Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

the explosives in the luggage incident???

• 05-01-2010 8:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭

Just curious what was going on, why was the poor guy arrested? I assume the Slovac authorities rang the police here and explained the snafu. I can understand taking reaosnable precautions but the poor guy must have been scared out of mind.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Kalev

My guess is that it might be normal procedure until everything is cleared up.
    I'm sure the passenger was completely in shock over the whole thing.

I wonder what would have happend if the Slovakian officials did not get in touch with Irish officials, and the passenger had received a random search upon landing in Dublin.
    OR
    What if the passenger's destination had been in the US?
    'I have no idea how that explosive stuff got there!!'

Sure sure, that's what they all say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

silverharp wrote: »
    Just curious what was going on, why was the poor guy arrested? I assume the Slovac authorities rang the police here and explained the snafu. I can understand taking reaosnable precautions but the poor guy must have been scared out of mind.

Even though the Gardai would or may have known this man was innocent it is still necessary to do a complete and proper investigation which does involve an arrest.

I really do feel for the man. Im sure he was in absolute shock at that what happened and that must have become obvious during the investigation.

As for the Slovakian authorities, well what a total ****-up that operation was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭muppet01

Kalev wrote: »
    My guess is that it might be normal procedure until everything is cleared up.
    I'm sure the passenger was completely in shock over the whole thing.

I wonder what would have happend if the Slovakian officials did not get in touch with Irish officials, and the passenger had received a random search upon landing in Dublin.
    OR
    What if the passenger's destination had been in the US?
    'I have no idea how that explosive stuff got there!!'

Sure sure, that's what they all say.

He would not been subjected to any screening as an inbound passenger with the exception of a customs check.The poor chaps biggest problem was if the explosive became unstable due to temp or other factor.
    I hope he gets a good solictor....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭stop

Slovak authorities now blaming Irish counterparts..
    Apparently a 'telex' was sent by the pilot, before the took off, informing DAA about the explosives.
    linky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

stop wrote: »
    Apparently a 'telex' was sent by the pilot, before the took off, informing DAA about the explosives.
    linky
    No, the Slovak authorities only informed Servisair. Complete FUBAR of an operation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

I heard the BBC world service on this last night they had the two sides on Air this is the slovak side

They said 2 parcels of RDX where placed in bags of Passengers as a test.

The K-9 Border Police officer in charge of the task of retrieving them found one and then was called away forgeting about the other.

He realised his mistake and informed traffic control who informed the pilot, the pilot hearing the device was inert and not able to explode took the decision to take off.

While the plane was on the ground Poprad Airport informed Dublin Airport that there would be a passenger arriving with the parcel.

As we all know nothing happened at the Dublin end.

The officer then informed his bosses who informed the Irish police who went to retrieve the expolsive. Now they had also rang the slovak man and said wait with the package till the irish police get there and give it to them.

Note this is the Slovak side

The Irish side is less concise from what I heard but I did hear that they claimed Servisair where informed not the DAA. From the outset it appears to me as if the irish side did not have as clear cut an explanation. The slovak side appears to come out warts and all the Irish side is basically "They only told servisair" . This may be more due to them interviewing the Minster for North Dublin and not a DAA official.

So actually I dont understand why the poor Slovak guy was taken into custody. The only reason the Gardai knew about the sample was from the slovak authorities. The guy could have been asked to come in for questioning later or asked to come along to make a statement. The guy suffered at the hands of the slovak police training fiasco. However the Gardai did nothing to help the guy afterwards.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/europe/8441891.stm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

Zambia232 wrote: »
    So actually I dont understand why the poor Slovak guy was taken into custody. The only reason the Gardai knew about the sample was from the slovak authorities. The guy could have been asked to come in for questioning later or asked to come along to make a statement. The guy suffered at the hands of the slovak police training fiasco. However the Gardai did nothing to help the guy afterwards.

