Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Skins - Season 4 *Spoilers*

• 13-01-2010 2:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭

Skins will return to E4 Thursday, January 28, it has been announced.

The broadcaster previously teased that the show would be back in January for its fourth series but has since confirmed its regular Thursday 10pm slot.

The new series has been cut by two episodes, this time featuring just six - the same number as the first series, which aired back in 2007.

Executive producer Bryan Elsley said of series four: "This year, our writers and cast have stepped up and broken through to new levels of boldness. Funny, disrespectful, edgy, but also poignant and heartfelt, these stories try to go to the heart of what it means to be young today."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

The show has been in a steady decline since the brilliant series 1 imo so I think I'll give it a miss. All the new characters are completely unlikeable anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭chordtype

Executive producer Bryan Elsley said of series four: "This year, our writers and cast have stepped up and broken through to new levels of boldness. Funny, disrespectful, edgy, but also poignant and heartfelt, these stories try to go to the heart of what it means to be young today."

It says nothing to me about my life and I'm sure most people feel the same. The Inbetweeners does a better job at that. Really gone downhill from the first season where it was at least enjoyable. Every character just seems to be a complete stereotype.

chordtype wrote: »
    The Inbetweeners does a better job at that.
    A big +1 to this, I wish Skins didn't pretend to depict real life teenagers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,962 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Have to agree Skins has gone to shit. The last series was awful and full of idiotic characters.

The Inbetweeners and Misfits are much much better imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭ElNino

4th series starting tonight for anyone who is interested

DRAMA: Skins
    On: E4 (137)
    Date: Thursday 28th January 2010
    Time: 22:00 to 23:00 (1 hour long)
    The award-winning drama returns for a fourth series. Cook is enjoying a summer of debauchery, while Freddie is learning that love can take you to the edge of sanity. The gang are enjoying themselves at one of Thomas's club nights until an accident at the club leaves Thomas feeling responsible. He is shocked into questioning his role within society and feeling alienated from his peers, he turns closer to God and the African community - and in doing so, isolates everyone around him.
    (Subtitles, Part 1 of 8, Audio Described, 15, 4 Star)

Starring: Jack O'Connell, Luke Pasqualino, Merveille Lukeba

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Excerpt taken from DigiGuide - the world's best TV guide available from http://www.getdigiguide.com/?p=1&r=22587

Copyright (c) GipsyMedia Limited.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

I just keep watching in the hope that the Season 1 cast will do some sort of cameo. I'll give it a look tonight and see if it's improved from the last series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,602 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Well this is ****.

Seems a million miles from the quality of season 1. And I thought the last season was bad. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

God this is ****ing crap!! I do not need to see that boring African chap in 2 sex scenes in half an hour. And as for arse cracks.. I have seen his and Cooks!!! WTF?!

Still got that know it all smart arse-ism going on. Oh man, aren't our college tutors so square and thick.. We teenagers know it all. *rolleyes*

The college was involved due to all the under age kids at the club from their college
    why are they blaming and expelling Thomas for working there??

Oooh, finally that twat Cook
    is getting kicked around.
    Yay!

Lack of Effy this episode just means that others have to have sex scenes and do mad sh1t while off their tits on coke to make up for it. Glad they've got the basics covered. Phew!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

The preacher's daughter. Really, skins writers, really?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭mle1324

o1s1n wrote: »
    Well this is ****.

Seems a million miles from the quality of season 1. And I thought the last season was bad. :mad:

Agree with you there,I did enjoy the last season though.

JJ's still a ledgend:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭mle1324

Lil Kitten wrote: »
    God this is ****ing crap!! I do not need to see that boring African chap in 2 sex scenes in half an hour.
    I know,it was like a porno I thought!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

The first season of this show was good. Every season since was shocking,especially since they brought in this new cast. I never wanted to punch anyone more than I want to hit that cook fella several times in the face.

This episode was shockingly bad. Ye,some new college tutor comes in talking like now human being talks and expells a guy for working in a club where a girl died. Give me a feckin break. rubbish. won't be watching beyond this episode.

I also hate people who somehow think this is an accurate portrayal of teenage life or that it "speaks" to teenagers. Bulls**t! as someone mentioned the Inbetweeners does a much better job at that,and is actually well written and funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,164 ✭✭✭Konata

Well. Guess not even 'God' can discourage public fornication.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Never liked 'Skins'...

... nope, not even the 1st season!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Gotta love how all the people that don't like skins venture into a skins thread, strange how that happens.

I for one love skins, and am delighted its back.

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    Gotta love how all the people that don't like skins venture into a skins thread, strange how that happens.

I for one love skins, and am delighted its back.
    Well this is a forum for discussion of TV shows isn't it? People are entitled to their opinions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 rodneytrotts

The first two series of skins were very enjoyable. The last one and this one are pure muck, I more then likely will keep watching it, but i don't really know why!

phasers wrote: »
    Well this is a forum for discussion of TV shows isn't it? People are entitled to their opinions.

I'll remember that in future when i open every thread just to reply,

It's shít.

I'll remember that in future when i open every thread just to reply,

It's shít.
    Good luck with that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

^ if you did you'd probably be banned for "trolling"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Really loved the first two seasons.

The newer bunch really can't seem to come into their own though, for whatever reason.

It's a fairly bad show at the moment, I keep watching hoping that it will get better though.
    I don't think it's going to happen, a little hope never hurt anyone though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Lil' Smiler

Pretty **** last night. The last season was ok but way below the standard of the first 2 series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

I only liked the first series to be honest, thought the second was a bit annoying but series 3 was terrible, the characters are seriously the most annoying people in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

What the hell was that - firstly, changing the theme tune was a bad move... and secondy, where the hell was the humour in the episode? Even in really serious episodes in previous years like Chris' death, there has been humour in it at least...
    I'll give it one more episode to prove to me that it's halfway decent and if it fails to do that I'm giving it up...
    They should never have changed the cast...

