Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Terrified of Housemate

• 07-01-2010 9:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I am house sharing with 4 guys. 3 of the guys are fine but one is extremely odd. Basically the guy has been a loner type from the start but things are really starting to take a scary twist. I think the guy has serious mental problems. It started a few months ago when one of the guys mentioned that Gerry (not real name) was starting to act very strange. Apparently one of the guys came into the living room after work one night and he turned on the light to see Gerry sitting in the dark when he said hello he said Gerry just looked at him with a menacing smile and said nothing. Then we were all watching Saw and Gerry started getting extremely excited and after the movie he started asking us would we ever enjoy the thrill of having that kind of power. Needless to say we were starting to get a bit freaked out at this stage. Then he started wearing sun glasses in the house constantly which was very odd.
    Things came to a head when one of the guys found Gerry in his bedroom sniffing his girlfriends lingerie (she'd stay over the odd weekend) he confronted Gerry in front of everyone and Gerry just looked at him with an angry face saying nothing. Later we found a note from Gerry saying the end is near..... like what the ****. So we talked to the landlord this week and he said he'll talk to him but last night I was going to the toilet and the door to the living room was slightly ajar. I could see him, in the dark, swinging a knife around pretending to be stabbing someone. I told the guys today. The guy whose girlfriend stays over just texted me there to say Gerry mailed his girlfriend on facebook calling her a slut and saying she will suffer for her ways. I am sitting in my room now with the door locked I am so afraid of this freak.

I know you have to give 2 weeks notice but is there anyway we can kick him out now? I am considering contacting the guards or something just in case. The girlfriend of the guy isn't coming back till hes gone so no need to worry about her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,830 ✭✭✭✭Taltos

Maybe chat to the gardai.
    These comments appear to me as threats but I am no legal eagle - but best to seek advice asap.
    You never know they might have him on record and know about him.

Personally I would find somewhere else to stay and let the landlord know he has failed in his provision of a safe place to stay - so where's my deposit...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

Abandon ship seriously get the hell outta there the man sounds like a proper lunatic.
    I dont mean to sound alarmest but even if you get this freak out he will know where you live,
    im a man but this type of behaviour would leave me very worried and id have my bags packed already especially after the knife incident.

There is loads of accomadation about with normal people.

The lingerie sniffing thing should have seen him got rid of to be honest,
    and things seem to have gone worse action is required immediately get him out
    or get yourself out for your own sanity and peace of mind.
    Goodluck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭gwjones42

First instincts would be to stick up for yourself and sort it out with the other lads............but this guy sounds like the kind of weirdo who could do something really bad and it's not worth the danger.

Be smart.....keep as safe as you can and let everybody who can help you know inlcuding his family if you have a way of getting in touch with them....they might have seen this in him before and have some influence over him.

Good luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭A quiet one

Get out. I lived in a similar situation. 2 single guys with 2 single girls. The other guy started acting strange. The girl he was targeting had to sleep with a chair to her door, but that didn't stop the little notes under the door. But, she had told everyone else but me about what was going on;
    When she did, it was on condition that I neither do, nor say anything to him. Like "Garry" he'd be sitting in the dark etc. I just made it my business to be around more often. I told him that I was doing a massage course and asked to practice on him; hardly saw him for the dust ... (-:
    Then a little later I moved, but not because of him. Some years later I found out that just after I left, the brother of another girl he had been bothering asked him one day to stop bothering her; And there in brad daylight, in a busy shopping street, the nutter stab him to death.

Get out. Get out. Get out!

You all should get out and let the landlord realise where his financial bets should have been.

just had a thought; What if the landlord were to say that due to a preliminary surveyor's report, you all have to leave to enable further investigations;...
    You pretend to leave, & "Garry" finds another place.
    After all, he's just as likely to go after the landlord for evicting just him

Sorry, me again.

The above is not to be read as meaning you can 'play' this guy;
    And don't try to 'play' with him. You are your first priority, you are not responsible for protecting the landlord, who, after all, made the initial commercial blinded decision to let him in.

