Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Masters (10-17 Jan) - TV coverage, schedule of play and betting odds

• 07-01-2010 10:45pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,884 Mod ✭✭✭✭

masters_logo-1.gif

The Draw is available here @ worldsnooker.com.

Order of Play:

Sunday 10 January 2010
    11am - Match 9 – Mark Selby v Ding Junhui

NB 2.30pm - Match 4 – Marco Fu v Peter Ebdon

NB 7pm - Match 2 – Mark King v Jimmy White

Monday 11 January 2010
    11am - Match 1 – Mark Williams v Rory McLeod

NB 2.30pm - Match 6 - Shaun Murphy v Stephen Hendry

NB 7pm - Match 7 – Stephen Maguire v Winner of match 2

Tuesday 12 January 2010
    1.30pm - Match 3 – Ronnie O’Sullivan v Neil Robertson

7pm - Match 5 – Ali Carter v Winner of match 1

Wednesday 13 January 2010
    2pm - Match 10 – John Higgins v Mark Allen

7pm - Match 8 – Ryan Day v Joe Perry

Thursday 14 January 2010
    1.30pm - QF1 - Winner of match 3 v Winner of match 4

7pm - QF2 - Winner of match 5 v Winner of match 6

Friday 15 January 2010
    1.30pm - QF3 - Winner of match 7 v Winner of match 8

7pm - QF4 – Winner of match 9 v Winner of match 10

Saturday 16 January 2010
    1pm - SF1 – Winner of QF1 v Winner of QF2

7.30pm - SF2 – Winner of QF1 v Winner of QF2

Sunday 17 January 2010
    2pm - The Final (1st Session)

8pm - The Final (2nd Session)

Prize Money:

Winner: £150,000
    Runner-up: £75,000
    Semi-finals: £34,000
    Quarter-finals: £16,000
    Last 16: £14,000
    Last 18 (wild cards): £3,500

High break: £10,000
    Maximum break: £25,000

Total: STG£486,000

TV Coverage:

BBC Sport

Sun 10th
    BBC2 13:30 – 17:00
    BBC2 23:50 – 00:40 Highlights
    BBC2 00:40 – 02:40 Extra

Mon 11th

BBC2 13:30 – 17:15
    BBC2 19:00 – 20:00
    BBC2 23:20 – 00:10 Highlights
    BBC2 01:10 – 03:10 Extra

Tue 12th
    BBC2 00:10 – 02:10 Extra

Wed 13th
    BBC2 14:00 – 17:15

Thu 14th

Fri 15th
    BBC2 00:05 – 00:55 Highlights
    BBC2 00:55 – 02:55 Extra

Sat 16th
    BBC1 13:00 – 16:30
    BBC2 16:30 – 18:00
    BBC2 21:00 – 22:30

Sun 17th
    BBC2 14:00 – 17:00
    BBC2 20:00 – 23:00

As ever, every ball potted is available on the Red Button BBCi service (Only available on DSat in Ireland) and online.

Eurosport

Sun 10th
    16:30-19:30
    23:45-00:40

Mon 11th
    12:00-14:15
    21:45-23:00
    23:45-00:00

Tue 12th
    14:30-16:30
    21:45-22:45

Wed 13th
    15:00-16:30

Thu 14th
    14:30-16:30

Fri 15th
    14:15-16:30
    21:45-22:55
    23:45-00:15

Sat 16th
    23:45-01:10

Sun 17th
    23:45-00:55

British Eurosport

Sun 10th
    1100-1700 & 1900-2200 LIVE on British Eurosport 2

Mon 11th
    1100-1315 LIVE on British Eurosport
    1315-1700 & 1900-2200 LIVE on British Eurosport 2

Tue 12th
    1330-1530 LIVE on British Eurosport
    1530-1700 & 1900-2200 LIVE on British Eurosport 2

Wed 13th
    1400-1530 LIVE on British Eurosport

Thu 14th
    1330-1530 LIVE on British Eurosport

Fri 15th
    1315-1530 LIVE on British Eurosport

Sat 16th
    1300-1630 & 1930-2230 LIVE on British Eurosport 2

Sun 17th
    1400-1700 & 2000-2300 LIVE on British Eurosport 2

Pre-Tournament Odds:

