Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Galway has...!

• 07-01-2010 10:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭

In response to the interesting thread "What Galway Needs"
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055714223
    I propose a thread on what Galway has that other towns/cities would like to have:

Here goes...

The Prom. It is brilliant. There is no other urban costal walk like it anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭_ZeeK_

ErnieBert wrote: »
    The Prom. It is brilliant. There is no other urban costal walk like it anywhere.

Clontarf in Dublin??

That laidback SParch vibe with daydrinking and general chilling. Very nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭WooPeeA

Galway has its Hooker beer that nobody else have. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭m83

_ZeeK_ wrote: »
    Clontarf in Dublin??

That laidback SParch vibe with daydrinking and general chilling. Very nice.

March is waaay better than the Sparch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭ErnieBert

_ZeeK_ wrote: »
    Clontarf in Dublin??

Get real. I lived in Dublin 3 for a few months and the Clontarf seafront doesn't add up.

Compare the views..... Galway Bay and the Burren or Dublin Bay and the Poolbeg power plant?

No contest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

A great motorway out of it!!

Okay, well the Sp'arch is good I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭irisheddie85

Hippies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Knacker dwarf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Get real. I lived in Dublin 3 for a few months and the Clontarf seafront doesn't add up.

Compare the views..... Galway Bay and the Burren or Dublin Bay and the Poolbeg power plant?

No contest.

Absolutely. The Prom/Galway Bay is probably my favourite thing about Galway. In a different world than Clontarf and smelly Dublin Bay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

The galway market..forget all the hippy dreamcatchers, clocks made from bog oak and woolly socks sh*te and think of the samosas and crepes, falafel and do-nuts...yum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 moimeme24

the gorgeous model warty nora

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

we seriously don't appreciate the prom enough. how many of us have been all "wow look at the view" while on holidays looking across some foreign bay. nothing beats the prom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Connemara
    Galway Bay in general. As previously mentioned we take the coastline for granted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dec25532

The galway market..forget all the hippy dreamcatchers, clocks made from bog oak and woolly socks sh*te and think of the samosas and crepes, falafel and do-nuts...yum

Must say, found the market brilliant over Christmas. The veg guys and the lads with the fish stall a treat. Worth a visit. Woolly socks merchants or those guys selling the trinkets don't do it for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭JayMcD

The Corrib, both river and lakes, and all the canals and waterways, I know other places have rivers etc. but nothing compares to the corrib, esp going right through the city center as amazing rapids, with the univercity on its banks to the cathedral to the spainish arch then galway bay, and then the prom starts. I used to live in waterford and the one thing that i missed and took for granted was there was no where to go for a walk,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭fikay

evil_seed wrote: »
    we seriously don't appreciate the prom enough. how many of us have been all "wow look at the view" while on holidays looking across some foreign bay. nothing beats the prom
    It really is something special. I loved walking out from town along by the pitches just waiting to get around the corner at the causeway for that breath-taking panorama. Feckin deadly. Probably what I miss most about Galway

Also you could do worse than an afternoon wandering along the cliffs at Silver Strand.
    mikom wrote: »
    Knacker dwarf.
    I saw this hero on O' Connell St in Dublin a few months ago. He leaned into two blond girls walking in the opposite direction and roared at them. Cue much giggling, finger-pointing and pitiful piss taking. He looked crestfallen. His powers must be on the slide! Knob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭McTigs

Not being a hippy but the Corrib rapids right through the centre of town gives energy to the city. No idle meandering for the corrib, our river ****ing roars down the town shouting "Get outta my way, comin through!" Love it.

The prom is second to none in this country. The view, the fresh atlantic air, the talent on a sunny day. Can't wait till they extend it to Silver Strand (hopefully in my lifetime)

General relaxed atmosphere about the town

Pubs down the west.

Saturday market, especially the food. I too can do without the wolly socks and mosaic mirrors.

I can't imagine any other town in ireland recieving the Volvo Ocean racers the way we did at 3 in the morning till dawn. Respect for the racers and self indulgent craic in equal measure.

If you live city centre everything is within walking distance, pubs, supermarkets, shops, cinemas etc.

