Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HoganStand Posters

• 13-01-2010 8:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭

So where to you go when admin turns the lights out at 10PM..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭joulter

off to bed. they have school in the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Redhand

tamoo7 now there is a blast form the past do you still post on HS tamoo7 - it was a strange move by HS to close the site down at 10pm.

I usually look at AFR or sometimes gaatipster.ie its a pretty decent gaa forum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭tomaoo7

Thanks redhand i found gaa tipster some good posters there from HS ..good forum and good topics...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

It's a pity everyone on Hoganstad wouldn't just move over here altogether. This is a miles better website but this forum just needs more numbers. HS is very poorly moderated and could be so much better than it is. I tried to lure a few over here a while back but most didn't stay. I still post on hoganstand from time to time but not as much as I used to.

aidan24326 wrote: »
    It's a pity everyone on Hoganstad wouldn't just move over here altogether. This is a miles better website but this forum just needs more numbers. HS is very poorly moderated and could be so much better than it is. I tried to lure a few over here a while back but most didn't stay. I still post on hoganstand from time to time but not as much as I used to.

some of the stuff on HS borders on the dangerous at times and it seems that Dellboypolecat is the top dog (no pun intended which says it all really he alone would put you off HS.

have you looked at gaatipster Aidan its a decent site and i noticed most of the old posters of HS are on there, Jayocluxton and Boxtyeater are there and are two very god posters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I remember there were 7 Hoganstand posters that came here and announced their arrival.Not sure what happened but one was site banned while the other 6 mysteriously fell off the radar.

I have posted on Hoganstand once or twice and never felt the need to go back.

blackbelt wrote: »
    I remember there were 7 Hoganstand posters that came here and announced their arrival.Not sure what happened but one was site banned while the other 6 mysteriously fell off the radar.

I have posted on Hoganstand once or twice and never felt the need to go back.

try gaatipster the in place real fans bar the odd 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

tomaoo7 wrote: »
    Thanks redhand i found gaa tipster some good posters there from HS ..good forum and good topics...

That simply couldn't be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

I'm liking the Kerry contingent that are regulars here and the frequent other posters that come to put counties like Mayo and Kildare above Kerry every year in June and mysteriously disappear when I bump their threads and laugh in September.

Hogan Stand, I think I was there once for the Paul Galvin inhaler incident and the pure bile made me run away forever.

In short there is more passing trade here which makes for better balanced threads.

I'm liking the Kerry contingent that are regulars here and the frequent other posters that come to put counties like Mayo and Kildare above Kerry every year in June and mysteriously disappear when I bump their threads and laugh in September.

Hogan Stand, I think I was there once for the Paul Galvin inhaler incident and the pure bile made me run away forever.

In short there is more passing trade here which makes for better balanced threads.

Have to agree mod it doesn'y have the bitterness of HS

aDeener wrote: »
    dont knock what you have'nt tried

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

try gaatipster the in place real fans bar the odd 1

I had a look at it and it seems a bit meh to me. Not much traffic and just looks like a slightly upgraded version of Hoganstand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭Frogdog

The Aidan O' Mahoney asthma incident.

An Citeog wrote: »
    I had a look at it and it seems a bit meh to me. Not much traffic and just looks like a slightly upgraded version of Hoganstand.

i would strongly disagree on that comment - there is a big difference IMO between HS and Tipster. HS seem to encourage wumming and the likes Tipster dont - at least not yet anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭Frogdog

Well have a look. It's a lot quieter, yes, but there's no rubbish posted.
    An Citeog wrote: »

Not much traffic, granted. New posters will sort that out.

Slightly upgraded version of HS? No chance. Way better functionality on GAA Tipster in my opinion. Plus no children posting bile.

Frogdog wrote: »

Slightly upgraded version of HS? No chance. Way better functionality on GAA Tipster in my opinion. Plus no children posting bile.

Well said frogdog i haven't used Hs since they changed the times for the school kids ..Gaa boards and Gaatipster are a step above HS

dont knock what you have'nt tried

Ive seen the childish nonsense thats been posted there. Here and gaaboard are the only places to have a decent discussion about the gaa

Frogdog wrote: »

Yes there is, or certainly was the last time i looked at it. Ridiculous talk about meath and mayo being great teams not to mention the northern contingents boulders on their shoulders

Redhand wrote: »
    have you looked at gaatipster Aidan its a decent site and i noticed most of the old posters of HS are on there, Jayocluxton and Boxtyeater are there and are two very god posters.

I registered on that a while back. But haven't posted there in a while as I suppose there's not alot happening in the GAA world this time of the year anyway. Will probably go back to it when te league starts and the GAA season gets rolling again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

I never "got" hogan stand, simply because I always viewed it as a news website like rte.ie/sport or irishtimes.com and nothing more. I always found the forum interface to be a mess compared to this place as well.

