Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Orwell Membership Signup Night, Tuesday 5th January

• 03-01-2010 7:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭

Just a quick note as I know a few of you have been talking about joining, the annual sign up night is at the Scout Hall in Dartry from 7 to 9 on Tuesday evening. More details on the Orwell website if you look hard enough. Fair warning, the Scout Hall doubles as a refrigeration unit.

You can always pay up later, of course, but that involves old fashioned things like cheques and stamps and letters to the secretary.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

The only day of the year my cheque book gets an outing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

thanks for the heads up rottenhat, should make this :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,509 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Yup, will be there too.

Do the provide any coffee/cocoa or should I pack my own??

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

There are hazing rituals for noobs. Prepare yourself for wedgies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭LastGasp

el tonto wrote: »
    There are hazing rituals for noobs. Prepare yourself for wedgies.
    I was going to say I'll be there, but maybe I'll just stick with snail mail and the old chickens neck !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

o is this for noobs as well? i better tell the brother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

Prepare yourself for wedgies.

Spicy or plain?

@Rottenhat I hope this thread is commission based.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,154 ✭✭✭buffalo

o is this for noobs as well? i better tell the brother

As a total n00b to club cycling, what should I be capable of before joining? 60km spin in <2hrs? And should I be looking to enter the league, or leave that 'til after I've gotten used to cycling in a pack?

edit: And how much will I be laughed at if I show up on my crappy commuter bike? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

buffalo wrote: »
    As a total n00b to club cycling, what should I be capable of before joining? 60km spin in <2hrs? And should I be looking to enter the league, or leave that 'til after I've gotten used to cycling in a pack?

edit: And how much will I be laughed at if I show up on my crappy commuter bike? :D
    There is no minimum requirement and at least half the members don't race at all. The beginner club spins would be well under 30km/h and in any case it is easier in a bunch. Start with the Sunday spins and then enter the league, first race is on in March but that is just a taster before it gets going in the evenings in April.

A road bike is required for going on the spins or racing but you can turn up to a night on whatever you like, there is often quite a strange collection on any of these evenings.

So who is going tonight?

I'm still debating whether to drive or cycle, but I have the forms all filled out.

Just chatting to Nietzschean and we are wondering whether or not cheques are the only valid form of payment tonight.

Also, any information on the kit sizing? I don't like it loose and hanging off me like a certain boards jersey I own.

I'll be there all night taking yer money. Cash is accepted but cheques are preferred.

The Orwell kit is reasonably normally sized but jerseys are a little on the small side, more of a fit suitable for racing. I take the same size Orwell jersey as all my other ones, it is just a bit tighter (we are not talking Sean Kelly tour dimensions here, just a "race fit.")

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,232 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I should be there around 8pm. Will there be sample jerseys there? Would be handy.

Begins lengthy search for chequebook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

Lumen wrote: »
    I should be there around 8pm. Will there be sample jerseys there? Would be handy.

Begins lengthy search for chequebook

....I thought you were in some northside club?

Yeah what gives?

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Yeah what gives?

I missed signup night and fancy a change. Fickle, that's me (and egoistic, thanks Dirk).

(and egoistic, thanks Dirk).

I only meant that in the most endearing sense.

I was tempted to post up that pic of wiggo on the sky sports website which I thought looked uncannily like your first cross race photo. Ah heck:

TeamSky-Bradley-Wiggins-launch-January-2010_2403427.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭ullu

I haven't been on any of the beginner spins yet but I see they run until March so I assume it's still possible to sign up at a later date?

ullu wrote: »
    I haven't been on any of the beginner spins yet but I see they run until March so I assume it's still possible to sign up at a later date?

Aside from meeting people, the main advantage of going tonight (as I understand it) is that they help you fill out the CI licence forms. The later in the year you leave it, the less likely you are to bother.

I'm still going.

Do you have to print off the forms and fill them out or will there be forms down there?

"All the forms will be there on the night along with committee members to help you fill them in in case of confusion."

Grand stuff. The black cart in my printer just died.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭LastGasp

Ah feck it ! Forgot to bring the map, couldn't find the Scout Hall, so had to continue on my way back to work - Stocktaking audit tomorrow. Just realised Dave McL only lives up the road from me so I'll stick it in his letterbox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭rottenhat

Aw, that was you debating what size skinsuit would fit you? Sorry, should have introduced myself.

rottenhat wrote: »
    Aw, that was you debating what size skinsuit would fit you? Sorry, should have introduced myself.

Likewise!

Size? He was still struggling with gender after you left (ah, if only we had got that photo, along with the ladies' skinsuit one).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

Boo urns, I forgot all about this, else I would have been up! Oh well, I guess I'll post in my forms...