The amount of quality stuff on the doorstep..... clean beachs along the coast or renting a row boat on the corrib on hot summer days, great cycle routes outside the town, connemara or the burren for a day out (it takes no time to get to either)

Plenty of shortcomings to but doesn't everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,189 ✭✭✭dinneenp

• Galway Races
    • Arts Festival
    • Quay Street & spanish Arch in the summer with the outdoor drining
    • Endangered snails (blocking the Outerouter bypass)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,288 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

The arts: live theatre with regular new shows, two (soon to be three) cinemas, several theatre companies, performance opportunities for a very wide range of people, musicians galore in all sorts of genres.

And the walkability thing that someone mentioned before.

Ballyloughan beach and Silverstrand (far better than the concreted Prom IMHO).

And only 2.5 hours on the bus to Dublin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

JustMary wrote: »

And only 2.5 hours on the bus to Dublin!

I'd be more of the opinion that one of the greatest things about Galway is that we're 2.5 hours away from Dublin.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭ErnieBert

Charcoal Grill (after a feed of 9 pints)

Quirkey shops that are unique to Galway:

- Wooden Heart Toys
    - Herteriches Pork Butchers - excellent
    - McCambridges - unusual foods
    - Elles Cafe - cleanest coffee shop in the world
    - Griifins Bakers - yummy bread
    - Little newsagent with massive range of mags (I can't remember name)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,398 ✭✭✭inisboffin

Youse are all very hard on the woolly sock people!:P
    I'll tell you one thing, I am delighted today to have on the pair someone got me for Chrismo!:D

Agree about the arts but more for music, theatre could pick up a bit tby, some of the good companies fecked off.

Sunday walk on the prom.

Street culture and people watching outside Neachtains in the summer...sit there long enough and the entire universe will pass by at some point! ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

manic drivers

Frank Fahey, he won't be appreciated till he's gone :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Mr_A

snubbleste wrote: »

Frank Fahey, he won't be appreciated till he's gone :o

I'd certainly appreciate him being gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭loser2old4board

The Prom/Galway Bay. The river walk all the way from waterside to Nimmos pier. The walkway half way out to Mutton Island. A trip on the Corrib Princess. The atmosphere in the evenings on the city centre streets in July/August. Buskers. Town Hall. Spanish Arch area. Quay St....and loads more.

Connemara
    Galway Bay in general. As previously mentioned we take the coastline for granted.

It's acceptable to take things for granted that can't move away(like a lady friend could :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

worst drivers in the world! manly woman! not including the one liein asleep next to me :p 1million pubs and fcuk all else :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭An Capall Dubh

maxxie wrote: »
    worst drivers in the world! manly woman! not including the one liein asleep next to me 1million pubs and fcuk all else

You've got a "manly woman" lying next to you?? :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

You've got a "manly woman" lying next to you?? :eek:

Thanks for reminding me horsey boy!

Ignorant brain dead stupid people

Thanks for reminding me horsey boy!

Ignorant brain dead stupid people

So you do have a manly woman lying beside you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

manly woman!

Just the one so?
    I think Galway can cope tbh

By the way, is your surname Pad?

I think Galway has that small town sense of "everybody knows each other" atmosphere even though it's a city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

- Little newsagent with massive range of mags (I can't remember name)

O'Brien's?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 301 ✭✭surime

In response to the interesting thread "What Galway Needs"
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055714223
    I propose a thread on what Galway has that other towns/cities would like to have:

Here goes...

-are you serious? :) Have you ever been anywhere? :rolleyes:

surime wrote: »

Dunno about anyone else, but I've been to and lived in a lot of places ;)

To me there IS nothing like it to be honest, and that's why I live here...

It's not necessarily a physical thing or a quantifiable thing per se, I have lived in other places with technically more 'stunning' views..but to me the view from Galway bay is, well... magical. There IS nowhere like it that I have been (except parts of the Burren and Connemara ;) )
    Old cliche, but beauty is in the eye of the beholder. And it's also what makes you feel at home, wherever you are originally from.

Look, I can only it liken the comparison between a piece of music that is quite complex and has huge orchestral sound, which you tap your toes to, versus something so simple, with a few notes, that moves your heart.

