Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any ladies drive in heels?

• 04-01-2010 8:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭

I've been driving a few months now and only ever wear converse(i've got about 6 pairs) when i'm driving it's all i feel comfortable in when driving ,bit of a random question but does anybody where heels when driving?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Yeah I have done. Don't have a problem with it. I wouldn't start now though in this weather, you'd need to be really confident.

It's not that hard actually, you just need to adjust yourself to keeping your feet at a slightly different angle.

I was the same as you when I first started driving, all I would drive in was Vans, they were just so comfortable and flexible!

I can drive in heels fine.
    I use the ball of my foot. Tis much of a muchness.

It is much more difficult to drive barefoot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

Stray_Cat wrote: »
    only ever wear converse(i've got about 6 pairs)

Converse ftw :D

Back on topic I have driven in heels but tbh I prefer not to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I could only drive in flat shoes when I started driving but I'd drive in heels now if I had to. I do still prefer to be in flat shoes though.

I think after you've been driving for a good bit and are confident of your ability, it just becomes a second nature and you could pretty much driving wearing anything if the situation called for it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

When I first started driving I couldn't drive in heels, now I don't give it a second thought.

Cannot drive in flip flops or pumps. And one girl I know preferred driving barefoot up til she was pulled over by the gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

I have driven in heels, but I prefer my ugly work shoes for driving - they're so comfy for long journeys. I find driving in heels is slightly uncomfortable for longer trips. If I'm going somewhere and I want to wear heels when I get there I usually stick them in the boot.

I drive wearing my wedge boots regularly though. Then again, they're almost like slippers.

I can drive in anything really. The things I like least are my Gym runners because they have such a thick sole that I can't feel the pedals quite as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

I drive in hiking boots, heels, flip-flops, you name it. I learnt to drive in converse as my instructor said thin soles were the easiest way of getting a feeling for the biting point and pedals.

Whenever we get a new car I start off in flats and then as I get used to the car, I wear whatever I've got on. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Yeah I'd often drive in heels, the only time I wouldn't is if they're really thin stilettos, I'd find them slipping a little then. Can't drive in flipflops either, I'd be afraid of them sort of slipping to one side. If I'm wearing flipflops I usually just drive in my bare feet ... can you get in trouble for that? :confused: It doesnt feel any less comfortable or anything to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Bellemz

I can drive confidently in anything but I have found stilettos can get stuck in the matting of certain cars and if you drive in shoes that are wider than you are used to that it can accidentally catch both pedals at the same time in small cars...just a few things to be aware of...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭bills

I wear heels all the time. At this stage, im more used of wearing heels than flats when driving.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

No, only ever drive in flats. Find the stiletto heel can get stuck in the mat beneath the pedals which has on occasion completely freaked me out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I have my special driving shoes in the car :o

I tried driving in heels once and the heel got caught under the brake somehow :eek:

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,978 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Is it just me or does anyone else find that driving in heels wrecks the shoes? Like where the heel joins to the back of the shoe gets all worn away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭chocgirl

Yeah I regularly drive in heels, don't even notice the difference. Think the angle of your foot can ruin stiletto heels though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭FarmerGreen

I have tried , but the size twelve black patent leather ones tend to get a bit scuffed up.
    Doc Martens and Toetectors are kinda huge, and sort of overlap the pedals, unrequested control inputs thingy?
    So now I use me black suede fairy boots, nice ankle movement, minimum width. I am in conrol. Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

I prefer to drive in heels for a long journey - I have hip/lower back problems which are aggravated by the angle I sit at in the car, but heels seem to alleviate that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

I've been driving for a year now and found driving in heel no problem except if it's a rubber mat (like the car I have now) the heel gets stuck in the grooves. It's much easier on carpet mats, your foot slides better.

Someone mentioned driving barefoot as well. I've done that lots of times and it's easier than driving in heels.

Normally if I'm in heels now I wear them if it's a short journey and take them off, go bare foot if it's long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭beauty101

most of my heels have a platform so I find it pretty hard to gauge the pressure im putting on the accelerator, brake etc.

I don't mind driving barefoot but it's a bit uncomfortable and cold!

I normally drive in uggs/pumps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

I do pretty much everything in heels so don't even notice it when I'm driving!

That said, I wouldn't venture out on the icy roads in a pair of six inch stilettos...

Just a word of warning to the girls driving barefoot. This "apparently" is against the law. I know a girl who was in a minor accident, the other driver admitted reponsibility at the scene but the gardai told the girl that she could be done for driving with no shoes. Slippers are the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

Can't drive in pumps, flipflops, or heels. At all. I drove barefoot a handful of times but I haven't done it since about 2008. It was comfortable though- especially driving at mid day when my car would be after getting really hot inside.