I know I've suggested a move (play) but I just want you to be fully aware that what you're dealing with is highly dangerous and way beyond your ability to deal with it (apart from getting out)
    I just want to underline; You're in danger. And you can't rationalise, negotiate with, or fight "Garry's" demons for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

I know you have to give 2 weeks notice but is there anyway we can kick him out now? I am considering contacting the guards or something just in case.

I would tell the guards so they have something on record but I would also think that acting like your about to stab people or riffling through their things and sniffing under-wear would void any agreement that involved giving notice. I would tell your landlord what you plan to do, get the other flatmates and get out of there.

Is there anyway of contacting the odd flat-mates family or getting some kind of psychiatric evaluation or intervention? It sounds like things are escalating and that is never good, especially if he's talking about power and wielding weapons. Could you talk to the guards about what the next step should be, or even your GP. Your first priority is yourself and your flatmates but I think the guy you are getting away from needs some help before he hurts someone else or himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

when i started reading the post i thought you were taking the piss....you are describing the first half of a hollywood script about a psycho.....except its real....if i were you i'd leave NOW, like today.....and deal with the situation from distance...stay in a friends or your parents or anywhere but there....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Peggypeg

Hey OP,

If I were you I'd be in the Garda Station, tell them everything and show them the post on that poor girl's facebook. Take it the whole way too, if they want to charge him back them up. "Gerry" sounds like someone who is suffering with mental problems and very dangerous, you cannot deal with that. GO TO THE GARDAI - TODAY!

Stay safe and best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,264 ✭✭✭mood

Peggypeg wrote: »
    Hey OP,

If I were you I'd be in the Garda Station, tell them everything and show them the post on that poor girl's facebook. Take it the whole way too, if they want to charge him back them up. "Gerry" sounds like someone who is suffering with mental problems and very dangerous, you cannot deal with that. GO TO THE GARDAI - TODAY!

Stay safe and best of luck.

I agree. There is written proof he is treating this girl (the facebook mesage) and I think this will be taken seriously. I would still move out regardless as I wouldn't want a unstable person like this knowing where I live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 549 ✭✭✭TitoPuente

Like stateofflux, I was actually reading this laughing, thinking it was a joke. It just sounds so deranged.

I'm assuming you're not taking the mick though so here's my advice - get the hell out of there as soon as you can, tell the Gardaí about this lunatic and hopefully they, or perhaps his family, can find him the help that he obviously needs. But if this dude snaps and you're in the house, there's a very real possibility that end up with a knife in you. Get out now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

He might be dangerous or he might just be winding you all up for a laugh. I knew a guy who would often do the whole psycho act on people. He thought it was hilarious and would often say it was all a great act.

He moved in with people I knew a bit in London for a while and started doing the whole act after he had a disagreement with one of them. It was just is pathetic defence as people would not risk finding out if it was real or not. I told one of them it was a big act he regularly does and he often messes with people's food too. That set alarm bells ringing as they had all been pretty sick recently. In the end they kicked him out but they actually moved as they suspected he would do something to the place. He wasn't mentally ill he was just an a-hole he seems to have calmed down but I did hear of him do similar again.

I think now I could spot the real things versus the act after knowing people with mental illness. Best to be safe and get him out but realistically there are far fewer dangerous mentally ill people than often believed due to media hype. Considering how nervous he has made you there is probably no way you will be comfortable staying put so it is probably best to move out but don't do it as a fear reaction because he is deranged instead as a sensible precaution in case he is actually seriously deranged.

If everybody else in the house is pretty straight laced and he is an "alternative" kind I would generally think he just attention seeking. If he very normal looking and acting this way I would be a little more concerned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭Elbi

Kipperhell wrote: »
    He might be dangerous or he might just be winding you all up for a laugh. I knew a guy who would often do the whole psycho act on people. He thought it was hilarious and would often say it was all a great act.

