Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

the game is starting to become annoying

• 07-01-2010 3:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭

the amount of cheaters is actually starting to get really bad!
    im talking about blatant aimbot users.
    and then theres also the people who are using the care package glitch.

its a certainty that you wouldnt see as much of these if there was dedicated servers.
    or an actual good anti cheat program being used like punkbuster.
    VAC is just terrible.

what do you guys think of this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

Whats the care package glitch?

I'm getting pissed off with the knifey-knifey gimps running around the levels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Whats the care package glitch?

You just answered your own question :p

if you run with the care package and knife you run faster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭craze7

Yup, hate thoes pricks!

Instant avoid on the xbox!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭Spaco

Completely agree, have started putting people on my avoid list on xbox. Played a few games on Ground War with my mates and every time we left and went to a difference group, sure enough theres a few more of the losers.....
    Really hope they patch these issues soon. Please IW, for me?????

Tallon wrote: »
    You just answered your own question :p

How the hell did they manage to code it where a care package would make you run around faster? Strange one.

Is there any talk on Infinity Ward working on a fix for it? Its retarded with a game called "Modern Warfare" these gimps can run around and kill an entire team with a knife.

How the hell did they manage to code it where a care package would make you run around faster? Strange one.

Well really it makes sense, I mean you can't run as fast with a handgun/tactical knife or Machine gun as apposed to a little red flare grenade!?

Speaking of course from personal experience :p

I'd say they will patch it

Well really it makes sense, I mean you can't run as fast with a handgun/tactical knife or Machine gun as apposed to a little red flare grenade!?

Speaking of course from personal experience :p

I'd say they will patch it

Ah right, I understand it now. Well if that's the case then its fair game (still annoying as hell though).
    I think they will need to reduce the accuracy of the knife though as you just need to be within a stones throw of an opponent to get a kill from the knife.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I love running around with the tactical knife and taking out teams full of people. Didn't know about the care package glitch though, must look into that. Besides, the only people who complain about it are the campers who keep returning to the same spots, therefore keep getting knifed by me over and over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,002 ✭✭✭Komplett-Tech: Ryan

The blatent aimbotters are annoying alright, but its no supprise everyone is using them people have links to the downloads from catalysthax in their blogs, on their youtube videos, even had one guy posting it on FB. But i find the simplest thing is to just leave the match and start again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭nevaeh-2die-4

i play it on the 360 and im getting really fed up of all the cheating, i play mostly ffa, and nearly every 2nd game someone gets a nuke, and you check the score board and the top guy has 25-0 and the last guy has 0-25, its happening all to often , most games i go into people ask do you want to boost.

ffs play the fcukn game .

i went prestige the other and was happy i did, but now playing again isnt as enjoyable the 2nd time round due to all the boosting & cheating .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Not The Real Scarecrow

Best thing to do is just give em bad rep and avoid them.Its funny though how quick you can join a game and just instinctivly know that there is cheating going on.Its completely pathetic that these idiots are so obsessed with reaching a higher level that they take the challenge(and the point) of the game away from themselves and others. I used to play gow2 religiously and just reached a point where all these assholes just destroyed the hame for me and was in a constant state of rage while playing. I love the new cod and am not gonna let the actions of others ruin the experience for me, after all its just a game and should be a means of reducing stress not increasing it. So if I suspect cheating I'll just quit and feck the loss that will appear, I couldn't give a ****e about the stats and hopefully the next game I'll go to will be better.

Oh, and in answer to what the care package glitch is, its where when you go to call the package or sentry gun, you have the flair in your hand, if you don't throw it and just run around instead you run at hyper speed.Its annoying but if you're careful and prepared for it these guys are easy enough to take out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭freshcream

i play it on the 360 and im getting really fed up of all the cheating, i play mostly ffa, and nearly every 2nd game someone gets a nuke, and you check the score board and the top guy has 25-0 and the last guy has 0-25, its happening all to often , most games i go into people ask do you want to boost.

ffs play the fcukn game .

i went prestige the other and was happy i did, but now playing again isnt as enjoyable the 2nd time round due to all the boosting & cheating .

