Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nutrition for Connemara Ultra

• 06-01-2010 8:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭

According to the website, runners can have items left at three points along the way.

I'm assuming there will be the usual water, isotonics and gels along the way, and I'll have the odd gel strapped to me at the start.

For anyone that has done ultras before, what would you recommend to have stationed at the three points. Is there any super duper TNT laced gels, drinks or bars that I should consider getting? Probably something that has added minerals, or fast absorbing carb formula (or even pain killers :eek:)

Perhaps a homemade recipe people would swear by? I already found one that uses dates, bananas, coconut oil etc. but looking for options, as I'd probably need to start trying some out now, to see how I get on with them.

Cheers

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

They provided some isotonic drink at some of the later water stations, I can't remember what it was as I had my own lucozade along the route.

They don't provide gels, I carried my own gel belt.

I had a carton of orange juice at one station and some jelly babies. Lucozade sport and jelly babies at another aid station and lucozade sport and I think jaffa cakes at another(this was robbed on me though :pac: ) You can put a drink and gels and food at three stations, once they're sellotaped together they count as one item.

As for what to bring. Try some stuff out in training and figure out for yourself I suppose. Some people will bring sandwiches, chocolate drinks, biscuits.

Some things which seem to be popular choices are tuc biscuits, fig rolls, jaffa cakes, jellies of any kind, bananas, stuff thats easy to eat and easy to digest. As with running marathons what works for some doesn't work for others. I have a link here about what people bring on 100milers so I'll have a look for the link for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Aimman

Cheers RacoonQueen,

Its good that they allow the three things as one, once it's selotaped.

Think I'll lick the stuff first, so if anyone robs it, I'll have the last laugh. That is, as soon as I'm in a condition to laugh, lol.

I'll experiment with the different stuff during some of my middle and long runs, to see what sits best on the tum. I've never really eaten solids during a marathon, just gels, but I dont think thats enought for an ultra. I read Dean Karnazes book where he ate a whole pizza and cheesecake at one point in a 135M race, and washed it down with a large coffee. Not sure what impressed me more, the distance or his appetite,:D

Its going to be a rush to get to the Catherderal Car Park for 7am for the coach, so I reckon I'll transform my porridge and stuff into some type of breakfast snack bar to eat while waiting on the coach, saves me from running around at sillly o clock getting breakfast and getting ready

• Closed Accounts Posts: 576 ✭✭✭sarsfieldsrock

They gave out Gatorade, I think, in cups at some of the ultra aid stations last year and the year before. These staions are only in the last 3rd of the race though.
    Because the half marathon runners pass by the aid stations first, unless you are seriously quick!, there is always the risk that your drink will be gone when you go for it in the last 3rd of the race. I had two bottles of lucozade sport with mars bars attached to them vanish on me last year.
    My younger brother ran the half and informed me that he took one of them the brat! I had my name on them as well. But the other was probably taken by an half or marathon runner. So don't rely on these later ones being there.
    I would take my essential stuff with me in a gel belt.

At the pre race briefing at Peacockes hotel they had bananas last year if I remember correctly. It did me fine for breakfast.

I had two bottles of lucozade sport with mars bars attached to them vanish on me last year.

I'll pour mine into an old laxative bottle. Should keep people away from it. :P

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Aimman wrote: »
    I'll pour mine into an old laxative bottle. Should keep people away from it. :P

Mine was in a Leeds United bottle and it was STILL robbed. :pac: I can't find the link but I have it printed out somewhere so the URL should be on that. Check out this site though which has some good stuff http://www.ultrunr.com/index.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭911sc

When i did the marathon in 2008, i remembered ultra guys complaining about the fact that ultra stations had been emptied by half/marathon runners.

If memory serves me well, organisation had provided stations for half/full runners on one side of the road and stations for ultra on the opposite side. But anybody used any stations on either side:( so by the time ultra arrives, there was no much left.

I am running the Ultra this year and will run it self-sufficient with camelbak for water and gels/snacks.

911sc wrote: »
    When i did the marathon in 2008, i remembered ultra guys complaining about the fact that ultra stations had been emptied by half/marathon runners.

