Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you jealous of people with money etc?

• 10-01-2010 12:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭

Where I live I have already seen three 2010 registered cars! I live about 20 miles from Galway city......in a very small village.......

A comment from my neighbour about our other neighbour who was seen today in a 2010 4x4 made me think.......he was SO jealous........you would just know by him!

Are we as a nation jealous of those who

(1) Earn more than us

(2) Drive bigger/brand new cars

(3) SEEM to have it all!!

Just wondering!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Naw,it was only borrowed money for most of them, now some of them are so broke i almost feel sorry for them.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Money is usually a substitute for something. If you earn a lot of money, you have to work hard for it at the expense of your friends and family. If you win the lottery, you'll soon pay for it and lose touch with a lot of friends. Also, in my experience, the more money people have, the less they enjoy it, cumlatively. To answer your question, I'd like to think I'm not jealous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭thinks too much

a mate of mine has a brand new car, huge mortgage on his gaff, holidays every year and weekends away to rugby internationals....however i know that he is up to hia neck in debt and getting worse...stupid ****er just wants people to think he is a success....visa is keeping him going at the moment and he still gets a new car....no sympathy for fools like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭suitseir

That is sad!

a mate of mine has a brand new car, huge mortgage on his gaff, holidays every year and weekends away to rugby internationals....however i know that he is up to hia neck in debt and getting worse...stupid ****er just wants people to think he is a success....visa is keeping him going at the moment and he still gets a new car....no sympathy for fools like this.

I think the OP is jealous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Porkpie

In no way am I jealous of the bastards.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

suitseir wrote: »

(1) Earn more than us

Just wondering!!!
    No

Can't think of anyone who fits the critera tbh:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭rovers2001

To be honest i dont worry about other people and their plight i worry about myself and my family during this recessionary period.Others its none of my business and i dont care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Nah, why would you be jealous? If they worked hard enough for what they have then fair play to them

though if some unforeseen event happens that means they have less money then they're the ones gonna be less capable of surviving in the way they want to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Not really, most people with money are cunts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

I would "jealous" of people who have a good balance of money and a social life.
    Where one grows the other generally suffers!

My aim in life is to be comfortable in a sense of not having to worry about money ALL the time. Everyone has to worry about finance at some point in the year. I dont want to be stinking rich either. I would like to be slightly above average if you know what i mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

I wouldn'd be jealous of peoples money, but you do get people with money being obnoxious looking down on people that wouldn't have as much

I know someone that "came into money" started living lavishly, cars, designer clothes and made sure I saw every purchase and the price but what really got me one day she was in my house and sneered at the value pack shop brand food I had in my press saying she would never buy and I quote "filth" like that

Needless to say all money was gone within 7 months and yes I was secretly delighted

Honestly?

Yeh, I'd be jealous if my friend bought a brand spanking new Mercedes, but in a normal, "god that's a fab car, would love one of those" kind of a way. Or if someone was given a gift of the €600 bulgari sunglasses that I want then I'd defo be jealous :pac:. Certainly not in a green with envy kind of a way though. I'm definitely jealous of people who win the lotto, which is why I do it on occasion.

It's perfectly normal to want things you don't have but most people are sensible enough to know that money and objects won't instantly make your life perfect. As long as you never begrudge anyone what they've got then I think a bit of jealousy is healthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

Daddy says jealousy is a result of poor breeding and lack of silverware

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Yeah a bit, I wish I had more money. Money makes things a lot easier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭dublin 16 lad

If a mate done well for themselves through hard work and remained sound despite the fact that they'd more money than me I'd not be one bit jealous at all, not even a small bit

What gets my goat is when someone who was sound before they had money suddenly turns into dickhead when they have money. I suppose i'd be jealous of that but more bitter than anything else really!

I'm not a jealous type generally though, as long as I've got my health, my millions of dollars, my gold house, and my rocket car; I don't need anything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭barakus

Yes extremely.

Christ Im broke:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭xw2lj9uspm1eyh

Money isn't everything job satisfaction is!

