Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

self consciousness in gym

• 05-01-2010 3:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭

Hey I was debating whether to put this here or elsewhere but sure I might aswel.Does any one ever feel very self conscious when they are in the gym?I am not fat but I am not particuraly fit nor do I lift much weight.Does anyone have advice on what to do to combat this feeling?I would like to get fit but I always feel really nervous in the gym as if people are watching me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭simplistic

poisonated wrote: »
    Hey I was debating whether to put this here or elsewhere but sure I might aswel.Does any one ever feel very self conscious when they are in the gym?I am not fat but I am not particuraly fit nor do I lift much weight.Does anyone have advice on what to do to combat this feeling?I would like to get fit but I always feel really nervous in the gym as if people are watching me.

Well I think that generally people care way too much about themselves to care that much about how somebody else looks. Really if you feel that way then Id say that most others do too. I do but then I just laugh and think of the above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭jayoo

I would consider myself very self conscious in general, which is a pain in the hole :mad:, why amnt i more confident:(. and i can understand how you feel as the gym usually has its fair amount of people watchers and messers.

Could you go in the morning time? I love going in the morning, as the gym is much quieter and the people there have actually put in an effort to get up and come to the gym, so this usually cuts out the messers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

jayoo wrote: »
    Could you go in the morning time? I love going in the morning, as the gym is much quieter and the people there have actually put in an effort to get up and come to the gym, so this usually cuts out the messers :)

I'm going to find out when my gym is most quiet and go during those hours so I can get use to the machines.

Plus if you have a mate or someone you know to come along with you it won't be so bad.

One of the lads in my class is always up in the gym so I'm going to make him help me out and show me the ropes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭jayoo

The mornings are always nice and quiet. It will also depend on the gym itself, for example my gym is the uni gym, so weekends are usually very quiet. The worst times are usually 6-close

I will post up two youtube channels which show a lot of videos of different things you can do in the gym.

http://www.youtube.com/user/smittydiesel?blend=2&ob=1
    Diesel crew guys

http://www.youtube.com/user/joedefranco
    Joe defrancos gym

These guys are great between them there are prob 400 videos, now out of these u might just a few videos that you like. The guys in the videos are of a very high standard so dont feel intimadated if some of the excercises look hard.

A few of the videos from diesel crew are excellent

This one shows you how to gradually build up to pull ups, and shows a varity of excellent back excercises
    http://www.youtube.com/user/smittydiesel?blend=2&ob=1#p/u/3/Jzts1X8l4Rk

A lot of the time a person may feel uncomfortable because they are not sure what to do or how to use the diff equipment. I find it helps to have a plan of the diff excercises you want to do. Prehaps you could start a log. There are prob other people on here that train at your gym

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

My advice would be to just go when ever suits you. Dont change you entire routine just because you think people might be looking at you.

Keep working hard and they will be the same pople that come up to you and comment on how much progress you are making

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

honestly, 99% of people dont give a **** about what other gym users are doing or look like. when im in the gym I certainly dont! in fact, the only people I actually take any notice of in the gym are regulars who I know ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Get headphones and some music. Nothing better than being in your own little world when doing your routine. Sure, keep an eye on your surroundings, but if the music is good, you'll hear the music, and not feel the eyes on your back.
    Ride across the sky / Wheels of fire burning bright / We live to ride / Motors running / Now you're gonna learn / Waiting on the line... :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

corkcomp wrote: »
    honestly, 99% of people dont give a **** about what other gym users are doing or look like. when im in the gym I certainly dont! in fact, the only people I actually take any notice of in the gym are regulars who I know ..

thats pretty much it right there.... if there is someone whos looking at you and is bothered by you then there sad little people...and your already way better than them anyways...

The only way people bother me in the gym is if there being a complete twat..

as was said...get in...train..get on with it...and forget anyone is even there...