If memory serves me well, organisation had provided stations for half/full runners on one side of the road and stations for ultra on the opposite side. But anybody used any stations on either side:( so by the time ultra arrives, there was no much left.

I am running the Ultra this year and will run it self-sufficient with camelbak for water and gels/snacks.

They have the event well organised but I don't think they guard the Ultra stations well enough. I know the people manning them are volunteers in the main and the sheer numbers of the half runners probably means its hard to prevent them taking them.
    Still you know the different race competitors by the color of their number so I think that it is a bit of a fault on the race organisers part that they cannot somehow fence off the ultra stations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Hi folks,

All good and useful info here about the nutrition for the Ultra.

However, I was wondering if it would be useful setting up a separate page specifically for the Ultra in Connemara but to include all aspects of the race as opposed to just the nutrition element on here?
    Personally, this will be my first event longer than a marathon and I could do with feedback about all things from those that have done it before and other noobs alike.

What ye think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Highway_To_Hell

belcarra wrote: »
    Hi folks,

All good and useful info here about the nutrition for the Ultra.

However, I was wondering if it would be useful setting up a separate page specifically for the Ultra in Connemara but to include all aspects of the race as opposed to just the nutrition element on here?
    Personally, this will be my first event longer than a marathon and I could do with feedback about all things from those that have done it before and other noobs alike.

What ye think?

good idea, as this is also my first 26.2+ race, I adapted a 50mile race training plan for this race and I m just hoping it works for me. Main focus is on back to back runs and endurance work. no speed work at all for this event.

I hadn't even started to think about race day nutrition. I am planning on doing all training runs shorter then 20 miles without gels as I think this will assist in my bodies ability to store glycogen (could be totally wrong).

All ultra advice would be gladly appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭IronTractorBoy

Last year there was some at their aid stations but not much by the time I got there (I was near the back) not sure if those doing just the marathon or half.

I know the organisers said they will make best endevour to get bags there which I split my nutrition in to 3 evenly placed. Then when I got to about 30 miles for my last lot of nutirtion some bugger had taken it all, even the Ipswich Town carrier bag it was in.
    I was slightly knackered at that point soo much that the support vechiles got me an Lucozade glucose and later some chocolate easter egg.

What I learned was to take slightly more with me for each bag drop off so I would have some in reserve if any were missing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭aburke

They have the event well organised but I don't think they guard the Ultra stations well enough. I know the people manning them are volunteers in the main and the sheer numbers of the half runners probably means its hard to prevent them taking them.
    Still you know the different race competitors by the color of their number so I think that it is a bit of a fault on the race organisers part that they cannot somehow fence off the ultra stations.
    We can't legislate for a**holes. We have had reports of half marathoners physically pushing volunteers aside to take Ultra suff, even when they were told it wasn't for them, and there was no shortage of stuff for them.
    We do our best though.

good idea, as this is also my first 26.2+ race.

First ultra for me too...and starting the year with chest infection:(
    No plan yet for nutrition, not plan yet for training other than a lot of back-to-back runs being 10km to work/back from work as much as i can during the week and 25kms+ back to back weekends.

Like yourself, i plan on running "empty" (low carb day(s) before and no gel during) during some of my training LSRs, just plain water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

First ultra for me too...and starting the year with chest infection:(

Don't worry. Last time I ran the Ultra I started the year with pneumonia and was in bed for the entire January, coughing up my lungs bit by bit. I still managed to survive the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,790 ✭✭✭Enduro

Nutrition for the Conn ultra isn't much more complicated than for a marathon, and the race organisers do a good job of giving the ultrarunners that extra bit of help.

I've found over the years that doing LSRs without taking food and drink during the run definitely helps getting the body used to not needing them as much.

Enduro wrote: »
    I've found over the years that doing LSRs without taking food and drink during the run definitely helps getting the body used to not needing them as much.

Enduro, would you advice that for extra long training runs (say, 30 miles) as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Highway_To_Hell

In another thread HoneyMonster advises back to back long runs are better then standalone longer runs as this gets your legs use to running when tired. The plan I am working on has me doing a 25 mile run on Sat and 20 mile on Sun (two weekends of this at the end of Feb and beginning of March) other weekends have me doing 15-20 miles each day. I am still debating with doing one 30 mile run but will do it early enough to make sure I recover in time for D-Day.

