Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nutritional help please

• 10-01-2010 8:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭

Basically im 190IBs,i do weights 3/4 times a week,all compounds so i work out that i need 2660cal per day(14cal per Ib,Ithink im right here).
    I use fitday and work with 40/40/20 combination.270g protein,270g carb,60g fat

Im looking to cut bodyfat,i planning on doing a lot of cardio running and cycling,prob 15 miles a week running and30/40 miles a week cycling.

My question in regards to calories,if im meant to be eating 2660 per day and am burning 500cals from running do i need to eat an additional 500 cals to prevent muscle loss or does the 14 cal per Ib formula take this in to account.
    cheers for any info

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

to prevent muscle loss do not do so much cardio!!!!

Doing lots of cardio is possibly the slowest and worst way of looking and feeling your best. 30mins of straight cardio/intervals 2-3 times per week is plenty.

Hit the weights - far better results in far less time

Oh and get your body fat tested - how are you going to measure your progress otherwise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭testikle

Thanks for the advice Transform.

Could i get a simple calipers and measure myself if there is such a device.

Also the reason i want to do the cardio is i want to start doing a few 10ks,i know its not ideal trying to mix the two types of training thats why im wondering about the calorie intake and the formula for calculating daily calorific needs might prevent muscle loss.

to simplify post

how do i work out how many calories i need per day while doing weights and trying to lose bodyfat.

If i were to do cardio should i up my calorific intake to stop a big deficit in calorie intake.

Ive read the stickies and searched the forum,im getting two different formulas,one from Gem in the stickies and the other from a thread that Hanley posted in.(12cals per Ib of bodyweight).

Just wondering which would be correct or would it be a case of trial and error for a few weeks to get the right balance.

Thanks in advance for any help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

testikle wrote: »
    Thanks for the advice Transform.

Could i get a simple calipers and measure myself if there is such a device.

Also the reason i want to do the cardio is i want to start doing a few 10ks,i know its not ideal trying to mix the two types of training thats why im wondering about the calorie intake and the formula for calculating daily calorific needs might prevent muscle loss.

IMO keep up the cardio if you enjoy it, yes you may get better results per time spent on weights but there is no reason not to do both. you need to allow enough calories for cardio, so if you burn 500 in a session then take in extra 250 (just example) so you still have a deficit. BTW, muscle loss doesnt actually happen very easily unless you are drastically under eating

so in effect

bodyweight 190IBS works out at 2280 cal per day while lifting weights,this amount should reduce bodyfat(some tweaking may be needed).

If i go for a run that burns 500 cals,i should add half of it resulting in having to eat 2530 cals for that day.

Is this right or is there anything im missing out on,i really want to get my diet right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

The total number of calories you will burn jogging for an hour is say 500,but this includes your bmr also. Take a third of that, which is 166 and you'll be minus 334 and not 500.
    The reason for this is your bmr is included in them already.

http://www.caloriesperhour.com/tutorial_net.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭TommyKnocker

Hi There

The first thing that you need to know is what your maintenance calorie figure is. This is the amount of calories which when consumed daily result in neither weight loss or weight gain.

For this there are a number of methods. The ones that I use are
    • The Harris Benedict Formula (if you don't know your body fat %)
    • The Katch McArdle Formula (if you know your body fat %)
    Once you have your maintenance figure, then to lose weight, the general recommendation is to drop between 300 and 500 calories under your maintenance figure. This should result in a gradual loss of around 3/4lb to 1lb of weight loss per week. Hopefully mostly from your fat stores :)

The recommendation goes that you should not use too great a calorie deficit as this can/will have the result of lowering your metabolism, meaning that your body will use less calories for living and training and start to store the excess as body fat.

So if you maintenance figure is 3000 calories and your goal is to lose weight (fat) then you should cut down to between 2700 -2500 calories daily.

However if you add in extra exercise to what you are currently doing , say a run that burns 500 calories. And this was not factored in when working out your maintenance figure, then you new maintenance figure is 3500 calories and you should drop to between 3200 - 3000 calories daily to maintain your 300-500 calorie daily deficit. Other wise you would have a deficit of between 800-1000 calories, which could result after a while in a slower metabolism and possibly gaining body fat.

Also as your weight drops, then your maintenance figure drops and so your daily calorie intake drops. For instance at 190lbs your maintenance figure might be 3000 calories daily. At 180 lbs it may have dropped down to 2750 calories daily.

So remember to constantly keep crunching your numbers as your weight drops until you get to your target weight/body fat %.

