Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA 2010

• 08-01-2010 11:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭

Hurling season starts soon enough with the Waterford Crystal Cup, will be there watching Cork/CIT in Pairc ui Rinn on the 17th. ;)

Some rumours/developments:

Kieran 'Fraggie' Murphy and Shane O'Neill captain and vice captain respectively.

Ronan Conway, Shane Murphy, Ciaran McGann, Brian Corry and a couple of others have gone off the panel.

Timmy Mac has retired.

Michael Cussen has declared for the hurlers.

David Cunningham (Glen Rovers) and Mark O'Sullivan (Cork Intermediate Center Forward last year) are training with the seniors.

Kevin Hartnett to be used as a wing forward come league. (doubtful, we will see, would be a bad move.

Haven't heard anything about the footballers, bar the fact that Aidan Walsh and Ciaran Sheehan will defintely be playing for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Regarding underage, the Cork Football Under-21s will be very strong again this year, should be front runners for another AI. Know absolutely nothing about the Cork Minor Footballers, although they can't do as badly as last years crop.

Regarding hurling, Cork U-21 Hurlers are pretty mediocre, some decent players like Eoin Keane and Luke O'Farrell who should be future senior hurlers, but Munster is too strong for us to get out of, nevermind the AI. The Cork Minors will have a very strong attack next year with the likes of Colm Lehane, Brian Hartnett and Nicky Kelly, maybe a decent shot for Munster IF the right players are picked (unlikely with Cork underage).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭shockframe

Big move by cussen to declare for the hurlers.

you would wonder if this is a sign of another false dawn for cork footballers this coming season.having seen him play for sars he will be a (ahem) big addition

cant say the same about fraggy.he was below average for sars the last 2 years.shane o'neill was the man to make captain there i would say.

i would fancy cork to beat tipp in the hurling this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭pjmn

When will they announce this years strike?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,461 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Kieran Murphy was confirmed as Captain.

Not too surprised with Timmy Mac either.

Hopefully be good year for hurlers lads

Anyone heading to Pairc ui Rinn on the 17th for Cork/UCC?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 jimmym

Orizio wrote: »
    Anyone heading to Pairc ui Rinn on the 17th for Cork/UCC?

at this stage ucc game must b a doubht,
    i honestly think cork will win munster this year,
    home advantage v tipp , there is huge pressure on tipp this year,
    i think they may not improve on last year,
    winners of cork v tipp should win munster,
    cork 5/1 with boylesports to win munster is great value,
    dont be surprised if cork go further than expected this year,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭deisedude

I honestly can't see Cork doing much this year. They are too reliant on Ben O' Connor for scores as the game against Galway showed last year. I'm not sure Denis Walsh is really in charge, i get the feeling some of the troublemakers are really calling the shots.

If I wasn't familar with you Deisedude, I'd swear those are the words of a troll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

If I wasn't familar with you Deisedude, I'd swear those are the words of a troll.
    I unfortunately agree with him orizio, whether he be a troll or not. I honestly cannot see the hurlers win an all ireland for at least another 3 years. They may however win a munster but that would mean playing to well above 100% and catching tipp on an off day. There is no fear of the likes of waterford doing much damage, they had their chance(s) and didnt take it to grab the ultimate prize, and their distinct lack of underage success does not bode well for them

Our big ball players on the other hand, have a serious chance. We are better than tyrone and have proven that. We can beat kerry, we just need to do that in croke park, with walsh (he was immense in the final and i dont care what anyone says, should have got an all-star) and kennelly gone, it is there if the self-confidence (who would have thought, a cork team lacking this) shows. We have unbelievable potential to take the foot off the pedal against teams completely inferior to us i.e limerick last year, and need not to be taking these kind of teams for granted.