He moved in with people I knew a bit in London for a while and started doing the whole act after he had a disagreement with one of them. It was just is pathetic defence as people would not risk finding out if it was real or not. I told one of them it was a big act he regularly does and he often messes with people's food too. That set alarm bells ringing as they had all been pretty sick recently. In the end they kicked him out but they actually moved as they suspected he would do something to the place. He wasn't mentally ill he was just an a-hole he seems to have calmed down but I did hear of him do similar again.

I think now I could spot the real things versus the act after knowing people with mental illness. Best to be safe and get him out but realistically there are far fewer dangerous mentally ill people than often believed due to media hype. Considering how nervous he has made you there is probably no way you will be comfortable staying put so it is probably best to move out but don't do it as a fear reaction because he is deranged instead as a sensible precaution in case he is actually seriously deranged.

If everybody else in the house is pretty straight laced and he is an "alternative" kind I would generally think he just attention seeking. If he very normal looking and acting this way I would be a little more concerned

What kinda of mentaller would even "pretend" to go all psycho..

Dont take the chance OP, leave now before its too late, he sounds mental and the whole swinging the knife thing!!!! WTF
    Leave now

I'd argue that anyone who regularly "pretends" they have serious mental health issues is quite likely to actually have them for real - that's why most people don't deal with world through psychotic episode, laughing them off after the event or no.

• Kipperhell wrote: »

IMO even acting that way = mentally ill. No sane person messes with their housemates' food and scares people for fun. OP, I'd get out of there ASAP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Get out and get safe, all of you. Be sure to inform his girlf so she can also absract herself from the danger!

[quote=[Deleted User];63847567]IMO even acting that way = mentally ill. No sane person messes with their housemates' food and scares people for fun. OP, I'd get out of there ASAP.[/QUOTE]

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

OP, when I read your post, like many others I laughed because I assumed it was a joke... I mean, coming in late at night, turning on the light and seeing this guy smiling menacing at you without saying anything? Telling his girlfriend her end will come? Waving a knife around maniacally? What the hell are you waiting for?

Yeah, ring the guards immediatelly. He could be very dangerous indeed.

[quote=[Deleted User];63847567]IMO even acting that way = mentally ill. No sane person messes with their housemates' food and scares people for fun. OP, I'd get out of there ASAP.[/QUOTE]

That to me is like saying every person who is violent is mentally ill. There are people who threaten people for a laugh and also beat people up for the same reason. He scared people for kicks and was an a-hole. You can be sane and also vile which is what he was.

If you react in fear he gets what he wants if you take a sensible approach you walk away without him getting what he wants. Either way the same actions are involved but reacting out of fear will stay with you a lot longer.

I have met more than one person pretending to crazy. It is about intimidation and it is possible that this is what is happening.

I knew this guy very well and he was not laughing off a psychotic event as he would turn it on and off around different people all the time. It was funny as hell sometimes watching people react but slowly he became mean and brutal with many people. People who knew him had seen his routine but when we went to college some people though he was a psycho for real. He always had a cruel streak but it used to be for out and out jokes but it just became twisted and mean. He just loved unsettling people and never gave it a rest with people he met for the first time unless he was with old friends who wouldn't let him get way with it. I saw loads of guys doing similar in college and I quickly figured out who was the real thing generally if somebody is doing lots of things you see in films it is an act such as the silence and then a big grin from my experience.

Still say better safe than sorry but there is a difference between a retreat and fleeing in fear.
    Personally, I think that's a bit of a dangerous premise... the way he looks doesn't mean anything.

Actually it does from my experience. Guys who dress likes a goth is going probably have a particular taste for the macabre and watch lot of movies with psychotic characters. Hence his form of intimidations will take from that. So I would expect such behaviour from somebody like that. If he was just very quite and then suddenly started acting this way I would be more concerned. Still sticking with better safe but I have seen people overreact to what they perceive as psychotic behaviour and live in fear for a long time afterwards.

