,052 ✭✭✭Wossack

sounds like she was looking for a relationship (otherwise, why give a fook)... looks like your mate dodged a bullet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

I'd say a lot are ... women like men who can take them on holiday or at the bery least have cash on the hip to do thing.

Wimmen! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭pipeliner

they hated me when i had a job so ... Well at least i have a better excuse than my hideousness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

I have riches but still can't get bitches :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭ContyHooks

I don't think most women really care, my girlfriend didn't even know I had a job until about 3 months into the relationship "Oh I thought you were on the dole haha" :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

ContyHooks wrote: »
    I don't think most women really care, my girlfriend didn't even know I had a job until about 3 months into the relationship "Oh I thought you were on the dole haha" :confused:

Having a big langer helps :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Meh, I probably would always have been less inclined to go out with a woman who is unemployed/on the dole.

My attitude on it is changing with the economic climate where genuinely hard working people are losing their jobs though.

The attitude works for both sexes i guess.

DonJose wrote: »
    I have riches but still can't get bitches :D

How you doin' ;)

............. oh wait......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 tigerlilyblue

If I was going out with a girl who was on it, and I liked her, I wouldn't mind as long as she still had ambitions. It's just the times we are living in at the moment.

I feel the same. Would not bother me if a guy I liked was on the dole but it would turn me off if he was happy to stay on the dole and was too lazy to put effort into looking for work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I'd say most do care to be honest. Well the ones looking for relationships or a free drink.

Maybe your mate whinged on about being on the dole and she had a enough of it? ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

only of they're taller than the dole receiver!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,139 ✭✭✭-Trek-

What happened to just lying?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 tigerlilyblue

.... must add that my attitude would have been different before the recession because it was easier to find work then even if the jobs available might not have been the most glamorus

This could be a great thread.....

Anyway, to answer your question, women prefer men with money. And you can't blame them either. All other things being equal, rich people are better than poor people. There, I said it:D.

Upon looking again at that remark, I think I should offer some proof for my bold assertion.

Take 2 equal guys, guy1 and guy2 and assume equality;

guy1 = guy2

Now lets add a sum of money , money > 0, to the equation and;

guy1 + money > guy2
    QED

Corralary 1:

guy2 + money > guy1

In plain english what this means is that it's not the person that counts, it's the money that matters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Is that what this is? I thought it was just a guy wondering if there is a social stigma to being on the dole?
    Then the more apt question would be "Are people on the dole looked down upon?" not "Do women look down upon those on the dole?"

No, I couldn't give a flying fook if he was on the dole - as long as it was a means to an end, not an end in itself.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

Upon looking again at that remark, I think I should offer some proof for my bold assertion.

Take 2 equal guys, guy1 and guy2 and assume equality;

guy1 = guy2

Now lets add a sum of money , money > 0, to the equation and;

guy1 + money > guy2
    QED

Corralary 1:

guy2 + money > guy1

In plain english what this means is that it's not the person that counts, it's the money that matters.

Your logic is silly. Obviously two guys can never be equal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Those 2 Jedward people are equally as disgraceful as each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

ContyHooks wrote: »

Thats just her way of calling you a tight git.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,321 ✭✭✭✭listermint

OR

Maybe she just seen a guy with money walking by and f****d off :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭gerry28

Maybe when your friend asked her did she see bargin hunt this morning after boring her with what happened on jeremy kyle and dr phil.... she thought fook this and did a runner ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,494 ✭✭✭Riddle101

IvySlayer wrote: »
    Women who go after goldiggers do look up at them a lot ;)

Did someone say Golddigger :D

Anyway, I don't know if women generally look down on men on the dole. But maybe the woman that the OP was talking about was actually a golddigger. Either way I don't care, cause if she does turn out to be a golddigger, I'll just rob the b!tch when I get a chance.

P.S I'm not a fan of Glee so don't give me those looks. Oh and dosen't Matthew Morrison look a bit like Heath Ledger. Could possibly play the new Joker if there is a new Batman movie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 kazzy_09

We arent all gold digging and its women like that that gives us a bad name. What happened to the good days of just sitting in with a movie, doesnt cost that much. it shouldnt matter how much a man or women are making, if theres chemistry, act on it.

But to answer the question, no women arent like that, its just certain types and it does sound like your friend dodged a bullet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,264 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

If you want a serious answer, then try the Ladies Lounge

Failing that, yea, wimmins hate all men on the dole

Kazzy 09 wrote:
    We arent all gold digging and its women like that that gives us a bad name. What happened to the good days of just sitting in with a movie, doesnt cost that much. it shouldnt matter how much a man or women are making, if theres chemistry, act on it.