I have noticed this as well and have started following them through every game they play doing all I can to stop their nukes while sending abusive messages at the same time, I'm finding this as much fun as playing the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 mkeane

there are a lot of aimbots appearing on the PC version in the last few weeks.
    I just leave the game and join another one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Gelio

I don't see why people nuke boost. The best killstreak I've ever got is 19 and I'm Damn proud of it (in free for all) but if I had got 25 through nuke boosting there would be no pride in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭Dymo

Is the X Box as open to cheating as other formats, I'm just new to the game and am a bit clueless about if a person is cheating or not? I just seem to be getting killed a lot which I don’t mind if its done legally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭Mac daddy

Dymo wrote: »
    Is the X Box as open to cheating as other formats, I'm just new to the game and am a bit clueless about if a person is cheating or not? I just seem to be getting killed a lot which I don’t mind if its done legally.

Get used to it will be like this untill you learn the maps and find a weapon that fits your playstyle!

Everyone was pretty much in the same boat at the start it does get better once you know where the campers usually are.

PC is the only one with the aimbots so far, PS3 and xBox people glitch all the time and a couple of twits do the level 10 prestige hack, they are easy to spot and kill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,352 ✭✭✭Ardent

Annoying is an understatement.

I find that some nights I spend more time in lobbies waiting for games than actually playing. Never again will I buy a PC shooter without dedicated server support.

The amount of campers in the game is ridiculous. The level designs don't help - they actually encourage it.

Ardent wrote: »

I find that some nights I spend more time in lobbies waiting for games than actually playing. Never again will I buy a PC shooter without dedicated server support.

The amount of campers in the game is ridiculous. The level designs don't help - they actually encourage it.
    Absolutely. The matchmaking is an absolute joke, how they managed to make it worse than the p2p matchmaking on MW1 I just do not know. Have been playing for an hour today now, NAT open obviously, an have yet to be put into a fresh game, always onto a team losing heavily and are absolutely shite. When this isn't happening, I'm left waiting and waiting in the lobby and am forming new games with two players but are never finding enough for a game to start, or that lobby will attempt to "merge" with another lobby, drop 90% of the players and I'll be sitting in another lobby with 4 players or something, not enough to join the game.

What a joke. The team behind the matchmaking in this game should be lined up and have their hands cut off, never to be allowed near a developing role again.

I've actually come to like 9/15 maps, yet somehow the other 6 always seem to be on. Crock of shite. Upcoming DLC had better be fantastic, otherwise bye bye MW2.

Ardent wrote: »

Also, if you think camping is bad on the PC try one of the console versions, dirty little camper fags in every game, hiding on their bellies facing doors wherever possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Instant Karma

Whats with all the camper hate? I love camping in shooters, not a thing wrong with it in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭Dymo

Rb wrote: »
    Also, if you think camping is bad on the PC try one of the console versions, dirty little camper fags in every game, hiding on their bellies facing doors wherever possible.

I'm pretty new to the Xbox and games and MW2 is my first game but I don't see the point in camping if your trying to improve, you don't see a fraction of players if your just camped in one place. Its ok for the newbies because it's the only way to get a kill but for for experienced players it's a joke. But there's nothing better than creeping up on the camper and using your knife then waiting for him to appear again in the same spot and doing him again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭Lands Leaving

Whats with all the camper hate? I love camping in shooters, not a thing wrong with it in fairness.

I tend to agree, the camping spots in MW2 are never too hard to find and you can almost always flank the camper anyway. When someone catches me from a hidden spot I think, fair play, must remember that next time. It helps me learn the maps.

I don't camp because the few times I've tried I get a)flanked and stabbed, b)shot before I see anyone else or c) Never actually see anyone else!

Gets boring sitting in one spot.

Um, yeah, there is. It's a dirty, cheap little tactic employed by people who can't play FPS games. Camper fags are called camper fags for a reason, and receive quite a bit of abuse in games, and they deserve each and every bit they get.