I guess it comes down to your definition of normal, again, someone who beats someone up for kicks and giggles would have serious mental issues as far as I'm concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

The problem is I don't think the landlord understands the severity of the situation. One of my other housemates who rarely even sees Gerry (works odd hours) downplayed the whole thing saying he was just acting up looking for attention to the landlord. The landlord basically said its very hard to get tenants in this current economic situation and if hes kicked out were going to have to pay his share of the rent till we ourselves find someone to move into Gerry's room. The landlord also wants to give notice to avoid any potential legal situations arising so either way were going to be stuck with him for a few weeks.

The housemate with the girlfriend is coming home early from work to confront this guy about sending his girlfriend this messege. He asked me to tell Gerry to not leave the house until he gets home. When I told Gerry he nodded placidy and said o.k, then when I left his room I heard him let out this wailing scream and I heard loads of banging like he was thrashing his room or something. A little while later I go into the kitchen and when I come back to my room I find another one of his notes on my door with simply a question mark on it. I should probably mention hes always leaving little notes around the house but only the 'end is near' one was threatening they're usually some quotes or his thoughts. When we first moved in we actually thought he was joking and looked forward to finding them and laughing at them but now that we know hes mentally unstable its really getting freaky.
    Just as I am typing this he has started blaring lyric FM (which is very weird because he listens to rock and metal music wat the ****?)

Can you get a hold of his mobile phone, call his parents and tell them what you've told us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭happyfriday74

Sweet Jebus,

Id be installing dead bolts on my door and sleeping with one eye open. The guy is clearly a dangertto both himself and others.

With this issue coming to a head between yourselves and Gerry its going to escalate things,

If you haven't already notified the gardai do so immediatly

The problem is I don't think the landlord understands the severity of the situation. One of my other housemates who rarely even sees Gerry (works odd hours) downplayed the whole thing saying he was just acting up looking for attention to the landlord. The landlord basically said its very hard to get tenants in this current economic situation and if hes kicked out were going to have to pay his share of the rent till we ourselves find someone to move into Gerry's room. The landlord also wants to give notice to avoid any potential legal situations arising so either way were going to be stuck with him for a few weeks.

The housemate with the girlfriend is coming home early from work to confront this guy about sending his girlfriend this messege. He asked me to tell Gerry to not leave the house until he gets home. When I told Gerry he nodded placidy and said o.k, then when I left his room I heard him let out this wailing scream and I heard loads of banging like he was thrashing his room or something. A little while later I go into the kitchen and when I come back to my room I find another one of his notes on my door with simply a question mark on it. I should probably mention hes always leaving little notes around the house but only the 'end is near' one was threatening they're usually some quotes or his thoughts. When we first moved in we actually thought he was joking and looked forward to finding them and laughing at them but now that we know hes mentally unstable its really getting freaky.
    Just as I am typing this he has started blaring lyric FM (which is very weird because he listens to rock and metal music wat the ****?)

If you don't move out asap you are very foolish. Passing on your other housemates messages to this guy is also very foolish.

If you want to or need to stay on that house tell the landlord it's either evict the guy or you all will move out.

If you really believed this guy is as bad as you say you would be gone asap. So I am questioning if this is really a joke or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

That to me is like saying every person who is violent is mentally ill. There are people who threaten people for a laugh and also beat people up for the same reason.
    Sorry what? ANYBODY who gets a "kick" out of either threatening to harm or actually harming someone has something wrong with them and have mental problems! What sort of sane person beats someone to a pulp and then laughs about it? A sick, twisted and damaged person!
    He scared people for kicks and was an a-hole. You can be sane and also vile which is what he was

Not the case here, from the actions and events the Op has pointed out to us that is not someone who's "sane but just vile". Considering a lot of his actions where done when he'd expect people not to catch him, i.e. in the dark, on his own, in his room suggests that he wasn't just performing "scare tactics". Anyone who waves a blade around as if to imitate stabbing someone needs help.
    I have met more than one person pretending to crazy. It is about intimidation and it is possible that this is what is happening.