Note: i am not trying to insult limerick, i just firmly believe this cork team to be head and shoulders above them and should be showing that on the scoreboard

aDeener wrote: »
    I unfortunately agree with him orizio, whether he be a troll or not. I honestly cannot see the hurlers win an all ireland for at least another 3 years. They may however win a munster but that would mean playing to well above 100% and catching tipp on an off day. There is no fear of the likes of waterford doing much damage, they had their chance(s) and didnt take it to grab the ultimate prize, and their distinct lack of underage success does not bode well for them

Our big ball players on the other hand, have a serious chance. We are better than tyrone and have proven that. We can beat kerry, we just need to do that in croke park, with walsh (he was immense in the final and i dont care what anyone says, should have got an all-star) and kennelly gone, it is there if the self-confidence (who would have thought, a cork team lacking this) shows. We have unbelievable potential to take the foot off the pedal against teams completely inferior to us i.e limerick last year, and need not to be taking these kind of teams for granted.

Note: i am not trying to insult limerick, i just firmly believe this cork team to be head and shoulders above them and should be showing that on the scoreboard

I was refering to the completely baseless nonsense about 'troublemakers calling the shots'.

I'd be happy if we win Munster and don't disgrace ourselves beyond that. It would make a decent start for Walsh imo.

I actually agree with Deisdude myself.

Cork hurling is in its biggest crisis player wise since 1996-7 period.

There does not seem to be the same standard of player coming through from Cork as there is from the Cats and Tipp.

Thats most worrying.

I actually agree with Deisdude myself.

Cork hurling is in its biggest crisis player wise since 1996-7 period.

There does not seem to be the same standard of player coming through from Cork as there is from the Cats and Tipp.

Thats most worrying.

You agree that Sean Og and Donal Og run the Cork Hurling panel and Denis Walsh is their puppet? :rolleyes:

No trolling involved. The reason the players got rid of Gerald McCarthy was because they were spoiled by John Allen and Grady who let them become more involved in making the decisions and because McCarthy wanted to get rid of the Newtown running game which had been ruthlessly exposed by Kilkenny. Imagine the cheek of Gerald McCarthy trying to manage the team by himself! Time will tell if i'm right or wrong, if the Cork team tries the Newtown running game this year even though many of the players who excelled at this have aged and don't have the legs they had 5 years ago then i think i will be justified in what i have said

deisedude wrote: »
    No trolling involved. The reason the players got rid of Gerald McCarthy was because they were spoiled by John Allen and Grady who let them become more involved in making the decisions and because McCarthy wanted to get rid of the Newtown running game which had been ruthlessly exposed by Kilkenny. Imagine the cheek of Gerald McCarthy trying to manage the team by himself! Time will tell if i'm right or wrong, if the Cork team tries the Newtown running game this year even though many of the players who excelled at this have aged and don't have the legs they had 5 years ago then i think i will be justified in what i have said

Sure you would. :rolleyes:

Maybe you should start a different thread RE: your conspiracy theories about Cork Hurling. This is a debate about Cork Hurling now - I'd rather this thread didn't go off topic, particurly into stuff already long debated. ;)

Sure you would. :rolleyes:

Maybe you should start a different thread RE: your conspiracy theories about Cork Hurling. This is a debate about Cork Hurling now - I'd rather this thread didn't go off topic, particurly into stuff already long debated. ;)

I know plenty of people who share my opinion. Many of whom are Cork people but anyway back on topic i'll go through the team if you prefer.

The back 4 are steady. Still not fully convinced on Cadogan at full back. He didn't really play much in the league last year but played well in the championship. A match against a fit Eoin Kelly will prove if he is the real deal. The reintroduction of Brian Murphy will strengthen the full back line.

The half back line last year were a shadow of their former selves. Curran and Sean Og were average last year and Gardiner was woeful at times. It could just be a dip in form though.

Midfield: Jerry O Connor, i think he's lost a bit of pace but still an unreal hurler. Tom Kenny- very good at times but tends to go missing some games for large periods.