When a foreman asked me about overtime and I wasn't particularly over the moon he replied with think of the money and i replied with that he couldn't think of a reply to it.Still had to do it though:(.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

There is no point in being jealous. Unless you happen to be Roman Abramovich or some billionaire sheikh then there's always going to be someone with more cash to splash.

Being cash poor doesn't necessarily translate to being badly off in love or health or happiness - give me loved up poverty over rich and lonely any day of the week - of course being rich and loved up would be better! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Where I live I have already seen three 2010 registered cars! I live about 20 miles from Galway city......in a very small village.......

A comment from my neighbour about our other neighbour who was seen today in a 2010 4x4 made me think.......he was SO jealous........you would just know by him!

(1) Earn more than us

Just wondering!!!

News just in - Irish in begrudgery shocker :rolleyes:

€600 bulgari sunglasses
    I have nothing but pity for anyone who thinks sunglasses is in any way an acceptable item to spend 600EUR on

Haha, but they're so fabby!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

I don't think I'm jealous of them, I'm more sad for me. I need money to buy things like food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

its an irish tradition....somone does well...and if they arent family or good friends you hate them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Beasty wrote: »
    No

Can't think of anyone who fits the critera tbh:)

I can:(

http://www.sundayworld.com/columnists/cover-story.php

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

(1) Earn more than us

Of course. Something something Irish begrudgery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dylano_k

why ? do ya have some??? Prick!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭thatsa spicy

People with 1,000,000 euro a year to spend arn't going to literally be 20 times happier than those with 50,000 to spend...although I'd imagine they would be, on average, a fair bit happier!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I should probably expand on my earlier reply.

I'm not jealous of people with money. I might sometimes be slightly envious, but rarely. Why? I know 3 families who are multi-millionaires. The dad's in each worked hard to earn their fortune.

My mate Ryan's dad built up a steel manufacturing business and now has numerous houses around the world. He also spent 6 months in jail. Money couldn't stop that. His wife left him and Ryan had a very hard childhood emotionally, despite being so well off.

Another family friend, Pete, earned his money through property investments here and in Ireland. He's since split with his wife and his son never got a look in. Pete's wife would be off on holidays permenantly, and Pete would be too concerned with preserving his fortune to bother with his son.

The last family friend, the dad rose up through the ranks at breadmakers Hovis, eventually becoming CEO. His wife has had something like 10 miscarriages, and he doesn't get on with his eldest son.

My point is. We don't have money. But I have a family, I have clothes, I've got a house over my head. We have money problems, but I see family as much more important.

Money =/= happiness; In fact, from what I've seen, it oftens equates to an awful lot of misery.

I'd much rather be less well-off and happy than stinking rich and miserable

brummytom wrote: »

I'd much rather be less well-off and happy than stinking rich and miserable

+ a gazillion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Ho chi feen

(1) Earn more than us

Just wondering!!!

Oooh Jesus, you live in Galway, ya poor thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭asmobhosca

Money doesnt make you happy, but I'd rather be filthy rich and miserable, than piss poor and miserable!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

asmobhosca wrote: »
    Money doesnt make you happy, but I'd rather be filthy rich and miserable, than piss poor and miserable!!

Cheer up, here's a virtual fiver.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I'd be jealous in the sense that I'd want what they have, but I wouldn't begrudge them it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

That Brian O'Driscoll would want to sort his head out alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭ashyle

No I'm not jealous of wealth, but I hate some wealthy people's attitudes, especially those who flaunt it or believe that they are better than me because they have money. Money doesn't equal class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Have I got the definition of jealousy wrong?

I don't begrudge Robbie Keane being really rich but i am jealous of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Columbia

If I had the money I certainly wouldn't spend it on a '10 4x4, so no I'm not jealous of that, not would I ever be jealous of anybody's car or possessions. If they worked hard and honestly for them and that's what they're into, I'm glad for them.

I'll be spending half of February hiking around the Estonian islands for about 1% the cost of a brand new Jeep, I hope they equally enjoy driving to their 9-5 office job in their big new car, in order to pay for said car :p

Have I got the definition of jealousy wrong?