Oh dear, I fear I have waxed lyrical. And not even drink involved (perhaps that's it!):P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭majiktripp

Galway has a Fog Horn down the docks apparently, which I had never heard until this morning. Going off every 30 seconds or so, quite eerie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭stunt_penguin

An unmentioned thing : we're RIGHT on the doorstep of Connemara- you can be right out there in 30 minutes via Oughterard, or in less than 10 if you go along the coast. We've got the Aran Islands, the 12 Bens, The Mamturks all just sitting there an easy drive away.

We've also got amazing watersports potential, with the lake and the upper and lower corrib, plus a sheltered bay, too. Fanore beach is a short drive away (and Lahinch is a bit further).

You can sail, dive, kayak and fish in the bay, you can go rock climbing in the burren and connemara... very few of these things are just a 20 minute drive from most city centers, unless you're in New Zealand or parts of the US/Canada

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

majiktripp wrote: »
    Galway has a Fog Horn down the docks apparently, which I had never heard until this morning. Going off every 30 seconds or so, quite eerie.

We dont actually have a fog horn.We had a visiting ship that had one.
    The fog horn is for the "what Galway needs" thread.A little acoustic atmospherics never hurt any place.

Fog horn was deadly! Even though it woke me up every min!
    Apparently it was from a tanker or large ship, which is somehow obliged to sound if it is close to dock for some reason.
    Maritime folks please expand if you know...

*edited to say, just read some other posts, red wine is nice
    can someone please state here or pm me how to quote other threads :)
    Seriously, don't know how, thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭TheCosmicFrog

The Donut Guy from the mental health ad.

What about him?

Oh! Good things about Galway?

Yes then :)

inisboffin wrote: »
    Dunno about anyone else, but I've been to and lived in a lot of places ;)

To me there IS nothing like it to be honest, and that's why I live here...

It's not necessarily a physical thing or a quantifiable thing per se, I have lived in other places with technically more 'stunning' views..but to me the view from Galway bay is, well... magical. There IS nowhere like it that I have been (except parts of the Burren and Connemara ;) )
    Old cliche, but beauty is in the eye of the beholder. And it's also what makes you feel at home, wherever you are originally from.

Look, I can only it liken the comparison between a piece of music that is quite complex and has huge orchestral sound, which you tap your toes to, versus something so simple, with a few notes, that moves your heart.

Oh dear, I fear I have waxed lyrical. And not even drink involved (perhaps that's it!):P

Ok, if you put it that way I can understand.. ;) , very romantic , I love those hills on the other side of bay ,specially early in the morning. It's just usually it's just gray , sad and depressing for me. This stone shore and plain grass... :/ I am used to much more milder view :sandy beach on one side , forest o the other :
    http://galeria.trojmiasto.pl/Plaza-poludnie-8612.html?id_g=0&pozycja=100

-this is how it looks like where I come from (Poland -Gdansk) , there is path for pedestrians and bikes along shore and its about 10km long.
    But maybe I am just homesick. :( and you are right -beauty is in the eye of beholder..

http://galeria.trojmiasto.pl/Widok-z-Klifu-Orlowskiego-8135.html?id_g=0&pozycja=107

-city park:
    http://galeria.trojmiasto.pl/Park-Oliwski-jesienia-2832.html?id_g=0&pozycja=214

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Is that Sopot? I was there last year for a few days, beautiful place, great little vibe to it.

Yeah ,Sopot is great ,but I think that picture is taken from cliff in Gdynia .

( I wrote long post and this happen again -it dissapeared!!! :mad:)

Thats Sopot :

http://static.playmobile.pl/blog/7389/244432.4.jpg

Ok, if you put it that way I can understand.. ;) , very romantic , I love those hills on the other side of bay ,specially early in the morning. It's just usually it's just gray , sad and depressing for me. This stone shore and plain grass... :/ I am used to much more milder view :sandy beach on one side , forest o the other :
    http://galeria.trojmiasto.pl/Plaza-poludnie-8612.html?id_g=0&pozycja=100

-this is how it looks like where I come from (Poland -Gdansk) , there is path for pedestrians and bikes along shore and its about 10km long.
    But maybe I am just homesick. :( and you are right -beauty is in the eye of beholder..

http://galeria.trojmiasto.pl/Widok-z-Klifu-Orlowskiego-8135.html?id_g=0&pozycja=107

-city park:
    http://galeria.trojmiasto.pl/Park-Oliwski-jesienia-2832.html?id_g=0&pozycja=214

Really pretty place!