But to answer the question, no women arent like that, its just certain types and it does sound like your friend dodged a bullet

Yeah but, why did you call yourself Kazzy 09 if you reg'd in 2010?

Nice of you to point that out, I just use it for every thing as it was easy to remember

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭Who_owns_this?

TBH, I think it's a reasonable enough thing for a woman to do - or a fella if the situations were reversed. Let's say she was looking for a boyfriend, and she has a good enough job, and has ideas of being able to take holidays together and go out for nice meals, etc., then why should she waste her time on a guy which whom that might not be possible. It would be very different if she was with him for a while, he lost his job and she dumped him. But, she doesn't know your friend from Adam and so doesn't owe him anything.
    My OH is working part time at the moment and I'm not exactly earning a fortune, so there are things that we can't do. And while I couldn't possibly love him more no matter what he earns, we both look forward to a time in the future when money isn't such an object.
    Money doesn't buy you love, but not having to worry too much about it does make life a bit more simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,264 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

TBH, I think it's a reasonable enough thing for a woman to do - or a fella if the situations were reversed. Let's say she was looking for a boyfriend, and she has a good enough job, and has ideas of being able to take holidays together and go out for nice meals, etc., then why should she waste her time on a guy which whom that might not be possible. It would be very different if she was with him for a while, he lost his job and she dumped him. But, she doesn't know your friend from Adam and so doesn't owe him anything.
    My OH is working part time at the moment and I'm not exactly earning a fortune, so there are things that we can't do. And while I couldn't possibly love him more no matter what he earns, we both look forward to a time in the future when money isn't such an object.
    Money doesn't buy you love, but not having to worry too much about it does make life a bit more simple.

So in Summation, your answer to the OP's question is yes and no?

Excellent

kazzy_09 wrote:
    Nice of you to point that out, I just use it for every thing as it was easy to remember
    Fair enough so. Oh, and pointless answering these kinds of threads. Men get pissed off when a woman they fancy rejects them and tells us we're goldiggers, women get pissed off when the guys sniff after a girl wearing that little you can see her last meal instead of them...

Old story is old. Bitches Vs Pricks right?

Ooops. Spoiler :o

We could sit here and generalize our arses off all night, but its pointless when these threads come up all of the time after somebody gets knocked back. Lets not take the bait Kazzy '09 (because its easier to remember).....

ha to right abigayle, let the fellas think what they what, the women know best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Onikage

As an unemployed dwarf, I can confirm that women do indeed look down on me. Coincidentally, my last job was in a gold mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭annabellee77

Pretty simple I think -

Guy says he's on the dole cos was lately laid off/lost job/out of college, I'd have no problem with that.

Guy says he's been on the dole last 10 years (or whatever) - not a chance!!

My logic is flawless:cool:. One guy equals himself. That's one of the first axioms of algebra. I won't bore you with the complicated details but Corollary 2 of McMoustache's Theory of Human Value states that:

guy + money > guy

I think you've derailed this thread enough with your off-topic pedantry. Please stop poking holes in ideas that you don't understand and leave the mathematics to the experts:(. Otherwise the Mods (pbut) might not be too happy:D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Xinkai

I'm not trolling or anything it just got me thinking if he had a job would he be bonking away?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭jif

So i says to mable i says 'What happened did u get her digits?'

jesus chopping off her fingers, no wonder she walked off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Onikage wrote: »
    As an unemployed dwarf, I can confirm that women do indeed look down on me. Coincidentally, my last job was in a gold mine.
    lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Please stop poking holes in ideas that you don't understand and leave the mathematics to the experts:(. Otherwise the Mods (pbut) might not be too happy:D.

And leave the mathematics in the mathematics forum >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

don't care if you're on the dole. do care if you intend to stay that way.

anyways maybe she had a fella, and was just after a flirt?

I'm not trolling or anything it just got me thinking if he had a job would he be bonking away?

If you mean me, I'm not accusing you of trolling. I'm possibly saying you might not even know the whole story. You said you watched from afar, right? You don't have to answer this, because guys are guys and they like to come back with their ego / dignity still intact... but is there a small chance he gave her a line she didn't like?

Or, maybe he did mention the job situation. But times have changed. It was different when jobs were there for taking, and women do know that. And its not just men who've lost their jobs.

A different angle might be that she was chatting to him, and thought 'holy shyte, this guy is going to off-load his life history to me, all I wanted was a drink with my mates.. jesus I'm either going to have to buy myself some popcorn or tell him I've a boyfriend'

So he walks back and says, I was so in there till I mentioned I'd no job.

Yes, its a bunch of 'what ifs'. But you didn't over hear the whole thing, and neither did any of us.

Oh, and not all women want a relationship. There are some who just want to enjoy themselves, thats not just exclusive to men.