I don't begrudge Robbie Keane being really rich but i am jealous of it

Yeh I was wondering that myself.

I'm totally jealous of people the nice things people have, but in a nice complimentary way, certainly not in a begrudging way.

It's like if your friend is off on a sun holiday, you're totally jealous but not for any bad reason.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Some people will go out and spend all their money while others, who earn the same as them save it. Then after a while when the ones who have spent all their money and are facing debts/repossession while the others have lived more modestly have a few quid to spend.

You'd think that in such a situation the former would learn the errors of their ways. But no, what happens is that the ones who spent it all are jealous of the ones who didn't, and they demand that the ones who saved up should have to pay for a bailout for those who spent.

That is effectively what people (like this guy) are saying when they suggest a people's NAMA, inflation to wash away all debts, debt forgiveness, wealth tax etc.

So yeah, the spend-thrift are jealous of the more financially prudent but rather than learing a lesson from them and being more prudent into the future, they want us all to share the lossess that they incurred (and by share, they mean the prudent pay while they continue to rack up debts).

Wise man once said, I've never seen a poor man become rich by making a rich man poor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I'm not at all jealous of people with more money or possessions than me.

Nor do I think possession of same is automatically bad.

What I do hate is when anything other than breathless cheer-leading of people who have money or success is written off as jealousy or 'begrudgery'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Yeah I tend to get jealous of people with money. I'm jealous of my friends having cars, while I still have the ride the stinking bus, although most of which didn't actually buy their cars, they had helped from the parents. I also tend to get jealous of celebrities because I see shows like Cribs and think, god these guys are so lucky having jobs like these. Being able to afford nice houses and everything they can afford, while I know it's going to be a long time before I ever get close to buying a house.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

stovelid wrote: »
    What I do hate is when anything other than breathless cheer-leading of people who have money or success is written off as jealousy or 'begrudgery'.

Yeah, but after the begrudgers were told to go off and kill themselves, that quitened them down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

To echo alot of other posters, Id wouldnt begrudge somebody success and all its trappings. I might be jealous for afew minutes after seeing that success, id obviously like some of it for myself maybe, but then Id move on and forget about it. It wouldnt keep me up at night.

Friend of mine is your typical celtic tiger story. Big house, bigger mortgage, constantly upgrading cars and getting ever closer to the coveted current year on the registration plate, takes the wife and kid on at least 2 sun holidays a year. He recently bought a 25k '09 SUV and likes nothing better than coming home at the weekend and letting all the neighbours see it. All the things he has, I dont. But I wouldnt begrudge him or be really jealous of him. Hes chosen to take on all those debts. He works hard and thats what he wants from life. It wouldnt be for me though. Id rather sink money like that into a savings acc or use some of it to see the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Haha, but they're so fabby!

Double the pity to anyone who thinks "fabby" is a word! :D

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Double the pity to anyone who thinks "fabby" is a word! :D

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭chocgirl

I really admire people who do well for themselves and don't begrudge them their success.

Having said that I am a little bit jealous of people who have money handed to them on a plate, just a little bit, but i get over it quickly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

I am jealous in so much as i want what they have,I would love to be filthy stinking rich!I wouldnt begrudge people what they have id just love to have as much as they do.

Acctually when I have money i do tend to be happier though...weird

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

(1) Earn more than us

Just wondering!!!

A guy I once knew quite well (property developer), pulled up beside me last summer to check on his boat. I said Hi to him and we chit-chatted for a while, then he left. As he pulled off in his Range Rover Sport, I said to myself "I wish I was that guy, I wish I was as rich as him"

A week later, he hung himself (Was all over the media)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

Im jealous of people that get money for nothing, like a big win, or a ridiculous pay out, or a hand me down from an uncle or something.
    I cant help feeling jealous of these people because they can now do lots of stuff I would love to do but I just cant afford.
    I dont act on this jealousy, or even speak of it to others, but it doesnt stop me feeling jealous.

However I am not one bit jealous of people that worked hard for their money. They chose a tougher life for that money.