Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Winter Special (European Club)

• 13-01-2010 10:46AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭

Ruddy's come up trumps again lads

Back of the indo today €40 a round untill Tuesday (inclusive)

Ph: 040447415

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

Just booked a fourball for Saturday
    Ta very much Mr Balls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭lemon head

Tried to find this on website!!!

Including this weekend???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

lemon head wrote: »
    Tried to find this on website!!!

Including this weekend???

i don't have the paper to hand but there was no stipulation afaikr,daily inclusive to Tuesday,it won't be on the website yet me thinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Whyner

I'm booked in, sweet.......

Booked a 3 ball for Saturday

Thanks a mill heavyballs

Any reviews? Will they have temp greens, save the fairways, mats??

I'm still excited......

Whyner wrote: »
    Any reviews? Will they have temp greens, save the fairways, mats??

I'm still excited......

no temps in play,happy days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭jimmystars

Nice spot. Booked in. Hope the weather is good. Any info on the course. Never played it.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

So the boards Christmas outing could actually be heading to the European Club after all :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

I'm booked in Saturday aswell.....

thanks for the up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭p.u.d.z.e.r.

Fair play heavyballs....im booked in for sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 beepimasheep

Nice one HB, I'll be there on Sunday also, should be fun

Guys,

Dont mean to put a damper on our trip to the european club but there is to be a good few inches of rainfall on friday late evening till first till Saturday morning.

Hopefully i be proved wrong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

lemon head wrote: »
    Guys,

Dont mean to put a damper on our trip to the european club but there is to be a good few inches of rainfall on friday late evening till first till Saturday morning.

Hopefully i be proved wrong!

Links courses don't really get water-logged. It'd be more frost/snow you'd need to close the place.

apparently it was a delayed start today because of frost, I think they started up at 10.30 - meant to warm up tomorrow a bit and should be ok for saturday. The wind will make it some tough start to the year, but bring it on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

Nice one heavyballs, just picked myself a 4 ball up for Saturday morning!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

Licksy, you might be right. It seems half of boards will be there on Sat morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

Im booked in for a fourball on Sat morning at 9.44 , roll on the first game of 2010, loving it cant wait

Right behind you Buachail at 10.00am

good stuff I will try not to hold you up !!
    come say hello !

Anyone with room for moi on Saturday morning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

Licksy wrote: »

Sorry Licksy, my four at 11.30 are all good to go - will let you know if anyone drops out

I'm 10.55 Licksy, one of mine is not 100% so I will let you know this morning

I'm first off at 8:48, I'm a big time early bird. Sky + 4 hours of Golf and Heineken Cup matches to get back to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

Licksy you're right, judging from this thread there's at least 20 of us out tomorrow!!

Including me, dunno what time yet though, just got a text with very little detail.

@f22, Arthurs just rang me there, am out with you, you're bringin me down god bless ye:D

I'll ring ya later.

JCDUB wrote: »
    Licksy you're right, judging from this thread there's at least 20 of us out tomorrow!!

Including me, dunno what time yet though, just got a text with very little detail.

@f22, Arthurs just rang me there, am out with you, you're bringin me down god bless ye:D

I'll ring ya later.

Sorry Licksy, you have JC to blame for no golf tomorrow. No problem with the lift, I'll buzz you later, e20 each way!

We should have a nearest the pin comp on the shortest par 3 for the laugh, measure with your putter

Anyone got a scorecard, unfortunately their website is lacking the usual info, would love a read through of the holes beforehand...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

Lads,

Keep note of your singles and fourball scores and we can all post here and make it an outing of sorts, with some results even if there are no prizes!

If anyone has an idea how the winner of a sweep would get paid then suggest and maybe we can do this too:confused:
    Just a few euro ftw

Stableford for both, full handicap for singles, three quarters handicap for fourball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Nice to hear a Boards outing (of sorts) finally taking place. Best of luck! Consider us poor souls not able to play tomorrow. Don't feel too sorry for us though, as i have all your addresses and while you're at the golf will be out burgling your houses and introducing myself to your wives.