Now I just keep a pair of old runners and some spare socks in the car and wear those if I need to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

can drive in anything really, flats, heels, flip-flops, wedge heels, runners, anything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Cupcake Girl

Im learning and cant think of anything more dangerous..though in a strange sort of way I aspire to be like you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

sam34 wrote: »
    cn drive in anything really, flats heels, flip-flops, wedge heels, anything

Me too, never had a problem.

My momma keeps "driving shoes" in the cars though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

Malari wrote: »
    Me too, never had a problem.

My momma keeps "driving shoes" in the cars though!

So does mine! She hates the back of her heels getting tatty. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

Just a word of warning to the girls driving barefoot. This "apparently" is against the law. I know a girl who was in a minor accident, the other driver admitted reponsibility at the scene but the gardai told the girl that she could be done for driving with no shoes. Slippers are the same.

I think I would have a bigger problem than driving with no shoes. I don't have a full licence and I don't have someone to drive with me. I've also driven up to dublin on my own using the motorway when I had to, in bare feet too. At that point if I was pulled over don't think having no shoes would matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

So does mine! She hates the back of her heels getting tatty. :D

My mum does it because it's the only way she feels comfortable to drive though. She's not nervous, but just very cautious!

Orla K wrote: »
    I think I would have a bigger problem than driving with no shoes. I don't have a full licence and I don't have someone to drive with me. I've also driven up to dublin on my own using the motorway when I had to, in bare feet too. At that point if I was pulled over don't think having no shoes would matter.

haha! I can see the garda looking down and shaking his head!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Maglight

Driving wrecks high heels. I do it, but after a while the back of the heel will look all scuffed and tatty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭dcfc

Silverfish wrote: »
    When I first started driving I couldn't drive in heels, now I don't give it a second thought.

Cannot drive in flip flops or pumps. And one girl I know preferred driving barefoot up til she was pulled over by the gardai.

I drive barefoot alot! Why did the guards pull her over?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

dcfc wrote: »
    I drive barefoot alot! Why did the guards pull her over?

Think it was a checkpoint for tax/insurance.

I'm pretty sure the law says you must wear appropriate footwear for driving, so no footwear at all would be inappropriate to the gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭silvo

Yep, I can drive in any shoe (except for Buffalo runners) *shudders at past fashion mistakes*

I never wear heels. Or drive. Wahh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭Smallbit

In my old car I couldn't drive with heels because the heel would catch under the pedal as I accellerated (I do a lot of that...)

But in my new car the pedal seems to have a hinge on the floor and is much bigger so now I don't have to take the heels off! mind you a three inch heel is my limit :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Only ever wear Converse to drive in, have several pairs, but especially my lucky ones that I did my lessons and passed test in:D I rarely drive in anything else, other than a pair of Clarks flatties. Dont wear heels anyway, but would not even try to drive in them, would be too nervous of feet slipping or catching. Tried driving in my Doc boots recently, could not feel pedals properly, had to pull over and throw on the lucky Converse....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Chloe86

Hi everyone,

I used to always drive to and from jobs in heels, sometimes it was a bit awkward but something i had gotten used to. just before chirstmas i passed to a garda checkpoint and the gard had notice i wasnt wearing any shoes as i had taken them off and was driving barefoot. He actually made me put my shoes on and told me it was dangerous for me to drive in my barefeet. When i asked him why he said i might not have full control over my car and he made me put my shoes back on :( he told me i should maybe keep runners or flat shoes in my car too

Now anytime I get in the car I just leave a pair of flat pumps near my pedals :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Lady Davenport

I can drive in heels, but I don't like doing it. And in fact, I prefer to be barefoot / in socks. Not in this weather though, I wear a pair of converse. I actually feel like I've more control over the pedals without footwear, so I'm a bit disappointed by this.

I find driving in sandals or flip-flops to be more obstructive than most other footwear.

Chloe86 wrote: »
    Now anytime I get in the car I just leave a pair of flat pumps near my pedals :)

do you mean you continue to drive barefoot but keep them there so you can slip them on if you get pulled over?

if so, thats really dangerous. what if the shoes slip and get wedged under the pedals so that you cant break - you could end up in a crash

you should rethink that, for your own and others safety

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Chloe86

Hey Sam,

I might have worded that wrongly. I leave flat pumps in the car for when I'm driving now. As soon i get in i put them on, and leave them there when i get out. I would never drive with them left there, and appriciate what u're saying :) I'm a safe driver! :P

Chloe86 wrote: »
    Hey Sam,

I might have worded that wrongly. I leave flat pumps in the car for when I'm driving now. As soon i get in i put them on, and leave them there when i get out. I would never drive with them left there, and appriciate what u're saying :) I'm a safe driver! :P

i gotta say i'm relieved! :)

sorry i took you up wrong