Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

25 Grand Fine for Blasphemy

• 04-01-2010 8:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭MrMatisse

As many of you know blasphemy is now a criminal offence in Ireland carrying a fine of 25k.:eek:

For more info see www.blasphemy.ie.

This is a ridiculous piece of legislation. It has no place in a modern country.

If your unhappy with this here is a pre written email for all the lazy :D folk out there which you can send to your local TD to get it repealed.

Dear { TD's Name},
    I am writing in relation to Minister Aherns blasphemy law which recently came into affect. I am very unhappy with this piece of legislation. I feel that medieval religious laws have no place in a modern secular republic, where the criminal law should protect people and not ideas.

I hope that this piece of legislation can be reviewed as soon as possible. In addition to it being centuries out of date and inappropriate, it only invites people to make a nuisance of themselves in order to challenge it. Hopefully the { Political Party} can give some leadership on this issue.

Yours Faithfully,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

jesus christ 25k!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭MrMatisse

I hope you have deep pockets!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

Well, it was a nice piece of halibut.

• jesus titty f**kin christ thats a lot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Meh, I bet it never becomes an issue. It'll be used to shut up people on massive anti church rants in the media.

I still predict (it may already have happened in the other thread) that RTDH will declare this another step towards a police state and say we will all end up beign fined 25l for saying "jesus christ" on the street only for it never to be mentioned again and just be another piece of legislation that sits silently on the books.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

Doubt it will ever get enforced. But just to test its boundaries I'll draw a badly drawn picture of muhammad :D

http://www.cagle.com/news/muhammad/images/849-MuhammadDrawing.gif

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

Corkfeen wrote: »
    Doubt it will ever get enforced. But just to test its boundaries I'll draw a badly drawn picture of muhammad :D

I expect the fine for that would be death by jihadist ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭phlegms

But racism is still cool right?

Right!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Get your Cradle of Filth T-shirts here.....................
    phlegms wrote: »
    But racism is still cool right?

Relevence to thread ?????????????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

So now it's illeagal to insult another persons religion/beliefe system?

Is that right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Jesus is lame

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

Woah... really? So if I turn up at the district courthouse and tell the judge that the Pope is a cnut ill get fined €25k?? hmmm im almost tempted... Should get a campaign to test teh waters with this one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,476 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I agree with the OP it is a ridiculous piece of legistration. It's things like this that got Monty Python's The Life Of Brian banned when it first came out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭Takk

From blasphemy.ie:

Dermot Ahern, Irish Minister for Justice
    , introducing his blasphemy law at an Oireachtas Justice Committee meeting, 2009, and referring to comments made about him personally:
    They are blasphemous.
    Deputy Pat Rabbitte replied:
    Given the Minister’s self-image, it could very well be that we are blaspheming
    and Minister Ahern replied:
    Deputy Rabbitte says that I am close to the baby Jesus, I am so pure.
    So here we have an Irish Justice Minister joking about himself being blasphemed, at a parliamentary Justice Committee discussing his own blasphemy law, that could make his own jokes illegal.

Micheal Martin, Irish Minister for Foreign Affairs, opposing attempts by Islamic States to make defamation of religion a crime at UN level, 2009:
    We believe that the concept of defamation of religion is not consistent with the promotion and protection of human rights. It can be used to justify arbitrary limitations on, or the denial of, freedom of expression. Indeed, Ireland considers that freedom of expression is a key and inherent element in the manifestation of freedom of thought and conscience and as such is complementary to freedom of religion or belief.
    Just months after Minister Martin made this comment, his colleague Dermot Ahern introduced Ireland’s new blasphemy law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭randomchild

Is that right?

People need to start brushing up on their constitutional law, its alway been a crime since 1937.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Is that right?
    Yes and also its an attack on our freedom of speech.

Im surprised someone is not making up T Shirts for this to wear outside the Dail to see if they will enforce it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭amen

although the legislation allows for artistic or public discussion of the religious items that may be termed blasphemy everyone seems to be thinking of the mainstream religions that law may also apply to other groupings such as the "Jedi" etc

could be loads of fun with this one

People need to start brushing up on their constitutional law, its alway been a crime since 1937.

Only in the sense and to the extent that the state can be held liable for failing to ensure that mothers are not compelled by economic necessity to take up paid employment to the detriment of their duties at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Well....that's what I thought.
    So this doesn't make much sense to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭JangoFett

This law, if true that they can actually fine you 25 grand, is an embarrassment to Ireland.
    I might go look for something better....America??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

I was under the impression that these laws merely placed other religions into the same context as the catholic one in our constitution,merely updating it from like 1937 or somthing.