I'll summarise the half forward and full forward lines together because honestly i have no idea what way they will line out. A massive shuffle/clear out is needed here. Ben O Connor is a class act, nothing needs to be added there. Niall McCarthy judging from last year looks like he is past it. Horgan- very good club hurler but yet to show anything at intercounty level. Naughton- headless chicken at times, best used as impact sub. Fraggy Murphy- showed great potential a few years ago but has underperformed since. Cussen- unproven as of yet, good at club level though. Aisake-I don't think he'd be anywhere near the team if it werent for his siblings, his size might pose problems but he is a limited hurler. Mark O'Sullivan- saw him for the intermediates last year and looked good, he wont score much but he might stop the oppositions centre back playing well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭joulter

Are Shane Murphy and McGann definately off the panel? Have they gone travelling or something because id definately have them both in the mix, murphy potentially starting.

joulter wrote: »
    Are Shane Murphy and McGann definately off the panel? Have they gone travelling or something because id definately have them both in the mix, murphy potentially starting.

Apparently so, yes. I think McGann walked off, not sure what happened with Shane Murphy.

Cork Team vs U.C.C.

Martin Coleman (Baliinhassig)

Ray Ryan (Sarsfields) David Cunningham (Glen Rovers) Shane Murphy (Erins Own)

James Nagle (Midleton) Aidan Ryan (Midleton) Darragh Rodgers (Brian Dillons)

Graham Callinan (Glen Rovers) William Egan (Kilbrin/Duhallow)

Mark Harrington (Douglas) Cian McCarthy (Sarsfields) Mark O Sullivan (Dripsey)

Padraig O'Sullivan (Cloyne) Michael Cussen (Sarsfields) Andy Walsh (Killeagh)

Subs:

Alan Kennedy (Sarsfields)

Daragh MacSweeney (Blarney)

John Neville (St Finbarr's)

Mark Ellis (Millstreet)

Danny O'Callaghan (Ballinhassig)

Aisake O hAilpín (Na Piarsaigh)

Michael O'Sullivan (Tracton)

Simon O'Brien (Carrigaline)

Stephen Cronin (Erin's Own)

Good full-back and full-forward lines, we'll see about the rest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭vag77

Good full-back and full-forward lines, we'll see about the rest.
    dont agree wit u there dont think any of that back line will make the championship team i know u didnt say they would but i think this is a poor team

In comparison to the rest of the team, and considering it's the Waterford Crystal Cup we are talking about, the full-back line is the line I'd worry the least about.

why do u say that i think every game for this cork team is important this team needs 2 start with a few wins under the belt and a trophy if we can 2 build up the confedence im not arguing wit u just trying 2 get the best 4 the cork hurling team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 The Scribe

A nice experimental team being put out to flex it's muscles against the Fitzgibbon Cup holders.

Martin Coleman has always impressed.You have a good mix in the full-back line with a fine hurler in Ray Ryan.A good marker in Shane Murphy and there's no flies on him in the Hurling department either.Personally i have never heard of David Cunningham.Maybe someone could provide some information?

A young and inexperienced Half-Back line,which will hopefully unearth a gem.But they will be up against it with UCC forwards of the calibre of Eanna Martin,etc.Nice to see two Midleton men on the Cork team.

The Midfield blends Bustle with skill.It will be interesting to see if Graham Callinan can make a fine Inter-County hurler.He is about 28 now.William Egan is a fantastic young Hurler,who can be moulded into a Cork Championship Hurler.His displays for Duhallow have been impressive,especially in the County U21 Final Replay in 2008.

Mark Harrington was on the Senior Football Panel in 2008 and has come back well from injury this year.A personal highlight for him in 2009 were his Two Rockets of goals in the Munster Intermediate Club Championship against Dungarvan for Douglas.I don't think he can make an Inter-County Hurler but hopefull he will prove me wrong.Cian McCarthy is Skilllful and tough,he posses that drive of his father Teddy of Dual All-Ireland medal fame.Mark O Sullivan is a mature leader,can hit frees,is a good scoring forward.He led Dripsey to their All-Ireland Junior Club Title Last Year.He was a Cork Minor in 2001.He can become a big influence.I will look forward to see how he and the Half-Forward line get on.