If it's a tactic you employ, then you're clearly shit at the game. Of course, you paid for it so you can do what you like, but if you've paid €50 to sit in a bush and wait for people to run by then I've a friend who's a wallet inspector who'd like a chat with you.
    Dymo wrote: »
    I'm pretty new to the Xbox and games and MW2 is my first game but I don't see the point in camping if your trying to improve, you don't see a fraction of players if your just camped in one place. Its ok for the newbies because it's the only way to get a kill but for for experienced players it's a joke. But there's nothing better than creeping up on the camper and using your knife then waiting for him to appear again in the same spot and doing him again.

I quit most games if the opposite team has more than 1 camper. I'm also the host in most games so am usually thrilled to interrupt it for the camping fags.

Um, yeah, there is. It's a dirty, cheap little tactic employed by people who can't play FPS games. Camper fags are called camper fags for a reason, and receive quite a bit of abuse in games, and they deserve each and every bit they get.

If it's a tactic you employ, then you're clearly shit at the game. Of course, you paid for it so you can do what you like, but if you've paid €50 to sit in a bush and wait for people to run by then I've a friend who's a wallet inspector who'd like a chat with you.

I quit most games if the opposite team has more than 1 camper. I'm also the host in most games so am usually thrilled to interrupt it for the camping fags.

LOL

In game abuse doesn't bother me in the slightest. Am I fairly crap at the game? ... yea! Still tho I love to camp the bit out and its great in truth. Nothing like waiting at a choke point and noobtubing some enemies down (yea I noob tube too). Sure I get flanked and stabbed at times but fair play.

I play with 4 or 5 friends at nights, we play CTF and maybe 3 of us camp the flag in defence, i'ts great craic. Pick up an RPD and you can lay so much waste with those its crazy. Good times indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 scobey87

sorry lads have to ask wat is noobtubing???

scobey87 wrote: »
    sorry lads have to ask wat is noobtubing???

Grenade launcher attachment for assault rifles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Unlimited sprint, silent footsteps, great fun :D VAC is none-existant.
    Oh? That sounds odd. Saying that, I run around with a P90, so if the knife misses (and they don't stab me), I can swing around to spray and pray :P :D

=-=

With KillCam on, there's no point in camping in some maps, as they just come back and kill you. On others, I can camp for ages, and only move when someone gets killed by my claymore. In saying that, on Afghan, Terminal,

I play sabotage mainly...

Afghan: great for sniping :D
    Derail is a big map, but apart from the first 10 minutes, I dislike camping in it, unless I find a camper, then I play counter-camper.
    Estate can be good for sniping, but it depends. Not always fun.
    Favela is great, esp whilst on the roofs, sniping people peeking out. Always fun finding where people camp.
    Highrise can be good, but it depends on your team, and the opposing team. Sometimes I can get onto the top of the buildings, and have a good laugh sniping. Nothing more fun than getting to the roof, planting a claymore, and sniping, only for some poor bas*ard to get killed at the last section trying to knife me :D
    Invasion is filled with excellent sniper spots.
    Karachi: everyone knows all the camping spots, but it's still fun to camp in spots that give you a view of spots where the other team will camp. Ensuring the enemy can't camp for a period of 20 seconds can get your team to plant the bomb.
    Quarry: can run around shooting, there are a few sniping spots, but unless the as there are so many routes, you can be successfull, or waiting a long time.
    Rundown: lots of camping spots, but you can only really defend one bomb by long term camping.
    Rust: bleh. You can camp on top of the place, and be a wanker :P
    Scrapyard: camping can be fun
    Skidrow: have a few camping spots, but none for long term camping
    Sub Base: love it at times. camping can be great, and still finding ways to get into good spots
    Terminal: lots of camping spots, some in the open, some on top of boxes. love killing n00b campers by shooting nearby barrels
    Underpass: some great spots, and if camping with someone on lookout, can be great.
    Wasteland: ugh. hate it.
    If it's a tactic you employ, then you're clearly **** at the game.
    How do you defend a bomb, other than camp? Run around in the open? Predator missile will kill you :D

LOL

In game abuse doesn't bother me in the slightest. Am I fairly crap at the game? ... yea! Still tho I love to camp the bit out and its great in truth. Nothing like waiting at a choke point and noobtubing some enemies down (yea I noob tube too). Sure I get flanked and stabbed at times but fair play.

