Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The C&H News Thread.

• 08-01-2010 9:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭

I thought we could have a place to discuss the news and what not. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭phlegms

This just in: News thread in C+H remains surprisingly quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Ginja Ninja

phlegms wrote: »
    This just in: News thread in C+H remains surprisingly quiet.
    URGENT NEWS BULLETIN "Phlegms to be nominated for most obvious post of 2010"sorry,couldn't help it

Does anyone else think the whole scandal about Iris robinson[northern minister who had an affair] has nothing to do in the public sector,especially given her history of depression

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Ladies and gentlemen, can I please have your attention. I've just been handed an urgent and horrifying news story. I need all of you, to stop what you're doing and listen. Cannonball!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,383 ✭✭✭Aoibheann

Peter, you've lost the news.

*(the first person to get that reference gets a cookie)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

I don't really know what's going on in the news apart from the snow. I haven't known whats really been going on at all in the news since I started college.

Aoibheann wrote: »
    Peter, you've lost the news.

*(the first person to get that reference gets a cookie)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,383 ✭✭✭Aoibheann

phlegms wrote: »

You didn't google? *narrows eyes* I don't *think* you did, you do seem the type to watch the Day Today... Hrmm. Cookie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭Pygmalion

So how about them current events >.>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

You want news? THIS was news!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Daysha wrote: »

Play him out, Keyboard Cat! :D

Aoibheann wrote: »
    You didn't google? *narrows eyes* I don't *think* you did, you do seem the type to watch the Day Today... Hrmm. Cookie?

Yeah grand. I'll have a fig roll instead please.

Lol, if you wish! Gimme like 20 minutes.

He deserved it IMO,snow and ice beside each other,walk on the fresh snow you dope.

Anyone else think it's a bit suss that an RTÉ cameraman was just standing there at the time? I think the went and poured some water just to make someone trip up for their own usage. CONSPIRACY!!

He deserved it IMO,snow and ice beside each other,walk on the fresh snow you dope.

Anyone else think it's a bit suss that an RTÉ cameraman was just standing there at the time? I think the went and poured some water just to make someone trip up for their own usage. CONSPIRACY!!

I doubt it to be honest. Yer man was walking far too fast considering he was walking on ice. He had it coming tbh.

That was the funniest thing I've ever seen!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

I agree with this. It is kinda common sense to walk on the "crunchy" snow rather then the slippery, icey part. And if you didnt realise the difference..

deise_girl wrote: »
    I agree with this. It is kinda common sense to walk on the "crunchy" snow rather then the slippery, icey part. And if you didnt realise the difference..

Well he got a nice smack in the head for his ignorance!

Jay P wrote: »
    karma karma karma chameleon......

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Jay P wrote: »
    Yup it will help me sleep easier tonight then! :P

karma karma karma chameleon......

I'm already sick. It's the world's turn to suffer :)

Here you go, enjoy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

Anyone wanna update me on news in France?
    I need it for work..

:P

and i cant translate that stupid newspaper "La Monde" :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Jako8

Anyone wanna update me on news in France?
    I need it for work..

:P

and i cant translate that stupid newspaper "La Monde" :mad:

Baguette supply is low. Country is in uproar.

Arrogance at an all time high.

Post of the day tbh Daysha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭cHaTbOx

so good i tweeted it :D

cHaTbOx wrote: »
    so good i tweeted it :D

You, my friend, just earned yourself a follower :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭cHaTbOx

You, my friend, just earned yourself a follower :)
    woo hoo that make......***counts** 3 \o/ , who say spammers don't count .................

news thread news thread
    avatar nearly highest grossing film at box office
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/entertainment/8447839.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

Jako8 wrote: »
    Baguette supply is low. Country is in uproar.

Arrogance at an all time high.

Cobble stones being thrown at government buildings everywhere?

Working class refusing to work?

cHaTbOx wrote: »
    news thread news thread
    avatar nearly highest grossing film at box office
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/entertainment/8447839.stm

I refuse to watch it until I hear a better review than "the plot is a bit **** but it looks amazing"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

kent_brockman2.jpg

.....leaving the Vice-President in charge.

Pygmalion wrote: »
    I refuse to watch it until I hear a better review than "the plot is a bit **** but it looks amazing"

Ok...the plot is amazing*, and it looks amazing!