In my training, I peak at 2 x 20m runs, 4 weeks and 2weeks before the race. Maximum distance during the weeks is 12Ms. I wonder am I not getting enough miles in. it averages 50M per week right up to up to the last LSR.

In another thread HoneyMonster advises back to back long runs are better then standalone longer runs as this gets your legs use to running when tired. The plan I am working on has me doing a 25 mile run on Sat and 20 mile on Sun (two weekends of this at the end of Feb and beginning of March) other weekends have me doing 15-20 miles each day. I am still debating with doing one 30 mile run but will do it early enough to make sure I recover in time for D-Day.

I've done the Ultra twice, both times the back-to-back 20 mile runs were the backbone of my training, and both times I suffered badly from 30 miles onwards during the race.

I'm now planning on doing a couple of back-to-back weekends, but also 2 longer training runs of 30 miles and probably 2 runs of about 25 miles as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭IronTractorBoy

I also used the 2 x20 mile advice last year, Saturday I did my training run and Sunday I did a 20 mile race but at my goal pace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Abhainn

Enduro, would you advice that for extra long training runs (say, 30 miles) as well?

If you plan an LSR of 30 miles I would think you would need some form of refueling.
    But I believe building up your back to back LSR's gradually is the key as the body adapts.
    Last year I had already one 20 LSR completed before I started into the back to back LSR phase. I started off with 12 & 16 and increased each by 2 miles every weekend without no fuel, just water.

week 1. 12 & 16
    week 2. 14 & 18
    week 3. 16 & 20
    week 4. race
    week 5. 20 & 20
    week 6. 24 & 20
    week 7. step back
    week 8. 24 & 21
    week 9. 16 & 12
    week 10. indoor tri race & 11
    week 11. Ultra

I peaked the LSR last year at 24 miles and I doubt I will be repeat that again as I think that is counter to been benefical.
    But I am following the same idea again below for the 2010 race as it worked for me last year

I've done the last two Ultras with vastly different training regimes and times.
    Two years ago I followed, more or less, the Hal Higdon training plan for the Comrades Ultra. This has Mon, Fri as rest and something like 7, 6, 8 for Wed-Thurs with one of hills etc.
    The mainstay are two long runs on Sat and Sunday. They were specified in time as in 2 hr Sat, 3 hr Sun. This moved up to 4 hr Sat and 5 hr Sun which for me was 24 and 30 mile runs at 10min pace. There was about 2 weeks at the 4 hr, 5 hr with the other weeks working up to it and about a 3 week wind down to the race.
    This worked well for me on the race.

Last year due to injury my longest run was 18 miles.
    This did not work well come race day.

I would say that the back to back long runs are essential and would advise doing at least one 30 mile training run.

The Wicklow Way Ultra (44kms) is on the 27th March, 2 weeks before Connemara. I am considering including it in my training as my last long run, though wondering if it is not too close to the Connemara Ultra?

It does look interesting. You could use it as one last long run.
    How difficult is it to find your way around the course? Would you be able to do it without a map and compass or could you get lost etc?

duplicate.

The route is very easy to follow bare a couple of turns not to be missed. But once you know where they are, then you are ok, just follow the trail.

I mapped part of the route a while ago.
    But never mapped the section from River Bridge to Lough Tay

The mainstay are two long runs on Sat and Sunday. They were specified in time as in 2 hr Sat, 3 hr Sun. This moved up to 4 hr Sat and 5 hr Sun which for me was 24 and 30 mile runs at 10min pace. There was about 2 weeks at the 4 hr, 5 hr with the other weeks working up to it and about a 3 week wind down to the race.

What was your time on the day?

I run marathons in approx 4h (5min40sec per km / 9min per mile average pace) and wondering if i should slow down (never i would i have thought about writing something like this:)) on race day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭mithril

It does look interesting. You could use it as one last long run.
    How difficult is it to find your way around the course? Would you be able to do it without a map and compass or could you get lost etc?
    Its hard to get lost since it follows the Wicklow Way for almost all of the route and this is sign-posted.

