Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

spreading slurry

• 05-01-2010 1:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭

i thought you where not allowed to spread slurry until after the 15 of january so why are there people out spreading , would they not be risking losing some of their sfp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

tanks full to the gills probably

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

would you have to get permission ? was just wondering as when the date comes the weather will probably change and we wouldnt be able to get out:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭networks

we shud be all be spreading slurry while the land is dry and able to travel it,farming by dates shud be put to sleep now like the celtic tiger is:rolleyes:

dont think the dept really understand the practical side of farming :rolleyes: arent we supposed to have 16 weeks stoarage under sfp or something

my bloody tank seems to fill up as soon as i start emptying it,funny feeling a spring or water must be leaking into it cos its always no bother to agitate it:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭motorman

Do you not have to seal the tank to stop leakage out and seapage in??? If its sealed a spring wont get in.
    If its not then whats the point in a hole in the ground thats not sealed

tank was done bout 20yrs ago,so attention to detail not as gud as is now,trusted contractor at the time to do a gud job?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭lifelover2006

hi; i thought the date for spreading was 13 jan: does anyone know of anyone caught spreading before the date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭mossfort

whelan1 wrote: »
    i thought you where not allowed to spread slurry until after the 15 of january so why are there people out spreading , would they not be risking losing some of their sfp

probaly better off not to say too much. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

you can spread dirty water at any time;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

hi; i thought the date for spreading was 13 jan: does anyone know of anyone caught spreading before the date

16- jan AFAIK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

dar31 wrote: »
    you can spread dirty water at any time;)
    No you can't.

Here's a quote from link below.
    If soiled water is stored together with slurry, or if it becomes mixed with slurry, then as far as
    the Regulations are concerned it is slurry and is subject to the same rules as slurry.
    http://www.agriculture.gov.ie/media/migration/ruralenvironment/environment/nitrates/revisedhandbook2008.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

Sam Kade wrote: »
    No you can't.

Here's a quote from link below.
    If soiled water is stored together with slurry, or if it becomes mixed with slurry, then as far as
    the Regulations are concerned it is slurry and is subject to the same rules as slurry.
    http://www.agriculture.gov.ie/media/migration/ruralenvironment/environment/nitrates/revisedhandbook2008.pdf

as i said dirty/soiled water can be spread., a fair number of dairy farmers keep their dairy plant water seperate alot put in precast concrete tanks for this. must have capicity for max of 10 days

snowman707 wrote: »
    16- jan AFAIK
    yup 16 january - thats my birthday :) thats why i always remember it

dar31 wrote: »
    as i said dirty/soiled water can be spread., a fair number of dairy farmers keep their dairy plant water seperate alot put in precast concrete tanks for this. must have capicity for max of 10 days
    It has to be less than 1% solids not much of that around. I thought you were referring to the poster that had rain water mixing with his slurry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭babybrian

Lots of lads spreading around here too.
    It also says in Department website;
    Section 18(2) of the European Communities (Good Agricultural Practice for Protection of Waters) Regulations 2009 (the "Nitrates Regulations") provides as follows:
    "Fertilisers or soiled water shall not be applied to land in any of the following circumstances -
    (a) the land is waterlogged;
    (b) the land is flooded or likely to flood;
    (c) the land is snow-covered or frozen;
    (d) heavy rain is forecast within 48 hours, or
    (e) the ground slopes steeply and, taking into account factors such as proximity to waters, soil condition, ground cover and rainfall, there is significant risk of causing water pollution."

