Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oh I'd kill for a cup of tea!

• 12-01-2010 6:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Dubrub

I cant understand that now with the snow and ice gone and the thaw more or less completed I am in my 4th day without water,,, It is getting to be a humanitarian issue here in my house were we can no longer flush toilets or wash ourselves and only in the last few hours the council has is providing access to a "water station" that is over a mile away,,, grrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!!!
    Should I accept it or be really really p1ssed off with how this country is run???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭Liathroidi Dana

Damn I thought this was going to be a thread discussing the joy of Tea...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

Dubrub wrote: »
    I cant understand that now with the snow and ice gone and the thaw more or less completed I am in my 4th day without water,,, It is getting to be a humanitarian issue here in my house were we can no longer flush toilets or wash ourselves and only in the last few hours the council has is providing access to a "water station" that is over a mile away,,, grrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!!!
    Should I accept it or be really really p1ssed off with how this country is run???

Accept it!!!

/dunks his chocolate biscuit into his hot tea and moves to next thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Never got that whole infatuation some people have with tea.

Hot brown water, yum...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

cloneslad wrote: »
    Accept it!!!

/dunks his chocolate biscuit into his hot tea and moves to next thread

i'm having a twix with my tea myself. it must be my 5th cup today..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭Harpy

why not run into one of your neighbours and ask them to fill your kettle wiht water.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Nah, just be pissed off with yourself that you did not have a water butt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Dubrub

Harpy wrote: »
    why not run into one of your neighbours and ask them to fill your kettle wiht water.

They're in the same boat as me,,, :mad:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

What's the boat floating on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

All in a boat and no water...............

........SICKEND!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

Pfft, i'm off to water my fountain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

There was people all over the country with out water for most of the Christmas.

What makes you so special?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

Hank_Jones wrote: »

Hot brown water, yum...

I actually don't drink it either, or coffee for that matter. People always think I'm weird when I tell them after they offer me some when I go to their house.

On the flip side they also think I'm and ignorant bastard for not offering them any when they come to my house....it just never occurs to me that someone might want to drink it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

A little snow and no trasnport and no water? Yes, you should be pissed off. I suggest a riot, as the song says.

Pff you go, report back when you're done.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

Damn I thought this was going to be a thread discussing the joy of Tea...

Why does everyone have an unhealthy obsession with tea?!?! And don't give me "because it's awesome"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 930 ✭✭✭*giggles*

That's because tea is awesome:) That gives me an idea.....*puts on kettle*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Complain on the internets...start a Facebook group.

That will show them. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

Where are you .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

TheZohan wrote: »
    Complain on the internets...start a Facebook group.

That will show them. ;)

That only works if 1,000,000 members join.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,725 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

I'm going for a bath (with a cup of tea) then i'm going to have a shower to wash off the bath water and probably have another cup of tea. then I'll probably wash the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Man up Dublin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 930 ✭✭✭*giggles*

I'm going for a bath (with a cup of tea) then i'm going to have a shower to wash off the bath water and probably have another cup of tea. then I'll probably wash the car.

Don't forget to rinse thoroughly, it can be a streaky. Might as well wash it twice while you're at it:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

does their cabin have any running water?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Hank_Jones wrote: »

Hot brown water, yum...

Good for a hangover let me tell you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

Pfft, water. I'm more worried about my internet going down.

P.s. I have no water either. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

Killing someone is not going to make your tea come any faster OP. It will just help you pass the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

This couldnt be funnier, the whole of Dublin decides that they'll leave the taps running to stop pipes freezing and then they moan when demand is outstripping supply. Do you think there is enough drinking water in reserve for you to waste for days on end without issues? They then proceed to blame the government because they all are inconsiderate towards the consequences of their own actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,265 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

Schism wrote: »
    Pfft, water. I'm more worried about my internet going down.

P.s. I have no water either. :(

Yeah, but you can't drink t'internet though, can you......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

Dempsey wrote: »
    This couldnt be funnier, the whole of Dublin decides that they'll leave the taps running to stop pipes freezing and then they moan when demand is outstripping supply. Do you think there is enough drinking water in reserve for you to waste for days on end without issues? They then proceed to blame the government because they all are inconsiderate towards the consequences of their own actions.

Why isn't there a 'thumbs-down' option for posts like this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Pure Cork

Spot on. You'd think people would have a bit of cop on to collect snow and/or rain water.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Iv just sent Mrs. Doyle around to your gaff, she's got a nice hot cup of tea for ya, do you want one?

...ah go on, go on, go on, go on, go on, go on, go on, go on, go on, go on, go on.