Given that the Slovaks had already made a balls of things by not contacting the Gardaí directly, do you think the Gardaí should then trust them to have all of the facts correct? It was prudent to arrest him while establishing the facts. If it had been established that he had deliberately imported the stuff & was let go about his way there'd be even more of an uproar.

And what exactly do you think the Gardaí should have done for him afterwards?

cushtac wrote: »
    Given that the Slovaks had already made a balls of things by not contacting the Gardaí directly, do you think the Gardaí should then trust them to have all of the facts correct? It was prudent to arrest him while establishing the facts. If it had been established that he had deliberately imported the stuff & was let go about his way there'd be even more of an uproar.

And what exactly do you think the Gardaí should have done for him afterwards?

You see here is where we have to wait for a clear explanation of the facts. The Slovaks say the Border police contacted the Gardai well thats what I read from the full interview.

Do you think he would have refused to simply go down and give a statement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,077 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Total snafu on the Slovak side, imo. There was absolutely no need to test the dog using luggage belonging to a passenger.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Could this guy have a legal case against the Slovak authorities for all the hassle he has gone through?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭blubloblu

I don't see why the pilot took off, and how come there was a four day delay before it was retrieved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

blubloblu wrote: »
    I don't see why the pilot took off, and how come there was a four day delay before it was retrieved.

If it was a Ryanair flight it wouldn't have taken off. ........"Ryanair's number one priority must always be the safety of our passengers, crew and aircraft"............ Stephen McNamara

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Apparently the Slovak's wanted the RDX sent back by return flight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

stop wrote: »
    linky

A telex??????

OK. Hands up anybody under the age of 40 who knows what the hell a telex is.

What century do these Slovaks live in?

CJhaughey wrote: »
    Apparently the Slovak's wanted the RDX sent back by return flight!

How would you send it back?

I dont see the huge issue, a mistake was made granted but no passengers where at risk at any time.

Storm in a tea cup here. However I will be interested in the report on the incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

If it was a Ryanair flight it wouldn't have taken off. ........"Ryanair's number one priority must always be the safety of our passengers, crew and aircraft"............ Stephen McNamara
    ...and if you read the small print, there's a €15 handling fee for explosives that haven't been prebooked online.

I always bring my own explosives onto Ryanair flights. They charge, like, €20 for a measly bit of semtex on the plane. And what's the deal with those lottery tickets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

How would you send it back?

I dont see the huge issue, a mistake was made granted but no passengers where at risk at any time.

Storm in a tea cup here. However I will be interested in the report on the incident.

It is a condition of international air travel that high explosives are NEVER carried in the hold of passenger air transport.
    They aren't smarties you know and RDX while not explosive without primer is flammable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Kalev

CJhaughey wrote: »
    They aren't smarties you know and RDX while not explosive without primer is flammable.

Don't forget toxic as well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

A telex??????

Must have confused the hell out of the kids when that printer started working

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

A telex??????

Why didn't they just email the gardai?

Oh yeah.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Ian Beale

deadwood wrote: »
    Why didn't they just email the gardai?

Oh yeah.....
    Sure they would have thought it was spam :pac: Nice of them to blame the Gardaí when it was their fault using a passengers bag, why not just plant a test bag in amongst passenger bags and then remove the entire bag, their handler screwed up, the pilot should never have taken off, they should have called the Gardaí themselves instead of 'informing' the pilot. Yup it's clearly all your fault lads where was that crystal ball that you were issued with?

You see here is where we have to wait for a clear explanation of the facts. The Slovaks say the Border police contacted the Gardai well thats what I read from the full interview.

The only fact that was certain at the time was that this man was, for whatever reason, in illegal possession of explosives. With something as serious as that do you think it prudent to leave the person at liberty while everything is figured out?
    Do you think he would have refused to simply go down and give a statement?

