Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

thoughts on beautifulpeople.com

• 05-01-2010 3:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭

I heard about this on the radio this morning and then spotted a thread on it over in After Hours (http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055788278 - mods, remove link if I'm not meant to do this - wasn't too sure!).

Its a dating website where you submit a photo and the existing members determine whether or not you are good looking enough to join.

They've received loads of complaints after some members were axed due to the fact that they put on weight over the christmas period

What do you's think of the website?

I'm kind of indifferent... to me it just seems like a more extreme version of hotornot.com.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Stella777

My first question, is there any way to look at the pictures without actually joining?;)

I suppose if you are really interested in dating only people who are conventionally handsome/hot that that would be the place to go. The problem would be that you will ONLY be meeting people who are also only interested in dating conventionally beautiful/hot people. Not sure I'd want to limit myself to that kind of person.

Another issue is that people are obviously going to post the absolute "hottest" photo ever taken of themselves, one in which they look their best. If looks are really THAT important to you, you might be disappointed when you meat the real person.

I wonder if that's why the people are being kicked off the site? They post a great photo in order to be accepted. Once they are accepted they let down their guard and post more recent photos showing them looking less than perfect, i.e "fat." hmmm????

What I REALLY wonder about is the members who spend their time scanning through the photos of other members and then reporting them for gaining weight. That would seem to show a lack of a life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

On the one hand I am a fan of websites with user defined standards and whatnot, but this is just purely superficial so fcuk it, it sucks.

Though I can see why it exists, and the appeal of it TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭Nuravictus

I'm a member :P

Edit: Not Really, I went over and had a look on whats on offer on that site, nothing special tbh. You would be better of spending your 10 euro on a taxi into town cause most the woman you see in town are better than the people on that site :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

Nuravictus wrote: »
    I'm a member :P

yeah but everyone knows you're not really using your real photo :p

I think that site is brilliant for the people who are members.

Personally I would hate the thought of dating people who are happy to publicly acknowledge that they are superior to other people where looks are concerned. It's all a bit Aryan Nazi ish for my liking.

Anyway all 'conventionally' good looking people look the same. There's nothing attractive about that

dolliemix wrote: »
    yeah but everyone knows you're not really using your real photo :p

I think that site is brilliant for the people who are members.

Personally I would hate the thought of dating people who are happy to publicly acknowledge that they are superior to other people where looks are concerned. It's all a bit Aryan Nazi ish for my liking.

Anyway all 'conventionally' good looking people look the same. There's nothing attractive about that

I don't see the issue with good looking people only wanting to date people they are attracted to, thou it is full of poser photos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

Doesn't bother me in the slightest. If people want to belittle others, cut them out of their lil group cos they gained a few pounds, let them at it. Says more about the members of the site than anything else.

The world is full of beautiful and not so beautiful people, don't need a site with a bunch of physically attractive people to scope out some talent. Walk out your door and get chattin I say!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

Stella777 wrote: »
    ...you might be disappointed when you meat the real person.

ahem...

I don't see the issue with good looking people only wanting to date people they are attracted to, thou it is full of poser photos.

I don't have an issue with it. I said it's a great site for the people who want to join it.

Just not for me!

I don't have an issue with it. I said it's a great site for the people who want to join it.

Just not for me!

The whole "It's all a bit Aryan Nazi ish for my liking." line kinda made it look like you had a issue,

tbh the people on that site arent doing anymore than you or I would do on a Saturday night if someone we considered ugly came onto us.

The whole "It's all a bit Aryan Nazi ish for my liking." line kinda made it look like you had a issue,

tbh the people on that site arent doing anymore than you or I would do on a Saturday night if someone we considered ugly came onto us.

what?? Do you know me?? :D

Actually I just tried to go on the site. But I must be so ugly they wouldn't even let me browse! :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

shivvyban wrote: »
    I heard about this on the radio this morning and then spotted a thread on it over in After Hours (http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055788278 - mods, remove link if I'm not meant to do this - wasn't too sure!).

