Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Poem a day keeps the melancholy away

• Registered Users Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭E.T.

I've read that poem so many times - it never even dawned on me to question the sexuality of the poet! Unfortunately, it seems that if someone thinks homosexuality is "unnatural" or "wrong", nothing will dissuade them from their beliefs. It's amazing how prejudice can blind people to so many things.

• Registered Users Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Tesco Massacre

The Ecclesiast

"Worse than the sunflower," she had said.
    But the new dimension of truth had only recently
    Burst in on us. Now it was to be condemned.
    And in vagrant shadow her mothball truth is eaten.
    In cool, like-it-or-not shadow the humdrum is consumed.
    Tired housewives begat it some decades ago,
    A small piece of truth that is it was honey to the lips
    Was also millions of miles from filling the place reserved for it.
    You see how honey crumbles your universe
    Which seems like an institution – how many walls?

Then everything, in her belief, was to be submerged
    And soon. There was no life you could live out to its end
    And no attitude which, in the end, would save you.
    The monkish and the frivolous alike were to be trapped
    in death's capacious claw
    But listen while I tell you about the wallpaper –
    There was a key to everything in that oak forest
    But a sad one. Ever since childhood there
    Has been this special meaning to everything.
    You smile at your friend's joke, but only later, through tears.

For the shoe pinches, even though it fits perfectly.
    Apples were made to be gathered, also the whole host of the
    world’s ailments and troubles.
    There is no time like the present for giving in to this temptation.
    Once the harvest is in and the animals put away for the winter
    To stand at the uncomprehending window cultivating the desert
    With salt tears which will never do anyone any good.
    My dearest I am as a galleon on salt billows.
    Perfume my head with forgetting all around me.

For some day these projects will return.
    The funereal voyage over ice-strewn seas is ended.
    You wake up forgetting. Already
    Daylight shakes you in the yard.
    The hands remain empty. They are constructing an osier basket
    Just now, and across the sunlight darkness is taking root anew
    In intense activity. You shall never have seen it just this way
    And that is to be your one reward.

Fine vapors escape from whatever is doing the living.
    The night is cold and delicate and full of angels
    Pounding down the living. The factories are all lit up,
    The chime goes unheard.
    We are together at last, though far apart.

John Ashbery

• Registered Users Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭E.T.

WH Davies:

What is this life if, full of care,
    We have no time to stand and stare.

No time to stand beneath the boughs
    And stare as long as sheep or cows.

No time to see, when woods we pass,
    Where squirrels hide their nuts in grass.

No time to see, in broad daylight,
    Streams full of stars, like skies at night.

No time to turn at Beauty's glance,
    And watch her feet, how they can dance.

No time to wait till her mouth can
    Enrich that smile her eyes began.

A poor life this if, full of care,
    We have no time to stand and stare.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Procasinator

That's an excellent poem. WH Auden was homosexual, so the poem was presumably written for a man. I challenge anyone who says homosexuality is "unnatural" or "wrong" to read that poem and see it in emotion scarcely seen in "natural" "correct" heterosexuals.

I would only challenge your assumption. I have read that the poem exists in 2 versions, and that the first was for a play and meant to be taken as satire.

It doesn't appear he wrote the poem for a lover at all.

http://everything2.com/user/jwfxpr/writeups/Funeral+Blues

• Registered Users Posts: 432 ✭✭booksale

Let me introduce Chinese poetry.

The one below is one of my favourites. It is a very old poem, in Song (Sung) Dynasty My heart feels the sorrow every time I read the poem. Here I am going to list three versions of translations:

Jiang Cheng Zi

writted by: Su Dong Po (January 8, 1037 – August 24, 1101)

十年生死兩茫茫,不思量,自難忘。
    千里孤墳,無處話淒涼。
    縱使相逢應不識,塵滿面,鬢如霜。

夜來幽夢忽還鄉,小軒窗,正梳妝;
    相對無言,惟有淚千行。
    料想年年腸斷處,明月夜,短松岡。

Version 1: translated by[SIZE=-1] Liu Lao Shi
    [/SIZE]
    To the Tune of Jiang-cheng Zi

For ten years of parting
      Thou dead, I’m still living.
      So rarely of thee I think
      But memories ever link.

Thou art buried lonely and afar,
      Knowin’ not of my heart’s scar.
      If we’d meet thou would not know
      Me face dusted and hairs like snow.

When night fell I dreamed,
      That home again I seemed.
      By the window thou were beheld
      With a lovely comb nicely held.

