Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why is it that in Ireland, we are not allowed guns?

• 11-01-2010 3:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 46

I find it absolutely waste that guns are illegal in the Republic of Ireland.

We have hundreds of thousands of Irish nackers/pikeys/skangers/scumbags in our underrated country - why is it that we cannot use them to defend ourselves??

I'm not talking about being able to hold a glocc 45 to the supermarket, I'm talking about having a handgun in your home, so you know you are safe against all the terrible things that happen, here in Tallaght (sigh).

Don't say.. "well look at America, people kill each other" (go watch the movie by Michael Moore *forgets name*) seriously don't, if you look at Canada, you're allowed to buy guns, yet Canada has one of the lowest gun crime ratings in the world.

So, I, ask you Boards, does our government expect us all to be pro MMA fighters and take on these god-forsaken scum travelers?

I've travelled threw the United States and I remember one time where I was at a friends house (real sausage party that was, that's how I role) this guy had around 10 guns. Shotguns, handguns, you name it, he had. Even a grenade (no pun intended). Trust me when I say, he had the safest block I've ever seen.

Discuss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

a nation of people who will look at the sun for an hour and then claim that the resultant colour changes that they saw were the mother of jesus christ cannot be trusted to behave responsibly with firearms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭InKonspikuou2

So just because i've visited a few countries i'm a scum bag you wanna shoot? Sound.

EMOH wrote: »
    So, I, ask you Boards, does our government expect us all to be pro MMA fighters and take on these god-forsaken scum travelers?

Discuss.

ha, just noticed this. bye man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Because you are supposed to use force relative to the threat.

I think firearms should be legal, but TBH, even if they were, the second someone used a Pistol to rob a shop or a post office it would be the legal ones outlawed (Again).

Why not just purchase a shotgun? just as effective TBH, or a .22 rifle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭SUNGOD

I find it absolutely waste

Discuss.

what does that mean?

i hate when people end posts like this

and no i have nothing constructive to add to this topic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 EMOH

genericguy wrote: »
    a nation of people who will look at the sun for an hour and then claim that the resultant colour changes that they saw were the mother of jesus christ cannot be trusted to behave responsibly with firearms.

God isn't real.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Canadians are (generally) reasonable people. Irish people are (generally) reactionary hot-heads. I don't want the latter group of people running around with guns in their hands. Plus If an Irish nackers/pikeys/skangers/scumbags thinks/knows you have a gun under your pillow guess what he's gonna bring with him next time he comes to rob your house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

I find it absolutely waste that guns are illegal in the Republic of Ireland.

We have hundreds of thousands of Irish nackers/pikeys/skangers/scumbags in our underrated country - why is it that we cannot use them to defend ourselves??

:eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭drunken_munky52

Becuase 40,000 people are killed and seriously injured in the US every year from firearms.

Trust me, having no guns in Ireland is a good thing. By which I mean, giving Padraig Nally farmers access to assualt rifles would be more dangerous that the knackers having a few sawnoffs

bonerm wrote: »
    Canadians are reasonable people. Irish people are reactionary hot-heads. I don't want the latter group of people running around with guns in their hands. Plus If an Irish nackers/pikeys/skangers/scumbags thinks/knows you have a gun under your pillow guess what he's gonna bring with him next time he comes to rob your house.

Then it should be sold to people who have a good background?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

guess what he's gonna bring with him next time he
    comes to rob your house.

A Deathwish !

Seriously though there would have been an open season on FF & the greens by now if guns were legal.

Becuase 40,000 people are killed and seriously injured in the US every year from firearms.

Trust me, having no guns in Ireland is a good thing.
    Don't say.. "well look at America, people kill each other" (go watch the movie by Michael Moore *forgets name*) seriously don't, if you look at Canada, you're allowed to buy guns, yet Canada has one of the lowest gun crime ratings in the world.

Trust me, having no guns in Ireland is a good thing.

Maybe the government will give every household a replica Octagon to practice our MMA defence. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Irish people drink a lot...thats why

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

I've got guns.. they're attached to my shoulders.

Bring it, biatch

God isn't real.

that was what i was basically getting at. not doing too well in this thread, are we sir?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Even a grenade (no pun intended).

Just as well you didn't intend a pun there because there isn't a pun next, nigh or near that sentence.

LOL.

"Oh you've been good Mr. Smith, here's a gun"

"Wow, golly. What does this trigger do?"

"Mr. Smith... Noooooo"

*Bang bang bang*

"Wow a feller could get used to this"

Murderous rampage ensues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭TheBandit

Well these "scum travelers" could probably buy guns too...

Also we're a nation of drunken idiots who act the maggot and adding guns to this mix would be very irresponsible

...just a generally stupid idea all together...i would feel safe though with a grenade under my pillow. If anyone invades my house i could blow a whole in the wall trying to stop them

TheBandit wrote: »
    Well these "scum travelers" could probably buy guns too...

Also we're a nation of drunken idiots who act the maggot and adding guns to this mix would be very irresponsible

...just a generally stupid idea all together...i would feel safe though with a grenade under my pillow. If anyone invades my house i could blow a whole in the wall trying to stop them

You guys don't live in Tallaght (jobsown)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

So if they background check boards and see that you will probably shoot all the "nackers/pikeys/skangers/scumbags" you won't get one either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I do. Why?