Since no one can be compelled to give a statement, why would the Gardaí leave it up to him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭Neonjack

I can't understand why they'd use real explosives in the first place. Surely they could make a dummy package that looks and smells (assuming they want to test their sniffer dogs) real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭OS119

The only fact that was certain at the time was that this man was, for whatever reason, in illegal possession of explosives. With something as serious as that do you think it prudent to leave the person at liberty while everything is figured out?

Since no one can be compelled to give a statement, why would the Gardaí leave it up to him?

given that the Gardai didn't have the faintest clue about the existance of the RDX until the Slovaks told them about it, where it could be found, and why it was there, the idea that the Gardai discovered anything in the course of their own investigations is laughable.

he didn't need to be arrested as it was obvious from the opening of the affair that he was an innocent - while it would certainly be prudent to search the flat to ensure that the Slovaks could actually count how much explosive they placed in his luggage, and certainly it would be helpful for the guy to make a statement (which, as you indicate, he couldn't be made to do whether he was arrested or not), its not necceasry to arrest the guy for either of these things to happen.

the facts (who, what, where and why) were known to the Gardai before they left the station and long before they arrived at this blokes door. there was no need to arrest the guy - of course, if AGS superintendants are so thick that they don't have the brain-power to determine when 'standard' policy might not neccesarily be appropriate...

OS119 wrote: »
    there was no need to arrest the guy

Maybe you have some facts on this case that can show why there was no need to arrest the guy. If not then you cannot say there was no need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Corcioch

given that the Gardai didn't have the faintest clue about the existance of the RDX until the Slovaks told them about it, where it could be found, and why it was there, the idea that the Gardai discovered anything in the course of their own investigations is laughable.

he didn't need to be arrested as it was obvious from the opening of the affair that he was an innocent - while it would certainly be prudent to search the flat to ensure that the Slovaks could actually count how much explosive they placed in his luggage, and certainly it would be helpful for the guy to make a statement (which, as you indicate, he couldn't be made to do whether he was arrested or not), its not necceasry to arrest the guy for either of these things to happen.

the facts (who, what, where and why) were known to the Gardai before they left the station and long before they arrived at this blokes door. there was no need to arrest the guy - of course, if AGS superintendants are so thick that they don't have the brain-power to determine when 'standard' policy might not neccesarily be appropriate...

. . . . .how do you know that the Gardai had the full facts of this case before leaving "the station" . . . do you have some info here the rest of us dont . . .???

. . . . . or are you just making assumptions and presumptions.

They were completely correct to arrest this chap imo, it was the prudent thing to do, as well as seizing the material itself and then when all and every fact had been determined the chap could be released . . .the chap was obviously arrested as part of the investigation of the entire incident.

How can anyone in Ireland be attributed blame for this incident when the Slovaks caused the explosive to be on the aircraft . . . . . and allegedly the pilot took off with the knowledge the item was in the hold??

But

Is whole thing is being blown out of proportion too . . . . . am I wrong or is the explosive not inert on its own?????? . . . . .ya it may be flammable but jesus Av Gas is extremely flammable too!!!!!!!

I'd be more worried about the explosive when it was on the ground . . .who's hands it may have fallen into!!!! . . .ya never know!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭OS119

Corcioch wrote: »
    . . . . .how do you know that the Gardai had the full facts of this case before leaving "the station" . . . do you have some info here the rest of us dont . . .???

. . . . . or are you just making assumptions and presumptions.

the indicator was the bit where, in total ignorance of the RDX being in Ireland, the Gardai got a phone call from a bloke with a funny accent who said 'hi, i'm from the Slovak Security Service - i'm afraid we've fcuked up and stashed some RDX in a random blokes luggage as part of a training exercise that went a bit pear-shaped. any chance you could nip round to his gaff and grab it before he unpacks his stuff and says 'what the fcuk is this?'...

without the illuminating phone call from the slovaks letting them know about the fcuk-up the Gardai wouldn't have been in the position to arrest or not arrest anybody - and they certainly wouldn't have a fist-sized lump of RDX stashed in the Armoury waiting for an embarressed Slovak official to collect it. so yes, i am able to surmise that AGS were in possession of all the facts that mattered - who, what, where and why - before they left the station.

coz, without those facts, they wouldn't have left the station...