We looked at each other speechless,
      Only tears streaming down ceaseless.
      Every year my heart is thus split
      On that short-pine hillock moonlit.

Version 2: translated by Yángxiànyi

Recording my dream on the night of the twentieth of the first month of the year Yimao.

Ten years parted, one living, one dead;
      Not thinking
      Yet never forgetting;
      A thousand Li from her lonely grave
      I have nowhere to tell my grief;
      Yet should we meet again she would hardly know
      This ravaged face,
      These temples tinged with gray.

At night in a dream I am suddenly home again:
      By my small study window
      She sits at her dressing-table;
      We look at each other and find no words.
      But hte tears course down our cheeks.
      Year after year heart-broken I fancy her
      On moonlit nights
      By the hill covered with young pines.

Version 3: translated by Burton Watson

Ten years, dead and living dim and draw apart.
      I don't try to remember,
      But forgetting is hard.
      Lonely grave a thousand miles off,
      Cold thoughts, where can I talk them out?
      Even if we met, you wouldn't know me,
      Dust on my face,
      Hair like frost.

In a dream last night suddenly I was home.
      By the window of the little room,
      You were combing your hair and making up.
      You turned and looked, not speaking,
      Only lines of tears coursing down.
      Year after year will it break my heart?
      The moonlit grave,
      The stubby pines.

<repeated post>

• Registered Users Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭marienbad

Somewhat appropriate for the times ,

The Leader

I wanna be the leader
    Can I be the leader ?
    Can I ? Can I ?
    Promise ? Promise ?
    Yipee I'm the leader
    I'm the leader

O.K. what shall we do ?

Roger McGough

• Registered Users Posts: 656 ✭✭✭Bearhunter

My favourite Roger McGough poem:

Only trouble with
    Japanese haiku is that
    you write one, and then

Only seventeen
    syllables later you want
    to write another.

guys, Chinese New Year today, let me introduce a lovely modern Chinese poem.

鱼化石(一条鱼或一个女子说)
    卞之琳 (1910.12.8-2000.12.2)

我要有你的怀抱的形状,
    我往往溶于水的线条。
    你真像镜子一样的爱我呢,
    你我都远了乃有了鱼化石。

An Ichthyolite
    Written by: Biàn Zhīlín
    Translated by: Beita

I want to have the shape of your embrace,
    I am always dissolved into the lines of water.
    Just like a mirror, you truly love me. Both you and I
    Has gone into the distance and the ichthyolite emerges.

Ichthyolite is the fossil of fish. I dont know why the translator did not translate the words in the brackets. The title should be: An Ichthyolite (a fish or a woman says).

It's a love poem. Bian Zhilin loved Zhāng chōng hé (famous in the literature circle as well) for a very long time. He was shy and subtle, and not sure about Zhāng's love to him. He had never made a move but just wrote poems. He studied her interest, he found ways to meet her... But never directly told her his love. Anyway she married an American who expertised in Chinese and went to America. About 8 years later, Bian married another woman. But every time he mentioned about Zhāng, he still showed the love and care.

This is one of the poems for Zhāng. In the Chinese version, the third line has a tone of hesitation, uncertainty.

Hahaha, this poem is not very suitable for the Chinese New Year, anyway, hope you guys like this poem.

Happy Chinese New Year!

• Registered Users Posts: 27 Alice Milligan

Relationship

What a silence, when you are here. What a hellish silence.
    You sit and I sit.
    You lose and I lose.

János Pilinszky
    Translated from the Hungarian by Peter Jay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Kinski

Recently, thanks to an entry in Simon Critchley's The Book of Dead Philosophers, I came across the genre of death poems written by Japanese Buddhist monks. These short poems were written by monks who were on the verge of dying. According to Critchley, "Ideally, the dying monk would anticipate the moment of his death, write his poem, set aside his ink brush, cross his arms, straighten his back, and die." I have no idea how often the authors managed to realise this ideal, but the practice is still intriguing. Here's a trio of examples, starting with a haiku:
    The joy of dewdrops
    In the grass as they
    Turn back to vapour.
    - Koraku (d. 1837)
    Inhale, exhale
    Forward, back
    Living, dying:
    Arrows, let flown each to each
    Meet midway and slice
    The void in aimless flight-
    Thus I return to the source.
    - Gesshu Soko (d. 1696)

My whole long life I've sharpened my sword
    And now, face to face with death
    I unsheathe it, and lo-
    The blade is broken-
    Alas!

- Dairin Soto (d. 1568)

The Ballad Of A Bachelor

Ellis Parker Butler

Listen, ladies, while I sing
    The ballad of John Henry King.