In all fairness were not about to be like many extremist Muslim governments are we.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

Isn't the whole malarkey of legislation for blasphemy necessary because it's in the constitution but not in the law? Don't know why they didn't opt for the abortion solution, i.e. perpetually postpone enacting any legislation. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

Revenue clap their hands in glee
    I count at least 200 grand here and we are only on page 2
    Jesus thats a lot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭randomchild

Basically its in the constitution, but it only says its a crime and thats it. Nothing about what the punishment is, or any details of the crime itself (i.e is intention needed? what defenses are available? does insulting Rastafarians count?).

A few years ago someone attempted a private prosecution using this part of the constitution, the courts rightly said that it would be impossible and the legislature would need to pass a bill for such an act to occur. So instead of having a big expensive referendum on the matter, we have this, a law that is nigh on uneforceable, rendering the entire topic moot, but good news for a media stuck with nothing but leftovers after Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

F *** you Jedi you C ***.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭JangoFett

I still think it's offensive even is it is unenforcable. I'm an athiest and I think having a LAW about FICTIONAL CHARACTERS is insane. It's like if the government suddenly said that you could get in trouble or be fined for saying Tony the Tiger is a c unt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Proper order too, no symptahy for them - anyone caught using Springsteen's name in vain deserves the 25k fine.

Even if there was a constitutional necessity to have such a law (and there probably isint given that weve managed the last 70+ years without it) where did they come up with the figure of twenty five grand for an appropriate level of punishment -as opposed to say two shillings and sixpence ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Agricola wrote: »
    jesus christ 25k!

You used the holy name in vain!!!!!

BLASPHEMY!!

:pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Fear Uladh

There will have to be a lot of posts deleted on boards.ie that state some priests are Paedophiles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

It's about time something was done about all the heathens that blaspheme science.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

JangoFett wrote: »
    I still think it's offensive even is it is unenforcable. I'm an athiest and I think having a LAW about FICTIONAL CHARACTERS is insane. It's like if the government suddenly said that you could get in trouble or be fined for saying Tony the Tiger is a c unt

Yeh but to get rid of it we'd have to have another bleedin referendum and we only just had 2 of them!

Anyway- the way referendums go in this country if it was removed we'd only end up having another referendum a couple of months later voting it back in.

Better things to be doing with money than spending it on a vote on a law nobody give a sh!te about

The third part of that law states, not verbatim, that you have to have intent to cause insult..... DUH!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭Gaspode

insult who? Jesus? The Pope? those 2 tossers are just too easy to insult it not even a challenge any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭sadista

Notice of non consent and petition here, please take the time to read and sign if you oppose this ridiculous piece of legislation.
    http://www.petitiononline.com/asdf11/petition.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

What a bad way to make money. EVERYONE says the ol' JC every now and then. :P

Besides, I'm sure not every politician believes in God, or feels SO strongly that this law must be imposed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Proper order too, no symptahy for them - anyone caught using Springsteen's name in vain deserves the 25k fine.
    http://www.stratcollector.com/images/news/clapton/god.gif tbh.

Edit: God doesn't exist. Get with the times.

K4t wrote: »
    http://www.stratcollector.com/images/news/clapton/god.gif tbh.

Edit: God doesn't exist. Get with the times.

I only found out the other day that Clapton is a racist:eek:, seriously.

Great guitarist and all but still kind of ruins him a bit for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

PK2008 wrote: »
    I only found out the other day that Clapton is a racist:eek:, seriously.

Great guitarist and all but still kind of ruins him a bit for me
    No he's not. Read the full story.

Will do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

What going on tonight?

First I am accused of being a racist and now Clapton.

Too fecking much ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

Dear { TD's Name},
    I am writing in relation to Minister Aherns blasphemy law which recently came into affect.

Effect.

Template fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Seems most people don't realise the only time this law will be enforced would be extremely well known cases such as the Danish newspaper printing a picture of a modern day Muhamed with a bomb in his turban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

Yes and also its an attack on our freedom of speech.

Im surprised someone is not making up T Shirts for this to wear outside the Dail to see if they will enforce it. :)

Ireland doesnt have freedom of speech. I believe that is in the american constitution only.

Id say this is being brought in to have more control on the media - newspapers particularly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

So what our news media need freedom of speech in ours and any democracy.

