Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going to Prague

• 10-01-2006 4:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭

Heading over for Paddy's weekend. Just wondering if anyone has been recently and if they had a good time? Get up to anything interesting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭Steveire

Prague is very popular with us young folk these days, and it's a great place if you get the perfect weather like I did :).

It's a place with a lot of history, and you'll probably find yourself at the castle on your first day:

36486369_6a3543cf05_o.jpg

You can walk around a lot of the grounds and see the changing of the guard. It got crowded pretty fast when I was there (end of August), and I think it was on about noon.

53430508_bd31d0f054_o.jpg

Walking back toward the river you'll find the Museum of torture, and another museum which was good, but I can't remember the subject matter. There's more of that kind of stuff around the top end of the main street too. The 'aerial' photos were taken from the top of a tower on a nearby hill, which it's possible to get up by cable car, but it's a good walk. There's a monument dedicated to people who sufffered at the hands of communism at the bottom of it which is worth a look seeing as you'd be passing it. I can't find a photo, and a quick google doesn't show it up, but It seems there's a communism museum. Also I found this, which looks pretty good.
    43819100_ffa364a84a_o.jpg

There's a huge nightclub in Prague at one of the bridges. I can't remember the name (if I ever knew it), but it has five floors, each with a different style of music, from RnB to dance to pop to techno to chillout with couches at the top. One thing that surprised me was that the bar staff take some or most of your change as a tip each time you buy a drink. Prague is one of the generally cheapest places I visited though, so you'll easily absorb that.

One of the things I'd heard about Prague before arriving there, was that there would be sex shows everywhere, and that it's very in your face. I've also heard that since, but it's not something I would have said about it myself. It's easy to find if you're looking though. They call it 'Cabaret'...
    A quick google turns this site up , which might give you some more ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Lex

Great post! Cheers.
    I found some of those links on google alright. Really looking forward to it.
    Nice pics too btw.

Lex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭Lady_Macbeth

Prague is absolutely beautiful, was there about 3 years ago, so it's a bit hazy now. The Lonely Plant guide books are very good, particularly for central/eastern Europe and there certainly is one on Czech Republic, and possibly on Prague itself - can't remember precisely.

I'm not sure when they start, you might be a bit too early, but they set up the Easter market in the ....oh god, can't remember if it was the Old or the New town square, have a feeling it's the old one, but any tourist thing would tell you. Go along to this - great atmosphere and plenty of local produce, albeit a bit aimed at the tourist market. also, take boat trip - normally i wouldn't be into that kind of thing, but we did, on a sunny day and the views of the city were stunning.
    speaking of weather, it will probably be dry, possibly sunny, but damn chilly, especially if you're going visiting the castle - i remember it was very sunny outside but cool; inside, i was freezing!
    overall, things are cheaper over there (well, they were when I was there, but prices have probably increased since, it's become quite a popular destination).

enjoy!

- Lady

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭Pinx

Lex, lucky you going to Prague! I was there the weekend before St.Patricks last year and had a fantastic time. Word of warning though - bring your Winter woollies, as it was absolutely freezing while I was there, and snowed quite a bit as well! Plenty of reasonably priced restaurants to choose from and the beer is really cheap.

Visiting the castle is definitely a must - as is taking in the sights of the city from the famous Charles Bridge. The Easter Market will be on while you're there - a great spot to sample mulled wine, pastries and pick up a few pressies for bringing home.

Make sure you pay a visit to the "Astonomical Clock" on the side of the Old Town Hall. It's fascinating - shows the revolutions of the Sun, moon, and the stars, and is divided into red and blue halves representing day and night. A procession of the 12 Apostles come out when the clock strikes - it really draws in the crowd.

Enjoy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 FitzerP

Hi Prague is a really great place to visit, with lots of nice
    architecture and some really top quality beer,

it's relatively cheap too.

Only drawback is I found the locals unfriendly, they seem a little cold
    and uninterested.

Try ventureing out to the bone cathedral place, i didnt get the chance but
    it's meant to be great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

You can check out prague360.com for some cool quicktime panoramas of the city (and various bars, clubs, shops, etc.). Really neat site.