RDX would burn pleasently on a coalfire, but it wouldn't go pop unless you did something very specific to it - and its not something you'd do by accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Whitewater-AGS

the indicator was the bit where, in total ignorance of the RDX being in Ireland, the Gardai got a phone call from a bloke with a funny accent who said 'hi, i'm from the Slovak Security Service - i'm afraid we've fcuked up and stashed some RDX in a random blokes luggage as part of a training exercise that went a bit pear-shaped. any chance you could nip round to his gaff and grab it before he unpacks his stuff and says 'what the fcuk is this?'...

without the illuminating phone call from the slovaks letting them know about the fcuk-up the Gardai wouldn't have been in the position to arrest or not arrest anybody - and they certainly wouldn't have a fist-sized lump of RDX stashed in the Armoury waiting for an embarressed Slovak official to collect it. so yes, i am able to surmise that AGS were in possession of all the facts that mattered - who, what, where and why - before they left the station.

RDX would burn pleasently on a coalfire, but it wouldn't go pop unless you did something very specific to it - and its not something you'd do by accident.

So basically you've no clue as to the actual facts and have no idea who actually contacted the Gardai and are simply guessing!
    And it was 100% correct in arresting the male who had the explosives, considering it still an offence to have it even if someone planted it on your and more to the point the Gardai will have to conduct their own investigation into the explosives reaching Ireland and guess what the passenger is a major part in that investigation and hence was he was arrested, detained and interviewed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Ian Beale

am I wrong or is the explosive not inert on its own?????? . . . . .ya it may be flammable but jesus Av Gas is extremely flammable too!!!!!!!
    Half right, it's stable when kept in a certain temperature range between -4 and 70 C.

The chemical make up of RDX makes it extremely unstable at -4 and below, as with most other common forms of explosive device, the temps have been as low as -10, why do you think the bomb squad went in and placed it in a sealed container and that buildings were evacuated, not to mention RDX is the building block for C4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Ruen

Of course the Gardai were right to arrest the man.
    The Slovaks had already made a balls of the whole operation by first leaving the explosive in the bag, then not stopping the flight to retrieve it, then they sent a "telex" to servisair rather than informing the Gardai, then days later they realised the jig was up and called the DAA who then informed the Gardai, after all that the Guards were right to get all the facts straight before letting him go.

Total conjecture now but I'd say the Slovaks were hoping Servisair could grab it before he got his bag back in Dublin and send it back to them on the sly so no officials or police in Ireland had to get involved thereby saving them all this embarrassment, didnt work out so four days in they had to come clean.

So should the gardai Arrest every person they want a statement from? It was on NPR news last night that the reason the Gardai knew about the man at all was that they where called by the Slovak Border Police. After the K-9 officer told his bosses.

edit -> Or as the irish times claims
    The alarm was only raised yesterday morning when the Slovakian security services contacted the Dublin Airport Authority (DAA) and airport police.

The gardai where not informed by Servisair about the expolsives or the DAA as far as I can tell. I have yet to actually here from the Irish side who was informed about what.

I just reckon if the Slovak Police had told the Irish police* what the go was on the poor bloke then the need to Arrest him was not that necessary.

As I said before do you think the Slovak man would have refused to give a statement because I don't think he would?

*If it was a tip from Servisair I will grant the arrest was prudent but that does not appear to be the case.

Ruen wrote: »
    The Slovaks had already made a balls of the whole operation by first leaving the explosive in the bag, then not stopping the flight to retrieve it, then they sent a "telex" to servisair rather than informing the Gardai, then days later they realised the jig was up and called the DAA who then informed the Gardai, after all that the Guards were right to get all the facts straight before letting him go.