This situation is far from pretence.
    I knew this guy very well and he was not laughing off a psychotic event as he would turn it on and off around different people all the time. It was funny as hell sometimes watching people react but slowly he became mean and brutal with many people. People who knew him had seen his routine but when we went to college some people though he was a psycho for real. He always had a cruel streak but it used to be for out and out jokes but it just became twisted and mean. He just loved unsettling people and never gave it a rest with people he met for the first time unless he was with old friends who wouldn't let him get way with it. I saw loads of guys doing similar in college and I quickly figured out who was the real thing generally if somebody is doing lots of things you see in films it is an act such as the silence and then a big grin from my experience.

Sorry but why would someone do these things? For someone to go to such extents as these for attention or whatever other reason is mentally ill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

If you get on with your other flatmates why not have a chat with them about renting somewhere else together?

i would defo go to the guards today , because god forbid that he would do something , at least the guards would know who to look 4, and i would defo move out today stay wif ur family till u get another place to stay, and dont tell any1 in that house where u are going , or where u are moving to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Sleepy wrote: »
    If you get on with your other flatmates why not have a chat with them about renting somewhere else together?

Exactly - see how seriously your Landlord takes it then.

Right, and that isnt going to totally flip him over the edge...

Go to guards, talk to someone and and get the hell out would be my advice.

Not if he doesn't know & the OP doesn't have to call them from the flat in front of the guy. Anything the OP does could flip him over the edge, but the OP has to do something. The obvious courses of action are to leave and let the guards know, I suggested that already but the OP seems reluctant to take that route. I'm guessing there are deposits involved and saying someone is behaving a bit oddly may not convince the guards to remove him. What then? Would he not get flipped out by the guards turning up?

There is evidence the this guy is treating people. The guards need to see his message on the girls Facebook page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

Contact www.threshold.ie for advice - I'm pretty sure if one tenant is threatening the others the landlord is basically required to get him out ASAP.

Having a guarda report would def help your cause, so do go to the guards.

Yeah tell the landlord you are all in fear for your safety and are moving out, put it in his hands, you should not have to put up with living like that, stay somewhere else for a few days and get some head space,

Bonito wrote: »
    Sorry what? ANYBODY who gets a "kick" out of either threatening to harm or actually harming someone has something wrong with them and have mental problems! What sort of sane person beats someone to a pulp and then laughs about it? A sick, twisted and damaged person!
    Somebody doesn't have to be mentally ill to be a sick twisted or damaged person. You have a very narrow understanding of mental illness if you think it is so straight forward.

Not the case here, from the actions and events the Op has pointed out to us that is not someone who's "sane but just vile". Considering a lot of his actions where done when he'd expect people not to catch him, i.e. in the dark, on his own, in his room suggests that he wasn't just performing "scare tactics". Anyone who waves a blade around as if to imitate stabbing someone needs help.

Unless you were there you don't know so try not to speak as if you were. The accounts sound very like my former friend's tactics.
    This situation is far from pretence.
    Again you don't know that and neither do I. I don't know about your experience in life but it doesn't sound like you have had any proper contact with somebody who is mentally ill. It all sounds like intimidation rather than actually any real odd behaviour to me.
    Sorry but why would someone do these things? For someone to go to such extents as these for attention or whatever other reason is mentally ill.
    I don't know how you can be so sure that this guy is mentally ill his actions as described do not say for certainty. Just because people do things that are anti social does not make them mentally ill I know that for certain. A cruel mean vindictive person who plots revenge is not mentally ill they may just simply be not very nice.
    I have described how somebody who was not mentally ill can behave you want to insist my friend was mentally ill without knowing him. He wasn't but he certainly made people think he was to intimidate him which was a what he wanted to do. He was not violent and it worked as a defence mechanism

On a side note. He hasn't actually threatened anybody. Another slight hint he may know what he is doing. The guards really aren't going to take this seriously as far as I can see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

The landlord basically said its very hard to get tenants in this current economic situation and if hes kicked out were going to have to pay his share of the rent till we ourselves find someone to move into Gerry's room.