Its a dating website where you submit a photo and the existing members determine whether or not you are good looking enough to join.

They've received loads of complaints after some members were axed due to the fact that they put on weight over the christmas period

What do you's think of the website?

I'm kind of indifferent... to me it just seems like a more extreme version of hotornot.com.

I think this website symbolises a culture of vanity which reasonable people would be better off without.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

If you sign up to something where you expect people to fit a certain mould, then you should have no problem having the same standards imposed on yourself. So, while I think the whole idea of the website is a bit extreme, I have no sympathy for those who've bought into it and gotten burned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Will wrote: »
    Doesn't bother me in the slightest. If people want to belittle others, cut them out of their lil group cos they gained a few pounds, let them at it. Says more about the members of the site than anything else.

That's basically my view. I think it's hilarious more than anything else tbph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I joined it for the craic to see if I would be accepted, just to mess about with my self-esteem. I was anyway and haven't been on it since. It's a pretty awful site as far as navigation and all that goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

I'm no great looker myself so maybe I'm in no position to say but, some of the girls on there are pretty far from beautiful by anyone's standards.

I also had a look through the lads and fair enough my opinion here might be way off in this case but again some are far from what I would have thought were decent looking lads.

No problem with the site really and if it brings happiness to some, who are we to say its wrong, you don't have to sign up and be judged if you don't want to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Many girls only like tall men. For some reason that's socially acceptable, yet wanting to be with someone who stays in shape and takes care of their appearance is somehow wrong.

The site is for "beautiful people". Overweight people are generally not regarded as beautiful.

Fair enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭stripysocks85

Well considering the amount of drink/sweets/turkey and spuds I've had over the Xmas, I wouldn't get next or near to joining the website, so I don't need to feel too bad! ;)

I think that's a joke to be honest, but I agree that I wouldn't pay much attention. If you're the sort of person interested in joining a website like that, then more fool you!

AARRRGH wrote: »
    Many girls only like tall men. For some reason that's socially acceptable, yet wanting to be with someone who stays in shape and takes care of their appearance is somehow wrong.

The site is for "beautiful people". Overweight people are generally not regarded as beautiful.

Fair enough!
    Yes but members were axed because they'd put on a few pounds over Christmas** - how many pounds could someone put on in a few weeks that would deem them to be overweight enough to be axed from the site, if they were fine to join previously??

** Will find out next week! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

I've heard of it, but i'll never even look at it. For me, there's just no good reason to do so.

Yes but members were axed because they'd put on a few pounds over Christmas** - how many pounds could someone put on in a few weeks that would deem them to be overweight enough to be axed from the site, if they were fine to join previously??

** Will find out next week! :(

My christmas isnt finished yet (Last Xmas Dinner Saterday!) But I've put on over a stone :o

Surely this is a publicity stunt.

New year, new motivation..........right? :)
    I'm kinda looking forward to getting back to the gym? Is that possible :P

Must be publicity stunt. I'm gonna go check out the 'competitors'!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I may know a member >_> ahem. My brother joined too.
    I think the site is a good laugh, some hilarious stuff happens with comments etc. Joined to see after some boards thread ages ago that said Ireland/UK acceptance rate was terrible, oooh the challenge, exciting. Funny when people I know browse, see me on it and call me on it. My friend told eveerybod I made the cut in the pub yesterday:p

Pretty sure the xmas thing is a publicity stunt.
    Usually go on and there are 1, 000 Irish people trying to get in on any given day...there was 35, 000 today :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Publicity stunt. No one would put a pic of them looking fat on a site like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Well, live by the sword...

I don't see a problem with having a site like that. Let them to it. There are all sorts of dating sites that cater for particular looks.

This reminds me of the uproar a few years ago of an Italian man who only wanted beautiful people on his beach, yet no one batted an eyelid when there was an overweight persons beach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

People only become beautiful to me when they open their mouth.

BumbleB wrote: »
    People only become beautiful to me when they open their mouth.

