Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Modern Warfare 2 Tips

• 11-01-2010 4:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16

Yo post your tips 4 modern warfare 2 here.....

Highrise- inside the office there is a ladder...climb it jump to the platform and you got awesome snipe spot

Afghan- Go into tunnel go to the corner and lie down...your basically invisible to other players....great for rackin up wins without being killed

i have one i'm not allowed say here its a glitch rather than tip about gettin extra exp..if you wanna no pm me...

for those who would give out over me giving out this info saying i'm ruining the game...its not like i'm putting a gun to your head saying here cheat..nor am i condoning it..i'm just saying its there if you wanna no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 enigmadoom

oh and in scrapyard....crouch in corner of the map in the top left in the grass....your once again invisible basically.snipe away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

I've no problem with people giving out tips for places worth sniping from. Just be prepared for flak if you highlight camping spots :D

Let's keep the thread civil folks. :)

EDIT: Oh and I've moved this from the Playstation forum to the COD forum. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 enigmadoom

r3nu4l wrote: »
    I've no problem with people giving out tips for places worth sniping from. Just be prepared for flak if you highlight camping spots :D

Let's keep the thread civil folks. :)

Thanks for the help, and sorry for puttin it in the wrong forum...yeah i've noticed things get heated quite fast with some of my posts...i just try to not pay attention...thnks again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭minotour

thanks for the excellent tips, YOU must be a good player, as these spots ARE well hidden, A good player avoids CAMPING unlike some WEASELs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭TiGeR KiNgS

!!!! DIE campers DIE !!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,002 ✭✭✭Komplett-Tech: Ryan

It's not camping, it's strategically positioning yourself :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,265 ✭✭✭MiCr0

Best tip i have in doing well in this game - ignore trying to rack-up kills and focus more on not dying.

You generally do better for your team of you've score is 15-5 than if its 20-15.

You also have to think about where the enemies are going to come from.
    For example, on Sub-Base a player will always run around the edge of the map, along the top in this diagram. It should be an easy kill
    sub-base-layout.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Jayziz lads, I asked ye to try and keep it civil :)
    minotour wrote: »
    thanks for the excellent tips, YOU must be a good player, as these spots ARE well hidden, A good player avoids CAMPING unlike some WEASELs
    This is a personal insult, infracted.
    !!!! DIE campers DIE !!!!
    This is aggressive but it's attacking the post and not the poster. No infraction :)

So, tips?
    As Micr0 says, anticipate where people will come from, there are loads of obvious routes in the maps where people will come running along without even thinking about what they are doing. These are easy kill routes.

Learn the limitations of your weapon. If it has a short range, don't go firing it at a guy in the distance...that way you avoid drawing attention to yourself.

Keep an eye on your magazines, don't start firing at a guy when you've only two or three rounds left in the mag and have to reload halfway through!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭nevaeh-2die-4

lads he was offering some tips , give the chap a break

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Want easy kills? In Terminal stick a claymore at the doorway of the airplane leading into the building. That part of the map is at a right angle and most people leg it when they're around their anyway, instant death :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 paulof1985

dont get caught up with killstreaks and try to stay away from care packages in general. I find using or trying to even rob a care package almost always ends in certain death.

find a class your comfortable with so that even when your tring to unlock some other stuff or just having a bad day at the office you always have a fallback class if things arent going your way.

i love using the sleight of hand, stopping power and ninja/scrambler perks that are available early on. just because you unlock things later in the game including weapons doesnt neccessarily mean they will make you play any better.

if all else fails run around like a headless chicken with scavenger, noob tube, frags and thumper. spray and pray you cant miss haha....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

If you get hit(but not killed)when passing a door or going around a corner quickly plant a claymore and keep goingn as 9 times out of ten the person will follow you to finish you off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭silvine

Play until your eyes bleed.

That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭cableguy.ie

Use the Silencers.
    Ok it takes some off the power away from the gun but it attracts lot less attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

As one of the lads from the Machinima videos said, "play defensively". Don't camp but don't go running around looking for people to shoot like a crazed idiot.