In some ways though its a tougher race than the Connemarathon - its much hillier (1740m height gain ), you carry your own water and provisions, and it has an off-road surface - so even if you run it even at training pace, you are unlikely to have fully recovered in 2 weeks.

So if the goal is to get an optimal time in Connemarathon, running this is likely to compromise it.

I was considering the Wicklow Way race too, but after all the miles I was putting in, I'd be gutted if I got an injury on the trail just before the big race.

Regarding an earlier post, about getting your body used to not having gels and water on training runs, I find it easy at the moment not to need much water on long runs. I'm not losing much fluid because of the cold weather, but as the temperatures increase, it might be difficult to maintain, so hopefully the weather wont be too warm on the day.

I'm still in two minds as to keep going with two LSR's each weekend (I was planning every 2nd weekend, but looks like is wasnt enough) or taking away one of the LSR weekends and replacing it with a 30 mile run on one day. But if i was to do it, how many weeks before the race would be the best time to do it, for maximum effect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,549 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

mithril wrote: »
    In some ways though its a tougher race than the Connemarathon - its much hillier (1740m height gain ), you carry your own water and provisions, and it has an off-road surface - so even if you run it even at training pace, you are unlikely to have fully recovered in 2 weeks.
    There are a couple of water stations, manned by volunteers along the way (with some fruit and jellies). Also, you can have provisions dropped off at the mid-point. But yes, nothing like a regular pit-stop every three miles.

What was your time on the day?

I run marathons in approx 4h (5min40sec per km / 9min per mile average pace) and wondering if i should slow down (never i would i have thought about writing something like this:)) on race day?

I ran that one in 6:43. I went through the marathon spot onn the 10 min miles that I had planned on doing the whole thing in. I had targetted 6:30 or 3 2:10 halves.
    But the last third I slowed badly and did in 2:23.
    My mistake was in trying to run the whole thing. I ran the up the hill coming out of Leenane when I should have walked it and other hills before and after that.
    At the time I was running marathons in around 4 hours myself but decided to do all my long runs at 10 min for the ultra.
    This year I will try for a 9:30 pace but will try to walk the worst of the hills.

Last years one I did in 7:17. I had only managed a long run of 18 miles due to injury so probably shouldn't have done it but I got around. 4:36 to Leenane and I was having to walk from 20 miles on. Ireland winning the Grand Slam the night before didn't help.

Thanks for the run/walk advice. It had crossed my mind a lot specially after having read a thread about it in October before DCM.

As this will be my first ultra, finishing is my primary objective....but a runner never really forgets about the watch....So, like yourself, 6h45min is more or less what i have in mind, approx 2h10min per 21kms (that was my running pace when i did a HIM in August), so should be realistic enough-ish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Gonzales

According to the website, runners can have items left at three points along the way.

I'm assuming there will be the usual water, isotonics and gels along the way, and I'll have the odd gel strapped to me at the start.

For anyone that has done ultras before, what would you recommend to have stationed at the three points. Is there any super duper TNT laced gels, drinks or bars that I should consider getting? Probably something that has added minerals, or fast absorbing carb formula (or even pain killers :eek:)

Perhaps a homemade recipe people would swear by? I already found one that uses dates, bananas, coconut oil etc. but looking for options, as I'd probably need to start trying some out now, to see how I get on with them.

Cheers
    Perpetuem from hammer nutrition is excellent source of complex carbs with a little protein. Mix it thick in about 150-200ml of water & neck the lot. You may wash it down with other drinks.
    don't mix it thin as the taste ain't great so you're better off getting it into you fast & be done with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,790 ✭✭✭Enduro

I do for all my runs, even the 4 hour runs (about the longest I do). But I would have worked up to it over time. I've never carried any nutrition on a training run. In very hot conditions I might plan for placing/carrying water. I've occassionally got that wrong and ended up getting very very thirsty, but from my own point of view it was good that I could cope with that, get through it and keep running, and re-hydrate afterwards. The experiences definitely helped me cope with situations in desert races when water had run out. It also enables me to skip past water stations, even in marathons and ultras, for tactical reasons if needs be.