Tell the landlord he's going to have to get a whole houseful of new tenants if he doesn't do something. As another poster said, a Garda report would help your case here. This guy clearly poses a genuine threat to all of you and if I were you, irritating the landlord would be preferable to winding up in hospital tbh.....he sounds like a freak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

Definitely involve the gardai and tell the landlord that you are doing so - also contact Threshold. The landlord should be required to provide a safe environment for you to live in. Otherwise like everybody else said - just all move out and then the landlord will have an even bigger problem than he does now.

Somebody doesn't have to be mentally ill to be a sick twisted or damaged person. You have a very narrow understanding of mental illness if you think it is so straight forward.
    Unless you were there you don't know so try not to speak as if you were. The accounts sound very like my former friend's tactics.

On your first point. yes, there is a clinical difference in the definition between someone who is "mentally ill" and say, sadistic, and so; on that technical level, yes, there is a difference between someone who will kill you because they're, sadly, ill and someone who will kill you for a laugh. But it's a moot point seeing as you'll be, like, dead an' all.

EDIT, forgot to add; If everyone else moves out, could we all be a fly on the wall when the landlord informs "Gerry" that he will now have to pay for the rest of the house until he finds replacements.

As for your second point. The guy you knew who acted strange didn't, as far as you know because you're not actually qualified to evaluate him, pose a serious threat, the one I knew, went on to kill.
    Added to that, I've known 2 guys that I can think of right now, who acted 'mad' and got off on people thinking they were mad; the last time I met one of them, there was clearly something not right. He wasn't trying to act 'mad' with me, but nothing he said checked out. And as for the other, he's receiving treatment.

• Kipperhell wrote: »

I'd say the same to you - you have a narrow understanding of mental illness if you think it is so straight forward. There are different degrees of mentally ill - you don't have to be totally out of touch with reality. I would say sick and twisted = mentally ill. The word twisted in itself implies something isn't right in there.
    Again you don't know that and neither do I. I don't know about your experience in life but it doesn't sound like you have had any proper contact with somebody who is mentally ill. It all sounds like intimidation rather than actually any real odd behaviour to me.

Again, even wanting to intimidate people in this fashion indicates mental illness to me. Who in their right mind would think to do that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭mylittlepony

Please as a group report to the gardai and inform landlord that ye are move out. I think you need to contact solictor regarding getting deposit back cos you are within your right landlord did not check out this guy background before lumping ye with him.
    I assume when you report to the guards about a mentally unstable person do they bring a doctor with them to visit the guy at the house, interview and evalute him from there. and then move to a pysch section for treatment/counselling.

Please dont let this guy disappear wot if the next group of people he move with will not be as lucky as ye.

DO something about it ASAP.
    And he need help/intervention ASAP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭bibbly

To OP,

I would contact the Gardai today and make a formal complaint..

Carefully write down everything first, if possible go as a group with your other normal housemates and the threatened girlfriend..

I would also demand from your landlord that the person in question gets evicted tonight..

If there is any delay, I would strongly consider moving out now and going to a friend or relative..

before its too late.

On your first point. yes, there is a clinical difference in the definition between someone who is "mentally ill" and say, sadistic, and so; on that technical level, yes, there is a difference between someone who will kill you because they're, sadly, ill and someone who will kill you for a laugh. But it's a moot point seeing as you'll be, like, dead an' all.
    Somebody who a sadist isn't mentally ill and also doesn't mean they will commit a violent act either. You are assuming he will be violent but by all accounts this guys doesn't appeared to have done anything other than be creepy.
    EDIT, forgot to add; If everyone else moves out, could we all be a fly on the wall when the landlord informs "Gerry" that he will now have to pay for the rest of the house until he finds replacements.