Seriously, it deserves to be watched. I wouldn't go as far as saying the plot is **** either. It's a bit formulaic sure, and the whole anti-colonialism attitude is a bit elitist, but it's harmless fun if anything.

But please don't wait till it's out on DVD. It needs to be watched on a big screen, with 3D glasses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Seriously, it deserves to be watched. I wouldn't go as far as saying the plot is **** either. It's a bit formulaic sure, and the whole anti-colonialism attitude is a bit elitist, but it's harmless fun if anything.

But please don't wait till it's out on DVD. It needs to be watched on a big screen, with 3D glasses.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0099348/

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0325710/

It's been done, it's not original it's a merely a cash cow.

See even that review seems a bit like "It's a bit ****, but it looks amazing", and I really don't care how it looks or that it's in 3D if it's a mediocre film.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Closed ac

I've seen it and the plot is good? A tad unoriginal and predictable but still very good! It really does look amazing, though my eyes were sore after! :p

You sir deserve a pat on the back for that. The video has ended up with nearly 15,000 views in less than 2 days. Remember where it all started folks! ;)

You did all the work man, you deserve the credit! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

New 9/11 photos were published due to a Freedom of Information request today (aerial pictures). Sent shivers down my spine, and really show the extent of the the cloud of debris over Manhattan after the collapse.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/in_pictures/8508817.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,521 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Does be a bit going on today. Fire on Capel Street, and then de Burca leaves Green Party. This is the quote:
    I believe that we have lost our way as a party and have gradually abandoned our values and our integrity since becoming part of this government,

Shows she has some brains in there anyway, it is fairly undeniable what has happened that party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Mushy wrote: »
    Does be a bit going on today. Fire on Capel Street, and then de Burca leaves Green Party. This is the quote:

Shows she has some brains in there anyway, it is fairly undeniable what has happened that party.

Or else it shows that she's beginning to realise that she's totally unelectable. Funny how 6 months ago she was happy to run as a Green candidate in the EU elections, and it's only now, after years of failure within the party that she's decided she doesn't agree with their policies:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭Jackobyte

Or else it shows that she's beginning to realise that she's totally unelectable. Funny how 6 months ago she was happy to run as a Green candidate in the EU elections, and it's only now, after years of failure within the party that she's decided she doesn't agree with their policies:rolleyes:
    Its not that she never agreed with their policies, its the fact they have sold their souls to ensure they remain in government is what she disagrees with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Jackobyte wrote: »
    Its not that she never agreed with their policies, its the fact they have sold their souls to ensure they remain in government is what she disagrees with

Eh no that's not it at all. She's throwing a hissy fit becuase she didn't get the job she wanted, one which she wasn't qualified for. Do you really think Quinn should have selected her to be in her cabinet? Her resignation has nothing to do with her principles.

FG release proposals to amend Constitution if they get in office
    FG proposes referendum on five key political reforms
    FINE GAEL’S document on political reform will propose a special “Constitution Day” which would see five of its major proposals to reform the political system put to referendum on the same day.

The New Politics document, to be published in advance of the party’s national conference next weekend, promises to hold an omnibus referendum within 12 months of the party assuming office that will create what it describes as a “New Republic”.

The amendments would include:

- the abolition of the Seanad;

- a new “list” system for selecting 15 TDs;

- new constitutional recognition given to four Dáil committees;

- reduction of the President’s term of office from seven years to five;

- the introduction of a public petition mechanism for the Dáil.

It also argues for two further constitutional amendments to take place before then: the reversal of the “Abbeylara” judgment that limits the power of Dáil committees to conduct investigations; and an amendment that would allow reductions in judges’ pay.

Party leader Enda Kenny, environment spokesman Phil Hogan and senior party officials have been working on the programme for over a year.

The 67-page document, a copy of which has been seen by The Irish Times , contends that it is the “most ambitious programme for political reform since the 1930s”.

The bulk of the document has been signed off by the parliamentary party following a number of presentations made by Mr Hogan. The exceptions are proposed new rules on quotas for women, which were rejected on a vote by TDs and Senators last Wednesday.

The major reforms proposed by the document are a scrapping of the Seanad and the reduction of the number of constituency TDs in the Dáil from 166 to 146.

However, there will be another 15 additional TDs, elected through a list system. The total number of TDs, under this proposal, would be 161 – a net reduction of five on the present number.

The document argues that a list will bring “people into the Dáil who can devote 100 per cent of their time to the legislative process”.

