Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you call your folks?

• 14-01-2010 12:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭

I call mine Mam and Da. What do you call them, I have a friend who calls them *gasp* by their real names, it's weird!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Ma and Da. As for phone entries it "Me Ma" and "Me Da". Occasionally I'll call Me Ma "Goan" (real name Joan)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭Redzer7

Ma/Da, or "me owlfella/owlone" :).

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

ashyle wrote: »
    I call mine Mam and Da. What do you call them, I have a friend who calls them *gasp* by their real names, it's weird!

I wish I was more intelligent to come up with a yore ma joke, but I'm blocked.

I also call mine ma & da.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭lisa_celtic

Mother- Mammy
    Father- "Firstname+Surname"

No reason atall only thats what I call him :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Mom and Dad.

Redzer7 wrote: »
    Ma/Da, or "me owlfella/owlone" :).

Me Ma doesn't like me calling Me Da the "ould lad".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Maw and paw*, hyuck, hyuck!

*really Mam (sometimes Mumsie for the laugh and her reaction) and Dad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Mam and Dad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

ashyle wrote: »

Only if their real names are Kal-El and Bruce Wayne.

I call mine maw and paw......except when I owe them money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭ashyle

Ruu wrote: »
    Maw and paw*, hyuck, hyuck!

*really Mam (sometimes Mumsie for the laugh and her reaction) and Dad

Hah I'm the same, it's 'Mother' when I'm in a mood with her :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

Mam and Da/Dad/Daddy/DaddyDearest

I call her Maaaaa when I'm messin'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

ma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Aul doll - Mother. Aul fella - Father. Aul pair - both.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Mum most of the time/Mam the odd time (I mostly address her as "Mum" but nearly always refer to her as "my Mam" when mentioning her to others - don't know why, it's something I've always done), Dad (obviously).

I don't think anyone outside Dublin (bar perhaps the counties bordering it) refers to their parents as "Ma"/"Da".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

Mother and Dad.

Although my mother doesn't like "mother", she thinks it sounds patronising.

Dudess wrote: »
    Mum most of the time/Mam the odd time (I mostly address her as "Mum" but nearly always refer to her as "my Mam" when mentioning her to others - don't know why, it's something I've always done), Dad (obviously).

I don't think anyone outside Dublin (bar perhaps the counties bordering it) refers to their parents as "Ma"/"Da".

I do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭manlad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Mammy and Dad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Dad & Sis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

i must be the only one to refer to my dad by his name? me mam is still "mam" though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Ma and the old bo*lix

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭jif

ya'll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Jim wrote: »
    Although my mother doesn't like "mother", she thinks it sounds patronising.
    A bit Norman Bates-ish too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

Mum and Dad

Simples!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

They're Mammy and Daddy, usually.

If they're irritating me or if I'm patronising them, then Mother and Father.

If I want something - it's Mummy and Daaaaaaaaady?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kwalshe

i call mine claire and jimmy (or jazzy), its weird and only recently have been trying to get back to mam and dad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

brother and sister

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

mink_man wrote: »
    brother and sister

o_O

I call mine Mum and Daddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

The Mad Yoke & The Bollix.

mink_man wrote: »
    brother and sister

Inbred much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭zerohamster

Mum and Dad....and mommy when im joking or hailing her in a british fashion for fun lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Mutha and fatha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

I actually call them in their proper Christian names. This stems from working with them a lot, and it would sound weird in a work environment to be calling out ''mummy'' or ''dad'' a lot.

Terms also used:

Aul wan/aul lad/aul pair
    Clown (usually father when something in work goes tits up)
    Mother Dearest/Father Dearest (with heavy sarcasm)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

The birth givers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭DEVEREUX

I always used to call my mother mammy and my father daddy. Tried in my early teens to change to mam and dad but that felt weird for some reason so i took to calling them by their first names. both myself and my father share the name Richard and my mother quite openly refers to her husband as big dick when im around to prevent confusion lol, i suppose that makes me small dick :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

momma
    poppa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭Darksaga87

The care workers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Mam and Dad, I think it's really weird that some people use their parents' first names.

When my mam is talking to me about my dad, she says "Dad did this, dad did that" etc etc

But when my dad is talking to me about my mam, he says "Mammy did this, Mammy did that". It makes me cringe a bit, like I'm not six anymore.

In fairness, he still calls his mam "Mammy" and he's 58 and his mam is 94. And I call her "Nanny"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Mam , Maasie, The Mammy, The Auld wan, The upbringer :D

(dont have a father)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

Mam and Dad, normally

Mater and Pater, when I am being facetious

Mutter and Vater, when I use the old language!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭chocgirl

Mum and the Old Man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭niallon

Both my brother and I call our parents by their first names and none of us know why, not even our parents! Tried to switch to more conventional standards but it just wouldn't stick! Same goes for the Grandparents!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭ashyle

Des wrote: »
    When my mam is talking to me about my dad, she says "Dad did this, dad did that" etc etc

But when my dad is talking to me about my mam, he says "Mammy did this, Mammy did that". It makes me cringe a bit, like I'm not six anymore.

In fairness, he still calls his mam "Mammy" and he's 58 and his mam is 94. And I call her "Nanny"

Yeah, same, my da is from the northside so he refers to my mam as 'your ma', my mam will say 'your daddy' and she sometimes calls her father 'daddy' so I get really confused as to who she is talking about :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Mummy and dad to their faces, mum and dad usually if I'm talking about them to others, occasionally I say mummy though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Ma/Mam and Da/Dad

Sometimes I address them by their actual names and sometimes when talking to others I'll call the the aul paid/aul fella/aul one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

phasers wrote: »
    Mam and Dad
    Yep Mam and Dad.

Its really weird actually calling them by their first names..cant even do it for the craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭alan4cult

anniehoo wrote: »
    Yep Mam and Dad.

Its really weird actually calling them by their first names..cant even do it for the craic.
    Ya me too, can't call my mum by her first name but used to call my dad by his first name when I was younger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Mom, but when she pisses me off I'm talking about my Mother. My Dad is my Dad unless I can't work out whats going on with my car. Then it's Daddy ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Organ donors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭sickle

Mudder and The Owlfella.