They would be breaking the lease and liable for the rent not him. Most landlords won't pursue it though. It is still best to move.
    As for your second point. The guy you knew who acted strange didn't, as far as you know because you're not actually qualified to evaluate him, pose a serious threat, the one I knew, went on to kill.
    Added to that, I've known 2 guys that I can think of right now, who acted 'mad' and got off on people thinking they were mad; the last time I met one of them, there was clearly something not right. He wasn't trying to act 'mad' with me, but nothing he said checked out. And as for the other, he's receiving treatment.

The guy was one of my closest friends for over 30 years and I know his family very well. I guess he could be undiagnosed along with making up an entire personality as a disguise for his madness. All possible but not likely I am not claiming to be an expert but I still would say I have a better idea about his mental health than you could be about a stranger who you are hearing one point of view about . Too many stories but he simply didn't try it around people who knew him well but the antics described are more like a movie character than real mental illness or dangerous behaviour.

When I read your story I didn't believe it and don't really trust your claim from your general tone. Violence committed by a mentally ill person is rare as is general murder and is pretty big news still in this country. Maybe I missed the story in the papers or it was described differently.

I was just thinking,I was away with some friends last year and we were doing that creeping people out for a laugh thing for the week end which was funny. It really was and I am by no way violent or sadomasochistic.

I think it is likely an overreaction to assume this guy will actually be violent and is worth being scared of. I really find it strange to think that the guards are going to do anything I don't think it would be any offence to do anything he has done, better off going to his family if possible.

[quote=[Deleted User];63852167]
    Again, even wanting to intimidate people in this fashion indicates mental illness to me. Who in their right mind would think to do that?[/QUOTE]
    Well that's nice for you but it doesn't make it so

Do you understand if you class everything you don't like down as mental illness you are effectively saying nobody is responsible or should have differing personality. It is probably more natural for people to be petty and confrontational but you would put that down as a mental illness.

What ever you guys want to say about mental illness is not fine and amounts to a phobia about illness category you appear to know nothing about. It is simply out and out prejudice mixed with ignorance. You don't need to be mental health expert to know what is scaremongering and ignorance.

You could be right that these people have moved in with somebody who just happens to be a actually true crazy person planning to murder everybody. No matter how rare such event, people and situations are. Or the more likely scenario that this guy is trying to intimidate everybody as is common in many house shares as people end up disliking people. I tend to believe the more common and plausible as a rule.
    bibbly wrote: »
    To OP,

I would contact the Gardai today and make a formal complaint..

Carefully write down everything first, if possible go as a group with your other normal housemates and the threatened girlfriend..
    He didn't threaten the girlfriend look back and you will see. Everything else amounts to him sitting in the dark, smiling at somebody but the one thing that might have some impact was enter a room in a shared house and sniffed some clothes. That really doesn't sound like a crime. Not really much the guards can do as far I can see.
    OP
    This is of little off topic now which is partially my fault.The main things is better move out to be sure but don't overly worry about something that is not very likely outside a plot from a movie.

Do you understand if you class everything you don't like down as mental illness you are effectively saying nobody is responsible or should have differing personality.

The definition of mental illness is exhibiting psychological behaviour that differs to the perceived norm. If you think the norm is to act like you have some kind of psychiatric issue in order to exert some kind of control over people then fine, otherwise he has a point.

Somebody who a sadist isn't mentally ill and also doesn't mean they will commit a violent act either. You are assuming he will be violent but by all accounts this guys doesn't appeared to have done anything other than be creepy

That might depend on your definition of "other than creepy" face book threats are just "creepy"? How about erm, let's just call them 'unsettling' notes?
    As for the rent comment; I was referring to subsequent rents. I mean if it's fair to expect them to pay...
    When I read your story I didn't believe it and don't really trust your claim from your general tone. Violence committed by a mentally ill person is rare as is general murder and is pretty big news still in this country. Maybe I missed the story in the papers or it was described differently.

