Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what song would you like to be able to sing

• 06-01-2010 6:50pm

I mean sing properly not just a drunken rendition:D

for me its..the parting glass..its a lot harder to sing that you'd think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

any. i sound like a cat being strangled

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Closed ac

Pie Jesu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭Keen2win

Man in the mirror... With the dancing! The ladies would go mad lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

morrissey and the russian sailor.

the hackler from grouse hall

kelly the boy from killane.

All hard to sing but i wish i could :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭RoadKillTs

I want to ride my bicycle ........

Slow Chemical - Finger Eleven

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

Surfin Bird by the Trashmen.

Such meaningful and soulful lyrics.

A-well-a everybody's heard about the bird
    B-b-b-bird, bird, bird, b-bird's the word
    A-well-a bird, bird, bird, the bird is the word
    A-well-a bird, bird, bird, well the bird is the word
    A-well-a bird, bird, bird, b-bird's the word
    A-well-a bird, bird, b-bird's the word
    A-well-a bird, bird, bird, b-bird's the word
    A-well-a don't you know about the bird?
    Well, everybody knows that the bird is the word!
    A-well-a...

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭SoulTrader

Raglan Road, in the manner Luke Kelly sings it.

Or The Gambler, by Kenny Rogers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

The hoor in the nettles roarin'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭TomCo

The Final Countdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Drops of Jupiter =p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

cool thread

i'd like to be able to sing anything by mariah carey or whitney housten or the likes, 'cos let's face it, if ye can do that, ye can pretty much sing anything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Bonny Shoals of Herring; I sing it whenever I've got the house to myself but I have to roar it; I'd like to be able to to sing it properly. Ridiculously hard song.
    Or maybe just sound like Luke Kelly in general

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,007 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Slow Chemical - Finger Eleven

lol...

mine would be Notion by Kings of Leon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,982 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I Would Do Anything For Love - Meat Loaf, this would be the one I'd really love to be able to sing! But others that come in at a close second are:

Outlaw Pete - Bruce Springsteen

Circle of Life- Elton John

Bohemian Rhapsody - Queen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Maybe it's being greedy but I wanna be able to sing the WHOLE Luke Kelly collection, like hime but better

Don't see many who can sing those songs these days, it'd be a shame if they were lost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

The Rocky Road to Dublin at the pace set by Luke Kelly and The Dubliners, I can never work out when to take a breath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

I really can't sing, I sound like a bag of drowning cats when I try. But if I could.....

Candy by Paolo Nutini

Beautiful, beautiful song!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

The Rocky Road to Dublin at the pace set by Luke Kelly and The Dubliners, I can never work out when to take a breath.

You can hear where he takes breathes in this version

He barely takes any though! :eek:
    I'd love to sing like another of The Dubliners; Sean Cannon. Heard him sing 'The Waterford Boys' in a pub a few months ago... it was absolutely ridiculously fast, I felt out of breath listening to him! Irish folk music's really got some gems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Flower of Scotland, aye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 rashersangitch1

Id have to go for Raglan road as well....either that or the 'Im a Scatman!' song!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 kazzy_09

any. i sound like a cat being strangled

haha

ha you trying to say something :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Christy Moore - Ordinary Man

I blurp i tout when i'm drunk a lot if someone's willing to do the guitar. Infact, I can sing it... i'd just love to be able to play the guitar

kazzy_09 wrote: »
    ha you trying to say something :)

not at all kar, i would never say you are lazy,i swear

thats so me expect guinness not bud lite ha, yea have me down to a "T"

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

what song would you like to be able to sing ?

An infinite number of green bottles hanging on the wall

and if one green bottle should accidentally fall there will be ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Transformers, I heard there was more to them than one would think upon initial observation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I can actually sing, but this is such a difficult one to perform well - I can reach the notes but it just sounds silly. I suppose it's really only suited to Kate Bush. Don't think anyone has even attempted to cover it, which is quite refreshing in these "nothing is sacred any longer" times for music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭ninalucy1985

mariaalice wrote: »
    I mean sing properly not just a drunken rendition:D

for me its..the parting glass..its a lot harder to sing that you'd think

Grace, by Jeff Buckley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Gaz

That tune by the blue chick in The Fifth Element

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Dudess wrote: »

I can actually sing, but this is such a difficult one to perform well - I can reach the notes but it just sounds silly. I suppose it's really only suited to Kate Bush. Don't think anyone has even attempted to cover it, which is quite refreshing in these "nothing is sacred any longer" times for music.

Albert Niland does a really cool acoustic version, of course doesn't seing it anything like herself but still really worth a listen :)

Back on topic, I'd like to the the Rathlin Bog well and not like some redder with guiness down his shirt

i love the albert niland version!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Nessun Dorma

That would be quite a party piece!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭I_am_Jebus

The Scorpions - Wind of Change

or

Todd Rundgren's - Hello It's Me

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

brummytom wrote: »
    You can hear where he takes breathes in this version

He barely takes any though! :eek:
    I'd love to sing like another of The Dubliners; Sean Cannon. Heard him sing 'The Waterford Boys' in a pub a few months ago... it was absolutely ridiculously fast, I felt out of breath listening to him! Irish folk music's really got some gems

Love the song, love The Dubliners, have listened over and over to the song. I tried to sing it before, had the lyrics printed out with marks where he took a breath, made it all the way through but didn't sound great. Was trying to sing while breathing in. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Albert Niland does a really cool acoustic version, of course doesn't seing it anything like herself but still really worth a listen :)
    Oh yeah, forgot about that - not my cup of tea personally, but that's just me. What I mean though is, at least nobody like Pixie Lott or Pink or someone has attempted to emulate Kate Bush's style of doing it (never say never though... :().

Hounds of Love was covered by Futureheads - Jesus wept. :( :mad:
    I like Placebo's take on Running Up That Hill though... Again, it's done in a different style to the original.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭TheKells

Extreme - More than Words :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Would need to have testicles removed to hit those notes...

Was able to sing this as a choir boy, but would love to be able to sing it now, in a voice as pure as that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Epicurus

That one or Cuando Me Enamoro - Andrea Bocelli

Hayley Westenra attempted it; not a patch on Kate Bush though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭barakus

My way- Frank Sinatra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭mayoireland

journey dont stop believing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Pretty much any Michael Jackson song really. Man In The Mirror would be class (as someone already said)! :D

Another one would be Baba O'Riley by The Who...class but impossible to sing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭marzic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Gary Barlow Lie To Me.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

the lady's a tramp........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

strength beyond strength by pantera

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DuGpHsxb7nc&feature=related

I'm singing this at the next wedding I attend.