Size? He was still struggling with gender after you left (ah, if only we had got that photo, along with the ladies' skinsuit one).
    I need to get a new camera, that was not a good time for it to fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

I'm still debating whether to drive or cycle

Did you get that Murcielago then Dirk? ;)
    :p

el tel wrote: »
    Did you get that Murcielago then Dirk? ;)
    :p

Buying it in parts off ebay. So far I have a rear taillight lens and a wheel nut.

Slowly but surely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

I really think that Orwell is in grave danger or becoming the Planet X of cycling clubs.

Given that Rottenhat and Tonto are on some of the least common bikes out there I think ye should seek new clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

Any news last night on the new kit for next year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

lukester wrote: »
    Any news last night on the new kit for next year?

The kit you can order now is the same as last year exept for minor sponsors. They will start looking at new design this year for the 2011 season... so i am saving a few quid and not buying a new jersey this year.

New kit is for 2011, so I'd say we won't see anything until later on this year. So for new members, I wouldn't go mad on ordering kit this year, just get the bare essentials.

Yeah, just wondered if they'd announced anything in terms of design, how different it will be.

Winter jacket, winter tights, bib shorts and a summer jersey should keep me going so.

Have you seen the prices? :eek:

I think I settled on SS jersey, LS jersey (jacket?), bib shorts and summer mitts.

Yeah, just wondered if they'd announced anything in terms of design, how different it will be.

I was told that closer to the time, a selection of designs would be put forward and people could vote on them. Some could be very different from the current kit, others much the same bar minor tweaking.

Have you seen the prices? :eek:

Yep, already paid for everything.

Winter jacket is great, very warm, but I'd like to get more than a year out of it.

I'm a big fan of the jacket too. It's my favourite one probably.

I like the design too and wouldn't mind if the new kit took the same approach of black on front, since the white is hard to keep clean.

I was told that closer to the time, a selection of designs would be put forward and people could vote on them. Some could be very different from the current kit, others much the same bar minor tweaking.

The scrooge in me will vote for keeping the kit similar to the current design.

Depending on the design options, the snob in me might vote for something new.
    I like the design too and wouldn't mind if the new kit took the same approach of black on front, since the white is hard to keep clean.

I like the current kit, (and agree, black on front is handy- already have oil spots on the back) but something even more garishly euro might cause me to vote a change.

I like white kit, but there is something abou that particular fabric that makes it hard to get the mucky spots off.

I know rottenhat will be voting to lose the fake abs.

I'd happily lose the fake abs, and would be nice to have coloured shorts.

I guess black is practical and less prone to translucence in the wet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭rottenhat

I know rottenhat will be voting to lose the fake abs.

Fewer abs, more wool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Fewer abs, more wool!

good luck with both ;)

Eurgh, wool. I'll draw the line at that.

I actually like the current jersey, fit wise. It's a bit long but it grips my arms nicely, which is hard to find in a jersey!

@Tonto: Eddie was saying there is a handicapped race coming up in a few weeks, did you do this last year?

There was a club league preview type race at the end of February last year and then the club league got going properly at the beginning of April. I presume this is what he was referring to? I did it last year alright... and crashed. But it's a good one to start with. A lot of new people will be there, so the pace in the limit group won't be mental.

AFAIK you only really NEED current club kit to race, e.g. you could continue using the "old" winter jacket for club spins, etc. Opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭Home:Ballyhoura

blorg wrote: »
    AFAIK you only really NEED current club kit to race, e.g. you could continue using the "old" winter jacket for club spins, etc. Opinions?

Actually when I started racing originally my old club didn't have any jerseys or kit available for me to get so I ended up racing in a Pro Tour team's replica kit. It looked strange and I felt weird but only once was something said to me even though I am sure it is way against the rules. I'm not sure how the rules are around older versions of club gear and weather they are acceptable or not. I would presume if they are similar enough with no drastic changes like a complete colour scheme overhaul then you should be grand. Chances are nothing will be said to you but maybe if you were winning races and going up to collect prizes your club would want the latest kit with all the new sponsors etc for the photo. Hopefully someone else has a more definitive anwser! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

The Club Admin said to me yesterday that they were not that strict on the Club league races, so you can wear the jersey from previous years if you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

tbh I only have the club gear to race in - I'd occasionaly wear orwell gear out training but only if everything else was dirty.

there's a lot nicer/more comfortable/better/cheaper stuff out there for training in - especially when it comes to winter gear.

Don't get me wrong - the quality of our club gear is grand - comfortable chamois and nice fitting jersey, but the design doesn't do it for me and it's a bit dear. I'm sure it was great when it first came out but it's starting to look a bit dated. And yeah - down with fake six packs - it detracts from my real one...

beer2.jpg