On the Wicklow Ultra... If I had to choose between Connemara and the WU, I'd take the WU for sure. It a much more interesting race. Its also easily the best value ultra in Ireland, and is much better value than all the marathons as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

Cheers RacoonQueen,

Its good that they allow the three things as one, once it's selotaped.

Think I'll lick the stuff first, so if anyone robs it, I'll have the last laugh. That is, as soon as I'm in a condition to laugh, lol.

I'll experiment with the different stuff during some of my middle and long runs, to see what sits best on the tum. I've never really eaten solids during a marathon, just gels, but I dont think thats enought for an ultra. I read Dean Karnazes book where he ate a whole pizza and cheesecake at one point in a 135M race, and washed it down with a large coffee. Not sure what impressed me more, the distance or his appetite,:D

Its going to be a rush to get to the Catherderal Car Park for 7am for the coach, so I reckon I'll transform my porridge and stuff into some type of breakfast snack bar to eat while waiting on the coach, saves me from running around at sillly o clock getting breakfast and getting ready
    Why dont you eat your breakie the night before ? Bread butter and jam with a banana would do you oon the morning....Never done an ultra but you will need the miles in your legs and all the nutrition in the world aint worth a damn if you got those.

Would the brekkie the night before stand to me the next day? Or would it just sit on the stomach keeping me awake overnight? I've have a few weissbeirs the night before a marathon, so the carbs are in a liquid and absorbed easier (thats my excuse) but would meal in the evening instead of the morningbe jut the same affect? I was planning on making flapjacks to eat on the morning.

I've plenty of miles in the legs, and many more to cover in the next few weeks, but I wasnt sure what happens to the body after the 26M mark and was wondering about any special nutrition that could be taken during the race to avoid any 'walls' etc that might be waiting for me after the 26M mark.:)

I came across this ultra running website. Some interesting reading in training section.

Reviving January thread for some Connemara Ultra specific advice (non-nutrition).

Clothing/warmth/sunscreen: Because you are running at a pace below marathon pace (in my case probably close to marathon recovery pace) does staying warm during the ultra become an issue? This will be my fourth Connemarathon outing, so I know what nature can throw at you on a whim in these parts of the country, but given the plan is to be out there for at least 5 hours, I presume clothing and weather protection takes on a more significant meaning.

Do you wear/carry sun-screen?
    do you wear more than you would for a marathon?
    Do you carry extra layers or rainproof gear?
    Any other clothing-related tips?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭Mick Rice

Reviving January thread for some Connemara Ultra specific advice (non-nutrition).

Do you wear/carry sun-screen?

Yes, in a race like this I wear it and worry about the weather afterwards

do you wear more than you would for a marathon?

Not necessarily, I'd just look at the weather and make more or lees the same call for one as for another. However in Connemara I'd err on the cautious side as conditions can be so unpredictable in the mountains.

No..

I've heard it said before that if you're feeling chilly standing at the start of a marathon then you've probably got your gear about right. I'd personally work on that basis for Connemara too. The only other thing I can offer is that sometimes I wear an old shirt under a singlet with my number on and then, if I get too warm, I take both off (on the run) and discard the t-shirt (at an aid station) and put the singlet back on.

Good luck in the race.

Thanks Mick, that's very helpful. Are you still lining up for this one too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Abhainn

Do you wear/carry sun-screen??
    A good idea is slap on some of your kids factor 40 before start.
    Hadn't really thought of running nearly 5 hrs in the rain if we were so unlucky:eek:
    Last year was cold and I was going to disgard an old T-shirt I had on over my singlet at the start. I ended up wearing it till mile 10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

I rarely wear anything heavier than a singlet in a race even if it's cold/drizzling. For anything up to a half marathon you're going to be running fast enough to keep warm for 1.5 - 2 hours. I wore a singlet for the Dublin marathon as well and found that to be enough (3.5 hours). For the Conn Ultra though I was wearing a fleece at the start which I was intending on discarding at the first possible aid station / mile marker. I ended up wearing it for the first 13 miles or so. I wasn't running fast enough to keep warm. So I think for someone like Mick who's going to be powering along a singlet is enough but if you're going to be running at significantly slower than your regular marathon race pace you may need another (discardable) layer.