What time does Gaa boards shut at:confused:

Yes there is, or certainly was the last time i looked at it. Ridiculous talk about meath and mayo being great teams not to mention the northern contingents boulders on their shoulders

thats just banter between most of the guys on the site - big difference between that and childish posting????????

What time does Gaa boards shut at:confused:

It doesn't.

thats good aidan

It is indeed! It's a shame that hoganstand wasn't run a bit better, the message board part of it anyway. It's a mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭dougal-maguire

HS has gotten to be a joke.tomaoo7,gaa boards is far better.rmdrive trilleacman and a few others post on it.no wums like you and loyal :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Always number 1

GAA Tipster isn't bad for a new enough site. HS was good auld craic when Jayocluxton, Patrique etc; were on it - some of the new ones certainly know how to tow the line.
    I certainly think there is a place for all of them but I suppose its whatever your into yourself :D

HS has gotten to be a joke.tomaoo7,gaa boards is far better.rmdrive trilleacman and a few others post on it.no wums like you and loyal

dougal do i know you--The in place is tipster be there or be square

you may remember me as dougal,but he left a while ago(well told the mods to f**k off and got banned).now im dodging about as shapes42.what is the address for the website,i always struggle to find it,and when i do i never bookmark it.loyals quite a regular user,isnt he?that would instantly put me off.:D

GaaTipster. ie- dougal theres a few new Cavan posters on it now..I see your going well with shapes42 on HS..Yeah loyal is on it a lot and many more.:cool:

was on it last night,might start posting there aswell.ye enjoyed the thread bout cavan becomming a force again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭rpurfield

id only really use hoganstand for the county forum i never stray on to the country wide message board on it too many wums for my liking.particularly the mayo for sam contingent talk about the eternal optimist

was on it last night,might start posting there aswell.ye enjoyed the thread bout cavan becomming a force again.

HS is gone to the dogs dougal-- they should rename it DBHS...:D

Dougal you never know maybe cavan are on their way back with a few Dubs on board:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 ChairmanMeeow

I use HS occasionally too, but I've started looking for other GAA forums to use.

Recently on HS, All the debates in either the GAA or non GAA forum seem to turn into arguments over two Manchester based soccer teams.

Or, Dellboypolecat will post some thread with a completely baseless statement, about a player or team, in a writing style that make deciphering ancient hieroglyphics look like an easy task. And when you point out the weakness of his statement to 'our del' he always gets 'insulted'.:confused: The mods there should cop on because he in particular is driving people away from their forum.

Boards.ie GAA forum I like your sthyle! :D

I will be back.

I use HS occasionally too, but I've started looking for other GAA forums to use.

Recently on HS, All the debates in either the GAA or non GAA forum seem to turn into arguments over two Manchester based soccer teams.

Or, Dellboypolecat will post some thread with a completely baseless statement, about a player or team, in a writing style that make deciphering ancient hieroglyphics look like an easy task. And when you point out the weakness of his statement to 'our del' he always gets 'insulted'.:confused: The mods there should cop on because he in particular is driving people away from their forum.

Boards.ie GAA forum I like your sthyle! :D

I will be back.

meeow whats your username on HS

Pudders?:D

Pudders?:D

Its hard to tell dougal_ HS is gone to dell are you on tipster:D

i set up my account the day it started up,but i think i only have one post.too much reading between all the different forums i read,but il prob end up reading it aswell.

Clue: a bald Argentinian :cool:

my hero juan veron ..like your style try gaatipster :cool:

ah,one of the better posters.def get over to tipster,class site,forget HS,you on now tom?

Already there Tom a few weeks, I like it, fortunately many of the other HS haven't 'emigrated' thank Jebus! :D

ah,one of the better posters.def get over to tipster,class site,forget HS,you on now tom?
    mullins:D

so i see.:)

Already there Tom a few weeks, I like it, fortunately many of the other HS haven't 'emigrated' thank Jebus! :D

your a good poster on hs like the way you niggle at the fool...its pure bull on there lately im trying my best to avoid it ..:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 gofortheball

GaaTipster. ie- dougal theres a few new Cavan posters on it now..I see your going well with shapes42 on HS..Yeah loyal is on it a lot and many more.:cool:

Plenty of folk get banned. HS is a sad example of back slapping and guys talking to themselves with 4 - 5 sign ons. The admins have at least 12 sign ons. Liam and breffni and possibly squid. The delay in getting your message posted and now closing at 10pm is a larf.

A joke of a site that serves the ego of school ground victims

breff is def not liam or squid.

I know but Liam and bref, possibly squid too, are administrators.

Squid ain't from louth either. I think he is actually jimbo as he slipped up one week in posting.

now that you mention it,breff always defends the admins.maybe he is.squid's always messing about,signing off his posts with different names.

Yeah, breef seesm alright but liam is a complete twat and squid too. the type that a board like that would support. the average comment is neanderthal at best and that's who the admins play to.