REPS farmers arent supposed to spread until 16th
    If not in REPS then there are a few zones which have different dates and the earliest is 12th January.
    Its all on http://www.agriculture.gov.ie/media/migration/ruralenvironment/environment/nitrates/revisedhandbook2008.pdf

But then again if you have to go,you have to go..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

spread all my slurry , finished yesterday roll on the wet spring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

Whats the department's reasoning behind the slurry date? Whats the difference between the 15th and 16th January?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭lifelover2006

what age are you?

whats thats got to do with this thread??

what age are you?
    guess:D

guess:D

Whats the department's reasoning behind the slurry date? Whats the difference between the 15th and 16th January?
    i know,1 day:P

those of you that are spreading , how will you explain your empty tanks if you do get caught ?

let the department prove how long my cows are in

and how will you explain the slurry on the ground?

i spread slurry what about it, they fine me a % of my single farm payment which i get no problem the single farm payments are all bonuses i am happy to let them have that rather than trying to make repayments back on a fancey dept spec shed and still having to wait for 1, dates to spread slurry 2. fine weather to spread it.

leg wax wrote: »
    i spread slurry what about it, they fine me a % of my single farm payment which i get no problem the single farm payments are all bonuses i am happy to let them have that rather than trying to make repayments back on a fancey dept spec shed and still having to wait for 1, dates to spread slurry 2. fine weather to spread it.

you could also face prosecution and a heavy fine from your local authority,
    remember also that the internet is not anonymous it may be possible to trace you from your posting here if the powers that be, wanted to.

the local authoritys cant look after their own problems at the moment, this is ireland they still cant catch the defrauders on welfare, giveing out multi prsi numbers to people, vat numbers up north{but starting just now} , sorry you make me laugh you think that its like the simpsons movie the gov is watching and listening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 cutiepye

im building a house at the moment. anyway went out to see if all was ok out there on Christmas Eve and when i got out of the car i started gawking with the smell. oh my god tears were coming out of my eyes as i was trying to hold my breath. he was out doing it in the field behind the house. im gonna have a read of that booklet now thanks for posting it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Rujib1

cutiepye wrote: »
    im building a house at the moment. anyway went out to see if all was ok out there on Christmas Eve and when i got out of the car i started gawking with the smell. oh my god tears were coming out of my eyes as i was trying to hold my breath. he was out doing it in the field behind the house. im gonna have a read of that booklet now thanks for posting it.
    the thing is that the smell of it on a cold day in Dec / Jan, is nothing towards the smell on a hot, calm sultry day in August :D:D:D Get's in your new windows, in your new house, and seeps right into your new carpet, and curtains, etc. Oh, and the washing hanging outside on the line. Well you just gotta burn that ;):p:D:) Welcome to the country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 cutiepye

haha thanks for that. ill have my windows and doors glued shut so if thats the case. lucky i went for the triple glazed windows. Hopefully it wont ruin any of my summer barabacue's :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

haha thanks for that. ill have my windows and doors glued shut so if thats the case. lucky i went for the triple glazed windows. Hopefully it wont ruin any of my summer barabacue's :P

You will get used to it

you could also face prosecution and a heavy fine from your local authority,
    remember also that the internet is not anonymous it may be possible to trace you from your posting here if the powers that be, wanted to.
    €3,000 for being caught spreading inside closed period and up €500,000 for polluting a river and or a 1 year jail sentence. Gormley dreamt up these figures a few years ago. The council in my area do spot checks on farmyards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

the gov is watching and listening

Even the Irish Gov? ;)

the local authoritys cant look after their own problems at the moment, this is ireland they still cant catch the defrauders on welfare, giveing out multi prsi numbers to people, vat numbers up north{but starting just now} , sorry you make me laugh you think that its like the simpsons movie the gov is watching and listening

well I know of a guy that was caught spreading this time last year, €22k in total it cost him and the council and dept are literally living in his farm eversince, carrying about 40 cattle less this year to comply with his slurry storage facilities

Unlike you he is not laughing much,

When I did the REPS course 2 years ago the planner told us that if you are caught spreading inside the closed period it was a €3000 on the spot fine and that the council would bring the Gardaí to confiscate your slurry store. He said what are the Gardaí going to do? Tow it away with a ford fiesta.

well I know of a guy that was caught spreading this time last year, €22k in total it cost him and the council and dept are literally living in his farm eversince, carrying about 40 cattle less this year to comply with his slurry storage facilities