If you get the weather you should check out Letna Park. Great beer garden with an excelent view of the city. Also some nice bars in that area (the Fraktal being a good example.. friendly international crowd, cheap beer (as always) and nice food).

Have fun :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Lex

Pinx wrote:
    ...and the beer is really cheap.
    FitzerP wrote:
    ...and some really top quality beer
    Goodshape wrote:
    ...cheap beer (as always)

mmm, beer! :D

seriously tho...it all sounds great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Squall

If your looking for a good spot for a meal ide highly highly reccommend a place called Kampa Park. Its on the new side of prague right below the charles bridge. Been host to all sorts of stars.

Went there on my last visit to prague and I can honestly say it was the greatest meal ive ever eaten... no question. Its obviously pricey enough (in comparison to some other places in the area) but its worth it.

And after the meal relax at a nice "music club"... one of my favourites is down a little side street at the old prague end of the bridge. Cant remember the name but its got a sign with a tree on it over the door.

Have fun....... and dont forget to tip (Your paying so she can be a doctor someday :P)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

the club that steveire is talking about is located near the charles bridge i think.

also maybe the museem of torture instruments might be worth a visit, i'm regretting not going to see that while i was there in the summer.

Rocky o'reillys (irish bar) is a rip off i'd avoid, but the bar maids wore nice t-shirts while i was there :p

beer is cheap certainly but don't think since it's cheap that it will be crap couldn't be further from the truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Cremo wrote:
    the club that steveire is talking about is located near the charles bridge i think.
    Yea, Karlovy Lazne it's called. Just off Charles Bridge on the city side. Supposedly good if you like that sort of thing. I don't, so never bothered going :)

Most of the better pubs will stay open untill the wee-hours anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Going to Prague in May, just wondering if any one has been?

Recommendations of things to do/see or not to do/see?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Prague's lovely, though be careful about pickpockets. There's a good walking tour that leaves from under the statue of St. Wencleslas on Wenceslas Square and takes you around the main places. The beauty of the place is that it's compact so you'll be able to see it all on foot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭ekevosu

The palace and steps is probably worth a visit. Lots of bars that look crap and small on the outside but stretch for ages inside with cave type levels, class altogether. The place is cheap enough but you still have to watch your pockets and the change you are getting back when you pay for stuff as sometimes this can be a problem.... a great spot though. Theres a nightclub by the bridge (another spot that has to be seen) that has several floors, all themed and is great craic.

This isn't for a rugby tour by any chance Nick is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭heggie

Any advice on what to do? me and the gf going, can anyone recommend some good beer tours or generally things to do? cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭Milktrolley

From my own experience over there, in terms of sightseeing there's only a few main things to see (unlike, say, Rome where there's 100s of churches and stuff) but you could easily while away a day at least in each of them.

Prague Castle's nice, you can go up to the top of the Cathedral there but you'd seriously need to be careful going up - it's a 300 step sprial staircase that's ridiculously narrow and is crowded with folk going up and down the whole time. If that doesn't put you off and you like your panoramic views then go for it! On a clear day it's pretty good.

The Royal Garden's right beside it and is pretty feckin good i must say. Depends what you're into but it's perfect for relaxing and sifting through all the stuff you bought at the gift shop back at the castle ;)

The New Town and Wenceslas Square is good for shopping, the National Museum's at the top of the street as well so that'll take up a few hours if you're that way inclined.

We stayed in Smichov and the city's biggest shopping centre (Novy Smichov) is there across from the Ibis. Again, well worth a root around. If you're looking for something to eat there's the Zlaty Klas restaurant which is opposite the vehicle entrance to the Ibis and was nice enough. There's a theatre just up the road as well if there's something good on.

Hope this helps, if there's anything specific you're looking for, shoot...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭froosh69

I'm going to Prague with a group of friends in early January.
    Does anyone have any suggestions nightclub, hostel, sightseeing or general tourism-wise?
    thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭Vorsprung

There's a 5 storey night club on the river, near enough to the Opera House. Can't remember then name of it but it's well known, worth a visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Brianb8802

Couple of good suggestions here
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055141556

Definately go to the club, its called Karlovy Lazne http://www.pragueexperience.com/places.asp?PlaceID=584
    The map on that site is wrong but its just next to charles bridge.