John Henry was a bachelor,
    His age was thirty-three or four.

Two maids for his affection vied,
    And each desired to be his bride,

And bravely did they strive to bring
    Unto their feet John Henry King.

John Henry liked them both so well,
    To save his life he could not tell

Which he most wished to be his bride,
    Nor was he able to decide.

Fair Kate was jolly, bright, and gay,
    And sunny as a summer day;

Marie was kind, sedate, and sweet,
    With gentle ways and manners neat.

Each was so dear that John confessed
    He could not tell which he liked best.

He studied them for quite a year,
    And still found no solution near,

And might have studied two years more
    Had he not, walking on the shore,

Conceived a very simple way
    Of ending his prolonged delay--

A way in which he might decide
    Which of the maids should be his bride.

He said, "I'll toss into the air
    A dollar, and I'll toss it fair;

If heads come up, I'll wed Marie;
    If tails, fair Kate my bride shall be."

Then from his leather pocket-book
    A dollar bright and new he took;

He kissed one side for fair Marie,
    The other side for Kate kissed he.

Then in a manner free and fair
    He tossed the dollar in the air.

"Ye fates," he cried, "pray let this be
    A lucky throw indeed for me!"

The dollar rose, the dollar fell;
    He watched its whirling transit well,

And off some twenty yards or more
    The dollar fell upon the shore.

John Henry ran to where it struck
    To see which maiden was in luck.

But, oh, the irony of fate!
    Upon its edge the coin stood straight!

And there, embedded in the sand,
    John Henry let the dollar stand!

And he will tempt his fate no more,
    But live and die a bachelor.

Thus, ladies, you have heard me sing
    The ballad of John Henry King.

As we are delving into Japanese poems , here is a Haiku by Gavin Ewart

God is a flasher.
    He reveals himself to some,
    but not to others.

I'll see your Ellis Parker Butler and raise you William F Marshall:

Me An' Me Da

I'm livin' in Drumlister,
    An' I'm gettin very oul',
    I have to wear an Indian bag
    To save me from the coul'.
    The deil a man in this townlan'
    Wos claner raired nor me,
    But I'm livin' in Drumlister
    In clabber to the knee.
    Me da lived up in Carmin,
    An' kep' a sarvint boy;
    His second wife wos very sharp,
    He birried her with joy:
    Now she wos thin, her name was Flynn,
    She come from Cullentra,
    An' if me shirt's a clatty shirt
    The man to blame's me da.

Consarnin' weemin, sure it wos
    A constant word of his,
    `Keep far away from them that's thin,
    Their temper's aisy riz.'
    Well, I knowed two I thought wud do,
    But still I had me fears,
    So I kiffled back an' forrit
    Between the two, for years.

Wee Margit had no fortune
    But two rosy cheeks wud plaze;
    The farm of lan' wos Bridget's,
    But she tuk the pock disayse:
    An' Margit she wos very wee,
    An' Bridget she wos stout
    But her face wos like a gaol dure
    With the boults pulled out.

I'll tell no lie on Margit,
    She thought the worl' of me;
    I'll tell the truth, me heart wud lep
    The sight of her to see
    But I wos slow, ye surely know,
    The raison of it now,
    If I left her home from Carmin
    Me da wud rise a row.

So I swithered back an' forrit
    Till Margit got a man;
    A fella come from Mullaslin
    An' left me jist the wan.
    I mind the day she went away,
    I hid wan strucken hour,
    An' cursed the wasp from Cullentra
    That made me da so sour.

But cryin' cures no trouble,
    To Bridget I went back,
    An' faced her for it that night week
    Beside her own turf-stack.
    I axed her there, an' spoke her fair,
    The handy wife she d make me,
    I talked about the lan' that joined
    - Begob, she wudn't take me!

So I'm livin' in Drumlister
    An' I'm get'tin' very oul'
    I creep to Carmin wanst a month
    To thry an' make me sowl:
    The deil a man in this townlan'
    Wos claner raired nor me,
    An' I'm dyin' in Drumlister
    In clabber to the knee.

Bearhunter wrote: »
    I'll see your Ellis Parker Butler and raise you William F Marshall:

Lovely. :D

Now the famous Irish poet writing about his dad who's dead. it's a bit sad though. well, yet had a very subtle sense of humor / sarcasm. so true!

Memory of My Father

Patrick Kavanagh

Every old man I see
    Reminds me of my father
    When he had fallen in love with death
    One time when sheaves were gathered.