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

Do you have a program made for you by one of the staff? If you had a 'to do' list of the different sets etc you'd probably find yourself caught up trying to get it done. Also try to get to know one or two of the staff by name, most are very friendly so they'll be inclined to say hello or have a chat when you're there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

I felt like that in my last gym, it was full of pure 'faffers' as I call them, people just standing about watching other people, and it pure wrecked my head. The gym I'm in now is great though, I can do metcons etc. and no-one bats an eyelid, in my old gym I could tell they were wondering what the hell I was at. I've actually only ever seen 2 girls in there at the one time, BUT I still feel much more at ease working out there because I know everyone else is too absorbed in their own workout to stand around gawking at what I'm doing. That said, I did get a bit paranoid at taking my trainers off to do deadlifts the other day, I thought anyone who saw would think I was a bit mad... until I realised it was pretty standard to do :)

It really really helps if you know exactly what you're doing too, I know when I start a new work out I always feel like a bit of a spa the first time I run throug hit because I'm just getting used to it and I hate thinking I might be doing something wrong! Just make sure you take your time to get to grips with every part of your program so that you get to the point where you're uber confident and you KNOW that no-one would have any reason to critique it :)

Oh and you know what really helps too? - Music! If all else fails and you really are feeling really conscious then just turn up your mp3 player at full blast, that way you can just zone out of everything around you and concentrate on what you're doing :) Honest to god though, try not to think about it because it really is doubtful that anyone is too concerned with your workout, I mean I know I don't tend to notice anyone around me when I'm working out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

I do a bit and I used to be more so.
    Now not so much, I can give you 2 pieces of advice.

1: get some sort of routine, i.e. something where you are trying to improve on a couple of exercises from workout to workout or from time to time. You will find that when you are trying to improve weight lifted/ Technique/ Time taken / reps for a given time, what other people are doing becomes of lesser importance.

2: What simplistic said. You will probably come to realise this in time.
    Most people are too busy looking at themselves to be looking at you. If they do look, they are probably not paying much attention. or their looking is a good thing.;)

Or else they are in no position to judge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭Doug Cartel

I'm massively self-concious in the gym; so much so that at the first gym I joined I never actually used any of the equipment! I only ever went to the classes - judo and circuits.

The gym I'm at now doesn't have a circuits class, so I had to bite the bullet and start going on my own. I felt pretty stupid at first, but after a session or two it was all ok. Going at a quiet time really helps, as you won't feel you're hogging the equipment as you're trying to work things out, and the staff won't be busy, so they can help you out. Definitely, have a plan of what you want to do, that way you can just work your way through it and not worry about anyone else.

If you've got a friend who knows what they're doing, it might be worth going with them. If it's just someone your going to chat with, you might be better off going without them. People swanning about on the equipment doing nothing, while I'm waiting for a go, is one of few things I do notice and care about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

corkcomp wrote: »
    honestly, 99% of people dont give a **** about what other gym users are doing or look like. when im in the gym I certainly dont!

Bingo. People are generally too busy to give a poop about you.

I hear you though...I feel self conscious in a normal gyms but not at a Muay Thai class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭magotch07

hey im of a similar mentality to you and most likely was in worse shape when i started in the gym....when i first started going the gym all my close friends where there and it was great to have someone to go with...they all left and i was on my own i found the ipod great because i just put it on and got on with my workout.... but to be fair most people dont care what people look like as long as ur doing ur best.....there will always be assholes who will giggle and go on like children but most gym people aint like this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Khannie wrote: »
    I feel self conscious in a normal gyms but not at a Muay Thai class.
    And that's why you have to come to my gym, so I can turn the tables :D

OP I think it's fair to say that we've all felt self-conscious in the gym at some stage. As others have said arm yourself with a plan and just go in and do it. Those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind :) *

* Thank you Dr. Seusse. Your words of wisdom know no bounds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

jayoo wrote: »
    I would consider myself very self conscious in general, which is a pain in the hole :mad:, why amnt i more confident:(. and i can understand how you feel as the gym usually has its fair amount of people watchers and messers.

Good point Jayoo I am lucky im off work for last few months(wont from February:() and go in morning and found it much more relaxed of course theres less people.

Even though its quieter people are more inclined to not be bothered about what anybody else does.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

No one cares what you look like as much as you think they do.

If people do notice you as new, they are far more likely to be thinking 'well done' than 'jeez, look at that'.

Ask for help from the staff if you are a bit lost.

Everyone there had to start sometime too, they do remember what that was like.

Worry about your own routine, and your own goals. Be happy with your achievement of going, and remember everyone else is doing the same thing.

Keep going. The more you do, the less you will care what you look like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

i used to be really self concious in the gym, so much so that i avoided any upper body work for the first 3 months because i was so weak, then one day i just said fck it, lets do this sh1t! seriously, ive never ever noticed anyone staring at me , as others said get an ipod or something and put on some music!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

Thanks for the replies.I am glad to hear that other people feel that way and I will certainly take the suggestions on board.

i used to be really self concious in the gym, so much so that i avoided any upper body work for the first 3 months because i was so weak, then one day i just said fck it, lets do this sh1t! seriously, ive never ever noticed anyone staring at me , as others said get an ipod or something and put on some music!