Total conjecture now but I'd say the Slovaks were hoping Servisair could grab it before he got his bag back in Dublin and send it back to them on the sly so no officials or police in Ireland had to get involved thereby saving them all this embarrassment, didnt work out so four days in they had to come clean.

With respect I think most of this is total conjecture...

So should the gardai Arrest every person they want a statement from?

That's not what I said and that's not what happened. I'll say it again, what would people be saying if the explosives were his and he'd been let go on his way?

It was on NPR news last night that the reason the Gardai knew about the man at all was that they where called by the Slovak Border Police. After the K-9 officer told his bosses.

That's what the Slovaks are saying, the Gardaí haven't made any comment on it beyond saying they arrested someone & then released him. All you have to go on is the word of the Slovaks who are trying to get themselves out of a hole.

The gardai where not informed by Servisair about the expolsives or the DAA as far as I can tell. I have yet to actually here from the Irish side who was informed about what.

Try looking harder. The DAA's website says they told the Gardaí once they received a phone call about it.

http://www.dublinairport.com/at-airport/latest-news/060110_slovak.html

I just reckon if the Slovak Police had told the Irish police* what the go was on the poor bloke then the need to Arrest him was not that necessary.

That's a big if there.
    As I said before do you think the Slovak man would have refused to give a statement because I don't think he would?

Again, why do you think the Gardaí should have taken the chance?

*If it was a tip from Servisair I will grant the arrest was prudent but that does not appear to be the case.

So far it appears that the Gardaí were acting on the information of the DAA, no different to Servisair contacting them.

With respect I think most of this is total conjecture...
    The Slovaks had already made a balls of the whole operation by first leaving the explosive in the bag, then not stopping the flight to retrieve it, then they sent a "telex" to servisair rather than informing the Gardai, then days later they realised the jig was up and called the DAA who then informed the Gardai,
    All that is in the news Zambia
    I am just speculating about their motives for sending Servisair a telex though, why would they contact the baggage handlers and not the Gardai? Strange course of action that

As far as I'm concerned the Slovak authorities had no right to criticise the Gardai for their response to this incident. They're only trying to shift the spotlight off themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

Was there any comment on the manner of the arrest? Cuff and into a van, or "here look listen this a formality"

Might actually benifit him in the long term if he seeks redress form the slovaks

maglite wrote: »
    Was there any comment on the manner of the arrest? Cuff and into a van, or "here look listen this a formality"

Other than to say he was arrested at 11am, there's been no comment on the arrest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭Alpha Papa

http://www.dublinairportauthority.com/media-centre/press-releases/060110_slovak.html
    DAA Not Informed About Slovak Explosive Until Tues Jan 5

The Dublin Airport Authority (DAA) confirms again that it had no contact whatsoever from authorities in Slovakia in relation to their test of their own security systems by the use of explosives, which arrived on a flight from Poprad-Tatry Airport on Saturday January 2, until the morning of Tuesday January 5.

When a telephone call in relation to the issue was received on Tuesday morning, the DAA immediately alerted the Gardai, who then investigated the matter.

None of the three addresses on the telex that was produced by Slovak authorities today is a DAA address. The DAA is not in a position to comment on what information other companies may have received in relation to this matter. However it can confirm that the airport authority only became aware of this incident when Slovak authorities made contact by telephone on Tuesday morning.

Ends

6 January 2010
      State Airport Police in Dublin Airport received a call from Slovakian Immigration to inform them of the situation.
    • The APS took full details of the incident and immediatly contacted the AGS
    • AGS then began there investigations as reported in the media

All above information has been reported openly in the international and domestic media and so is only a combination of this.

That's not what I said and that's not what happened. I'll say it again, what would people be saying if the explosives were his and he'd been let go on his way?
    It should have been quite apparent from the message received from the Slovaks that the expolsives where not. However as dont know how the message was put it might not have been.