That man I saw in Gardiner Street
    Stumble on the kerb was one,
    He stared at me half-eyed,
    I might have been his son.

And I remember the musician
    Faltering over his fiddle
    In Bayswater, London.
    He too set me the riddle.

Every old man I see
    In October-coloured weather
    Seems to say to me
    "I was once your father."

I love that Kavanagh poem. ANd this one by FR Higgins on the death of Padraic O Conaire:

They've paid the last respects in sad tobacco
    And silent is this wakehouse in its haze;
    They've paid the last respects; and now their whiskey
    Flings laughing words on mouths of prayer and praise;
    And so young couples huddle by the gables.
    O let them grope home through the hedgy night -
    Alone I'll mourn my old friend, while the cold dawn
    Thins out the holy candlelight.

Respects are paid to one loved by the people;
    Ah, was he not - among our mighty poor -
    The sudden wealth cast on those pools of darkness,
    Those bearing, just, a star's faint signature;
    And so he was to me, close friend, near brother,
    Dear Padraic of the wide and sea-cold eyes -
    So, lovable, so courteous and noble,
    The very west was in his soft replies.

They'll miss his heavy stick and stride in Wicklow -
    His story-talking down Winetavern Street,
    Where old men sitting in the wizen daylight
    Have kept an edge upon his gentle wit;
    While women on the grassy streets of Galway,
    Who hearken for his passing - but in vain,
    Shall hardly tell his step as shadows vanish
    Through archways of forgotten Spain.

Ah, they'll say, Padraic's gone again exploring;
    But now down glens of brightness, O he'll find
    An alehouse overflowing with wise Gaelic
    That's braced in vigour by the bardic mind,
    And there his thoughts shall find their own forefathers -
    In minds to whom our heights of race belong,
    in crafty men, who ribbed a ship or turned
    The secret joinery of song.

Alas, death mars the parchment of his forehead;
    And yet for him, I know, the earth is mild -
    The windy fidgets of September grasses
    Can never tease a mind that loved the wild;
    So drink his peace - this grey juice of the barley
    Runs with a light that ever pleased his eye -
    While old flames nod and gossip on the hearthstone
    And only the young winds cry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Jimmy the Wheel

Flowers by Wendy Cope (for the day that's in it)

Some men never think of it.
    You did. You’d come along
    And say you’d nearly brought me flowers
    But something had gone wrong.

The shop was closed. Or you had doubts —
    The sort that minds like ours
    Dream up incessantly. You thought
    I might not want your flowers.

It made me smile and hug you then.
    Now I can only smile.
    But, look, the flowers you nearly brought
    Have lasted all this while.

One Night

The room was poor and squalid,
    hidden above the dubious tavern.
    From The window you could see the alley
    filthy and narrow. From below
    came the voices of some workmen
    playing cards and carousing.

And there on the much-used, lowly bed
    I had the body of love,I had the lips,
    the voluptuous and rosy lips of ecstasy-
    rosy lips of such ecstasy, that even now
    as I write, after so many years !
    in my solitary house, I am drunk again .

From the Greek of C.P.Cavafy

Bearhunter wrote: »
    ANd this one by FR Higgins on the death of Padraic O Conaire:

Need some more time to read this one. As I need to research on Padriic O Conaire for the background information. :o Although my Irish friend told me a bit about him.

And I shared the poem of Me an' Me Da with my Irish friends. Found out I misinterpreted 'a bit' 'cos of the Irish English. Had great laugh. We had a great time reading that poem. Really a nice one. THANKS!! :D

I'm nobody!
    Emily Dickinson

I 'm nobody! Who are you?
    Are you nobody, too?
    Then there ’s a pair of us—don’t tell!
    They ’d banish us, you know.

How dreary to be somebody!
    How public, like a frog
    To tell your name the livelong day
    To an admiring bog!

Flowers by Wendy Cope (for the day that's in it) ..... Have lasted all this while.

Do you think it's a long while or a short while that the flowers last....?:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Nice one...! Hahha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

The Fiddler of Dooney

When I play on my fiddle in Dooney.
    Folk dance like a wave of the sea;
    My cousin is priest in Kilvarnet,
    My brother in Mocharabuiee.

I passed my brother and cousin:
    They read in their books of prayer;
    I read in my book of songs
    I bought at the Sligo fair.

When we come at the end of time
    To Peter sitting in state,
    He will smile on the three old spirits,
    But call me first through the gate;

For the good are always the merry,
    Save by an evil chance,
    And the merry love the fiddle,
    And the merry love to dance:

And when the folk there spy me,
    They will all come up to me,
    With 'Here is the fiddler of Dooney!'
    And dance like a wave of the sea.