Regarding the Full-Forward Line.Paudie O Sullivan was bursting with potential as a Cork Minor and Cloyne Senior Star in 2005/2006.Then he had a terrible injury and he seems to have gone downhill.I remember reading that during a challenge game V Waterford last Summer,he looked unhappy and out of form.He needs an arm around his shoulder and some good personal coaching to help him reach his potential.Maybe a breadwinner like Cussen in the Full-Forward line can be a blessing for him?Speaking of Cussen i feel he is a huge asset to the Hurlers this year.His performances for Sars in the County Championships of 2008 and 2009 were outstanding.He has a slightly unorthadox way of striking.I remember him scoring 4 Great points against De La Salle in the Munster Club Championship in 2008.He can hurl as well as win ball and has that Ray Cummins way about him.Hopefully he can be at least half as sucessful as Ray,and i mean that in the best way possible.I can't recall hearing of Andy Walsh,but i look forward to watching him on Sunday.

In the subs Alan Kennedy is a good goalkeeper,Darragh McSweeney is a strong player in the Full-Back line,he got a run of league games in 2006 and Captained Blarney to the Intermediate Club All-Ireland last year.He can add something to the whole set-up.John Neville is an impressive and consistent corner back with uneering displays with coolness and tightness being the order of the day,as he proved with the Barrs Senior and U21 Hurlers over the last few years.He is only about 21 or so.We all know about Aisake and hopefully last year will stand to him and he can be another breadwinner option for the forwards.Apparantly he has been working hard in the ball-alley over the winter as well which is good to hear.Simon O Brien has impressed with Carrigaline during their U21 run in 2007 (they lost the final to Bishopstown) and with their Intermediates on their march to County Sucess in 2008.He was also a Cork Minor.Stephen Cronin is a tidy half-back who helped power Erin's Own to two county titles,he is attack minded.Best of luck to all.

I can feel a surge of optimism about Cork Hurling this year and due to the Weather conditions of the last month a lot of Gaa people are looking forward to the action.Hopefully a good year is in tow.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,993 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

It is a solid enough team. I will be particularly interested in the full forward line and how they get on. It really is time to see how much young or unearthed talent we have in our county. I want people to say, ' never heard of him or him' as that means players are getting a chance. If this continues I can certainly see 5 or 6 new players making a real impact in the league and this should transfer to 2 or 3 new faces in the championship team, which is definately warranted.

Pa Cronin out injured for months.

UCC 1-12 Cork 1-7 FT.Just back. Pretty poor stuff, both teams very rusty as one would expect.

Not much to say. Didn't have a programme so I can't exactly say who played well and who didn't, tbh it was a much of a muchness Cork wise. Coleman was excellent in goals, full back line was solid enough, although both Shane Murphy and Ray Ryan made some mistakes in the second half. The center back line and midfield failed to really do anything, Aidan Ryan struggled to get into the game, wasn't as dominate in the air as you'd expect from a center-forward, likewise you'd expect more energy from Callanan.

The center-forward line was a bit better, won a lot of good ball in the air, Cian McCarthy in particular (although his free taking was erratic). Unfortunately when our forwards won the ball they didn't seem to know what to do with it, and were crowded out by the UCC center back line in the second half in particular. You have to feel sorry for the full forward line, hardly got a really decent ball all day, particularly Andy Walsh in the corner. Paudie O'Sullivan got a really lovely goal in the first half and then missed a sitter in the second. Him, Cian McCarthy and Coleman were probably our best players.

One thing I will say is that heads dropped in the second half very easily, and lads starting making stupid errors, either trying too hard going on ridicoulus runs or shooting wildly from distance, or being a little lazy with passes.

Anyone know how UCC lined out?

From RebelGAA:

Anthony Nash
    Conor o sullivan
    Richie Foley
    Conor o driscoll
    Kevin Hartnett
    Eanna Martin
    Joe Jordan
    Brain O'sullivan
    Some othe limerick guy
    Shane burke
    michael grace
    tadgh og
    a.n.other
    eoghan murphy
    luke o farrel

Shane Moylan, Honan and Halbert came on. I have a feeling Robert White was the other corner forward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭Doctor Zaius

Was reading the Examiner there earlier and saw that Cork have a new jersey for the coming season. I think it's okay, not really an improvement. The keeper's jersey is appalling though, think I'll stick with my 99 keepers top!! Also included is a history of Cork jerseys for those, like me, that have an interest in such things. (I found this last year somewhere)

Regarding the hurlers this year, I haven't got high hopes. Like others, I'm not fully convinced by Denis Walsh. now I'm not saying that some of the players are in charge but I don't think he's commands full respect from the senior players. Just my thoughts.