I generally reload somewhere quiet, sneak about a bit and listen for footsteps (surround sound up loud) - I'll hide and take them out without them knowing rather than taking them head on.

Then, I'll move to somewhere else and repeat. Call it what you will but it works, you not constantly in the same position which prevents someone noobtubing you or throwing in sticky.

Also, you'll find different approaches work in different game modes. I've no issue camping with a noob tube/assault rifle in Domination, Demolition etc. as that's kinda the point but as I mentioned above I won't stay exactly in the same places as you'll be blown to pieces after a few killcams

On that note, an anti-killcam perk would be amazing but I suppose, annoying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,561 ✭✭✭✭Varik

paulof1985 wrote: »
    dont get caught up with killstreaks and try to stay away from care packages in general. I find using or trying to even rob a care package almost always ends in certain death

i tend to throw the care package and sentry at the close to the same time.
    jerk tries to seal the first one and the second kill him, KID (I hate some Americans).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

dont get caught up with killstreaks and try to stay away from care packages in general. I find using or trying to even rob a care package almost always ends in certain death...

Using them as bait is often good for at least one or two kills. Throw it out into the open and take a tactical position.

I suck so hard at this game (level 43 first playthrough, some of that was power-levelled though). However I'm playing around with something I heard about, which is changing your button configuration to "Tactical", which basically swaps your crouch/prone and melee buttons. The thinking is that it's more natural to hit the deck with the right stick. You also turn the sensitivity up as high as possible; something you have to do gradually. It can be painfully frustrating at first when someone appears out of nowhere and you try to stab them, but hit the deck instead :mad:

The above supports the tactic of dropping and shooting. You start shooting at someone and then hit the deck at the same time by holding right stick. You basically win 95% of 50/50 one-on-ones by doing this as enemies are left firing over your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭JamieDev

consultech: that is a good idea but remember, only do the thing in mw2 that u feel comfortable doing, not what pros on youtube do. i have tried to switch to tactical and put my sensitivity to 10, but i just couldnt get used to it. i currently play on 3 sensitivity (between medium and high) and i really like it, i am lvl 39 2nd prestige and ill just say that im alot younger than the game age and i have a life!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭ryaner012

consultech wrote: »
    Using them as bait is often good for at least one or two kills. Throw it out into the open and take a tactical position.

this is good when playing against noobs, some times it good to throw the killstreaks outside the map and then wait for the players to try and get the crates. this again is only good for a few kills and you have to be careful.

if you are comfortable with the throwing knife they are the best of the equipment on offer as you can just reuse them in close combat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

I find keeping a close eye on map not not just when the enemy appear but the position of team mates as it gives you an idea of which way they will come.
    Flash out in rooms. Lots of people just go running in guns blazing.

Learn the maps and where people camp. This will save being killed by the dick sitting in the corner.

Flank enemies. Dont go running head on, you can kill them easier when they cant see you :D

If I am playing bad I would normally take a break. Once the match is over play against a different team.

Take your time moving around. Move around and reload in cover. Running everywhere leaves you an open target for snipers, noob tubes and anyone hiding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

Don't play Wasteland :D:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Nice to see a thread like this because i'm not great at MW2.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

When in doubt and close range run around in circles. Turns out most people can't aim.

If your playing team deathmatch and your team is losing horribly there are two certainties. There is going to be somebody behind you very quickly and don't stand next to any of them. Your only going to be hit as well.

Riot sheild is hilarious for headquarters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

When you get an airdrop package, camp in a nice spot, toss the flare, and mow down anyone that tries to get it. Usually get another airdrop out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭Agent J

Some one running at your with a riot shield?

1) Shoot at their feet

2)Toss a semtex grenade onto to it. Then run like hell!
    (Conversely if you are playing with the riot shield and you get stuck with semtext run right at the person who threw it. You might be able to take them with you!)