On The Antiquity Of Microbes

Adam
    Had'em

Said to be the shortest poem in the English Language. Author unknown. A variant of the title is ''On the Antiquity of Fleas''

The Road Not Taken
    Robert Frost

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
    And sorry I could not travel both
    And be one traveler, long I stood
    And looked down one as far as I could
    To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
    And having perhaps the better claim
    Because it was grassy and wanted wear,
    Though as for that the passing there
    Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
    In leaves no step had trodden black.
    Oh, I marked the first for another day!
    Yet knowing how way leads on to way
    I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
    Somewhere ages and ages hence:
    Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
    I took the one less traveled by,
    And that has made all the difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭johnthemull

Should lanterns shine, the holy face,
    Caught in an octagon of unaccustomed light,
    Would wither up, an any boy of love
    Look twice before he fell from grace.
    The features in their private dark
    Are formed of flesh, but let the false day come
    And from her lips the faded pigments fall,
    The mummy cloths expose an ancient breast.

I have been told to reason by the heart,
    But heart, like head, leads helplessly;
    I have been told to reason by the pulse,
    And, when it quickens, alter the actions' pace
    Till field and roof lie level and the same
    So fast I move defying time, the quiet gentleman
    Whose beard wags in Egyptian wind.

I have heard may years of telling,
    And many years should see some change.

The ball I threw while playing in the park
    Has not yet reached the ground.

On The Beach At Fontana

Wind whines and whines the shingle,
    The crazy pierstakes groan;
    A senile sea numbers each single
    Slimesilvered stone.

From whining wind and colder
    Greysea I wrap him warm
    And touch his trembling fineboned shoulder
    And boyish arm.

Around us fear, descending
    Darkness of fear above
    And in my heart how deep unending
    Ache of love !

James Joyce for his young son Giorgio. That last line -''deep unending ache of love'' - best expression of parental love ever. Very underrated poet, our James.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 theendpoint

This poem helped me through some tough times :)

Life Is Fine by Langston Hughes

I went down to the river,
    I set down on the bank.
    I tried to think but couldn't,
    So I jumped in and sank.

I came up once and hollered!
    I came up twice and cried!
    If that water hadn't a-been so cold
    I might've sunk and died.

But it was Cold in that water! It was cold!

I took the elevator
    Sixteen floors above the ground.
    I thought about my baby
    And thought I would jump down.

I stood there and I hollered!
    I stood there and I cried!
    If it hadn't a-been so high
    I might've jumped and died.

But it was High up there! It was high!

So since I'm still here livin',
    I guess I will live on.
    I could've died for love--
    But for livin' I was born

Though you may hear me holler,
    And you may see me cry--
    I'll be dogged, sweet baby,
    If you gonna see me die.

Life is fine! Fine as wine! Life is fine!

• Registered Users Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

THE LITTLE VAGABOND

Dear mother, dear mother, the Church is cold;
    But the Alehouse is healthy, and pleasant, and warm.
    Besides, I can tell where I am used well;
    Such usage in heaven will never do well.

But, if at the Church they would give us some ale,
    And a pleasant fire our souls to regale,
    We'd sing and we'd pray all the livelong day,
    Nor ever once wish from the Church to stray.

Then the Parson might preach, and drink, and sing,
    And we'd be as happy as birds in the spring;
    And modest Dame Lurch, who is always at church,
    Would not have bandy children, nor fasting, nor birch.

And God, like a father, rejoicing to see
    His children as pleasant and happy as He,
    Would have no more quarrel with the Devil or the barrel,
    But kiss him, and give him both drink and apparel.

A Flower Given to My Daughter

Frail the white rose and frail are
    Her hands that gave
    Whose soul is sere and paler
    Than time's wan wave.

Rosefrail and fair -- yet frailest
    A wonder wild
    In gentle eyes thou veilest,
    My blueveined child.

James Joyce

This one is to his daughter Lucia - his blue veined child - just so sad in the light of subsequent events.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

The Irish Rover

On the fourth of July eighteen hundred and six
    We set sail from the sweet cove of Cork
    We were sailing away with a cargo of bricks
    For the grand city hall in New York
    'Twas a wonderful craft, she was rigged fore-and-aft
    And oh, how the wild winds drove her.
    She'd got several blasts, she'd twenty-seven masts
    And we called her the Irish Rover.

We had one million bales of the best Sligo rags