Enjoy!:D

Nice to hear a Boards outing (of sorts) finally taking place. Best of luck! Consider us poor souls not able to play tomorrow. Don't feel too sorry for us though, as i have all your addresses and while you're at the golf will be out burgling your houses and introducing myself to your wives.

No problem once you leave the money on the mantle piece:D

Best of luck with that Sifter, she's waiting for you!

susan-boyle-scotland.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

JCDUB wrote: »
    Lads,

Keep note of your singles and fourball scores and we can all post here and make it an outing of sorts, with some results even if there are no prizes!

If anyone has an idea how the winner of a sweep would get paid then suggest and maybe we can do this too:confused:
    Just a few euro ftw

Stableford for both, full handicap for singles, three quarters handicap for fourball.

I'll probably be able to keep count of my s'ford on one hand. Will post it up though. I think most of us are playing with non-boards folk so no real point doin fourball, for me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭DubGF

Off at 10AM tomorrow on the 10th tee, seems like the place is going to be very busy...

Thanks to the OP for the information, looking forward to it.

f22 wrote: »
    I'm 10.55 Licksy, one of mine is not 100% so I will let you know this morning

I'm off at 10.56 (just confirmed there again after seeing your post), so you might want to check that time......

I'm off on the 10th tee

10:4

Rub it in ye b******s :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭DubGF

Licksy, you can jump in with me if you want, there is only 2 of us.

Let me know and I will ring up and add you on.

Gary

Beautiful!
    I'm there.
    Serious bragging rights for anyone who can beat 20pts tomorrow...

Beautiful!
    I'm there.
    Serious bragging rights for anyone who can beat 20pts tomorrow...

How about nearest the green comp on all the par 3's.

F22, coming to a sleeper clad bunker near you!

Well just back in the door from European. Met Licksy and a Sheet there.

As promised here is my score. Hope all others will follow.

28pts.

Played with a lad that shot -2 off scr for 38pts today. He plays a different game than us. Its not golf as I know it.

thegen wrote: »

28pts.

Played with a lad that shot -2 off scr for 38pts today. He plays a different game than us. Its not golf as I know it.

his first name wasn't Padraig was it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭WaldenByThoreua

thegen wrote: »

28pts.

Was he small ish with fair hair by any chance?

heavyballs wrote: »
    his first name wasn't Padraig was it?

No a young lad from my home club did it today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭shaywest

prepare yourself for the biggest wakeup call since you started playing .think you are good?this place will make you think again.
    jimmystars wrote: »
    Nice spot. Booked in. Hope the weather is good. Any info on the course. Never played it.

Pp

what a perfect day for a game today !!

well i played for the first time in European club and I must say nicest course I have played to date. I finished on 32 pts off 8 and I should have been so much better. Drove my lights out all day but couldnt manage to take advantage of them. had 4 doubles from middle of fairways for 2nd shot and just wasmt accurate enough. All that said I am happy with my game considering I havent played in 8-10 weeks.

How did everyone else get on ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

Lucky sods! Jealous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

shaywest wrote: »
    prepare yourself for the biggest wakeup call since you started playing .think you are good?this place will make you think again.

I think it may be easier this year. Ruddy is said to have cut back the rough substantially. Was that peole's experience today?

Brilliant day out

Disappointing 27 points off 16. scratched 5 holes due bad drive off the tee! All in all thought i did well with the holes that i drove well!

Was supposed to play behind you bauchill but end up starting off the 10th tee box which was great coz there was not much in front of us!

The back 9 is defintely more interesting. Thought the 12th hole along the coast was fanastic and the 18th too!

The 7th hole was interesting, didnt think it warrant the top 100 hardest hole, it was certainly long. Drove it well around 260 yards and then a hybrid just short of the green, little bump and run and a putt!!! :)

The rough was long enough as it is!!!