As for the footballers, hope they can bounce back and I'd like to think they have the talent and mental strength to do so. only time will tell.

I see no reason to think that the senior players don't respect Denis Walsh. In fact, what the players are saying themselves suggests the opposite.

No, what matters most is what kind of gameplan he comes up with, what players he uses and how well prepared they are.

just wandering did cussen play yesterday and was there such a strong wind that they never scored in the second half

vag77 wrote: »
    just wandering did cussen play yesterday and was there such a strong wind that they never scored in the second half

He played alright.He didn't score. he only got off the plane from his holiday with the footballers at 1.30am that morning. Below is a link to the examiner's report on the game.

http://www.examiner.ie/sport/gaa/hurling/walsh-mystified-as-rebels-fade-away-109943.html

vag77 wrote: »

Yes he played, at full forward in the first half and the center forward line in the second, very little wind, UCC just improved as the game went on, Cork got worse and UCC's center back line was completely dominant.

Know its early days but its not good sign that we struggle against UCC is it?

Ah I think it's too early to tell yet, it was an experimental Cork side so I don't think we can read too much into it. The League will give us a clearer indication of where we are.

Here's our fixture list for the hurling.

Sunday 21st Feb - Pairc Ui Chaoimh - versus Offaly at 2.30pm
    Saturday 27th Feb - Gaelic Grounds - versus Limerick at 7.30pm
    Sunday 14th March - Pairc Ui Chaoimh - versus Kilkenny at 2.30pm
    Sunday 21st March - Walsh Park - versus Waterford at 2.30pm
    Sunday 28th March - Parnell Park - versus Dublin at 2.30pm
    Sunday 4th April - Pairc Ui Chaoimh - versus Tipperary at 2.30pm
    Sunday 18th April - Pearse Stadium - versus Galway at 2.30pm

Sunday 2nd May - League final - venue and time to be decided.

And for the football.

Sunday 7th February - Scotstown - versus Monaghan at 2.30pm
    Saturday 13th February - Pairc Ui Rinn - versus Kerry at 7.30pm
    Saturday 6th March - Pairc Ui Rinn - versus Galway at 7.30pm
    Saturday 13th March - Omagh - versus Tyrone at 7.30pm
    Saturday 20th March - Pairc Ui Rinn - versus Dublin at 7.30pm
    Saturday 27th March - Celtic Park - versus Derry at 7.30pm
    Sunday 11th April - venue TBC in Cork - versus Mayo at 2.30pm

Sunday 25th April - League final - venue and time to be decided.

For the hurlers, i think the stand out game is against Tipp down the Pairc, gotta put in a good performance there. The footballers seem to have a lot of Saturday night games. I was actually at the Monaghan game in Scotstown last year so surprised that we gotta go back there again this year.

Know its early days but its not good sign that we struggle against UCC is it?

It was practically our third team though, the majority of which were knackered after half time. In terms of personnel, UCC had the stronger players in my opinion, most importantly they had the far superior center back line.

A fair enough. I suppose I should known they were hardly going put out there strongest team. Cheers Orizio

Midleton CBS lost to Caimins today by two points in the Harty. :(

Courtesy of RebelGAA:
    Newtown played Cork in a challenge game this morning and won, 1-17 to 1-13.Cork had a strong team out.Sean Og was corner back,he only played the first half.The helmet didnt appear to bother Donal Og in goals was catching ball all day..Hoggie,Fraggie and Aisaike in the full forward line.Curran at center back was very poor.Cussen came on in the second half instead of Hoggie .Aisaike looked good ,caught a couple of great balls and turned and went for goal,looks better than Cussen at this early stage.Newtown looked very good at times,Cathal came on and made a big difference,John Paul King looked good,Pat Mul was quite in the first half but came into the game in the second half.Jamie Coughlan got a goal but was kept quite by Sean Og and was taken off in the second half.Usual Newtown performance tack on a few scores and then take the foot off the pedal.