Unlike you he is not laughing much,
    think its too much of a chnce to be left with them looking over your shoulder the whole time , fair play if you got away with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,626 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

They can catch you if people have the balls to report you. I reported a guy today for 1. spreading on snow, 2. spreading on the 8th, 3. spreading on sandy ground within 200 metres of a high-flow water mains. Those 3 can get you fined very heavily, pal, and while you think that reporting doesn't do much good, it does if you do some research and cc the right people. Then threaten them with the media if they don't enforce the law.
    Blatant disregard for others and not abiding by the good practice codes devised back as far as 2005, before the nitrates laws were enacted, allowed plenty of reasonable living between farmers and other country dwellers. Just because you were grant-aided (not paid yet I admit) for a slatted shed does not mean that because its full of sh1t, that yours becomes the highest priority.
    Reporting to the Dept of Ag ensures that their Cross Compliance unit will check on the local authority to ensure they are enforcing the law.

The fines can be a lot bigger than you think, if you push it buddy.

I'm from farming stock and your kind of anti-authority is not endearing, its just mé-féinism. That's a very weak ideology and doesn't garner support from others.
    some laws are injust. Some are not. They are communally conceived. Not spreading sh1te on frozen fields is hardly denying your civil rights.

would you have to get permission ? was just wondering as when the date comes the weather will probably change and we wouldnt be able to get out:(

There is no permission 'getable'.

The derogation a few months ago, only in certain counties, was due to a situation of force majeure. This is not aprt of the regulation and, as such, permission can not be 'got'. Unless the Dept declares an emergency or something for water and tank levels, the local authorities have no authority in that regard. They must enforce the law.

let the department prove how long my cows are in

Not all laws work like that. That's pretty naive. Like something a teenager would say, James Dean style.

With Revenue, the onus is on YOU to disprove and prove positions, not them. Are you totally comfortable that you are not in a similar scenario? You could get a big surprise.

He must be 25 metres from a potential well site on your site; no less than 100 metres and up to 200 metres from a water mains, depending on its cubic capacity.
    Some of the lads here won't like that; but that's the new law. That doesn't even take into account the good practice codes devised a few years ago (probably self-governance to try and offset the nitrates directive).

Sorry lads, but not all cowboys get away with it and get to sully the name of other good farmers.
    The celtic Tiger may be put down but maybe we'll see a winding down of th excesses of industrial farming and winding up of farm gate prices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

An Ri rua wrote: »
    They can catch you if people have the balls to report you. I reported a guy today for 1. spreading on snow, 2. spreading on the 8th, 3. spreading on sandy ground within 200 metres of a high-flow water mains. Those 3 can get you fined very heavily, pal, and while you think that reporting doesn't do much good, it does if you do some research and cc the right people. Then threaten them with the media if they don't enforce the law.
    Blatant disregard for others and not abiding by the good practice codes devised back as far as 2005, before the nitrates laws were enacted, allowed plenty of reasonable living between farmers and other country dwellers. Just because you were grant-aided (not paid yet I admit) for a slatted shed does not mean that because its full of sh1t, that yours becomes the highest priority.
    Reporting to the Dept of Ag ensures that their Cross Compliance unit will check on the local authority to ensure they are enforcing the law.

The fines can be a lot bigger than you think, if you push it buddy.

I'm from farming stock and your kind of anti-authority is not endearing, its just mé-féinism. That's a very weak ideology and doesn't garner support from others.
    some laws are injust. Some are not. They are communally conceived. Not spreading sh1te on frozen fields is hardly denying your civil rights.

an ri, just wondering if you approached the chap and asked him to stop before reporting him, as you say it a serious business so perhaps you should have given him a chance or the benefit of the doubt before contacting dept?