Thanks for the advice guys. A good opportunity to wear some of the cheap Nike gear I picked up, earlier this year. If I have to discard it, no loss, it'll go to a good home.

** Makes note to bring a big plastic bag and pick up any discarded clothes as I'm running along, and keep them till someone becomes famous and wins an Olympic medal, then sell the stuff on eBay :-) **

I couldnt see the advantage of running with rain gear. I find that once I'm wet in the rain, it doesnt matter if its 5 min or a few hours (as I found out at last year's Longford Marathon), it cant get any worse.

Mind you, I forgot about the sunscreen, probably because it's in April. Would the waterproof stuff be better, seeing as I'd be sweating a lot? I cant remember what I used for Cork last year, but I would have hated to be one af the unfortuantes that didnt put anything on then.

I wouldn't mind getting wet in a marathon, as it's only three hours or so, but getting soaked at the start of a 5 hour plus race (or worse staying soaked for a 5 hour race)? Ugh.. Chaffing in areas that you previously didn't know existed!

Can I buy my clothes back off you at the end of the race? There's little fear of me hitting the Olympics, unless they introduce some kind of XBox / Pizza duathlon type event.

When I did the Ultra in 2007 it was sunny all the way and I didn't get burnt even though I didn't use any sun cream. I doubt I'll bother. The Connemara sun isn't that strong in April.

Same goes for rain gear. I don't wear any in a marathon, and the effort during the ultra isn't THAT much less. I'd be more worried about overheating in a rain jacket.

I'll wear the same gear I use for a marathon, with the exception of shoes. They'll have a bit more cushioning than my normal racing shoes.

I'd be more worried about overheating in a rain jacket.
    I agree. I think you will just end up soaked in sweat with the same comfort issues if you wear a fully waterproof jacket.
    I have a very light windproof layer, which also offers some limited rain protection, which I will consider wearing depending on the conditions, but only to keep warm not to stay dry.

If its cold though, I definitely will bring a cheap pair of gloves from Dunnes since my fingers are often cold when the rest of me is OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

I got sunburned the year I did connemara. I remember Ray giving the pre-race briefing and telling us it was possible we would experience all 4 seasons out there. I thought he was nuts, but it was true. We had hailstones at one point and sunburn at another. i usually use a waterproof sunscreen (as most of my marathons start with a bit of a swim and a cycle) and it works well but some people find it blocks sweat ducts and they overheat. Just something to be aware of. I wouldn't bother with rain gear. As someone said, once you're wet, you can't get any wetter. Maybe extra vaseline at the start to protect against chaffing.

As for what to bring. Try some stuff out in training and figure out for yourself I suppose. Some people will bring sandwiches, chocolate drinks, biscuits.

Some things which seem to be popular choices are tuc biscuits, fig rolls, jaffa cakes, jellies of any kind, bananas, stuff thats easy to eat and easy to digest. As with running marathons what works for some doesn't work for others. I have a link here about what people bring on 100milers so I'll have a look for the link for you.

Jumping back to the original thread topic, I have experimented with nearly all of the suggestions here during my long runs and it's good advice. I found chocolate milk a bit heavy on the stomach - everything else worked fine for me.
    I have changed my original strategy which was to approach it similiar to a marathon, for which I find 2 gels quite adequate.
    I found I was getting very hungry 4 hours into a run,and if I had nothing to available to eat, my pace was noticeably dropping and I started to think obsessively about food!
    Due to the reduced pace compared with a marathon , you can tolerate solid food a lot easier during an Ultra.
    I am planning 2 energy bars or equivalent, at each of the three drop stations.

I'm still thinking fig rolls and Percy pigs, but can't think of how to attach them to the bottle (to make them into one item). Something like three or four fig-rolls and a handful of sweets. Maybe just throw them into a small plastic bag and sellotape it tightly to a bottle?

I will of course lick them beforehand (in case anyone else here has an affinity to Percy pigs), and I have cooties.

I was talking to someone on Sunday who suggested putting your drinks bottle and whatever goodies you want to go with it into a nappy bag. This should also ensure that nobody else would touch it. :D

It's worth contemplating.