Try a walking on your first day they'll tell you everything you need to know about the place, and where everything is. We went on the orange umbrella tour and it was very good, only about €30 and it was six hours and you get lunch a few drinks and a boat trip. There are 2 hour and 3 hour tours aswell i think

Sex museum is good

Check out hotels.com for places to stay, we got a nice hotel for cheap enough on wensleslas square. Try and stay in prague one or else youll be walking a bit.

Great city cant wait to go back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭froosh69

much appreciated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

prostitutes are reasonable there, no there stuff too! Ask for the strap on movement, you will love it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭pele10

Heading there this weekend, anyone recommend any good bars or restaurants.

I am not really into sightseeing, although a 1 or 2 hour tour around it would not kill me, any suggestions.

thanks

More here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭alexiadexia

Anyone tell me some cool things to do in Prague or places to go??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 ellie77

any suggestions for cheap decent hotel in Prague to fit budget of poor students..??! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭Kenny_D

Clown and Bard hostel maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭lorweld

I've stayed in the Prague city centre appartments. They're cheap, clean and very very central. http://www.prague-city-apartments.cz/ hth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 ellie77

thanks for the suggestions guys!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭Kenny_D

http://www.clownandbard.com/

That was recommended in the Lonely Planet guidebook. Seems to be one of the better places for students (not too expensive and good atmosphere). The 3 for 2 drinks offer in their bar doesn't hurt either ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭mac123

just use hostelworld, plenty of cheap places to stay there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭rio-rose

is prague as beautiful as it looks on pictures...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Yes, actually it's a lovely spot altogether.
    Well worth a visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,602 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

Visit the Palace, Charles Bridge, Torture Museum, New Town, Old Square, drink lots of Pilsner Urquel (spelling?), avoid the Irish bars, loal pubs a lot cheaper, catch a marionette (spelling?) show, watch Sparta Prague/Slavia Prague/Bohemiam Prague play, go to the massive nite club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭rio-rose

thanks st mel,
    when i get back from work i be googleing big time on these places..

is it a place to bring young children just for the weekend or would you just have more comfort on your own with the other half

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

I've never been there with children but there should not be a problem.

http://www.livingprague.com/kids.htm
    http://www.kidsinprague.com/
    http://www.prague.net/for-kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Go go-karting. It is fairly cheap compared to over here. The place I went to was a bit outside of prague. Hop on the underground, to the last stop, then its about a twenty minute walk or get on the bus. Website has the details

Also you can go bob-sleding too. That is on the same underground line as go karting. Great fun and resonablby priced too.

http://www.praguekartingarena.com/kde.html

http://www.bobovadraha.cz/

Bob Sled is great fun, doesnt look too fast in the video but trust me, when your on it, its a different story, theres a brake too so safe for the kids

remembere to brake at the end :)

Also, if your looking for nightclubs, I recommend Roxy. Just be careful of chicks "dancing" with you. My Czech friend also tells me there is a new club opening soon. Suppose to be huge. Maybe look that up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Pooh-bah

Prague is truelt beautiful,my uncle owns the james joyce pub in the square,really good atmosphere and food!should check it out if you head over..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭almat1981

Hi all

Going to prague with the girlfriend next thursday. Any recondmations on places to go during the day or bars / resturants at night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭mackey087

went there about 3 yrs ago. the day trip to the concentration camp is okay, it has one of the creepiest towns i ever saw. the shopping there isnt bad either. there was loads of bars there, we used to go to one of the irish bars but you will find lots of other bars there, found them to be very relaxing. heard you can go to gun clubs and shoot ak47s etc but not sure where exactly, its close to the city though. we got a flexi ticket for the trams, think it was 7euro each

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭JayC5

mackey087 wrote: »
    went there about 3 yrs ago. the day trip to the concentration camp is okay, it has one of the creepiest towns i ever saw.