NO!!!......no tea for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Irish_polizei

i'm having a twix with my tea myself. it must be my 5th cup today..
    Im having a pink shnack with mine and having a nice hot bath too! Might have a need for a shower shortly, all this hot water is making me sweaty!! :p:D:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Why does everyone have an unhealthy obsession with tea?!?!

I dont get it either. Especially when they cant take a shower/flush the toilet/wash their clothes yet tea is still their most pressing concern.

I could goes for days without a wash but only a few hours for tea.

Tea is my petrol. I love tea. Hard te beat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

I notice it's mostly Dubs coming on boards and starting threads moaning about their water loss. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

You know who's to blame for this! The...the...the guvverment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Moan Moan Moan....

Did you not Fill a Reservoir when you were warned or at least aware of the possibility that your water may be missing for a few days?

Maybe its just standard practice in Southeast US, but you fill your bathtub with cold water, this is your source of water for about a week. Sound dirty? You can buy a Bathtub-Form reservoir bag: http://www.google.com/products?q=bathtub+emergency+bag&oe=utf-8&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a&um=1&ie=UTF-8&ei=pd1MS4HMJoGvtgf_obzqDA&sa=X&oi=product_result_group&ct=title&resnum=3&ved=0CCIQrQQwAg

Overheal wrote: »
    Moan Moan Moan....

Did you not Fill a Reservoir when you were warned or at least aware of the possibility that your water may be missing for a few days?

Maybe its just standard practice in Southeast US, but you fill your bathtub with cold water, this is your source of water for about a week. Sound dirty? You can buy a Bathtub-Form reservoir bag: http://www.google.com/products?q=bathtub+emergency+bag&oe=utf-8&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a&um=1&ie=UTF-8&ei=pd1MS4HMJoGvtgf_obzqDA&sa=X&oi=product_result_group&ct=title&resnum=3&ved=0CCIQrQQwAg

Yeah. Good man.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Plowman

Yeah. Good man.:rolleyes:
    I suppose you think the government should be taxed with getting out millions of litres of bottled drinking water to everyone then :rolleyes: In fact theres already a system in place its called a water faucet and forward thinking

I suppose you think the government should be taxed with getting out millions of litres of bottled drinking water to everyone then :rolleyes:

No I don't think the government should have to dig us out of this. It's the smug attitude. I hope you don't mind if I quote one of your posts from a few days back;
    I saw the thread title and I was like "This cant seriously be about...."

And then I read it and I was like "....yep :rolleyes:"

Come join the "National Crisis" debate.

My what a sheltered life you Pats live.

Weather conditions like this are kind of rare over here and a lot of people are frustrated. Some of them are directing their anger unfairly at government, I freely admit. I don't think it's fair to say we live sheltered lives. I know you're American and I think it's a bit rich that you're taking a swipe at us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭bertie4evr

Jaysus,now that you mention it I wouldn't mind a cup meself.Feck,I might make two.Because I can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

the whole of Dublin decides that they'll leave the taps running to stop pipes freezing

What are you on about? No one did this.

I know you're American and I think it's a bit rich that you're taking a swipe at us.
    !

Do ya now?!

Granted we havent had us a good Yank Bashing here in a couple weeks but you might have forgotten what normally goes on around here.

I get One in, and Im called on it :rolleyes:
    I don't think it's fair to say we live sheltered lives.
    I Categorically disagree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭Agent J

Plowman wrote: »

If you have to ask, You'll never understand.
    If you understand, You dont need to ask. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

What are you on about? No one did this.

Sure they didnt....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

we can no longer flush toilets or wash ourselves

Why don't you use melted snow for the toilets? If you poor a bucket of water into the toilet it will activate a flush. So melt containers of snow and keep them for the toilets, live by the "If it's yellow it's mellow, if it's brown* flush it down" maxim while the water is gone.

Use babywipes for washing your stinky body parts. And if you don't fancy using boiled snow to drink buy cheap mineral water. I have an allergy to something in the tap water and have to drink bottled water all the time anyway, just get the store brand stuff and it's not too expensive.

*Also if it's red.:P

Why don't you use melted snow for the toilets?
    Duh!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

I will bring around a pot of tea but you will have to bump off a few people that have upset me recently;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

OP did you know that you can buy water that comes in bottles

I know I know it sounds crazy but hear me out the come in all different brands various bottle sizes 500cl 1lt 2lt 5lt:eek:

and nearly every garage sells tea and coffee ready made all these new fandago thingys sure the kids nowadays dont know their born sure

in my day we had to walk to the well 6 miles down the lane .......

BluesBerry wrote: »
    in my day we had to walk to the well 6 miles down the lane .......

And then walk 6 miles back up it! :eek: