Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'The Greatest Irish Sportsperson Ever - RTE New Years Eve

• 31-12-2009 10:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭

Pleasantly surprised to find this on RTE1 tonight, odd night to broadcast it - would have been a winner on New Years Day maybe?

Looks like they are going to do a straight run from 10-1. Thought they could have revealed the Top 10 tonight, shown a series of programmes in tribute to the contenders, then reveal the winner in a live final? (Like The BBC did for their 100 greatest Britons, and Top 50 Sitcoms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Dearbhla O Rourke! Lolz

Padraig!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Reginald P. DuM

Watching it myself.... Enjoying it too. Great to see McGrath in it. Not the easiest of lists to get into despite our small population.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Watching it myself.... Enjoying it too. Great to see McGrath in it. Not the easiest of lists to get into despite our small population.

Yeah, think he might have got my vote for this show, they should have shown this compilation from the Italy match again, classic stuff ...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EQqVsD_eK-4

(They did a poll for this show on the RTE website ages ago, I think they deliberately kept it low key to avoid internet campaigns)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 kkdoll

Not biast, but i do reckon DJ Carey or Henry Shefflin will be up near the top :)

kkdoll wrote: »
    Not biast, but i do reckon DJ Carey or Henry Shefflin will be up near the top :)

OK if your not being biased either will I. Not a hope!!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭Teclo

kkdoll wrote: »

They're going for those who had relatively moderate success playing sport in other countries, and they're unlikely to know that DJ is a former world champion.:rolleyes:

Padraig Harrington for the win, I reckon.

All the team sports players tend to find their supporters spilt their votes, if you know what I mean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭Black Magic

Paul Lowry FTW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Ronnie Delany
    Michael Carruth
    Sonia O'Sullivan
    Roy Keane
    Liam Brady
    Eamon Coughlan
    Pat O'Callaghan
    Padraig Harrington
    Brian O'Driscoll
    Derval O'Rourke

In no particular order.
    Probably give no.1 to Pat O'Callaghan, only Irishman to win 2 olympic gold medals.

I voted for jockey Tony McCoy in this poll a while back. Interesting Dr. Pat O Callaghan wasn't even on the list as far as I recall.

Alex Higgins

Ronnie Delany
    Michael Carruth
    Sonia O'Sullivan
    Roy Keane
    Liam Brady
    Eamon Coughlan
    Pat O'Callaghan
    Padraig Harrington
    Brian O'Driscoll
    Derval O'Rourke

In no particular order.
    Probably give no.1 to Pat O'Callaghan, only Irishman to win 2 olympic gold medals.

All greats, but there was a public vote for this - I'd be amazed if Dr Pat made it, but you never know.

I voted for jockey Tony McCoy in this poll a while back. Interesting Dr. Pat O Callaghan wasn't even on the list as far as I recall.

What sport does he do? All he is good at is being small and whipping a domesticated animal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭prince20

Is this programme for real????????

Padraig Harrington
    wins!

Jaysus Chroist

For anyone who didn't catch the a most enjoyable show I'm sure it's on the RTE player. The choices voted by the public were (spoiler alert) :

10. Paul McGrath
    09. Vincent O'Brien
    08. Christy Ring
    07. Sonia O'Sullivan
    06. Sean Kelly
    05. Roy Keane
    04. George Best
    03. Joey Dunlop
    02. Brian O'Driscoll
    01. Padraig Harrington

For anyone who didn't catch the a most enjoyable show I'm sure it's on the RTE player. The choices voted by the public were (spoiler alert) :
    10. Paul McGrath
    09. Vincent O'Brien
    08. Christy Ring
    07. Sonia O'Sullivan
    06. Sean Kelly
    05. Roy Keane
    04. George Best
    03. Joey Dunlop
    02. Brian O'Driscoll
    01. Padraig Harrington

10. Paul McGrath
    09. Vincent O'Brien
    08. Christy Ring
    07. Sonia O'Sullivan
    06. Sean Kelly
    05. Roy Keane
    04. George Best
    03. Joey Dunlop
    02. Brian O'Driscoll
    01. Padraig Harrington

Who is
    Vincent O'Brien? Some motorbike driver at 3.
    Rubbish list.

Who is
    Vincent O'Brien
    ? Some
    motorbike driver at 3
    . Rubbish list.

Some Horse Jockier and a motorhead no one has hardly ever heard of!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

I'm hugely surprised and disappointed McCoy didn't make the top 10, it was a bit of a load of bollocks but not unsurprising and I suppose Harrington was a fair enough choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Just wanted to say that the presenter is an awful feckin eejit. :D

10. Paul McGrath
    09. Vincent O'Brien
    08. Christy Ring
    07. Sonia O'Sullivan
    06. Sean Kelly
    05. Roy Keane
    04. George Best
    03. Joey Dunlop
    02. Brian O'Driscoll
    01. Padraig Harrington

Good show, could have been a bit longer.
    Also repeated on RTE2 on Saturday at 11.05 pm

Vincent O'Brien would have been better suited to a businessman/great mind list and I can only presume Joey Dunlop was there because of his legendary status in a minority sport plus his charity work which has undoubtedly created a cult following.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

I'm confused, why would
    George Best
    be included when in the ads they said we were a small nation of around 4 million people, i.e. the population of the Republic, so I assumed the northern Irish wouldn't be included? If that makes sense?

Who is
    Vincent O'Brien? Some motorbike driver at 3.
    Rubbish list.

Just because you have never heard of these people doesn't make it a rubbish list. Seems odd to be watching a sports programme if you don't appeciate their skills. The All Ireland Talent Show is on next, tune in. I bet you know who Shane Lynch is.

Namlub wrote: »
    I'm confused, why would
    George Best
    be included when in the ads they said we were a small nation of around 4 million people, i.e. the population of the Republic, so I assumed the northern Irish wouldn't be included? If that makes sense?

Yes. And that
    motorhead
    that nobody has heard of either. He ain't from the Republic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭994

Some Horse Jockier and a motorhead no one has hardly ever heard of!
    being hardly heard of doesn't make you bad. They had to give some representation to lesser-known sports, and Joey Dunlop was voted 5th-greatest motorcyclist of all time - i wonder if McGrath would make it into the top 5,000 footballers. And Sonia? Pure hype, one Olympic medal hardly makes you a legend.

Also, O'Brien was a trainer, not a jockey.

And no Gaelic footballers?

994 wrote: »

And no Gaelic footballers?

Like who, Jayo or Ciaran Whelan?

Just because you have never heard of these people doesn't make it a rubbish list. Seems odd to be watching a sports programme if you don't appeciate their skills. The All Ireland Talent Show is on next, tune in. I bet you know who Shane Lynch is.

A dwarf whipping a domestic animal is not a sportsman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭rednik

Harrington thoroughly decerved the award as not only Ireland's greatest ever sportsman but also on the world stage. A true sportsman and a great role model for the next generation of Irish Sportsmen and women. Well done Padraig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

Gaelic Football was never going to get on it as no-one excelled like Christy Ring

And therefore no-one would vote outside their county - hence votes diluted if you know what I mean

even more head wreckingly what is the tune that played when Vincent O'brien was profiled. the 1st one with the pianos? would rte tell me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭RadioGaGa

even more head wreckingly what is the tune that played when Vincent O'brien was profiled. the 1st one with the pianos? would rte tell me?

I only caught a bit of the programme but I heard this playing, the recognisable bit comes in at 0:21.

RadioGaGa wrote: »
    I only caught a bit of the programme but I heard this playing, the recognisable bit comes in at 0:21.

oh my god! i don't know how to thank you. you have solved an 8 year mystery, yep you heard me 8 years.. thank you so much. happy new year :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭deco1610

Dr Pat O'Callaghan missing out?

RTÉ, explain yourself!!!!

Actually, general public who voted, explain yourselves!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Hawk Wing

A dwarf whipping a domestic animal is not a sportsman.
    Golf is hobby for middle aged men and is not a sport

Athletics is for people with limited talent, ie running...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Am I missing something or should Ruby Walsh be well up there?

I dont know much about horse racing but I thought the guy was unbelievable and his achievements even outstripped those of McCoy...am I wrong?

Dont agree with Harrington winning (despite loving the guy and having huge admiration for his achievements).

Also Best was great but wasted his talent and Keane is pretty much a disgrace in my eyes. I know it was public vote so it was always going to pan out this way but it would be interesting to see one done by a panel of experts.

Keane is pretty much a disgrace in my eyes.

Don't agree. Whatever people's opinion on Saipan, leaving out the ROI's greatest ever footballer would be a pretty glaring oversight...

Liam Brady???

efb wrote: »
    Liam Brady???
    I wouldn't say so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

No, fair point, the guy was an immense player...I just would'nt put him as high on my list of "greatest Irish sportspeople" because I think that encompasses something more than ability.

Similar story with Best (although Best was without doubt the superior player imo).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Jimmyboss

Jesus, what about Mick Kinane, the best Irish flat jockey ever.........and I love all sports!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭tooler08

Im surprised they included George best. If the BBC put someone like Roy Keane in their top 10 list there would be uproar

tooler08 wrote: »
    Im surprised they included George best. If the BBC put someone like Roy Keane in their top 10 list there would be uproar

Yes. But we're Irish and allowed to do this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Parkie

Am over the moon that a motorcycle Irish roadracer got another podium.
    .........Joey Dunlop''''''''''''''#3 with a yellow helmet for thoes that are to far up thier.....%%^^^&&&...to recognise a genious..

Delighted.....RIP#3.

Well deserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Yes. But we're Irish and allowed to do this

Yes and George Best is Irish. In fact in an interview with BBC NI before he passed away he was asked about his nationality and described himself as Irish.

Some of us on this side of the border need to get down off our high horses and stop thinking ROI = Irishness. No, island of Ireland = Irishness. If some people don't want to subscribe to it though, that's fair enough. He however did and was an exceptional sportsman.

I'm surprised Alex Higgins didn't feature as he was one of the most important figures in snooker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Padraig Harrington said it best when he won the first Open, he is a grafter and I really admire that. He is one of the most respected players out there. Extremely hard worker and deserves the recognition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 weldersbench

Where the hell was Stephen Roche? Jimmy Magee and "6 million golfers", there are 9 million bicycles in Beijing alone and what Roche did in 1985, never mind the heroics of 1987 surpasses Harringtons leisurely walks with a golf club. Harrington is a top class pro but to compare the "control sport" golf to the olympian efforts of a rugby player, cyclist, runner or even jockey is ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

Where the hell was Stephen Roche? Jimmy Magee and "6 million golfers", there are 9 million bicycles in Beijing alone and what Roche did in 1985, never mind the heroics of 1987 surpasses Harringtons leisurely walks with a golf club. Harrington is a top class pro but to compare the "control sport" golf to the olympian efforts of a rugby player, cyclist, runner or even jockey is ridiculous.

I'd agree - Roche was World Champion in 1987, Harrington is now no. 6 on the World rankings.