I play with 4 or 5 friends at nights, we play CTF and maybe 3 of us camp the flag in defence, i'ts great craic. Pick up an RPD and you can lay so much waste with those its crazy. Good times indeed.

I was worried about you geting your come-upins, but then I seen your name :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 scobey87

alri thanks was wreckin my head.

Syco was referring to camping in TDM/hTDM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ri_Nollaig

Bit of a difference between camping and defending.
    Staying in one spot on a non-objective based game mode or when on the attackers team of an objective game mode is camping.
    Gaurding the flag/target is defending.

Camping as been the death of a lot of good games.
    And for those who defend it, what happends when EVERYONE is camping? Have played a few hardcore team deathmatch games that certainly felt like that.

Ri_Nollaig wrote: »
    Bit of a difference between camping and defending.
    Staying in one spot on a non-objective based game mode or when on the attackers team of an objective game mode is camping.
    Gaurding the flag/target is defending.

Camping as been the death of a lot of good games.
    And for those who defend it, what happends when EVERYONE is camping? Have played a few hardcore team deathmatch games that certainly felt like that.
    Lol, hardcore tdm is camper v camper and if you're not a camper I wouldn't bother playing it at all. They're such cowardly little wimps it's unreal.

You're right though and the state MW2 is in right now could be the death of it. I'm still so tempted to just sell off my copy as the game is, more often than not, just frustrating and not fun. I've got it into my head that the DLC coming will make the game better, but the inherent problems with lag, a ton of ****e maps, awful matchmaking and games jam packed with retarded little campers won't go away I fear.

There's simply too much incentives for people to camp on MW2, way, way too much. A tactical nuke? Are you f*cking serious? Great addition to a multiplayer FPS, IW, you f-ing clowns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭TheHairyFairy

Camping is part of the game, get over it. Depending on the game mode its more prevalent. As Karma says having a few players defending objectives is not camping, and if you think it is you clearly don't understand playing as a team.

In CTF/Demo/Sab etc if you don't have a few guarding then its game over, a team full of Rambos chasing up the map is a sure fire way to loose and not enjoy proper team play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,203 ✭✭✭shanec1928

put a claymore behind or beside them shoot beside them which will make them move and it will annoy the hell out of them and is great fun doing it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Syco was referring to camping in TDM/hTDM
    Ah, gotcha. Try not to play TDM much, as without objective, may as well play free for all.
    Ri_Nollaig wrote: »
    And for those who defend it, what happends when EVERYONE is camping?
    Have played a few maps in CoD4 for that, but with dedicated servers, you knew what you were getting into: heck it often hinted at it in the server name. With the current sh|t, you auto join a clan of snipers. You don't get to choose a non-sniping server.
    There's simply too much incentives for people to camp on MW2, way, way too much. A tactical nuke? Are you f*cking serious? Great addition to a multiplayer FPS, IW, you f-ing clowns.
    Ugh. I hate nukes. I'll curse whoever uses it, my team or not. It's pure bo||ox :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭EIREHotspur

Killstreaks are stupid and overdone.

I think they should introduce actual things like Armoured Tanks, Helicopters to control like Battlefield 2 is doing.

What is a great war simulation is ruined by automated sh!t flying around the sky above you......makes it too arcade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭Rezident

I think they should introduce actual things like Armoured Tanks, Helicopters to control like Battlefield 2 is doing.

What is a great war simulation is ruined by automated sh!t flying around the sky above you......makes it too arcade.

I thought arcade was what they were aiming for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Burgo

Rezident wrote: »
    I thought arcade was what they were aiming for?

When have any of the cod games not been arcade like?

