Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Turning Thirty

• 04-01-2010 1:13am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭

So lads hitting the milestone later this week, and not having achieved all I would have liked to by them (see: Supreme Overlord, becoming) is there any benifits advantages to turning the big twenty-ten?

Want to keep this general in the hope it's not locked.

And as this is now the classic rock forum, 80's rock Ballads willbe dereguer for my party!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

The biggest advantage to turning thirty is that you aren't forty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Still ain't 19 either :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

efb wrote: »
    And as this is now the classic rock forum, 80's rock Ballads willbe dereguer for my party!
    Happy Birthday :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

You'll soon get that state pension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

There's no advantage to turning 30, if anything this is where life goes down the ****ter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

30 not so bad, you can say things like, "remember when we were in our 20's and ...."

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

You see I got past the achieving my goals thing by not setting myself any, so far I'm well exceeding my own expectations!

Happy Birthday by the way, I'll try to have my baby that day and call him efb2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Did the turning forty thread remind you that you were turning thirty OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,016 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Is the letter "I" being given the cold shoulder in these thread titles?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

i think it was an error on behalf of the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

The biggest advantage to turning thirty is that you aren't forty.
    Rarely was a truer word said.

Definitely after you hit 40 you probably shouldn't be going out with (or "doing" if you want something shorter term) anyone under, say, 21. It's just wrong. Also, it sounds odd enough when you're 32 going out with someone who's 19 (for example) and dropping the "funny, last time I went out with someone your age, you were 6" line. When you're 40, nooooo. On the upside, they get older.

Does that make you feel better or worse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

sceptre wrote: »
    Rarely was a truer word said.

Definitely after you hit 40 you probably shouldn't be going out with (or "doing" if you want something shorter term) anyone under, say, 21. It's just wrong. Also, it sounds odd enough when you're 32 going out with someone who's 19 (for example) and dropping the "funny, last time I went out with someone your age, you were 6" line. When you're 40, nooooo. On the upside, they get older.

Does that make you feel better or worse?

Epic post. The OP asks for things to make them feel better about being 30, and you tell them they have to look forward to not being able to do the young ones in just a few years :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Epic post. The OP asks for things to make them feel better about being 30, and you tell them they have to look forward to not being able to do the young ones in just a few years :p

Then again, I'm "only" 34 so I'm still exempt (but very quiet:)).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

30 - the next decade you will begin to notice the world sucking your youth away at a rapid rate. By 40, you'll be a shell of the man you once were. :)

That amount of pessimism is freaking even me out.

Das Kitty wrote: »
    You see I got past the achieving my goals thing by not setting myself any, so far I'm well exceeding my own expectations!

Happy Birthday by the way, I'll try to have my baby that day and call him efb2.

as flattered as I am DK, please don't do that, either my handle or real moniker. In some countries it's regarded as child abuse (the nanny ones obv)

Gypsey Rose or Richard Milhouse might be better names of the day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

30 year olds are HOT and COOL....at the same time! :D

Have a mighty birthday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

ToniTuddle wrote: »

Have a mighty birthday.

When woman turn thirty, they go dirty :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

a guy becomes a man at 30.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

As your waistline expands and your hairline recedes just remember this one important piece of advice:

At least you're not eh......
    Never, ever forget that you're always emmmmmm......
    Keep your eyes firmly on the........ eh......

F*ck it. At least you're not Brendan O'Connor.

When woman turn thirty, they go dirty :P

So I have to wait until then to turn dirty!!!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

6th wrote: »
    a guy becomes a man at 30.
    In my tribe it's 12, and that's why we eat your tribe at our festivals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭gerrycollins

you aint going to feel no difference,i turned thirty this time 12months still feel like im 29!!

we were having a big bash milestone etc, I didnt want to but the rest did any excuse for a knees up however family friend went into hospital with sore back on the Friday he was dead on the following Tuesday(only 48) so it kinda put it into a few perspectives.

live life to the full no matter what age you are and do what you can while you can.

sorry for the downer but happy birthday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

ToniTuddle wrote: »

Have a mighty birthday.
    Damn right we are ;)

Its only a number, OP. I turned 30 last year and look at me, i still act like an immature 16yr old :) (no brummy, i still wouldnt)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

It only took me 8 months to get over turnin 30...so its not that bad! Worse if you're single (i was)!

/f*ck im 31 in 4 mths ah maaaaaan! :eek:

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I'd love to be turning 30 soon.

I am single, that's not an issue, don't do relationships-yet!

My lack of career path my biggest regret

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

My 30th was the best birthday ever. People come out of the woodwork to wish you well on your 30th cos it's supposed to be a milestone. I felt and looked exactly the same as I had the day before and yet I had all these people from the present and the past celebrating me!!