The team from RebelGAA:

Donal Og

Shane O'Neill Eoin Cadogan Sean Og

Darragh Rodgers Curran ???

Kenny ???

??? Cian McCarthy Niall Mac

Aisake Fraggie Hoggie

Subs:

Ray Ryan

Mark Harrington

Shane Murphy

Cussen

LIT hammered UCC today. Not much to say about the Cork lads, they were mainly anonymous in horrible conditions. Luke O'Farrell and Stephen Moylan looked dangerous when they got the ball but their finishing was terrible in the heavy, wet conditions, Conors Sul and O'Driscoll were solid in the corners. That's about it.

Cork Team vs Monaghan

Kevin Murphy

Ray Carey Michael Shields Eoin Cadogan

Ger Spillane Paudie Kissane Noel O'Leary

Alan O'Connor Nicolas Murphy

Paul Kerrigan Pearse O'Neill Paul O'Flynn

Daniel Goulding Colm O'Neill Donnacha O'Connor

Very strong team, Spillane aside.

Finally...

The Cork hurling team to play Clare in Saturday night's challenge game in Fermoy will be selected from the following panel:

Donal Og Cusack (Cloyne)
    Martin Coleman (Ballinhassig)
    Shane Murphy (Erin's Own)
    Shane O' Neill (Bishopstown)
    David Cunningham (Glen Rovers)
    Sean Og O hAilpin (Na Piarsaigh)
    John Gardiner (Na Piarsaigh)
    Brian Murphy (Bride Rovers)
    Aidan Ryan (Midleton)
    Ronan Curran (St. Finbarr's)
    William Egan (Kilbrin)
    Ray Ryan (Sars)
    Tom Kenny (Grenagh)
    Michael Walsh (Kildorrery)
    Niall McCarthy (Carrigtwohill)
    Mark O Sullivan (Dripsey)
    Graham Calnan (Glen Rovers)
    Fintan O Leary (Ballinhassig)
    Cian McCarthy (Sars)
    Aiske O hAilpin (Na Piarsaigh)
    Kieran Murphy (Sars)
    Michael Cussen (Sars)
    Pat Horgan (Glen Rovers)
    Brian O Sullivan (Fermoy)

Would personally like to see something like...

Donal Og

Ray Ryan Gardiner Brian Murphy

Shane O'Neill Curran Sean Og

Egan Kenny

Mark O'Sullivan Cian McCarthy Michael Cussen

Pa Horgan Aisake Fintan O'Leary

I'd imagine that line-up would dispatch Clare well enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Cork Team vs Monaghan

Kevin Murphy

Ger Spillane Paudie Kissane Noel O'Leary

Alan O'Connor Nicolas Murphy

Paul Kerrigan Pearse O'Neill Paul O'Flynn

Daniel Goulding Colm O'Neill Donnacha O'Connor

Has Cadogan declared for the footballers this year or is he still going to attempt (and be allowed so by denis walsh and conor counihan) to be a dual player? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Pappy o' daniel

SeaFields wrote: »
    Has Cadogan declared for the footballers this year or is he still going to attempt (and be allowed so by denis walsh and conor counihan) to be a dual player? :confused:

He's going to be a dual player. The managers seem OK with it.

Thats a strong cork team. I thought we'd see a few new faces. Counahan doesn't want a repeat of last years loss to Monaghan.

Who won the Cork v Clare game last night?

Postponed due to fog.

Cork beat Monaghan by a point in Scotstown.

Cork Team vs Monaghan
    Kevin Murphy

Aidan Walsh Paudie Kissane Ger Spillane

Fintan Gould Pearse O'Neill

Paul Flynn Donnacha O'Connor Patrick Kelly

Paul Kerrigan Nicolas Murphy Daniel Goulding

Subs:

Colm O'Neill
    Conor O'Driscoll
    Jon Hayes

Spillane aside, I rather like the look of that team.

UCC 1-10 WIT 0-18.