Haha yeah I'm currently avoiding the barbell bench press because I KNOW my form is lousy and my weight is shameful!!! I'm used to the dumb bell bench press and it's grand, but I really am going to feel stupid the first time I've to use the barbell because the last time I tried it Transform said my elbow was sticking out and it was making the bar wonky, so KNOW I'm going to look like an eejit!:rolleyes:

See OP, for all my talk I'm as bad!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 bucajack

I feel like a knob in the gym no matter what I'm doing! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

bucajack wrote: »
    I feel like a knob in the gym no matter what I'm doing! :mad:

Great.

That means you can do whatever you want.

Lots of good advice already given.
    I just zone out, stick on the iPod and do my thing. I sweat buckets, end up with a tomato-red face and I really don't care!

It's funny, I read a thread here the other day with someone complaing about gym newbies.
    For me the REAL giveaway of a newbie is the fact that they spend a lot of time staring at other people!
    I had two girls on either side of me yesterday and I dunno how they didn't fall off their crosstrainers, such was their interest in me and what I was doing. It's incredibly annoying.

99% of gym goers genuinely don't notice or care what others are doing once they're not in the way (unless they're perving, of course!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭InKonspikuou2

I used to in the beginning but i outgrew it over time. But still to this day it can be a bit intimidating when i'm going to heavy deadlift or squat heavy and you can feel eyes on you. Distracts me sometimes and i can't focus completely on the lift.

I don't care what shape somebody is in or how much they can only bench. I still think to myself, fair play to them for even making the effort. So just keep the mindset positive and you'll prevail over any self conscious issues you have at the gym.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭Assets Model

I dunno if the OP is a girl or a bloke but if you're a girl i'd recommend getting some proper workout gear. I feel better if i'm wearing nice stuff and I find the proper tops from nike etc are actually more comfy and don't move/chafe/result in me flashing they way an ordinary tshirt would. Just a suggestion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

Anyone who is looking at you or staring because of what you're lifting probably isn't worth **** themselves.

Couldn't give a **** what other people or lifting or what shape they are in, once they are trying.

Not gonna lie though, if someone is messing around with a group of mates or taking the absolute piss with dangerous technique, then they might get a look alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I remember just last month this guy was looking at me for quiet some time when I was doing squats. I kind felt uneasy as he really was basically staring at what I was doing. He came over once finished and asked me for advice as gym instructor told him to take note of how I do squats as I have good technique.

Just saying people might lo,ok at you as an good example maybe as person they can learn from or hell they might just think your good looking.;)

mloc wrote: »
    Couldn't give a **** what other people or lifting or what shape they are in, once they are trying.

have to say i have had a few people give me looks and laughs but most of the time its just assholes to be honest but once people see you putting the effort in they are like fair play ya big fatty magotch07 :D:D

actually head some polish dude who is in savage shape tell me fair play because i always put the effort in which was sound

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

Time to bring out one of my favourite quotes....

You wouldn't worry so much about what others thought of you, if you knew how seldom they did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

bucajack wrote: »
    I feel my knob in the gym no matter what I'm doing! :mad:

Jesus you should probably stop that...

Oh how I laughed....:D:P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

You got the most legitimate lol EVER there!!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

I don't feel self concious in the gym at the time.... but I do wonder what people think I'm doing with a camera and the assorted grunts/groans I let out every now and again. Only notice these when reviewing my videos.

Just get on with your own training and you will be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭DamienH

I'd say you'd be okay as long as you don't turn the camera on them :D They probably just think you're some strain of lunatic.

G86 wrote: »
    Oh how I laughed....:D:P

Me and Parsley were sitting beside each other in stitches!! wasn't sure if i'd get away with it or not :o:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

So parsleys staying the night then L? how adorable..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

So parsleys staying the night then L? how adorable..

He only made me dinner, i don't give it up that easily :pac:

Parsley wrote: »
    He only made me dinner, i don't give it up that easily :pac:

lol

:D:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

celestial wrote: »
    Time to bring out one of my favourite quotes....

You wouldn't worry so much about what others thought of you, if you knew how seldom they did.

Not getting the love it deserves.