That's what the Slovaks are saying, the Gardaí haven't made any comment on it beyond saying they arrested someone & then released him. All you have to go on is the word of the Slovaks who are trying to get themselves out of a hole.
    In fairness to them the interior ministry did seem happy enough to shoulder the blame where it fell on them.

Try looking harder. The DAA's website says they told the Gardaí once they received a phone call about it.
    http://www.dublinairport.com/at-airport/latest-news/060110_slovak.html
    Thanks for the link.
    That's a big if there.
    It seems quite apparent now that some Slovak security authority did contact the DAA or airport police. That resulted in the AGS being informed. What needs to be determined is what message was passed to the DAA and then what message was relayed to AGS. From the sounds of it the message the AGS got was not the entire picture.

Again, why do you think the Gardaí should have taken the chance?
    Your very expertly dodging my question with another question.

This is a bloke who was called by the slovak authorities and told to wait in his flat for the Gardai to arrive which he did. If the guy was a flight risk he would have been gone well before AGS arrived. I will grant you that the more this goes on the less AGS appear to have informed about the actual complete circumstances of the incident. At this stage without seeing the message transcipt's its a hard call. But I do suspect chinese whispers are at play here.

It depends what news I the slovaks have already stated they think the news in Ireland is getting it wrong. The news I am getting on this is from the BBC, the NPR and some German station I cant pronounce.
    We are still debating that
    The Slovaks had already made a balls of the whole operation by first leaving the explosive in the bag,
    One K-9 officer did this it was not the slovaks intention to leave it there granted it was a balls but they feely admit that.
    then not stopping the flight to retrieve it,
    The officer told popad flight control and who then told the Pilot who decided to fly. The only person in all that who had the authority to hold the flight was possibly the captain.
    then they sent a "telex" to servisair rather than informing the Gardai,
    Your "" are impling that the telex is some from of outdated method of messaging I suspect its probably still used heavily in airports. I doubt they all whipped out the old "telex" for this one message
    then days later they realised the jig was up and called the DAA who then informed the Gardai,
    They called the gardai when the K-9 officer explained the full facts to his Superiors, it was not a lets see if we get away with this one effort. As your post implies.
    after all that the Guards were right to get all the facts straight before letting him go.
    sigh :( I am the only one here who thinks the facts should have been straight before arresting him?

maglite wrote: »

Might actually benifit him in the long term if he seeks redress form the slovaks

You make a very good piont Maglite, I am assuming at this stage the arrest was Cuffs and Van. He did end up in the holding cells in Mountjoy. I last saw those in
    1994 and I have to tell you the interior decor not that hot.

Chances are I reckon the arrest was very low key. This also depending on on the info the dectectives had. If it was just

There is a slovak electrician in North dublin with a load of semtex.

I reckon he was in the van and in cuffs before he heard the front door open :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Funjunkie

You make a very good piont Maglite, I am assuming at this stage the arrest was Cuffs and Van. He did end up in the holding cells in Mountjoy. I last saw those in
    1994 and I have to tell you the interior decor not that hot.

Chances are I reckon the arrest was very low key. This also depending on on the info the dectectives had. If it was just

There is a slovak electrician in North dublin with a load of semtex.

I reckon he was in the van and in cuffs before he heard the front door open :eek:

The arrest was anything but low key. The police and army blocked off the whole of Dorset St. My parents got caught up in it.

Funjunkie wrote: »
    The arrest was anything but low key. The police and army blocked off the whole of Dorset St. My parents got caught up in it.
    Yes but that was more for the device than the man. if you get my drift, all that would have happened even if he was never arrested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

We all know a person cannot be compelled to make a formal statement so say if he wasnt arrested how could a full investigation file be completed. We can reasonably assume the Irish Government would require a comprehensive file/report on the actual events from what happened in Slovkia right up to the moment the RDX was recovered and that would come from AGS.