Paddy Power's Point-of-view:

Ronnie O'Sullivan - 11/4

John Higgins - 11/2

Stephen Maguire - 8/1

Shaun Murphy - 9/1

Ding Junhui - 9/1

Mark Selby - 10/1

Neil Robertson - 11/1

Allister Carter - 16/1

Mark Allen - 20/1

Ryan Day - 22/1

Mark Williams - 33/1

Joe Perry - 40/1

Peter Ebdon - 40/1

Stephen Hendry - 40/1

Marco Fu - 40/1

Mark King - 100/1

Rory McLeod - 150/1

Jimmy White - 250/1

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭zack01

Michala Tabb who in my opinion is the best ref on the circuit and was due to referee this weeks Masters final has had to pull out of this weeks event due to a family bereavement.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,033 ✭✭✭Slippin Jimmy

Great information table above. I will be glued to the O Sullivan match. Really looking forward to the snooker and a few bears, especially with this cold weather we're having.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Poor move by BBC not having Jimmy's match live. I thought Hearn would have swung that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Fu really should have taken at least 3 of the first 4 frames this afternoon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭EI111

anybody care to tip an outsider who could possibly have a decent run? I want to put a small bet on for an interest, outsider

Bryn wrote: »
    Fu really should have taken at least 3 of the first 4 frames this afternoon!

Missed out the last couple of matches, who won?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Gingy

Just watched highlights of the White v King match. The standard wasn't top class, but I nearly prefer those scrappy battles where most pots are a certainty. The atmosphere seemed to be excellent in the arena, which is great to see and fair play to Mark King, must have been tough playing with such a partisan crowd cheering on Jimmy at every chance.

Gingy wrote: »
    Just watched highlights of the White v King match. The standard wasn't top class, but I nearly prefer those scrappy battles where most pots are a certainty. The atmosphere seemed to be excellent in the arena, which is great to see and fair play to Mark King, must have been tough playing with such a partisan crowd cheering on Jimmy at every chance.

I missed the highlights last night. Are they repeated at all during the day or are they available on the web?

Was watching the Williams vs McLeod match there on BBC earlier. Poor guy was under so much pressure, had some great chances of making some great breaks. Williams made a few mistakes that I wouldn't have expected him to. He did deserve to win it overall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭dotsflan

EI111 wrote: »
    anybody care to tip an outsider who could possibly have a decent run? I want to put a small bet on for an interest, outsider

ive put a few quid on joe perry and mark williams so there probably 2 outsiders to avoid!!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Ronnie vs Robertson at 1.30!!!!!!!!!!!! :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

Can't f*cking wait !

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,884 Mod ✭✭✭✭celticfc

Dave! wrote: »
    Ronnie vs Robertson at 1.30!!!!!!!!!!!! :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

Can't f*cking wait !

I think Neil could do a number on Ronnie today. I wonder if Ronnie comes out in the new purple kit, I doubt he'll be using the purple cue tho.

Feet up, sit back and relax...

...Thats what this weather was made for. :)
    Duffff-Man wrote: »
    I missed the highlights last night. Are they repeated at all during the day or are they available on the web?

The highlights show is shown on a constant loop on the BBCi red button until the live coverage resumes the following day, very handy it is too.
    EI111 wrote: »

Well, Stephen Hendry was my 40-1 outsider for the title. If it wasn't for a choke on the green and an outrageous fluked blue, he might have still been in. He showed great form against Murphy.

Robertson (Form) or Selby (Horses for courses) both look a decent price tho...

I wonder what Ronnie's entrance music will be !

I could take a guess at what Neil's will be :o

Heh, they were taking e-mail suggestions on the BBC (snooker@bbc.co.uk) as to what some players songs should be.

I thaught "We've got high hopes" was perfect for John Parrott. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Anyone see yesterday when Hendry was on for a 147, 2 reds remaining and the BBC interupt that they have to finish up and move onto the next program (hate when that happens!!), Christ, couldn't they have left the rest of the frame, it would have only taken 2 mins! Did he go on to get that maximum anyone know?

