Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you guys noticed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Funny ... I thought the MASADA and SCAR were popular long before MW2.

There are a number of people who would agree with this having bought them ages ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭Private Snafu

In some ways yes. Have to say my P90 is taken straight from MW1 (red tiger FTW :p), it'll never really serve as my primary during a skirmish, but its still awesome :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭joekickass345

really?
    well i must of looked wrong
    im pretty sure everyone started to ask after MW2 came out
    i only saw the masada in shops on the internet a month after the game come out

red tiger?
    i have to see a pic:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Sod'o swords

Well i actually haven't noticed any increase in people liking them, most people in airsoft knew about them before.
    It's the non airsoftions that have started to take interested in them, or any gun other than a m4.

Was helping out promoting a shop at a LAN party, and we had an array guns on display and nearly the first thing they went for was an m4, even though there wasn't one, just the VN carbine version thingy that has an X in the name...

the masada was sitting there, untouched, while this and a l96 were getting raped.

So it'll take a few more games/movies/tv shows to knock the m4/GENERIC SNIPER of the top of the OMG GUNZ list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Firekitten

ever since MW2 came out everyones been asking for mascada and scar and such
    it just shows the influences on video games, does anyone else see this?
    Whats new about that?

Everyone wanted the scar after ghost recon, mutlispam etc... Since the rangers adopted it, trialed it, since it was invented. Nothing new.

Everyone who has mc and loves magpull has been faping over the masada.... not much new there either.

Yes, some airsofters are driven by video games. And its somewhat of a problem for existing players. Back in the day, people played airsoft like soldiers... thats how you ran around and didnt get shot, while shooting the bad guys right? Since the days of call of duty, and the console fps gamer's birth, airsoft has begun to take a rather simpler aproach in a lot of players, especially new ones. These new players arrived, with the attitudes and play styles of multiplayer fps gamers. Bunnyhopping, using sniper rifles like assault rifles, support guns in cqb 'cos it has moar ammo like'. Idiotic behavior and tactics, a rather nasty habit of using headshots too... even when the body is avaiable to shoot. The 'Gamer generation' of airsofters, in my view, has killed a part of the honour of the game.

Players regularly full auto an enemy that would have taken one shot, cheating has sky rocketed 'to win'. As such, other players have had to use full auto more to cope, and things have spiraled into bb bottle emtpying festivals accross an open area.

Please don't take this post as an attack against anyone that plays games. I do too at times... No, its an attack against an attitude, and a problem. Gamers are not the issue, atleast the ones I know... Its a certain breed of gamer... 'CODiesofter hunchedus'

The attitudes and play styles with the realism of the call of duty series, mostly the modern warfare games of late, have changed how people play... its speed, its full auto, and while thats a valid way to play, its whiped out a lot of other ways through sheer weight of numbers.

the number of times ive said to an enemy 'hey i'd have taken the one shot you know' after being hosed down point blank.

Thier response? "Yeah but you cant cheat this way."

What the feck has happened to our game?

No, the massive influence of video games, and more specifically multiplayer gamer styles of play in airsoft, is a terrible thing in my opinion. Go play f***ing paintball.

/rant

even more what i hate is thoese people who think there 'gods at 'noscoping' and snipers
    i asked a few people on xbox have they even shot a real gun, i'd say 80% said no and 20% said yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭tonyj_mc

Funny ... I thought the MASADA and SCAR were popular long before MW2.

There are a number of people who would agree with this having bought them ages ago.

defo there was always a hubub about the masada from the day it was released by A&K and why not its a great AEG.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Scrambles_

They're both relatively new designs (compared to AR/AK families), only natural that they're becoming more popular, no? I wouldn't heap too much blame on MW2 for people gaining an interest in certain designs, I'd take it for granted that almost all younger players will go for something they're familiar with from either a movie or a video game.