But yeah it's Galway for me, the starkness of the stone, sky, sea are part of what makes the bay so lovely. Sometimes they do have a kind of loneliness, but that maybe is part of what makes it so beautiful.
    I am thankful for diversity though, and am not adverse to a bit of desert/forest/sun to broaden my horizons sometimes! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭NMoore

Galway has:
    McCambridges sandwiches at lunch time by the canal (in the summer)
    Murphys and O'Connels pubs.
    Great views of the Burren across the bay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭EI111

You being negative about the good things Galway has to offer again?

If you don't like it fair enough but your snide comments are not really helping anything are they? If you are homesick or struggling to adapt to a change of scenery it doesn't mean you have to put people's appreciation of the nice things Galway has down.

Glaciers in New Zealand are also great scenic places. Do you not like them because you are used to Gdansk and they don't like like the park and beach you mentioned in your other post?

EI111 wrote: »
    You being negative about the good things Galway has to offer again?

If you don't like it fair enough but your snide comments are not really helping anything are they? If you are homesick or struggling to adapt to a change of scenery it doesn't mean you have to put people's appreciation of the nice things Galway has down.

Glaciers in New Zealand are also great scenic places. Do you not like them because you are used to Gdansk and they don't like like the park and beach you mentioned in your other post?

Maybe I am and what you will do about this? Say I should go back home If I dont like prom?:) I've heard enough comment's like this and ask all Irish emigrants abroad if its pleasant..and my comments aren't snide -just honest. I know there are much more amazing places then beach in Gdansk ,but it was about prom which is in my opinion nothing special.. that's it! Sorry for offending all prom and Galway scenery fans!!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭EI111

Maybe I am and what you will do about this? Say I should go back home If I dont like prom?:) I've heard enough comment's like this and ask all Irish emigrants abroad if its pleasant..and my comments aren't snide -just honest.

No I wouldn't ask you to go home, just stop being condescending towards people who like where they are from, which that post was. A comment where you ask somebody if they have ever been anywhere is condescending.
    I live abroad and have done so for 5 of the last 6 years.
    I've rarely had someone tell me I should go home and leave their country. I would like to think that is because I don't constantly put down the things they are proud of, in fact i try not to ever do it, I sometimes wonder why they are proud of certain things or enjoy certain things (fundamentalist christianity in america was one such thing) but if that's what they are into who am I to hold it against them. Irish people take pride in small things as do people from most countries I have come across. You are obviously proud of the things you have in Poland and nobody will hold that against you, but you should respect other people's opinions too and maybe you will settle and be comfortable here rather than homesick as you say you are.

EI111 wrote: »
    No I wouldn't ask you to go home, just stop being condescending towards people who like where they are from, which that post was. A comment where you ask somebody if they have ever been anywhere is condescending.
    I live abroad and have done so for 5 of the last 6 years.
    I've rarely had someone tell me I should go home and leave their country. I would like to think that is because I don't constantly put down the things they are proud of, in fact i try not to ever do it, I sometimes wonder why they are proud of certain things or enjoy certain things (fundamentalist christianity in america was one such thing) but if that's what they are into who am I to hold it against them. Irish people take pride in small things as do people from most countries I have come across. You are obviously proud of the things you have in Poland and nobody will hold that against you, but you should respect other people's opinions too and maybe you will settle and be comfortable here rather than homesick as you say you are.

Ok, first of all I DON"T " constantly put down things irish people are proud of" ,because I think Ireland is beautiful... so I have no reason to do so.. I was simply surprised about gloryfing prom. I'm soooooooooooooooooorrrrrrryyyyyyyy! :) Prom is cool (in a way) ;) and if you haven't noticed in my previous post I tryied to understand this point of view...

"Ok, if you put it that way I can understand.. wink.gif , very romantic , I love those hills on the other side of bay ,specially early in the morning. It's just usually it's just gray , sad and depressing for me. This stone shore and plain grass... :/ I am used to much more milder view :sandy beach on one side , forest o the other :"