WIT won well, by at least 4-5 points. I didn't have a programme and turned ten minutes late, so excuse any mistakes.

UCC were extremely mediocre. Full back line got cleaned out, particularly the two Conors, center back line and midfield were solid enough but the center forward line got destroyed. Rob White got one nice point but his hands are too slow at this level, his man had the measure of him and for such a big chap he won very little in the air. Likewise, Eoghan Murphy was poor at full-forward, missed a few good chances from play and the dead ball. Not sure who the two corner forwards were (presume Moylan was one of them) both poor and both taken off by the end.

Luke O'Farrell, Darach Honan and Jon Halbert didn't start. Halbert came on at half time and played some nice ball in midfield, Luke came on with 20 to go and got two sublime points, was UCC's best forward overall. Honan was very poor, looked well off the pace.

For WIT the two corner forwards were excellent, their number 13 was MOTM for me, got 3-4 lovely points from play and destroyed Conor O'Driscoll. Fintan O'Leary did his usual, good in fits but generally not getting into the game enough. WIT center back line was absolutely dominant.

Who is selecting the UCC team? Whomever it is, he should be shot. CIT lost as well.

Cork team for Offaly to be announced on Thursday night. I'm guessing it will go something like this...

Donal Og

Shane Murphy David Cunningham Brian Murphy

Shane O'Neill Ronan Curran Sean Og

Gardiner Tom Kenny

Niall Mac Cian McCarthy Fintan O'Leary/Mark O'Sullivan

Pa Horgan Michael Cussen Fraggie

UCC 1-10 WIT 0-18.

WIT won well, by at least 4-5 points. I didn't have a programme and turned ten minutes late, so excuse any mistakes.

UCC were extremely mediocre. Full back line got cleaned out, particularly the two Conors, center back line and midfield were solid enough but the center forward line got destroyed. Rob White got one nice point but his hands are too slow at this level, his man had the measure of him and for such a big chap he won very little in the air. Likewise, Eoghan Murphy was poor at full-forward, missed a few good chances from play and the dead ball. Not sure who the two corner forwards were (presume Moylan was one of them) both poor and both taken off by the end.

Luke O'Farrell, Darach Honan and Jon Halbert didn't start. Halbert came on at half time and played some nice ball in midfield, Luke came on with 20 to go and got two sublime points, was UCC's best forward overall. Honan was very poor, looked well off the pace.

For WIT the two corner forwards were excellent, their number 13 was MOTM for me, got 3-4 lovely points from play and destroyed Conor O'Driscoll. Fintan O'Leary did his usual, good in fits but generally not getting into the game enough. WIT center back line was absolutely dominant.

Who is selecting the UCC team? Whomever it is, he should be shot. CIT lost as well.

No real surprise here. I'd expect WIT to be the main challenger to LIT for the Fitzgibbon. The way the UCC side has been picked this year is simply baffling

UCC won, CIT lost.

Cork Team vs Offaly:

Donal Og

Shane Murphy David Cunningham Shane O'Neill

Brian Murphy Ronan Curran Sean Og

Tom Kenny John Gardiner

Niall McCarthy Mark O'Sullivan Lorcan McLoughlin

Fraggie Murphy Aisake O'hailpin Pa Horgan

Subs:

16. Martin Coleman (Ballinhassig)

17. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)

18. Kevin Hartnett (Russell Rovers)

19. Ray Ryan (Sarsfields)

20. Aidan Ryan (Midleton)

21. Cian McCarthy (Sarsfields)

22. Graham Callanan (Glen Rovers)

23. Michael Cussen (Sarsfields)

24. Fintan O'Leary (Ballinhassig)

I really hope Shane O'Neill and Brian switch at throw in. Center forward line is weak, hopefully Mark O'Sullivan has a good game, everything else is pretty fine, even though I don't think Gardiner is a midfielder (he'll do fine against the likes of Offaly at this time of the year), and would like us to look at someone other then Curran at 6.

Bench is pretty weak as well, no Egan or O'Farrell for example, but I'm assuming they'll be a few unlisted on Sunday.