3)Use Kill cams! It usually helps in locating sniper/camping positons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭EmacB

check your corners and dont rush around them :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,265 ✭✭✭MiCr0

It can be worth watching how some of the guys like hutch play, I watched some, learnt a bit and improved my average game score from 7-6 to 15-5.
    You learn a lot about how they do their loadouts, handle ccq and when they use specific weapons.
    It's also a zero death way to learn about camping spots :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭craze7

Great tip: When you are in a gun fight with some dude who is on pain killer and lose, don't craic up.. Take solice in the fact he is the worst player ever!!!! ☺

Also don't be cannon fodder for air support, there is nothing wrong with standing in a building untill it goes away or if you do happen to die by a chopper switch out to your anti air class and take it down for some sweet points!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭spockpower

Plant a C4 on a flag in Domination .;)

Don't use killstreaks right away, wait till you respawn because : a- you are less likely to be killed and b- it can help you start a new streak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Gelio

Killstreak rewards only count towards your killstreak if you use them during the killstreak you earned them in . . . If you get me:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭Redzer7

spockpower wrote: »

Don't use killstreaks right away, wait till you respawn because : a- you are less likely to be killed and b- it can help you start a new streak
    Doesn't help you start a new killstreak after dying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭doncarlos

It's not camping, it's strategically positioning yourself :pac:

The money was simply resting in my account....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

ajeffares wrote: »
    Killstreak rewards only count towards your killstreak if you use them during the killstreak you earned them in . . . If you get me:D

Changed that from MW1, where people would build up a chopper, die, call in said chopper and get another one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

What has helped me improve as a player the most is learning to flank and move effectively. This comes with learning the maps I suppose, but most people in this game don't protect their flanks at all, making for easy kills. Watch the minimap and horizon for hotspots and come in from the side. When moving around the map always be aware of how many lines of sight there are to you and how best you can move to minimise those lines of sight. I rarely ever get shot from the side and getting shot in the back is a 'wtf' moment.

Like someone said earlier in the thread, a score of 20-4 is better for your team than 30-25
    craze7 wrote: »
    Also don't be cannon fodder for air support, there is nothing wrong with standing in a building untill it goes away

I was hiding in that little shed thing on wasteland from a chopper near our spawn and being given out to over voicechat for doing nothing while the rest of my team ran across the open ground getting mowed down again and again, ultimately ruining our score enough to lose us the match. I'm not sure if they even realised what they were doing, stupid kids hellbent on storming that stupid f**king bunker. I ended up with second highest score and best k/d ratio so I hope they learned something. So yes, hide from the air support if you have to, otherwise you're just giving free points to the other team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭tosh_thedude

I saw this video on youtube.... If you dont want the game ruined then dont watch it. You have been warned! :rolleyes:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ziSCrNeCHBc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

I saw this video on youtube.... If you dont want the game ruined then dont watch it. You have been warned! :rolleyes:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ziSCrNeCHBc

Jeeze that videos getting around.. its the 3rd time its been posted :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

Shoot them before they shoot you.
    Aim for the head :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭Rezident

Aim for the head.

Firing a machine gun at someone and hitting them numerous times and yet they are still able to operate fine and shoot you, can be quite annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭James Forde

here's a tip don't die :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 paulof1985

consultech wrote: »
    However I'm playing around with something I heard about, which is changing your button configuration to "Tactical", which basically swaps your crouch/prone and melee buttons. The thinking is that it's more natural to hit the deck with the right stick. You also turn the sensitivity up as high as possible; something you have to do gradually. It can be painfully frustrating at first when someone appears out of nowhere and you try to stab them, but hit the deck instead

Ive heard and seen this tactic being used. VERY VERY effective and can get annoying if you keep meeting the same guy in hall or room, they usually win everytime.

How do you set it up???? i might give it a go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭shawpower

Ive heard and seen this tactic being used. VERY VERY effective and can get annoying if you keep meeting the same guy in hall or room, they usually win everytime.

