Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BMW 318d or Skoda Superb 2.0Tdi?

• 13-01-2010 6:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭

I know this looks like an obvious one but what do you reckon?
    Company car chioce of a basic 318d or a Superb 2.0Tdi 140bhp elegance with huge spec?
    Cant decide.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,800 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

maddness wrote: »
    Company car chioce of a basic 318d or a Superb 2.0Tdi 140bhp elegance with huge spec?
    Cant decide.

basic 318d, no way! Superb all the way imo.

Does it have to be brand new?
    i would rather a 2 year old 520d M-Sport if im honest then a brand new 318d.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭hefty_langer

poverty spec 318 or fully loaded Superb?

Superb hands down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

Can't do doughnuts in the Superb tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

The E90 is fundamentally a better car, but IMO it really needs a lot spent on options to make it a nicer one. Drive both, see what you think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭remotesensor

If it was an choice between a pov spec fwd audi and a loaded superb then the superb would be the obvious choice.

How important are options in comparison to the drive though? The beamer is a much better drive and a good looking car. It will still have air con, foglights, decent enough stereo and all electrics as standard. Unless you have a big family you should go for the bmw.

As nice as the whole skoda package is, its quite ugly and and wont be as good to drive as the bmw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭TheColl

As nice as the whole skoda package is, its quite ugly and and wont be as good to drive as the bmw.

thats a matter of opinion, i think the superb is a great lookin car, even the rear! i'd def go for the superb if i had the OP's choice. nicer spec, plus its something different, not a bland pov spec bmw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

BMW all the way, i'd sooner walk than drive a Skoda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭Bee

Cant decide.

Low end Beemers are as common and as cheap as chips, though some part time drivers mistakenly imagine they are a "superior" car

It has to be the Superb, ignore the badge snobs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Zonda999

OP, go for a 170bhp Superb if you were to go for one, then you have the engine Audi put in the A4 and A6, unfortunately the 140bhp Superb still gets the outdated PD injection TDi rather than the CR injection you get in the 170bhp version

I would also go for the Superb btw, the money needed to upspec a 318d to the standard of the Superb Elegance would be biblical, and whats more, yes the bimmer would be better to drive but the i've no doubt that 4/5 of drivers would appreciate the extra comfort and toys of the Superb rather than the occasional extra driving pleasure of a poverty spec 318d. Whats more the Superb is certainly not bad to handle, its surprisingly agile for its size and i'm sure it would give more driving pleasure than most in that class.

Also, the spec of an elegance Superb has to be seen to be believed, sat nav, full heated lleather seats, self parking system, the list is endless. Do your self a favour though, get the 18" optional rims over the standard 17"s :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Bee wrote: »
    Low end Beemers are as common and as cheap as chips, though some part time drivers mistakenly imagine they are a "superior" car

It has to be the Superb, ignore the badge snobs!
    Either is common. Ignoring the badge snobs means picking the better car, not just picking the car the badge snobs wouldn't pick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,225 ✭✭✭✭unkel

What Zonda999 said but ignore his advice on the 18" rims ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

junkyard wrote: »

I'm not sure I agree 100% but it's nice to see someone who is immune to the Skoda's yellow brand magnificence. Everyone else around here is batty about it!

I popped into a showroom to examine one the other day and see what all the fuss is about. It's not as massive inside as I was expecting but quality and fit/finish are pretty good. Really though, it's just an XL Octavia for flush taxi drivers. When I was there a grown-up farming family seemed to be close to making a deal.

I'd probably recomend one to a friend. I wouldn't though...

It's just that every time you pass a taxi rank your going to see Skodas everywhere.;):)
    Skodas will be to Ireland like Ladas are to Russia, I know I wouldn't either...........comrade.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭TheColl

why is that? not tryin to start a fight, just curious!

EDIT: sorry, missed above post.

TheColl wrote: »
    why is that? not tryin to start a fight, just curious!

EDIT: sorry, missed above post.
    Because i'm a car snob and proud of it!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

What is included in your extra spec Superb that is not in the BMW?
    Just to clarify it is the extra spec available to the OP not a completely specced out Superb, he may not have the option to upgrade alloys for example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

As already mentioned OP, try and look at the 2ltr 170bhp diesel engine.
    Its more modern and more refined.