I hope you're planning something and letting everyone know they can come. January is a long month so we need to break it up with little celebrations

Happy Birthday OP :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Cheerilee

yep my 30th birthday party was one of the best.. everyone is still young enough to have a epic night ,people turn up from everywhere bearing gifts and generally people make an effort for a 30th bday...doesnt happen for any subsequent years and i think people generally try and forget about the 40 one :)and if they are still up for epic nights then their mates generally aren't ...so arent the big bash of the probably child free 30 bday..
    of course these are only sweeping generalisations.. and am far from 40 myself..:)

so enjoy :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

anniehoo wrote: »
    It only took me 8 months to get over turnin 30...so its not that bad! Worse if you're single (i was)!

/f*ck im 31 in 4 mths ah maaaaaan! :eek:

but did thirty make you dirty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

Ah its grand, I had a great time turnin 30, went to NY for a week with a few friends, great craic.

31 now, and don't feel any different than when I was 25 tbh, bit more worldly-wise and experienced in different stuff I suppose, all good though, happy days.

So no, turning 30 doesn't make any difference in the long term, just enjoy it and have a good one.

Oh, and whoever mentioned earlier that you now can't throw an auld graham gooch on a teenager, they're right, 30 + 19 =Baaaaad;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Gaspode

Its just another day, no different to any you'll have before you reach your last one. You wont feel any different or any older, you'll just be you.

After a while you'll realise you're checking out women in their 30s, not pesky teenagers any more and strangley, it will feel normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Kiera wrote: »
    I turned 30 last year and look at me, i still act like an immature 16yr old :) (no brummy, i still wouldnt)

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

There are many advantages and disadvantages to turning thirty, it all depends on your outlook I suppose. I've recently hit that number myself recently and it really was just another day. I do know of others who fell to pieces when reaching that age but they were prone to emotional blackouts from time to time anyway. It all depends on how comfortable you are with yourself and your circumstances when you reach that "milestone".

Happy Birthday OP! :)

*Sits back in bubble bath and turns up the Kenny G*

Gaspode wrote: »
    After a while you'll realise you're checking out women in their 30s, not pesky teenagers any more and strangley, it will feel normal.

woohoo, turning thirty will fix the ghey!:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

im turning 29 in a few weeks so im dreading this time next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

It'll be my turn in 2 years time. Not dreading it but not liking it either. It means alot of nodding and winking from relatives. "So when are ya goin to settle down" "When are ya goin to build the house" Im still struggling with the whole "When are ya goin to get a proper job" bit FFS! I suspose your officially not a young person anymore when ya hit 30. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 BarbieBellex

My boyfriend is turning 30 as well next year and hes freaked!! LOL! I have another 9 years!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

I turned thirty last year, it felt great :)

I'm the only one of my mates that didn't freak about the thirty thing.

It's better than being dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭lisajane

Turning 30 in 2 and a half years. Im dreading it. Its one of the reasons why im going back to college next year. Hopefully il have something good achieved for my 20s after completing a 2 year course. End up with a good job at 30 and i would be quite happy.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I'll be 30 later this year, swallowed a chill pill there a couple of years ago resigning myself to the fact that I've no decent career ahead of me, I'll never marry and never have kids, I don't worry about the stuff I used to when I was in my early twenties like trying to build a career after college and all that. I just enjoy a simple job, riding my bike and the odd fap these days.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Fintomiginto

I'll be 30 later this year, swallowed a chill pill there a couple of years ago resigning myself to the fact that I've no decent career ahead of me, I'll never marry and never have kids, I don't worry about the stuff I used to when I was in my early twenties like trying to build a career after college and all that. I just enjoy a simple job, riding my bike and the odd fap these days.

That has to be one of the most depressing things I have ever read

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Fear Uladh

Lie about your age......that is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,927 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

When i turned the big 30 my missus took me to a 5 star hotel in rome. We spent 4 days hanging out, sightseeing, shagging, and getting drunk.
    On the day of my 30th the hotel left a complimentary bottle of champagne in a bucket of ice (scanned passport on arrival).
    Had a quality time...........unfortunately it all went downhill from there - she popped out 3 sprogs, her ass grew bigger as did her mouth...now i've no money, 3 sprogs, get a sympathy shag every couple of months......hell OP your life is finished man!!

Fupping weather scuppered my plans!
    Online party tomorrow?
    Epic fail :(

Online party!

Get to drink from the comfort of your own bed woooooo

So Jan 9 and Im snowed in, any ideas on how to celebrate my birthday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,264 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

So Jan 9 and Im snowed in, any ideas on how to celebrate my birthday?

Cry into your pillow about the fact that we haven't invented a machine that stops the ageing process?

Or use some of this?

Its a milestone sure enough OP, but don't let it get to ya. Go and have a few beers. You might have some fun on the way trying to ski to the pub

Cry into your pillow about the fact that we haven't invented a machine that stops the ageing process?

Or use some of this?

Its a milestone sure enough OP, but don't let it get to ya. Go and have a few beers. You might have some fun on the way trying to ski to the pub

Im in the middle of nowhere! Jameson on my cornflakes aside, I wont be getting out today :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

Im in the middle of nowhere! Jameson on my cornflakes aside, I wont be getting out today :(

Happy Birthday efb