How do you set it up???? i might give it a go!

I tried it for a few minutes early on and then stopped. I was new to the game and learning maps, so this new layout was just a bridge too far in the beginning. Considering going back to it again though.

If you want to change that layout, go to the options menu and change it to the tactical layout. Everything is pretty much the same except for the crouch and melee buttons. This will change the right analog to do a drop shot while the B button is for the melee attack. They have 2 other layouts as well. one for a lefty player and one other that I never tried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Useful.Idiot

A good tip I've read and have put into practice is to always stay AWAY from your own team. Teams tend to advance and congregate as a large group in a certain area. So if your team is advancing ahead you should circumvent around the other side of the map right up the enemy team's ass. Most of them shouldn't be expecting it unless they have UAV, heartbeat sensor or if it's someone with the same mindset as you :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭ChemOC

Using the heartbeat sensor can really save your ass. I like to have it on a sniper rifle. That can stop people getting too close when you are snipping.

Claymores with Scavenger is lethal for racking up the kills!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 nonnah-semaj

ok im sick of playin wit teams that just run out and die consistantly!!!

i play donination im first prestige and gold cross on cod4!!

im lookin for 2-3 players to play wit me!!

gt: nonnah semaj

sry for the off tpic post but ders no threads for this!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭SRFC90

spockpower wrote: »

Incorrect. If you get a 7 killstreak - obtaining harriers, die then use the harriers. If said harriers get 7 kills for you, they won't get you harriers again.

what kill streaks do add to your kill streak?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Varik wrote: »
    what kill streaks do add to your kill streak?

All except care packages

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭oisinmc14

My Tips:

Recommeded Weapons: TAR-21,SCAR,UMP,50 Cal

Personal Favourite:TAR-21 with Silencer/AA-12 Extended Mags
    (Pro Tip: use silencers on everything but shotguns)
    Same power as SCAR but with a better ROF and alot better at CQB....Use burst fire for long range maps... Learn to manage the recoil and you wont look back.... The AA-12 is teh sex at CQC many times have i cleared a room with 4/5 people in it (Extended Mags doubles the clip size EPIC!!)

Recommeded Perks:

Slot 1: Scavenger
    Slot 2: Stopping Power/Cold Blooded
    Slot 3: Steady Aim

Personal Favourtie:

Slot 1: Scavenger
    Slot 2: Stopping Power
    Slot 3: Steady Aim

Many a Nuke(All legit BTW) ive gotten with the above setup

Recommended Killstreaks:

Slot 1: Preadator
    Slot 2: Harrier Strike
    Slot 3: Chopper Gunner

Personal Favourite:

Slot 1: Harrier Strike
    Slot 2: Chopper Gunner
    Slot 3: Tactical Nuke

I have knocked out at least 20 Nukes with this killstreak setup(Favela FTW)

Overall Tips:

As somebody already said play defensively(Always use Claymores), that doesnt mean camp just create killzones(eg.Buildings around bomb site B in Favela in Demo(Pro Tip:Always play Demo good fun with friends and it gets you loads of xp !!))

Also communication is key to sucess(get a headset ffs!!) Use all assets available(Radar,UAV,Footsteps,Team-Mate,Killcams)

Have a designitated Anti-Air Class as soon as an AC130 or Chopper Guner hits the skies change to it a down it(When playing with friends have a designitated Anti Air Man)

And finally don't camp(Espically with HBS) or n00b-tube or you will get an ear full from me!!

PSN ID:i_shoot_to_kill

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Instant Karma

the only tip you'll need.

Assault rifle with a Noob tube, with the perk that gives extra explosive damage. And a Thumper for your secondary kit.

Launched explosive goodness in one neat little tin.

the only tip you'll need.

Assault rifle with a Noob tube, with the perk that gives extra explosive damage. And a Thumper for your secondary kit.

Launched explosive goodness in one neat little tin.

use one man army instead of Thumper to get more ammo every time you use it also claymores.