I've never driven either but wouldnt the 5 series be more akin to the Superb?

matters not if the 5 series is too expensive anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭maddness

I hear you all but am still not sure.
    I had thought I could get the Superb Tdi 170 bhp but my company told me today that I can only get the 140. Mind you i can also spend €2000 on extras so was thinking of 18" alloys, sunroof and sports pack. Thne Superb already comes with leather, sat nav,park assist and all the usuall. The superb would not handle anything like the bmw but I kinda think its a lot cooler than a 318. ;)
    Do I want a plain car that drives very well or something a bit different that dosent?

Zonda999 wrote: »
    OP, go for a 170bhp Superb if you were to go for one, then you have the engine Audi put in the A4 and A6, unfortunately the 140bhp Superb still gets the outdated PD injection TDi rather than the CR injection you get in the 170bhp version

I would also go for the Superb btw, the money needed to upspec a 318d to the standard of the Superb Elegance would be biblical, and whats more, yes the bimmer would be better to drive but the i've no doubt that 4/5 of drivers would appreciate the extra comfort and toys of the Superb rather than the occasional extra driving pleasure of a poverty spec 318d. Whats more the Superb is certainly not bad to handle, its surprisingly agile for its size and i'm sure it would give more driving pleasure than most in that class.

Also, the spec of an elegance Superb has to be seen to be believed, sat nav, full heated lleather seats, self parking system, the list is endless. Do your self a favour though, get the 18" optional rims over the standard 17"s :D

How often does one use a sat nav though? In practice id say most people don't use it. Its just a gimmick that's nice to have. Self parking system is good craic but in practice is probably used to show off to friends more than anything else. Any competent driver will just forget about twiddling dials and just reverse the car in. Theres nothing finer than the satisfaction of parallel parking the car and getting it a few mm from the kerb. Heated seats are hardly an option you could need.

I will admit that leather seats are class but to be honest the host of gadgets wouldnt sway me towards the skoda. Gadgets are nice to have and fiddle with but at the end of the day, you will be primarily driving the car. The finish inside the BMW interior will be better, the drive will be better and the looks are way nicer.

As already mentioned OP, try and look at the 2ltr 170bhp diesel engine.
    Its more modern and more refined.

I've never driven either but wouldnt the 5 series be more akin to the Superb?

matters not if the 5 series is too expensive anyway.

Is the 140 not the exact same engine??? The 1.9 is the 105 brake option.

Do I want a plain car that drives very well or something a bit different that dosent?

That says it all really, if your not into cars buy the Skoda but if you are you know you'll really want the BMW and will live to regret it many many times. I can appreciate that the majority of people will just see a 2010 reg plate and that is all they'll see but anyone who appreciates a decent car will opt for the BMW.

Zonda999 wrote: »

I pretty much agree with all you have said and drove the 170 yesterday and there would be no contest if I could have one.....But I have a 08 A4 2.0 Tdi 143 and the thought of driving the old PD engine might just make me go for the bmw.
    Has anyone driven a Superb 140 tdi??

That says it all really, if your not into cars buy the Skoda but if you are you know you'll really want the BMW and will live to regret it many many times. I can appreciate that the majority of people will just see a 2010 reg plate and that is all they'll see but anyone who appreciates a decent car will opt for the BMW.

Did I mention that I can chip the bme to 180 bhp:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cabrwab

Id like the skoda for all the comfort
    The elegance pack is savage but when im getting hit with BIK i know id rather have cars with loads of sh*t in it then nothing.
    The BMW is nice sure it has rear wheel drive but meh when its poverty spec you might regret it.

I thought the dash of the skoda looked good for a skoda, i don't think the dash in the 3 looks anything over special.

Go with what you want :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Depends what you want. The kit of the Skoda is nice but the main wow factors are the self parking and sat nav. If you have 2k to spend on extras for the 318d you could get cruise and multi function wheel and the like to make it a nicer everyday proposition. Both cars can be remapped for more power too. It wouldn't be too poorly equipped then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

Good God I can't believe this discussion is still going on. Unless the OP needs a huge amount of space why would anyone opt for the Skoda? Especially if you a few grand to upspec it. Seriously a nice set of alloys and a bluetooth preparation and your not going to need a whole lot more. I'm not a badge snob but come on why would you drive the Skoda unless you had to? Okay its good value and has plenty of space but as already mentioned does anyone need Satnav or this Parking Assist business. The BMW is the only logical choice. Ask anyone who appreciates anything about cars where they would rather spend the next three years..

veetwin wrote: »
    I'm not a badge snob but come on why would you drive the Skoda unless you had to?

But isn't that the line badge snobs normally use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,654 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

I had thought I could get the Superb Tdi 170 bhp but my company told me today that I can only get the 140. Mind you i can also spend €2000 on extras ?

The 170 is only a €700 upgrade from the 140. Would you get away with that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,654 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Good God I can't believe this discussion is still going on. Unless the OP needs a huge amount of space why would anyone opt for the Skoda? Especially if you a few grand to upspec it. Seriously a nice set of alloys and a bluetooth preparation and your not going to need a whole lot more. ..

First thing you need in the beemer is leather and the 2 grand won't even cover that.

OP: unless you can upgrade the 318d to a Business Edition. Costs about 2k IIRC and includes leather, basic nav and bluetooth. That'd make things a lot closer....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

Where I'm coming from is that I appreciate Skodas are fine cars with great build quality and reliablity and offer good space and value for money. However I would rather drive a BMW. Yes they are expensive, poorly equipped and not as reliable but I still prefer them. Given the choice between a poverty spec 318D and a well equipped Superb unless I really need the extra space I'll take the BM every time. They are just nicer in almost every respect.

The only real tangible difference is in the drive though. In almost every other respect, as much as I hate to admit this, the higher spec superbs are a superior car to a low range 3-series. Neither are exactly beauties, the common rail VAG engines are a match, as well screwed together, nicer cabin. If it was a decent spec and engine in the 3-series then it's different but in this case it's a definite contender

I think it has to be the bmw. Every twisty road deserves rwd.

Buying a Skoda or a BMW is like buying a Timex or a Rolex, they'll both do the same job but one with a bit more class than the other.

I think it has to be the bmw. Every twisty road deserves rwd.

My work here is done!:)

Buying a Skoda or a BMW is like buying a Timex or a Rolex, they'll both do the same job but one with a bit more class than the other.

But a bog standard 3 is like the Rolex you can buy on holidays...

EPM wrote: »
    But a bog standard 3 is like the Rolex you can buy on holidays...

Since when are base models BMWs made in China? Personally I'd buy a high speced one secondhand than a new base model but I'd still buy a BMW regardless.

If I had that budget I'd be finding a nice 535d for myself...

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Superb has a "dropped arse" only a tightwad could love :D

Well spotted. Best value upgrade for money in town, it must be. Can the OP not exchange some of his €2,000 budget for optional extras for the engine upgrade?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

So anyone...everyone...

We're talking Superb vs. 318. But just for my own personal interest and not wishing to stage a thead hijack...what about the new Legacy that seems to fall somewhere between the two for value/size/standard spec.?

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=200952196289044

Would Joe Public really appreciate it being priced so much more than the Superb (AWD or no)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

I never saw the big deal about the E90 3 Series. It has one attribute that very few people actually care about, and that is driving dynamics. Unless you spend top whack and get all the spec it will be a very basic car that looks awful and has no presence other than the blue and white propeller that sits on the bonnet.

A hugely overrated car if you ask me, Superb all the way.

The Legacy doesn't look like it costs that much. Seating material looks cheap, interior design is ugly and the back looks like a Hyundai Sonata. If anything the old model looks like this ones successor. I think they've made a big mistake with this car. To me at least I can't see a scrap of desirability in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,823 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

...Where I'm coming from is that I appreciate Skodas are fine cars with great build quality and reliablity and offer good space and value for money. However I would rather drive a BMW. Yes they are expensive, poorly equipped and not as reliable but I still prefer them. Given the choice between a poverty spec 318D and a well equipped Superb unless I really need the extra space I'll take the BM every time. They are just nicer in almost every respect.

LOL, the Skoda is better, more reliable, cheaper, higher spec, and better value. And you still wouldn't buy one ? LOL, so long as people keep that faith, then any 'ol muck that Munich throws out will always be a success.