Nonsense. You can't ignore your instincts which make you notice physically beautiful people.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Unless s/he means tongue piercing, then I understand :D

Moonbaby wrote: »

Surely this is a publicity stunt.
    Yup, and a good one at that. Look at how much press the website has gotten!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Warfi

My virginal, Catholic eyes :eek:. This thread reminded me of the website uglypeople.com, looked it up and let's just say that the site is not what it used to be! Probably not safe for work!
    I'd say beautifulpoeple.com is just a site for those people who want to see how everyone else sees them. Our mammies will always tell us we look beautiful, but what does the average person think?

Warfi wrote: »
    My virginal, Catholic eyes :eek:. This thread reminded me of the website uglypeople.com, looked it up and let's just say that the site is not what it used to be! Probably not safe for work!
    I'd say beautifulpoeple.com is just a site for those people who want to see how everyone else sees them. Our mammies will always tell us we look beautiful, but what does the average person think?
    I'm terrible at telling what people of my sex look like, no idea really...pity..I'd love the cock. Anyway, it was kind of interesting for that too. i'd like to think it's charm that would ever get somebody anyway

/charms at people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

Heh, you think that's bad? www.wealthymen.com

Rozabeez wrote: »
    Heh, you think that's bad? www.wealthymen.com

Don't knock the system till you've tried it.
    www.redheadpassions.com :P

Although I am disappointed by the one who calls himself Durex.
    I mean god gave him a mission in life!

Best site ever! :D

Nonsense. You can't ignore your instincts which make you notice physically beautiful people.

Nonsense for you,not nonsense for me .

I'm not your average fyffes banana, I can see beyond fake tan,tonnes of makeup ,hair extensions ,blonde highlights ,hollywood smiles ,false eyelashes manicures and fake smiles.

I had a girlfriend who was swedish and she was incredibly judgemental about people's looks in fact she wouldn't really give the time of day to my lesser attractive friends. She was sound but that to me seemed so wrong.

I was talking to a girl in town in Krystle at christmas, she was aesthetically perfect and she had 4 clone friends but had no interest in her at all just no substance at all .If she had a culchie accent that would have been much better to offset the whole strive for perfection. There's nothing wrong with being imperfect. No 2 snowflakes are alike .

P.S I must get at the photoshop now and stick my name in the draw.:D

I can see beyond fake tan,tonnes of makeup ,hair extensions ,blonde highlights ,hollywood smiles ,false eyelashes manicures and fake smiles.

What do those things have to do with "beautiful"...?

I think you and I have a different understanding of what beautiful means.

To me, it means great genetics with a face and body in a proportion which is appealing (and which can be scientifically measured as beautiful.)

You seem to think it means fakeness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭Paulegend

Personally I would hate the thought of dating people who are happy to publicly acknowledge that they are superior to other people

no way we could date so because i know im better than everyone:D

*the website rejected me*:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

What do those things have to do with "beautiful"...?

I think you and I have a different understanding of what beautiful means.

To me, it means great genetics with a face and body in a proportion which is appealing (and which can be scientifically measured as beautiful.)

This comes up time and time again on Boards, and is absolutel Bullsh*t.
    Science can not measure what is 'beautiful'??!! Saying that, you are ignoring the massive cutural influences that dictate what is beautiful,changing from century to century and culture to culture.
    What about smell?
    What about intellect?
    What about Humor?
    These are all powerful stimulators for humans in what they find beautiful or not. I would almost say that the olfatory nerve plays a bigger part in what we find beautiful than the optic nerve!
    Can we really say that judgments of attractivenss is just based on facial symettry?

All of us at some stage have probably coms across someone that we should find attractive,because this ideal of beauty has been shoved down our throats. Yet we dont find them at all attractive. If 'science' can so accurately measure beauty by physical traits, then why are we not always attracted to beautiful people?