Looking forward to Ronnie v Robertson today, should be good. Have a feeling Robertson will progress!

I dunno who to cheer for, my two favourite players :D I'm goin to Oz soon, so I guess Neil gets my support !

Anyone know where I can watch it (live) online ? I'm gonna throw somethin at the TV when they cut off after an hour, and I don't have the red button thing ! It's back on at 3.30 I think though, so it's not too bad

Cake Man wrote: »
    Anyone see yesterday when Hendry was on for a 147, 2 reds remaining and the BBC interupt that they have to finish up and move onto the next program (hate when that happens!!), Christ, couldn't they have left the rest of the frame, it would have only taken 2 mins! Did he go on to get that maximum anyone know?

He did indeed......

..... Shame it was nine months ago!! :D

All they were showing was Hendry's 147 from the 2009 World Championship the last time that he and Murphy met, so you didn't miss much.

BBC NI are feckers for doing this on weekdays, they always pick the most inoppertune time too.

Thank God for satellite!
    Anyone know where I can watch it (live) online ? I'm gonna throw somethin at the TV when they cut off after an hour, and I don't have the red button thing ! It's back on at 3.30 I think though, so it's not too bad

There should be a live stream easily found online, otherwise Eurosport have it all live.

I knew I had issues with this before.

Wow, fantastic 140 break just when needed

celticfc wrote: »
    Wow, fantastic 140 break just when needed

Highest break of the tournament, think the prize is £10,000. Haven't really seen much of this guy, but seems to be an up and coming player.

Roll on Higgins vs Allen @ 2pm.

Once again, feet up, favourite armchair etc. :)

Apparantly John's walk-on song is Don't Stop Believin' by Journey, classic song.

It just showed the highlights from the final frame of the Neil Robertson vs John Higgins semi-final in the Grand Prix -- what a fookin frame :eek: I was hanging on the edge of my seat even though I'd already seen it :D Unbelieveable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭Monkeybonkers

I've never seen Higgins play so bad. Allen wasn't great either but did enough.

Well done to Mark Allen, quite a scalp, even if John was playing sh*te. 23 years old and ranked 11th in the world. Very nice !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

Referee had a shocking decision in the 4th frame when Allen was 2-1 up. Higgins clearly didnt touch the red and if I was him I would of been fuming at the ref. He was a cert to clear up and go to 2-2 and then all of a sudden hes 3-1 down:(. He didnt play well from start to finish but I think that fecked his head up for the rest of the match. Didnt that ref have a bad decision in the Higgins v O Sullivan game in the UK aswell?:rolleyes: I miss Mikayla Tab or whatever her name is!:cool::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

GerCPM wrote: »
    Referee had a shocking decision in the 4th frame when Allen was 2-1 up. Higgins clearly didnt touch the red and if I was him I would of been fuming at the ref. He was a cert to clear up and go to 2-2 and then all of a sudden hes 3-1 down:(. He didnt play well from start to finish but I think that fecked his head up for the rest of the match. Didnt that ref have a bad decision in the Higgins v O Sullivan game in the UK aswell?:rolleyes: I miss Mikayla Tab or whatever her name is!:cool::D

You can't see that he didn't touch it cos BBC didn't have the camera in a position where we could see for definite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Reoil

Mark Allen didn't pick his song until a few days ago! :-)

Ronnie done the business again today, 6-3 against a poor Ebbo, although I didn't think he finished all that great, he was great in the first four frames.

Tonight should be a decent game with Williams and Murphy.
    GerCPM wrote: »

Yeah, the TV camera can be very decieving even though it looked fine. I'd doubt Jan Verhaas would call anything there unless he was 100% positive.

Man Peter Ebdon is sh*t ! Haven't seen him do anything worthwhile in ages !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Man Peter Ebdon is sh*t ! Haven't seen him do anything worthwhile in ages !

Didnt he win the China Open there a year or two ago? Not bad for a player in the top 16 for 16 years! A 6-3 result isnt half bad for being 4-0 down against Ronnie.