That'll be the 1-series, the X6, and 5GT then.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

Superb has a "dropped arse" only a tightwad could love :D

..whereas a 7-series has a "dropped arse" only the overpaid, myopic (..and easily parted with their money...) could love.........gentlemen, I give you.....Bangle Butt

<SNIP> Image removed as site doesn't allow hotlinking

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

Since when are base models BMWs made in China?
    They're made in South Africa.

BMW also have a factory in China too, now that you mention it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭hick

as a bmw driver, it's not only about the drive which is fantastic, but it also depends on how much time you like to spend waiting to get out of junctions, bring a book :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Zonda999

Forget the alloys OP, thats probably the only option you need!

You say the BMW and tbh i can see the appeal, when you're in the mood, it would be fantastic on a twisty road, but you have to ask yourself how often this will be the case? Day to Day comfort and surroundings should definitely be taken into account, how many kilometres do you do a year in any case OP?

galwaytt wrote: »
    LOL, the Skoda is better, more reliable, cheaper, higher spec, and better value. And you still wouldn't buy one ? LOL, so long as people keep that faith, then any 'ol muck that Munich throws out will always be a success.

You seem to have some kind of hatred towards BMW, or do you? Have you ever owned one (and not a low end 4-pot one :D)? I'm genuinely interested as you know we are often of the same opinion and we both do like our own Porsches but if we had more money we would have other Porsches :D

BTW, I voted Skoda Superb here :)

unkel wrote: »
    You seem to have some kind of hatred towards BMW, or do you? Have you ever owned one (and not a low end 4-pot one :D)? I'm genuinely interested as you know we are often of the same opinion and we both do like our own Porsches but if we had more money we would have other Porsches :D

BTW, I voted Skoda Superb here :)

No I don't hate them ! In truth, I did have a 'Mk1' 320d Touring for a while, the 120bhp one, which I acknowledge as being fantastic. But what ruined it was the penny-pinching spec and materials, and frankly, complete lack of innovation or style in the interior. Equivalent Audi's of the time (I had a TT then), was like a ........Bentley, compared to it (VAG joke...;)m. Cloth seats, no toys, Yuck ! Front suspension makde of chocolate, and a penchant for a few electronic bits (e.g an ECU @ €1300), kinda ruined the party.

No, what drives me nuts is the fact that we all know that in the Fatherland, they were desinged from new to be well-performing, and suitably engined and equipped. But people opting to buy the plane-jane cheapy one, just to get the badge, imho, only serves to dilute the brand. Sure, the guys in Munich are laughing, another XXXX unit shifted, so they won't care, but there again, that's not why we hang around in Motors, now is it ?;)

And there is the issue that the poverty-spec ones are genuinely...awful. Bad cars even. Look lovely, mind. I've seen so many 318's with coolant issues etc, it's not funny. But hey, it's got the Roundel, and that's all that matters. If you need a cheap, but quality, BMW.......buy a Mini, or buy 2nd hand.

Dynamics apart, I rate the M3 naturally, not for it's performance, which is a 'given', but more for it's accessible performance, and general all-round usefulness - a 911 for the masses, if you will.
    All ++ to me.

My sis-in-law is a case in point: her 318 broke her heart. Her replacement 323Ci is fabulous. And ultimately, cheaper to run.

102531.JPG

102532.JPG

102533.JPG

So, it's cars on their merit's: which is why I voted Superb, too.:)

As for our other 'affliction' - crumbs, have you seen the value in 911's and in the US lately............wow.........makes you think. 996's in Ireland now for low 20's......:eek:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=160392467368&viewitem=

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=160392160847&viewitem=

Ode To The Motorist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,720 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

OP - your not a medical sales rep by any chance are you?

Depends on the driving you do in my opinion, and whether you need the additional space in the Superb.

The Superb would be a nicer place to spend hours and hours on the road in, but the 3 would be the more involving drive.

Standard specification on the 318d ES is adequate. Has all you need (except a MFSW I think which would be my first option), but nothing above what you'd expect. The Superb on the other hand could well keep you amused while sitting in a huge jam on the M50.

BIK is the other consideration. OMV on the BMW is €35,390, Superb is €31,600 so there is a saving there already. Probably marginal difference if you are a high miler (which I suspect if you are changing every 2 years).

Also, don't discount the number of additional samples you can carry in the boot of the Skoda compared to the A4 or 3 Series!