In terms of FPS games wrecking the sport, well, if we start to see people sprinting around the site with only a (fake) knife and two lever-action shotguns it's probably time to call it quits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

not really new news this one,

games and movies have a big influence on airsoft but this not really a bad thing, when black hawk down came out i was still play airsoft in the uk and everyone wanted a d boy or ranger loadout, band of brothers 101 became big, with the new pacific series expect an increase in ww2 pacific marine loadouts

but real work news has just as much an influence on airsoft as games and movies, the scar became big around the release of ghost recon from what i noticed

a more interest topic is how games influence the playing style or airsoft in ireland, but a lot of that was coved in the competitive airsoft thread

and who wouldn't want a ranger loadout anyway:D
    Um... me?

and who wouldn't want a ranger loadout anyway

but that the key, are you talking about video game based loadouts which can have a loss grasp on reality at the best of times or are we talking about real world accurate loadouts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Give them a go on insurgency, that'll set them right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,207 ✭✭✭hightower1

Firekitten wrote: »
    Whats new about that?

Everyone wanted the scar after ghost recon, mutlispam etc... Since the rangers adopted it, trialed it, since it was invented. Nothing new.

Everyone who has mc and loves magpull has been faping over the masada.... not much new there either.

Yes, some airsofters are driven by video games. And its somewhat of a problem for existing players. Back in the day, people played airsoft like soldiers... thats how you ran around and didnt get shot, while shooting the bad guys right? Since the days of call of duty, and the console fps gamer's birth, airsoft has begun to take a rather simpler aproach in a lot of players, especially new ones.

Eh whats new about FPS games? In fact they pre date the European and American take up of airsoft? :confused:

Doom - 1993
    Wolfenstein 3D - 1992
    maze war - 1973
    Battlezone - 1983

Also one would image a noob running around an airsoft field like he was playing MOD2 would be easy picking for anyone with two eyes, two hands and an aeg. :eek:

I dont know how your playing MOD2 but if you ran around on full auto you'd run out of ammo in 3 mins considering your only give approx 4 mags and attract the whole maps attention by doing so.
    If anything MOD2 forces you to play like an airsofter, methodically moving, picking cover, flanking, anticipating enemy movements, keeping your cool etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,171 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

hightower1 wrote: »
    I dont know how your playing MOD2 but if you ran around on full auto you'd run out of ammo in 3 mins considering your only give approx 4 mags and attract the whole maps attention by doing so.
    If anything MOD2 forces you to play like an airsofter, methodically moving, picking cover, flanking, anticipating enemy movements, keeping your cool etc.

+1, I used to do the mad running around shooting thing in games and it worked to a point, but recently I've taken a slower, sneaky, more "airsoft" turn and its working great for me, no reason why both can't be positives and benefit each other.

But unfortunately you always get one who stands out from the crowd and likes to be a cqb support gunner as Firekitten said. Just accept it and mow them down :p

Eh whats new about FPS games? In fact they pre date the European and American take up of airsoft? :confused:

Doom - 1993
    Wolfenstein 3D - 1992
    maze war - 1973
    Battlezone - 1983

Also one would image a noob running around an airsoft field like he was playing MOD2 would be easy picking for anyone with two eyes, two hands and an aeg. :eek:

I have never suggested there is anything 'new' about fps games. Merely, that thier influence, more specifically, MULTIPLAYER First person shooters, and thier influence on airsoft. Which I belive is quite prominent.

Actually call of duty whatever bloody title it is on now, doesnt force you to play that way... in single player, perhaps. In multiplayer, as my point actually said, theres a lot of running around and spraying.

Perhaps you don't see what I see... But I've seen airsoft before the days of the many playing multiplayer online games (rather than the few) and post, and its considerably different. The call of duty modern warfart franchise has certainly had a big big effect.

Especially in the 'IR l33t sniper in cod lol ir kik ur ass, what am best airsoft sniper so i can pwn noobz?' Routine.