Your evaluation there suggests your evaluation of your friend might well be seriously flawed;
    But no matter because you think you can judge according to whether you can remember the case; It wasn't in Ireland. But that doesn't matter either because even if I gave you the press clipping, you wont see anything that will confirm who did or didn't share accommodation facilities with him; Instead, rightly, it'll tell you about the family of the dead boy. How they knew the killer because they had extended great kindness to him when he first arrived in London. How he had a 'thing' for their daughter, but she already had a long term BF and how he persisted with his 'courting' even when she got engaged and then he still pestered her, in a similar fashion to what he got up to in our flat, and then still, even after the couple got married; So one day her brother was was walking down the street and thought he'd have it out with him.
    & Died.

Just an update my housemate with the girlfriend came in 10 minutes ago. He went straight to Gerry's room and began screaming at him calling him pathetic and a coward. He told Gerry that if he isn't out of the house by 9am tomorrow he will get the mother of all beatings. Gerry argued the landlord already talked to him but the guy with the girlfriend was having none of it and told him if he ever messeged his girlfriend a creepy messege like that again that he would be going straight to the guards. Gerry began breathing heavily like he was incredibly angry but my housemate just ignored him. Gerry then decided to get the Saw dvd and put it on in our living room with the volume at full blast (trying to scare us I quess) I came in, turned it off and took the dvd out and he stormed in telling me I just made the biggest mistake of my life.

I have decided to hide all the knives in my room tonight and lock the door. My housemate with the girlfriend isn't locking his door because in his own words ''i hope the little **** comes into my room and tries something''

Gerry is repeatedly saying we will be sorry (we are just ignoring him completely, I'm sitting in the living room on my laptop, roomate watching tv with Gerry talking to himself and us not even looking at him) and he is repeatedly trying to ring the landlord who isn't answering his calls (apparently after talking to my room mate with the girlfriend)

Gerry's saying hes not leaving tomorrow but my housemate with the girlfriend is just laughing this off saying hes going to make sure he does.

I reckon I'll wait till tomorrow and hopefully he'll be gone. With advice here ive taken note of all his weird behaviour incase something happens and I need to go to guards. Also have no contact details for his family unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

The definition of mental illness is exhibiting psychological behaviour that differs to the perceived norm. If you think the norm is to act like you have some kind of psychiatric issue in order to exert some kind of control over people then fine, otherwise he has a point.

whose definition is this? have you a link for it?

OP I think if you were really terrified you would have gone to the guards and left the house already!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭carolmon

He didn't threaten the girlfriend look back and you will see.QUOTE]

He left a message on her facebook calling her a slut and telling her she would get what's coming to her, I'd call that a serious threat but hey since you enjoy freaking people out maybe you have a different outlook on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

Just an update my housemate with the girlfriend came in 10 minutes ago. He went straight to Gerry's room and began screaming at him calling him pathetic and a coward. He told Gerry that if he isn't out of the house by 9am tomorrow he will get the mother of all beatings. Gerry argued the landlord already talked to him but the guy with the girlfriend was having none of it and told him if he ever messeged his girlfriend a creepy messege like that again that he would be going straight to the guards. Gerry began breathing heavily like he was incredibly angry but my housemate just ignored him. Gerry then decided to get the Saw dvd and put it on in our living room with the volume at full blast (trying to scare us I quess) I came in, turned it off and took the dvd out and he stormed in telling me I just made the biggest mistake of my life.

Unfortunately, this may have put your flatmate on the wrong side of both the law and the landlord.

sam34 wrote: »
    whose definition is this? have you a link for it?

I didn't link because that is the recognised definition, the issue is defining norm.

Take your pick...

http://medical-dictionary.thefreedictionary.com/mental+illness

http://www.medicinenet.com/mental_illness/glossary.htm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mental_disorder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

Sounds like Gerry isn't the only pyschopath living with you OP!

What are you going to do tomorrow morning when flatmate with the girlfiend starts beating the hell out of a mentally unstable person?

For everyone's sake ring the guards now!