Misfits FTW!

Can be seen on 4od.

Here: http://www.channel4.com/search/?q=misfits

Well worth a look for anyone that enjoyed Skins.

There an Irish lad in it, and I think he could quite possibly be the best character I have ever seen in a tv show.
    Of course that's just my own personal opinion, others seem to hate him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Herbal Deity

Just watched it there, that was pretty bad.

Skins has always been closer to an OTT portrayal of people in their 20s rather than teenagers. I always thought that they cast the characters unnecessarily young, and as a result the show is far more incredible than simply the OTTness of it all.

Didn't mind the 3rd series after a few episodes, so maybe this will be similar. Skins 2.0 has nothing on the first two series though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

Yes, it is amazing the way people who used to like the show are still giving it a chance, even though the last series was rubbish, and are now voicing their thoughts on what was a very good show. At least they have an opinion on it.

I gave it a watch last night just to see would it improve, but it hasn't. If anything, it's gotten worse. The new theme tune should have been a sign of how it was going to go; bad... I don't think I'll bother with it anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭blow69

They should have picked a more light-hearted, less heavy character to focus on for the first episode. It was all a bit too depressing at times.

Don't get me started on the whole accurate-portrayal-of-teenagers premise. How can you have a club full of 15-16 year olds and only get caught when a girl offs herself as a result of drugs. If this is what typical teenagers get up to, well then I have seriously missed out on a lot of stuff.

But I guess it would be boring if all they did is kick around a ball or score someone at the back of the bike shed for five minutes.

I have faith it will pick up. Season three seemed to after a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 MadMattDog

Jus see'n what people said about it being a porno lol. My dad was in the room for the 1st part and said I was watching 'one of those aul pornographic movies' . I had to laugh at that.

Yeah, I'm nothing like the charachters in that. But I still enjoy it, its funny.

Misfits didn't keep me hooked like this does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭BarryDoodles

Conan! wrote: »

Don't get me started on the whole accurate-portrayal-of-teenagers premise. How can you have a club full of 15-16 year olds and only get caught when a girl offs herself as a result of drugs. If this is what typical teenagers get up to, well then I have seriously missed out on a lot of stuff.

But I guess it would be boring if all they did is kick around a ball or score someone at the back of the bike shed for five minutes.

I think the series represents my leaving cert and first year of college quite accurately... however i'd love to see them 'wake up' skagging after a night on whatever drugs; pills, mdma or coke they poisioning their body with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

Very poor first episode of the new series, I though season 3 was ok. As annoying as Cook is there wasnt enough of him last night. Hopefully tomorrow nights one will be a lot better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

I just watched the first episode there. Absolutely sh*t. One of the most boring episodes to kick off a new season.

I used to look forward to Thursday's when Skins was on but I really couldn't give a toss now. The show has gone so downhill.

No character has likability at all unlike Sid and the gang from season's 1 and 2.

Here's hoping it picks up but I can't see it happening tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Have to say that was pretty good. But then again, Emily is my favourite character and I though her episode with Naomi was the only interesting one from the last series too.

Thought it was a very good episode also, although I love them all, so my opinion isn't to be noticed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭sheehy898

Great episode but really frustrated with the storyline,felt
    Namoi cheating was not where that storyline should have gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Much better than last week thankfully, but still nothing on the earlier seasons...
    Episode was good enough to convince me to keep watching anyway...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Herbal Deity

IDK, I thought it was still pretty awful.
    The whole stalker thing, and the person being stalked finding a shrine dedicated to them is a little stale at this stage.

However, it's still a nice slice of mindless entertainment, and it's not awful enough to drive me away quite yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭BarryDoodles

Third episode was amazing. Emotional and brave :)

Cook is probably the only character worth a fcuk.
    Plus Jack O'Connell is quite a good actor.

Still shit compared to the first two seasons but that episode gave me some hope that maybe things are looking up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Really enjoyed the third episode, had me on edge for a lot of it. Thought the first was very poor, the second was interesting as I liked the Naomi/Emily story-line. Cook peed me off towards the end of the third series, but you got a better insight into his life this time round. Looking forward to number 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭dmcg90

How many episodes are in the series this time... six isnt it?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

dmcg90 wrote: »
    How many episodes are in the series this time... six isnt it?

Delighted with Cook going down. he pissed me off so much. He beat up JJ for feck sake. Not cool.

Agree with the consenses that Its gone down hill. Last episode of season 3, WTF? serriously.

Will prob keep up with it none the less.
    if only to see that little ****er go down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭Michael-O'Neill

Started watching at season 3, i got hooked. Cook and jj r my favourite

If you think season 3 is good, try Season 1&2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭Jordonvito

this season could do with another couple of deaths, or HLA, giggity

Jordonvito wrote: »
    this season could do with another couple of deaths, or HLA, giggity

please use spoiler tags if your talking about something someone hasnt seen yet.

HLA?

Watched the 3rd episode, and thought this show has well and truly jumped the shark... It's been great, but I've officially given up on the series...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 635 ✭✭✭grrrrrrrrrr

chordtype wrote: »
    It says nothing to me about my life and I'm sure most people feel the same. The Inbetweeners does a better job at that. Really gone downhill from the first season where it was at least enjoyable. Every character just seems to be a complete stereotype.

hit the nail on the head!! here here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 635 ✭✭✭grrrrrrrrrr

and basically theres no spoilers on this??