Fecking
    Annoying

Each time I see a topic like this, or someone behaving this way at games (and sadly it does happen) I want to slap the little toerags so bloody hard with the reality stick ripped screaming from the ugly tree, and make my entry to the guiness book of records for most pieces of wood snapped over a human skull.

*ehem*

bye

MULTIPLAYER First person shooters, and thier influence on airsoft. Which I belive is quite prominent.

have to agree, the influence of deathmatch leaderboards and such is rather prolific at the moment

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

Saying computer games is killing the game of airsoft sounds as stupid to me, as the "My child is murderer because of grand Theift Auto" bull we often here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

I play airsoft like i play mw2, i don't run around like a headless chicken (usually). I guess online gaming has definitely influenced how i play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭Stonewolf

http://www.vgcats.com/comics/?strip_id=89

No idea why I'm reminded of this, nope, none at all

Saying computer games is killing the game of airsoft sounds as stupid to me

i don;t think its killing airsoft in any way , in fact i think it has increased the people playing, but the style of play that seem to have boom at the same time is just not my thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

masterchief.jpg

It could be worse lads, bear that in mind.

Eejits who play too much CoD are easy pickings anyway, and a very satisfying kill to make!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

Can you even imagine Halosoft?
    "I hit you four times!"
    "No you didn't, my energy shield was up!"
    "..."

Leftyflip wrote: »
    Can you even imagine Halosoft?
    "I hit you four times!"
    "No you didn't, my energy shield was up!"
    "..."

Badly made styro foam and cardboard master chief armor?

I'd pay to see that!

Badly made styro foam and cardboard master chief armor?

I'd pay to see that!
    If you're gonna do it, do it the right way, it's only $720...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭.22 Lover

styro foam and cardboard armour That would be great fun imagin getting hit and exploding in white foam!!!:D

.22 Lover wrote: »
    styro foam and cardboard armour That would be great fun imagin getting hit and exploding in white stuff!!!:D
    Aaahh here, there's children on this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭mcshape

i personally have played all of the COD Series onlne, A Lot, and the problems we are facing on the skirmish field with the "new breed" are the same that most online gamers face, a bunch of annoying kids jumping around "no scoping" and making unnessisary headshots,spawn camping, cheating etc, i play hardcore headquaters online in MW2 now, a game type that requires tactics and skill, but these days we find it hard to get a deacent game as everyone goes into that game type for kills and treat it like deathmatch... i have come across people like this recently airsofting who dont give a damn about the team effort, Just kills, and as a result the team objective suffers, now, as far as popularity of guns / loadouts goes, i personally have one or 2 modern warefare loadouts, and im working on my TF141 loadout form MW2, So what if i want to dress that way in an airsoft game, im a fan of the game, doesnt mean i stand out like a sore thumb or am an easy target by any means, aand doesnt mean i play like a d***head!!!
    But as people here have said, Its games like MW2 that are attracting new blood to our sport, Brining more business to our retailers, and increasing numbers on skirmish sites, they will soon mature and learn the more they play, they will realise cheap internet tactics get you a bad name very quickly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭.22 Lover

Aaahh here, there's children on this...
    And your not one of them if you can only think of that:P

If you're gonna do it, do it the right way, it's only $720...

No way man, that is in no way hilarious, I want tragic comedy, I want, this...

Then I will pay to watch the ensuing game of halo soft :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,207 ✭✭✭hightower1

Firekitten wrote: »
    airsoft has begun to take a rather simpler aproach in a lot of players, especially new ones. These new players arrived, with the attitudes and play styles of multiplayer fps gamers.

Actually you not just implied its a new phenomenon but directly called it as such? And multiplayer fps games have been around for donkies years, Golden released in 1997 over 13 years ago, it was and still is hailed as one of the best fps multiplayer games ever.

Counterstrike was the first ONLINE fps multiplayer and is also regarded as the top of the class. For many years being the staple game for most major world championships. That was released in 1999 eleven years ago.

Thats just... Epic! :P

Masada wrote: »
    Saying computer games is killing the game of airsoft sounds as stupid to me, as the "My child is murderer because of grand Theift Auto" bull we often here.