The document suggests the number of joint committees should be reduced from 19 to nine. The most powerful, interrogative Dáil committees should be given constitutional backing for the first time, it argues.

These should include the Public Accounts Committee; a new Banking and Financial Regulation Committee; a new Budget Committee and European Legislation Committee.

The party also proposes the introduction of a Public Appointments Transparency Bill which will require people appointed to key State offices to have their credentials scrutinised by TDs.

Social partnership should be scrapped under its current form. “It has become a tool to protect vested interests and insiders,” states the report.

Another new initiative is the concept of a public petition system for the Dáil. “We believe that citizens must have a direct way, between elections, to make their concerns known. Our proposal will oblige the Dáil to consider a particular issue on receipt of a public petition that has the signatures of a minimum number of citizens, eg 10,000,” it states.

The document also advocates the reduction of the presidential term from seven years to five, and a vote in that election for Irish citizens living abroad for up to five years.

FG seem to be much more ambitious to modernising the state than FF. If I had a vote, I would definitely be voting FG but that was my opinion before seeing this anyway. I've always preferred FG to FF, they always seemed more genuine.

Source:The Irish Times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭jefreywithonef

I see Steve_O already mentioned it but I was put off completely when I read that it was basically Dances With Wolves in 3D form. People are always amazed that I didn't bother to go watch it but I'm more annoyed about not going to see The Road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

As you all probably know by now, unless you're under some newsless rock, after the Deepwater Horizon oil rig exploded in the Gulf of Mexico in April, killing 11 workers, oil has been spewing from a damaged riser pipe into the Gulf, causing massive ecological damage.

Anyway, BP have now got live pics of the oil leak up, video from the ROVs (Remote Operated Vehincles) underwater. They're attempting to basically pump mud in to block the riser, a complex task at such depths.

Live Video:
    http://www.bp.com/liveassets/bp_internet/globalbp/globalbp_uk_english/homepage/STAGING/local_assets/bp_homepage/html/rov_stream.html

For an excellent graphic explaining what they're attempting to do:
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/world/us_and_canada/10159626.stm

jumpguy wrote: »
    As you all probably know by now, unless you're under some newsless rock, after the Deepwater Horizon oil rig exploded in the Gulf of Mexico in April, killing 11 workers, oil has been spewing from a damaged riser pipe into the Gulf, causing massive ecological damage.

Anyway, BP have now got live pics of the oil leak up, video from the ROVs (Remote Operated Vehincles) underwater. They're attempting to basically pump mud in to block the riser, a complex task at such depths.

Live Video:
    http://www.bp.com/liveassets/bp_internet/globalbp/globalbp_uk_english/homepage/STAGING/local_assets/bp_homepage/html/rov_stream.html

For an excellent graphic explaining what they're attempting to do:
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/world/us_and_canada/10159626.stm
    I can't figure for the life of me why this isn't getting more publicity.I'll admit an oil rig exploding isn't big news.

this has been pumping full speed into the ocean [the rate is pretty high,200l a second springs to mind] for 37 days ffs.I'm not an environmentalist but come one people,the gulf of mexico the ecological engine of the ocean and antlantic ocean is being flooded with crude oil and only now they are starting to get the hole plugged.This could poison the coasts for decades,a little publicity would be nice

I can't figure for the life of me why this isn't getting more publicity.I'll admit an oil rig exploding isn't big news.

this has been pumping full speed into the ocean [the rate is pretty high,200l a second springs to mind] for 37 days ffs.I'm not an environmentalist but come one people,the gulf of mexico the ecological engine of the ocean and antlantic ocean is being flooded with crude oil and only now they are starting to get the hole plugged.This could poison the coasts for decades,a little publicity would be nice

Well tbh, anytime I'm on Google News it's always there, at least once. And whenever I read the paper, which is everyday, it's always towards the front pages.

I understand where you're coming from though, it is indeed a genuine catastrophe, but after 37 days, I don't think everybody wants to be reading pretty much the same headlines everyday.

Ya, they have some of the best scientists in the world and none of them could figure out how to stop it for 37 days before deciding to shove some muck into it. Jaysus.

A giant concrete dome was their initial idea. Come on. A giant concrete dome? Really? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Bobalicious93

They've stopped it now apparently.

They're well on their way to plugging it but it's not finished yet.
    http://www1.voanews.com/english/news/usa/BP-Oil-Leak-Not-Stopped-Yet-But-Efforts-Continue-95062259.html