Also 'science' seems to be more obsessed with what makes a beautiful women then a beautiful man,and from birth men are told whom and what they should find attractive. Maybe that is why women are not worried about looks as much beacsue they experience beauty through all their senses, whereas men are told that beauty is just what your meant to see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

panda100 wrote: »
    Science can not measure what is 'beautiful'??!! Saying that, you are ignoring the massive cutural influences that dictate what is beautiful,changing from century to century and culture to culture.
    What about smell?
    What about intellect?
    What about Humor?
    These are all powerful stimulators for humans in what they find beautiful or not. I would almost say that the olfatory nerve plays a bigger part in what we find beautiful than the optic nerve!
    Can we really say that judgments of attractivenss is just based on facial symettry?

All of us at some stage have probably coms across someone that we should find attractive,because this ideal of beauty has been shoved down our throats. Yet we dont find them at all attractive. If 'science' can so accurately measure beauty by physical traits, then why are we not always attracted to beautiful people?

Also 'science' seems to be more obsessed with what makes a beautiful women then a beautiful man,and from birth men are told whom and what they should find attractive. Maybe that is why women are not worried about looks as much beacsue they experience beauty through all their senses, whereas men are told that beauty is just what your meant to see.

I kind of agree with both you and AARRRGH. See, I can recognise that some people are instantly defined as 'beautiful' - they have all the right features, perfect symmetry, bodies etc. But also, I recognise that this is merely a 'scientific' analysis and not based on personal preference. For example, Ryan Reynolds is ripped, has great teeth, tanned, tall etc. So I should be swooning over him shouldn't I? But I'm not. I can SEE that he's good looking, but I simply don't fancy him. My idea of good looking is simply different to the recognised ideal that makes him 'beautiful'.

I do get what you're saying about beauty being in personality too, but I have to say that I don't think that's what the website has in mind and that's fair enough. How do you measure beauty in personality? It's a tough one.. unless they start doing personality tests? And even then would anyone check them? It's not an argument about whether looks matter, it's an argument about what the definition of good looks are, and that's one thats always going to be debated because it's a personal preference and not something you can equate using x+y.

G86 wrote: »
    But also, I recognise that this is merely a 'scientific' analysis and not based on personal preference. For example, Ryan Reynolds is ripped, has great teeth, tanned, tall etc. So I should be swooning over him shouldn't I? But I'm not. I can SEE that he's good looking, but I simply don't fancy him. My idea of good looking is simply different to the recognised ideal that makes him 'beautiful'.
    I feel exactly the same way about Lance Armstrong (shudder) and Brad Pitt. Clearly they are very handsome but do nothing for me.

Not entirely true,Maybe not science but mathematics can ,
    Well there is a thing called the golden mean and it divides a line into two parts .It makes things aeshetically pleasing it hails back to ancient times ,the egyptians used it to build the pyramids .The greeks used it as well .The golden ratio is ancient knowledge and pretty relevant to the world and how it works, and that is the reason you are never told anything about it in school.

It divides a line into a ratio of 1:1.618 and its used to design things to look pleasing to the eye , nearly everything around you is designed with that formula ,even the human body conforms to the golden mean .If you are a person and your facial symmetry is spot on with the golden ratio , you will be percieved as a beautiful person. Catwalk models are perfect example of the golden ratio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Catwalk models are perfect example of the golden ratio.

Not at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

That website made me laugh. What a bunch of insecure people.

Pleaseeeeeee ValiDATE me!!!!!!!!!

Anyone that is conceited enough to want to sign up to that is automatically someone I have nothing in common with.

And I'm bloody gorgeous by the way. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭MAB83

There's quite a lot of non beautiful people on that site so I don't know what they're on about, it looks like pretty much anyone can get on it.

More of a publicity stunt than anything else.

MAB83 wrote: »
    There's quite a lot of non beautiful people on that site so I don't know what they're on about, it looks like pretty much anyone can get on it.

More of a publicity stunt than anything else.
    You got accepted ? . I didn't :(

What about smell?
    What about intellect?
    What about Humor?

I think you're misunderstanding.

When scientists say they can measure beauty, they aren't saying they can measure attraction.

Beauty and attraction are not the same thing.

Seriously, look them up in a dictionary if you don't believe me.