Religion has extreme view and it needs ridiculing at times, so is that blasphemy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭derfderf

Wouldn't it just be easier to let the papers say what they want while the rest of us bury our heads in the sand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

JangoFett wrote: »

I've seen Tony the Tiger. He's a cartoon animal who promotes a cereal.
    I have yet to see any evidence of any God in any form.

Here's the thing. This only applies to published blasphemy and the publishers are the ones who take the hit. In this case, Boards.ie.
    Second thing. Boards will only be fined if they refuse to remove the offending posts after being asked to do so by the offended party.

Wanna test it for yourself? Create your own website. Not one of those free ones. Actually buy a domain name and Irish based hosting space, then blaspheme away and see what happens.

Now I'm not too well up on the bible or the Koran, but both books have scriptures calling for non-believers to be killed.
    What we need to do is have all of that published material destroyed because it is offensive to people who do not believe in any of the Abrahamic faiths.
    Let's use this law to our own advantage.

A quick google brought up the following: http://skepticsannotatedbible.com/Quran/cruelty/long.html
    http://www.godlessgeeks.com/LINKS/BibleQuotes.htm (JESUS, ON NONBELIEVERS - John 15:6 (KJV)
    "If a man abide not in me, he is cast forth as a branch, and is withered; and men gather them, and cast them into the fire, and they are burned.") I read that as Christian scripture calling for me (a nonbeliever) to be thrown onto a fire. I'm really offended.

I'm sure the OT has some great ones too.
    Then there's the book of Mormon, the many Christian sects, Scientology, Buddhism and so forth.

If this is played correctly, religion could be completely wiped from this country.

Most religions do not believe that Mary was a virgin. That's offensive to Catholics.
    Rally the Catholic Church to have those religions removed. Then we only have one religion left to deal with.
    The Catholic Church doesn't like gay people or pro-life people. Get them in on the game and we're rid of those aspects of Catholic teaching.

I know it's not that simple, but there's an outline for anyone who wants to follow it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭Dotsie~tmp

Priests follow the teachings of jesus. Priests are all pedos thus so was the jesus. Who do i make this cheque out to?

4leto wrote: »
    So what our news media need freedom of speech in ours and any democracy.

Religion has extreme view and it needs ridiculing at times, so is that blasphemy.
    derfderf wrote: »
    Wouldn't it just be easier to let the papers say what they want while the rest of us bury our heads in the sand?

'publishing or uttering matter that is grossly abusive or insulting in relation to matters held sacred by any religion.'

he law, he says, also attempts to define blasphemy as causing "outrage … among a substantial number of adherents" of a religion. But the law fails to define what outrage is or what a substantial number is,
    Terry wrote: »
    I've seen Tony the Tiger. He's a cartoon animal who promotes a cereal.
    I have yet to see any evidence of any God in any form.

Here's the thing. This only applies to published blasphemy and the publishers are the ones who take the hit. In this case, Boards.ie.
    Second thing. Boards will only be fined if they refuse to remove the offending posts after being asked to do so by the offended party.

Wanna test it for yourself? Create your own website. Not one of those free ones. Actually buy a domain name and Irish based hosting space, then blaspheme away and see what happens.

Now I'm not too well up on the bible or the Koran, but both books have scriptures calling for non-believers to be killed.
    What we need to do is have all of that published material destroyed because it is offensive to people who do not believe in any of the Abrahamic faiths.
    Let's use this law to our own advantage.

A quick google brought up the following: http://skepticsannotatedbible.com/Quran/cruelty/long.html
    http://www.godlessgeeks.com/LINKS/BibleQuotes.htm (JESUS, ON NONBELIEVERS - John 15:6 (KJV)
    "If a man abide not in me, he is cast forth as a branch, and is withered; and men gather them, and cast them into the fire, and they are burned.") I read that as Christian scripture calling for me (a nonbeliever) to be thrown onto a fire. I'm really offended.

I'm sure the OT has some great ones too.
    Then there's the book of Mormon, the many Christian sects, Scientology, Buddhism and so forth.

If this is played correctly, religion could be completely wiped from this country.

Most religions do not believe that Mary was a virgin. That's offensive to Catholics.
    Rally the Catholic Church to have those religions removed. Then we only have one religion left to deal with.
    The Catholic Church doesn't like gay people or pro-life people. Get them in on the game and we're rid of those aspects of Catholic teaching.

I know it's not that simple, but there's an outline for anyone who wants to follow it up.

I like your thinking!! Maybe you could lead the Rally?