Hi Vander, unfortunately, no, I didn't. While it seems like the decent and logical thing to do with your neighbours (and I don't want him fined, I just want our collective rights respected), in practice it doesn't work like that. In the country, we all have to live together.
    Its bad enough having to as we say 'grass' on someone (but again, he's purposefully breaking the law and forgive the pun, rubbing our nose in it), but I am not going to become the law-giver. If the law was in my hands, he would be a model citizen entirely.
    He purposefully broke the law and thickly, I mean, crawling gear, spread it within 20 feet of boundary ditches and walls. No lad is going to take remonstrances from what he would consider interfering do-gooders.

They are all very well versed on the law re nitrates, pollution, excess water. No fools, no innocents. let the local council inspector give him the benefit of the doubt. He already asked me for directions and is calling out straight away Sat or Monday (possibly because I cc'd the Dept and also advised I'll upgrade to media contacts before the 12th if its not resolved).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 scaniaman

This slurry spreading closed period has been a disaster since implemented it has't
    worked and won't work. The last few summers being so wet slurry tanks were never fully emptied on a lot of farms and any open tank was nearly full again by the time cattle were housed for the winter. A lot of new tanks etc were built which means there's even more to spread.
    What are the odds the weather will break on the opening day and when it breaks
    it will rain until june but hey who cares once the magic date is passed these laws might be well meaning but make no farming sense.
    Anyone caught spreading in the closed period gets an official warning first AFAIK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

Sorry to repeat the question but i'm curious - what was the thinking behind introducing the closed period for slurry spreading? Why do the dept not want people spreading in Nov/Dec/Jan???

scaniaman wrote: »
    This slurry spreading closed period has been a disaster since implemented it has't
    worked and won't work. The last few summers being so wet slurry tanks were never fully emptied on a lot of farms and any open tank was nearly full again by the time cattle were housed for the winter. A lot of new tanks etc were built which means there's even more to spread.
    What are the odds the weather will break on the opening day and when it breaks
    it will rain until june but hey who cares once the magic date is passed these laws might be well meaning but make no farming sense.
    Anyone caught spreading in the closed period gets an official warning first AFAIK

I hope so. I only want him warned. and watched. But spreading it down some back field is one thing. Barefaced cheek within 10 feet of boundary walls is another. And this lad was painstakingly emptying his tank, not just spreading. He was crawling along, caking the surface. Some serious bullsh1t.

But quite two-faced of our government and the EU, yes. here's a grant to build a slatted shed, but essentially don't increase your herd number if your lands / weather can't take it.

Nonsensical. But that doesn't mean I have to literally take crap from someone who has too much of it......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 scaniaman

An Ri rua wrote: »
    I hope so. I only want him warned. and watched. But spreading it down some back field is one thing. Barefaced cheek within 10 feet of boundary walls is another. And this lad was painstakingly emptying his tank, not just spreading. He was crawling along, caking the surface. Some serious bullsh1t.

But quite two-faced of our government and the EU, yes. here's a grant to build a slatted shed, but essentially don't increase your herd number if your lands / weather can't take it.

Nonsensical. But that doesn't mean I have to literally take crap from someone who has too much of it......

What kind of t**l does that we've all slipped a few loads down the back field but up against someone's house almost in the closed period:mad:Before the closed period was implemented slurry was spread whenever we got a chance and usually a little and often.
    The 16th is opening day in these parts and the whole countryside will be drowned with slurry for that week.

scaniaman wrote: »
    What kind of t**l does that we've all slipped a few loads down the back field but up against someone's house almost in the closed period:mad:Before the closed period was implemented slurry was spread whenever we got a chance and usually a little and often.
    The 16th is opening day in these parts and the whole countryside will be drowned with slurry for that week.

Could they save some for a protest run in Kildare Street? Back her up and rev her to the sky. Fight like with like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭mossfort

there seems to be a lot of people who move to the countryside who dont like the way that farming works.
    it makes little difference if slurry is spread today or in two weeks time its still going to smell. if somebodys slatted tank is full what option do they have but to empty it .
    i know most people who buy sites in the country are decent people and dont complain about small things but there are always one or two who are intent on falling out with the locals.
    but the law is the law and we have to stick to the deadlines.