The Mission is supposed to be simulation of War, Spec Ops is simulation of War....Online should be an extension of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ri_Nollaig

It has always been arcadey.
    Check out games like Operation Flashpoint if you want a Solider Sim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

Ye once ya get a nuke its kinda meh..the big wait over nothing really...was a big anti climax

Soby wrote: »
    the big wait for over nothing really...was a big anti climax

Thats what she said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭James Forde

^lol

i couldn't give a flying fcuk a bout getting a nuke, if i get 25 kills i am generally winning whatever game i'm in and don't need a poxy nuke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

The Mission is supposed to be simulation of War, Spec Ops is simulation of War....Online should be an extension of that.

LOL

That's actually insulting to the developers of the game, saying it is supposed to be a simulation of war.

Jesus christ, I mean, what is your idea of war? Casually dropping into enemy territory after enemy territory and proceeding to waltz around various alleys killing hundreds of people who pop out like a shooting gallery? The main mission is like a Tom Clancy novel on crack. It's an arcade adrenaline thrill ride, it doesn't pretend to be any more. As for the spec ops, sure yeah lets fly down this mountain on a snowmobile, popping caps into dozens of enemy snowmobiles that keep crashing in front of us, then we have to destroy all the vehicles on this bridge or else something bad will happen, in the meantime our friends will be crawling around in the snow between trained dogs that have no sense of smell or hearing.

If the game is annoying you, play something else. It's just a videogame.

OctavarIan wrote: »
    LOL

That's actually insulting to the developers of the game, saying it is supposed to be a simulation of war.

Jesus christ, I mean, what is your idea of war? Casually dropping into enemy territory after enemy territory and proceeding to waltz around various alleys killing hundreds of people who pop out like a shooting gallery? The main mission is like a Tom Clancy novel on crack. It's an arcade adrenaline thrill ride, it doesn't pretend to be any more. As for the spec ops, sure yeah lets fly down this mountain on a snowmobile, popping caps into dozens of enemy snowmobiles that keep crashing in front of us, then we have to destroy all the vehicles on this bridge or else something bad will happen, in the meantime our friends will be crawling around in the snow between trained dogs that have no sense of smell or hearing.

If the game is annoying you, play something else. It's just a videogame.

Okie Dok Grandad.

If this was so arcade-like.....why did it take two years to develop and is the attention to detail on weapons, Graphics and the physics of the game so realistic?

It is more simulation than arcade....thats why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭hypersquirrel

Okie Dok Grandad.

If this was so arcade-like.....why did it take two years to develop and is the attention to detail on weapons, Graphics and the physics of the game so realistic?

Actually the guns don't look that much like their real life counterparts and good graphics does not alter gameplay. The game plays like an arcade style shooter. OF;DR is a simulation fps, MW2 is an arcade one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Okie Dok Grandad.

The horrendous lack of recoil, the double shotguns/pistols, the riot shield that blocks everything? Are you kidding me? Have you ever played a simulation military fps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭jmcc

So when you get hit by a bullet from a Barrett and it momentarily slows you down and then you resume what you were doing, how does that relate to being a "simulation of war"? And then there is the whole issue of running around with a six foot long sniper rifle and using it like an assault rifle. Perhaps it is the kind of war that exists only in your simulation of reality. :)

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

Okie Dok Grandad.

Listen to me, boy

Two years is on the short end of the scale for videogame development. I can't comment on the weapon details, I know feck all about military weapons. The graphics aren't mindblowing, fairly standard for this stage of the current gen. The physics being realistic? Why then can I not shoot through certain leaves and when I jump from a height onto a car it explodes? Also it takes two hands and a good grip to drive a snowmobile down a mountain. And find me a 15x10ft window that totally smashes into tiny pieces when I knife it.

I don't even know why I'm wasting my time replying, I'm pretty sure you're trolling, I must be really bored

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Useful.Idiot

lol its a funny argument though.

Imagine in a real war just spotting a burning flare and then all of a sudden some guy just teleports there and shoots you. Pesky tactical inserters!