Best Regards,

M

great posts lads thanks for taking the time to reply.

Any recommendations on an easy to use body fat measuring device/calipers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,902 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Why would you add on the extra cals burned by training if you are trying to lose weight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭TommyKnocker

Mellor wrote: »
    Why would you add on the extra cals burned by training if you are trying to lose weight

I am assuming that this question is in response to my post and my answer would be "To keep the calorie deficit to around 300-500 calories daily".

As I said in my post, if after calclating my maintenance calories and then reducing this figure by between 300-500 calories to hopefully cut fat, I then add extra exercise to my routine, then my calorie deficit will now be larger then 300-500 calories on the days I do these extra sessions. So on this/these day(s) that I add these extra exercises, I will adjust my calorie intake slightly upwards to maintain my chosen calorie deficit.

Now in saying that I am not totally anal about daily calorie intake and a little extra exercise now and again that burns a few more calories I would not bother about. Likewise if I took in a few extra calories, above my maintenance figure, then I am not going to schedule an extra session to burn these off.

However, if after calculating the number of calories I should be eating to cut fat, I then scheduled a number of extra trainig sessions each week, where I would be burning 500 or more calories each time, then I would certainly recalculate my calorie intake to take these extra sessions into account.

From reading losts of articles on the web regarding fat loss, one thing that they mostly have in common is advising that you do not make the daily calorie deficit too large, as this can cause your metabolism to slow down, which can result in fat gain rather then fat loss.

Please understand I am no expert. This is just my understanding of what I have read on the subject and what I practice with fairly decent results.

Best Regards,

M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

jaysus lads ye are going way OTT with the calculations and maths. OP, just aim for a 15% deficit (or there abouts) - so whatever cals you burn during exercise, make sure you compensate and allow 80 - 85% of these. all that matters is OVERALL deficit and even then it will be an estimate as it will be near impossible to calculate bmr etc accurately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

I still don't know why people micro analyse everything.

Body weight (lean bodyweight preferably) * 12.

Calculations made simples

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

Mother of God!!! This is not rocket science guys - talk about confusing anyone trying to make sense of this!

TO LOSE WEIGHT:

1. STEP ON A SCALES AND GET YOUR WEIGHT IN POUNDS

2. MULTIPLY THE FIGURE BY 12

3. THIS IS THE MAXIMUM AMOUNT OF CALORIES YOU SHOULD CONSUME EACH DAY TO LOSE WEIGHT

Example:

1. I step on a scales and my weight is 185 lbs

2. 185 x 12 = 2220

3. I aim to consume no more than 2200 calories per day. If i work out and burn 300 calories, this is factored into the mix too.

Simple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

B-Builder wrote: »
    I am assuming that this question is in response to my post and my answer would be "To keep the calorie deficit to around 300-500 calories daily".

As I said in my post, if after calclating my maintenance calories and then reducing this figure by between 300-500 calories to hopefully cut fat, I then add extra exercise to my routine, then my calorie deficit will now be larger then 300-500 calories on the days I do these extra sessions. So on this/these day(s) that I add these extra exercises, I will adjust my calorie intake slightly upwards to maintain my chosen calorie deficit.

Now in saying that I am not totally anal about daily calorie intake and a little extra exercise now and again that burns a few more calories I would not bother about. Likewise if I took in a few extra calories, above my maintenance figure, then I am not going to schedule an extra session to burn these off.

However, if after calculating the number of calories I should be eating to cut fat, I then scheduled a number of extra trainig sessions each week, where I would be burning 500 or more calories each time, then I would certainly recalculate my calorie intake to take these extra sessions into account.

From reading losts of articles on the web regarding fat loss, one thing that they mostly have in common is advising that you do not make the daily calorie deficit too large, as this can cause your metabolism to slow down, which can result in fat gain rather then fat loss.

Please understand I am no expert. This is just my understanding of what I have read on the subject and what I practice with fairly decent results.

Best Regards,

M

This is a bit of a myth and not worth worrying about - this is in relation to people practically starving themselves, not your average Joe looking to drop a few.

celestial wrote: »
    3. I aim to consume no more than 2200 calories per day. If i work out and burn 300 calories, this is factored into the mix too.

Simple.

so you would aim for 2500 then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

Dude I wouldn't go down that road. Just use the calculation as your total.
    The problem is, people generally overstate calorie expenditure during training, Cardio quipment gives outright lies. Weight training calorie expenditure is a hotly debated topic. Just go for Lean body weight *12 and treat the calorie burn as a bonus.