The only gun we should be allowed to own:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭youthacademy

I've got guns.. they're attached to my shoulders.

Bring it, biatch

lol to that comment, I like to see your taking the piss out of this childish OP! Does he not realise that all the "SCUM" would also be then allowed to buy guns?!

down with this sort of thing! ....... careful now!!

doesn't matter where you live, there's always a contingent of cnuts. if you don't have faith in your ability to use just your paws to defend yourself, buy a baseball bat and keep it under the bed. simple as that. nobody is going to enter your house with a gun in this country unless you're a drug dealer.

I live in Tallaght, I worked in petrol station next to jobstown for 3 years. I got in the odd scuffle and lots of slagging for being a "rocker" but i'm glad guns weren't widely available and I wasn't shot.

If Macauly Culkin can stop 2 grown men from robbing his house then maybe you just need an imagination and some xmas decorations. Not a gun.

doesn't matter where you live, there's always a contingent of cnuts. if you don't have faith in your ability to use just your paws to defend yourself, buy a baseball bat and keep it under the bed. simple as that. nobody is going to enter your house with a gun in this country unless you're a drug dealer.

I wouldn't only say entering your house. What if you went for a stroll out and stumbled across 5-6 chavs, you're gonna use your paws against 6 people. 1v6?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Just as well you didn't intend a pun there because there isn't a pun next, nigh or near that sentence.
    It's strange that out of the OP's entire post, this is the only bit I wanted to comment on. I still don't get it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

We are allowed to own guns. It requires a gun license. Ireland has restrictions on who can own a gun.

No, we can't walk into a local supermarket and get a free gun with every 500 euro worth of shopping. Why? Guns would be more prevelant in society, resulting in more armed robberies, more armed gangs and generally - more shootings.

So no - We're happy as we are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Thats all Ireland needs at the moment, a couple thousand Trent's, "Peeeow, peeeow!!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

You* are allowed guns.. there's just far more stringent requirements for getting one here than in other places

*well maybe not you

NothingMan wrote: »
    If Macauly Culkin can stop 2 grown men from robbing his house then maybe you just need an imagination and some xmas decorations. Not a gun.

Elaborate...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

I'm not talking about being able to hold a glocc 45 to the supermarket, I'm talking about having a handgun in your home, so you know you are safe against all the terrible things that happen, here in Tallaght (sigh).

I've travelled threw the United States and I remember one time where I was at a friends house (real sausage party that was, that's how I role) this guy had around 10 guns. Shotguns, handguns, you name it, he had. Even a grenade (no pun intended). Trust me when I say, he had the safest block I've ever seen.

Discuss.

Your idea is terrible, reactionary, not thought out and appeals to people who harbour Walter Mitty fantasies about dispensing "street justice".

Enjoy being post of the day.

humanji wrote: »
    It's strange that out of the OP's entire post, this is the only bit I wanted to comment on. I still don't get it.

"Grenade" must be some sort of homosexual slang? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Baile an Locha

So the OP's name is "EMO" and he wants Gun laws to be more relaxed?
    That'l end well.

dlofnep wrote: »
    We are allowed to own guns. It requires a gun license. Ireland has restrictions on who can own a gun.

No, we can't walk into a local supermarket and get a free gun with every 500 euro worth of shopping. Why? Guns would be more prevelant in society, resulting in more armed robberies, more armed gangs and generally - more shootings.

So no - We're happy as we are.

Do tell me more about how one applies for a gun license?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭TheBandit

...Yes i do...and i'm happy some of the feckers around here don't have guns

Elaborate...

Well maybe instead of a gun you use a paint can, custard and a candle. I made a pretty good bomb outta that in transition year science. Maybe you could make nunchucks from some xmas crackers and tinsel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I must be too old and out of the loop :(

Ask these guys.

I wouldn't only say entering your house. What if you went for a stroll out and stumbled across 5-6 chavs, you're gonna use your paws against 6 people. 1v6?

if 5 or 6 lads start on me, then i will try to run. if one or two start on me, i will try to run. if i can't get away, then i will fight. i'll most likely beat the one or two, and i'd certainly outrun most lads. I'd certainly be battered by 5-6, but either way, i don't see this being so regular an occurence that i need to pack heat for a routine walk to the shops. did you get a hiding last night OP?

...And what is wrong with gay people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

No.

are you just really angry that you've nobody to play chess with since len died??

did you get a hiding last night OP?

Got hoped on by a few random lads on the way home from a soccer game, they broke my nose and bruised me up from foot to head after I was down in pain they started throwing snowballs at me, so yeah I guess you could say I got a "hiding".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Irish people with guns is not a welcome sight for some countries so its probably for the best.

...And what is wrong with gay people?

They've a major hard-on for gun-ownership if you're anything to go by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Got hoped on by a few random lads on the way home from a soccer game, they broke my nose and bruised me up from foot to head after I was down in pain they started throwing snowballs at me, so yeah I guess you could say I got a "hiding".

Did u report it to the Gards?

Yeah. My ma did. 3 red haired, blue/navy jeans, black shoes with black/navy jumper.

Like usual they replied: "were be on the look out".
    sigh.

Full sympathy for you. My 14 year old nephew has a scar on his cheek from being jumped by a loada guys in Killinarden... I was pretty angry at that but not to the extent where I think it would have been a good idea to have him carry a gun to shoot them.