Tell that to the kid that got hit by a truck delivering to game...

No seriously. Read my post. I said 'Online, Multiplayer'

My emphasis here, as Mcshape understood, and puding, and others, is the deathmatch style 'zomg must get kills' and other associated ****wittery that transpires.

No, computer games wont kill airsoft.
    The moon landings did happen
    and elvis really is dead....

Go back to sleep ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,156 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Actually you not just implied its a new phenomenon but directly called it as such? And multiplayer fps games have been around for donkies years, Golden released in 1997 over 13 years ago, it was and still is hailed as one of the best fps multiplayer games ever.

Airsoft has been around for donkies years too (just not in Ireland). So what's your point? That both airsoft and online multiplayer games (specifically of the console variety) have come to prominence in the last few years and thus there's been a clash of "cultures" so to speak?

As Puding & FireKitten have said, it's not gaming, or multiplayer gaming, or online multiplayer gaming, or fapping over pixels that are having a negative effect. It's the attitude and style that's being brought by some players from online multiplayer gaming to airsoft as a result. Statistical probability suggests that if you have a large volume of people, you'll get a spread of behaviour found in society at large. What that means in plain english is that you are increasingly likely to find players who are rather blinkered and very childish in their behaviour (i.e. LOLZOR J00 SuXX0r N00b cuz 1 pwn j0000). Doubly so since finding such players in online multiplayer gamign is depressingly easy.

I would love a stalker or fallout themed game of airsoft though, even though this is a bit of a branch off the main topic.

Stalker would just be a long coat and a gasmask, or even tracksuit and runners and an aksu at the lower end of the spectrum.

Lots of AK's too, I'd love that!

I would love a stalker or fallout themed game of airsoft though, even though this is a bit of a branch off the main topic.

Stalker would just be a long coat and a gasmask, or even tracksuit and runners and an aksu at the lower end of the spectrum.

Only reason I'd buy an AK...

Crazy Russians have such a themed game. AFAIK, they actually go and play in an area near Chernobyl ...

... crazy bastids.

have to agree watching the videos of the other stalker based airsoft games i have to agree almost made me want to learn another language so i could attend the stalker games this year

one day :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Airsoft was around long before even mario was a wet dream ,
    as for the influence of the masada or scar read nearly 1-2 years back in the off topic thread you will finds the first pics of the tavor masada and scar long before MW2
    the stalker game( airsoft) looked freaky from the loadouts to the special effects make up wore by some of the players,

Only reason I'd buy an AK...

If it would teach you good taste then it wouldn't be in vain :p

@Lemming, Puding: Yup, I looked at those themed game pictures before, really cool stuff, I could imagine the rules we could use with designated radiation zones, multiple factions and all trying to obtain the same resources hidden in the game zone.

Maybe we'll have one here too someday, but I doubt it would compare. I still have my dreams, and my gas mask on stand-by :D

very much story and larping over practicality and competition, great immersion thought

need to learn russian :( but still a good watch, gives a nice idea of how there going stuff

1: Buy AK and mags
    2: Learn Russian
    3: Get Trenchcoat and gas mask
    4: Go to Russia

1: Buy AK and mags
    2: Learn Russian
    3: Get Trenchcoat and gas mask
    4: Go to Russia

do you think FAS will do a night course?

Puding wrote: »
    do you think FAS will do a night course?
    They better...

I hate you puding... *sigh*.

Although my ak74 does have a posb and look very stalker atm.... hmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Well it comes between buying an L85 and other airsoft things and learning Russian... Hmmm...
    Suggestions?

Well it comes between buying an L85 and other airsoft things and learning Russian... Hmmm...
    Suggestions?

Do both? There are L85's in Stalker ;)

Lemming wrote: »
    Do both? There are L85's in Stalker ;)
    Epic win!

Epic win!

Yeah, the wimpy scientists have em, and get powned!