Hey, what's the name of the camp you are talking about? - I can't see it in my travel guide - and how can I get to it?

Any other suggestions for Prague as I'm also heading there myself in a couple of weeks - thanks in advance

J

Look up the bob sled, its on one of the tram lines. Great fun.

Any one any more info on the gun range. I would be interested in doing that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

watch mission impossible (cant remember 1 or 2) .... which is set in prague and then have a walk across the charles bridge and see if you remember the scenes.

depending on the night (weather etc) - theres usually a fairly romantic scene around 2-3-4am ....with the mist coming up over the charles bridge.

theres the museum of torture - reasonably crap - but can pass 30-40mins.......theres a church somewhere which is made from human bones (I didnt find it - think its outside the city)

Oh.... when you get off the plane - DONT take one of the black taxi's outside, you'll be ripped off. (think thats even in the guidebook)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Lollymcd

JayC5 wrote: »
    Hey, what's the name of the camp you are talking about? - I can't see it in my travel guide - and how can I get to it?

Any other suggestions for Prague as I'm also heading there myself in a couple of weeks - thanks in advance

J

I think they might be talking about Terezin Concentration Camp. It's near a town that IS really creepy, I'm glad someone else thought so too! We got there by bus, it was about 10 years ago though so I don't remember prices or times or anything!

We enjoyed the opera when we where there and thought the Child of Prague was interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭PhilTorres

Headin to Prague Monday week myself. Just wonderin anyone know a decent pub to watch Premiership football in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭LETS BE AVN IT

Going to Prague next week meself with 4 lads , is there any tourist traps to look out for? Any must see pubs too :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

To give some background I have lived in the Czech republic for almost a year, though not in Prague but a smaller city.

Prague is very much a touristy city, and as with any tourist destination there are things to look out for.

First off I would highly recommend not buying anything in Prague Airport. Believe it or not it is more expensive than Dublin Airport. For example on a 4-hour lay over just before Christmas I got charged 150 crowns for a pint. That is 6 euros! Compared to my local where pint is 22 crowns or about 80 cent, though it will be difficult to get that cheap in Prague, however 60 crowns is the maximum you should spend for a pint.

Crime in the Czech Republic is relatively low, due in part to the very visible police presence on the streets of Prague. As a result of this visible presence thieves generally use more passive ploys to get things out of you. Pick Pocketing is one common crime, so try to make it difficult for them. Avoid having your wallet on the outside but rather on the inside of your jacket/sweater. This goes for passports aswell.

The transport system in prague is very good so I would strongly suggest you avoid using Taxis and or other private car/bus hire services, as some of them may try to rip you off. As a result of the cost of living being so low in the Czech Republic, you may be ripped off with out knowing it. My fiancee and I spend about 50 euros or 1250 czech crowns or Korunas, on a weekly visit to tesco to buy the ingredients for 5 nights worth of dinner and other household goods. So if you get charged 1000 crowns(40 euro) for a taxi ride, it may seem ok to you, but there is a good chance you have paid for half this guys shopping bill for the week.

Ill ask a few friends and ask if there is anything I have forgotten.

Please do not be put off the city it is a beautiful town and 99% of people are nice and helpful, and I have been there several times and never been a victim of anything what so ever, but it is good to be aware

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

Hi thinking of going to prague in june for a week, firstly is it too long for prague? also how do the irish fare out thre-are they confused with english?

the gun range referred to earlier looks quite expensive, €60 odd, for 25 rounds?

thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

WRT the gun range, 60 euro for 25 rounds sounds like alot. Im not in Prague, but in my local range an instructor, a glock and 50 rounds comes to about thirty euro.

Is a week too long for Prague? Depends what you plan to do. It is a beautiful city and if seeing things is your thing a week is not enough. There are plenty of activities also, just avoid the 'Lads weekend' type activities. They are overly expensive.

As for your question do Irish get confused with brits, I am not sure what your asking. Are you worried about violence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭LETS BE AVN IT

Was over there 2 weeks ago , its an amazing place , the beer is quality and so cheap about 1e a pint , we did get confused with english at times but its no big deal tbh .