Ebdons style certainly isnt entertaining, but I wouldnt call him sh*t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭markpauldunne

MOD's I have a great link to a "how to" for the Masters live snooker may I post ?
    (free software and setup instruction)

Great craic bein had at the Selby/Allen match :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

Jesus ronnie would depress you wouldn't he! Deadly match all afternoon and now he's giving the after match interview and you'd think he got a 6-0 hammering:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Jesus ronnie would depress you wouldn't he! Deadly match all afternoon and now he's giving the after match interview and you'd think he got a 6-0 hammering:rolleyes:

Thats what turned me off him, just this week alone. He comes across as such a negative, whinger. He knows he's playing well, I think Davis is bang on saying he's just playing up to it.

That O'Sullivan/Williams match was the match of the tournament so far, and to go into an interview and have a whinge about form is just bad form (no pun intended).

When is the last time he thanked the crowd ect? Hazel gave him the perfect oppurtunity today, but when asked is he lifted by the crowd, he had another little cry and shrugged off the question. Snooker has made the man a multi-millionaire, I would think he would have a little more respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭Cake Man

EnterNow wrote: »
    Thats what turned me off him, just this week alone. He comes across as such a negative, whinger. He knows he's playing well, I think Davis is bang on saying he's just playing up to it.

That O'Sullivan/Williams match was the match of the tournament so far, and to go into an interview and have a whinge about form is just bad form (no pun intended).

When is the last time he thanked the crowd ect? Hazel gave him the perfect oppurtunity today, but when asked is he lifted by the crowd, he had another little cry and shrugged off the question. Snooker has made the man a multi-millionaire, I would think he would have a little more respect.

Yeah exactly, hate when he goes off and talks sh!t like that, remember a few years ago he got knocked out of a tournament (not sure which one) and he moaned about getting sick of the game and was planning on going to the US to take up pool! WTF like! How did that work out Ronnie!? I'd say all (or most) of the players hate him and also the commentators.

C'mon Selby!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭patrickc

6-5 to ronnie at mid session, i want him to win now after selbys little stomp on th floor yesterday

patrickc wrote: »
    6-5 to ronnie at mid session, i want him to win now after selbys little stomp on th floor yesterday
    What'd Selby do?

he just jumped on the floor like a 5 year old when he got a kick against allen yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Gingy

9-7 to Ronnie, strong favourite and will most likely go on and win it now (attach get-out/eat my words clause)

Gingy wrote: »
    9-7 to Ronnie, strong favourite and will most likely go on and win it now (attach get-out/eat my words clause)

ya may cos selby has just clawed this one back:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,261 ✭✭✭kenon

This is a stunning match!!

I'm trying to feckin' study and this is not helpin' things.

5/6 a side football

Coolmine Sports Centre - Wednesdays - 8pm

PM me for a game

Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

I dont watch snooker as much as I did when I was younger but

Selby's effort is the bravest I've ever seen in a snooker match

Nulty wrote: »

Selby's effort is the bravest I've ever seen in a snooker match

Spot on.

The man has some bottle.

5/6 a side football

PM me for a game

Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭SD7792

Incredible match. Words can't even describe it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭DundalkDuffman

It's fantastic stuff :-) Gonna be tired for work in the morning but so worth it. :D

oh my god what a match, this is snooker at it's best.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭carpothepunk

I really hope Selby closes this out. Best Masters in so long. Best final ive ever seen, in any competition. Selby has some serious bottle. His potting has been unbelievable. COME ON SELBY!

edit: How about that for an opener?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

I havent been this excited by a snooker match since white / henry finals.

I really really hope Selby wins this.

5/6 a side football

PM me for a game

Thread

I really hope Selby closes this out. Best Masters in so long. Best final ive ever seen, in any competition. Selby has some serious bottle. His potting has been unbelievable. COME ON SELBY!

edit: How about that for an opener?

yeh an opener and a half.. wow it gets better

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭carpothepunk

Even though id love Selby to finish with a big break here, itd be dissapointing if Ronnie didn't have a shot.