Can you imagine if the Government and world media were looking for answers and turn to AGS for these answers but all the AGS can say "well we have the piece of paper here that we took down yer mans name on!!!". How professional would that look?

Bottom line is the man was in possession of an explosive substance and had to be arrested. Anyways I dont know why the Slovak authorities complained about the man being arrested. They seriously messed up once so why should the information they passed on be completely trusted.

Have you the CT forum lately? They are giving out about the new driving licences

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Funjunkie

Yes but that was more for the device than the man. if you get my drift, all that would have happened even if he was never arrested.

Yes I see now..Sorry

TheNog wrote: »
    We all know a person cannot be compelled to make a formal statement so say if he wasnt arrested how could a full investigation file be completed.
    Yes but as far as we know he did not refuse to make a statement
    TheNog wrote: »
    Bottom line is the man was in possession of an explosive substance and had to be arrested. Anyways I dont know why the Slovak authorities complained about the man being arrested. They seriously messed up once so why should the information they passed on be completely trusted.

You see thats where we are going to disagree the guy was innocent , the slovak authorities would have said so (granted the message may not have come across). There is no information to say he objected to making a statement. I dont blame AGS for arresting him the more this plays out , it appears Man, bomb, North Dublin is what was relayed.

Have you the CT forum lately? They are giving out about the new driving licences[/QUOTE]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Corcioch

Well we've just established that you are not even familiar with the basic facts of this case so . . . . .and you were making assumptions and presumptions.

The Slovak Police/ Security Services did NOT contact An Gárda Síochána through the correct established inter Police Force point of contact . . ..ie; Europol. They were not even capable of following this basic european wide protocol. ( or interpol for international countries outiside of europe )

Had CORRECT contact been made then perhaps Gardai at Europol would have had a chance to illicit every detail they may need from the Slovaks, to then pass on to their Garda Colleagues on the ground . . . . .who would then be fully briefed of the facts.

NO, the Slovak Security Service concerened contacted the "Airport Police" ( perhaps further proof that the security agency of a comercial semi private state company should be prohibited from calling themselves police ) who in turn passed 2nd hand information onto An Garda Síochána.

When your dealing with a batch of explosives . . .and second hand information . . . .you do what is prudent, seize the explosives, arrest the individual and FULLY investigate the incident. Anything else would have been incompetent.

Just playing the devils advocate here but the gardai could have confirmed the details with the Slovak police before setting out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

Even if the information had come straight from the Slovak Minister for the Interior, doubt would still remain over how the mistake had been made, and whether to attribute it to incompetence or to malice. Without details of the Slovak operation one could not discount the possibility it had been facilitated by a man-on-the-inside, for example.

If there was a chance that it had been malicious, then the Gardaí would have been wondering what else, or indeed who else, might be in the flat. In this context, it seems quite reasonable to arrest the man and remove him from the scene as quickly as possible, and allow the EOD team to move in. Public safety should always be the top priority.

As it is, the chain of information seems to have been so confused that I would expect the Gardaí to have been quite incredulous - who for example would have believed that the captain chose to fly with the explosives on board?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭Alpha Papa

NO, the Slovak Security Service concerened contacted the "Airport Police" ( perhaps further proof that the security agency of a comercial semi private state company should be prohibited from calling themselves police ) who in turn passed 2nd hand information onto An Garda Síochána.

Corcoigh,

Your comment is ill-founded without turning this into a Airport Police what is there powers thread. The State Airport Police which they are and as confirmed/enshrined in Irish and EU legislation, recieved a call on a potentially serious security incident, they followed protocols set down by the department of transport/DAA/AGS.. as is always the case.

The APS are assisting in the investigation with the AGS, as has been reported in the media and instead of being slated or slagged off for their involvement the quick reactions of the officers involved should be commended for helping to bring an end to this potential dangerous situations.

But if you don't believe me wait till the report is realeased that confirm this.