Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Underwear - do girls really care?

• 29-12-2009 5:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Bit of a strange one for you all (so have gone unregd for fear of embarassment!).

Have been going out with a girl now for nearly 2 years, every now and again I get the odd comment on my underwear. . .err not that its dirty but the type/style that is.

Am in my early 30's - have to admit am a brief man, always have been. After some highly unscientific research in the dressing room it would seem I am a dying breed with most lads wearing boxers. . the question is (and maybe this should be in the ladies lounge!) do girls really care with the type of underwear you wear?

Have tried (at her request) some of the fitted boxers - can't say I liked them, tried some loose boxers, they were OK but call me an old man but just prefer the briefs :(

Is there a norm?!?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Wear whatever keeps you comfortable except for when you are dressing to please her at which time you'll don the boxers.
    Personally, just incase anyone is really interested, boxers are the only way to go.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

OldGoat wrote: »
    Wear whatever keeps you comfortable except for when you are dressing to please her at which time you'll don the boxers.
    Personally, just incase anyone is really interested, boxers are the only way to go.

Agreed. Briefs will make you look like an old man. Hit Penneys and get yourself some 'boxer-briefs' though if that's better. They fit like briefs but they look less ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Jersey briefs are what i wear, they're like boxers but fitted, hate baggy loose underwear,fitted underpantaloons or nothing for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭Paulegend

to be honest half the time i dont wear underwear. id go pantsless aswell if i could. so next best thing has to be boxers. nothing like the freedom down below:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭glaston

Loose boxers for me, plenty of freedom, everything else just leads uncomfortable constriction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

tbh i doubt girls care as long as they are fresh and clean im sure they're happy. their own under garments however, tote different story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Get yourself a pair of Calvin Klein Gripper Jam boxer shorts. They are hard enough to get these days but they offer supreme comfort. Absolutely awesome!

As Will said, most probably don't care as long as they are clean etc, but I suppose it's like men preferring their ladies in nice knickers rather than granny pants all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭icanhearjimi

The loose boxers for me thanks.
    How anyone can wear a pissy pair of y-fronts in beyond me. Unless you're a child, or and old fart set in your ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭Black Magic

Get yourself a pair of Calvin Klein Gripper Jam boxer shorts. They are hard enough to get these days but they offer supreme comfort. Absolutely awesome!

http://www.amazon.com/Calvin-Klein-Mens-Gripper-Jam/dp/B00062Z3AO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

I couldn't care less what type of underwear a guy wears. If I'm seeing their underwear it's likely that it's coming off soon anyway so it doesn't bother me at all.

Same way that I wear what I'm comfortable in. For instance you wouldn't catch me dead in a thong because I find them horrendously uncomfortable. And if I'm in the mood to wear gigantic underwear, wear it I shall!

I don't see how it would affect any girl tbh. It's not like it's going to be seen in public.

• Moderators Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭ChewChew

+1 to fonpokno!

I dont think girls care, like has already been mentioned, so long as they are clean and fresh. All the hype is about the girls undies and I think guys think too much about it that they forget about their own.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Oh no I cannot abide briefs, horrid I think they are.

Either loose boxers or the snug fitted boxers are fine imo, but no to briefs :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Not a briefs fan I must admit,I like those tight fitted boxer things though. They are hot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Once they're clean it's all good.

I won't lie - I'm not overly fond of briefs/yfronts.
    I do love the tighter boxers, they're usually hot cuz they compliment the male build rather well I think. *and I'm not being dirty btw!*
    Regular boxers are groovy too, I get the need for not wanting to be all bundled up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Loose boxers all the way. I'm always brought back these tight boxers from Lanzarote and I'm a bit embarassed to say to me Ma that they crush me sack.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Sattwa69

tell her you'd like to try some of heres and that should get a reaction;
    a) she will never mention it again
    b) you will discover a whole new side to her
    c) you will discover a whole new side to you............

no matter what you do.......lose the y fronts !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭jenga-jen

first time poster to the GC so be kind :P

A thought on the loose boxers: apparently as time goes by and certain *ahem* parts of you are...unsupported...the skin can stretch, causing things to 'swing low' a bit more than nature intended.

But then I do have a fierce bias for the fit of the tight, but not porno-tight, boxers on a man :D

jenga-jen wrote: »

A thought on the loose boxers: apparently as time goes by and certain *ahem* parts of you are...unsupported...the skin can stretch, causing things to 'swing low' a bit more than nature intended.

But then I do have a fierce bias for the fit of the tight, but not porno-tight, boxers on a man :D

:eek:what?????????????????????????????

can anybody confirn or deny this????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭jenga-jen

Paulegend I might have to retract this as I can't seem to find the link to the article I read on it (and I don't like not having backup on it)

I don't think the effect was to a detrimental degree but just that over a lifetime of wearing loose fitting underwear, gravity may takes its toll to a degree and cause slight stretching of the skin. But on the plus side apparently it does boost sperm production!!

Sorry for any alarm caused, should've been clearer :(

[dear god if anyone sees the stuff I've just googled for this... :p ]

I don't think the effect was to a detrimental degree but just that over a lifetime of wearing loose fitting underwear, gravity may takes its toll to a degree and cause slight stretching of the skin.

Much like the effect that the non wearing of a bra would cause the saggy boobage over time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Haha, if it get's to that stage so be it. For now I'd rather be comfortable and not restricted. Another thing about boxers is well... *cough* they prevent things getting too warm which is bad. :o;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

star-pants wrote: »
    Once they're clean it's all good.

I won't lie - I'm not overly fond of briefs/yfronts.
    I do love the tighter boxers, they're usually hot cuz they compliment the male build rather well I think. *and I'm not being dirty btw!*
    Regular boxers are groovy too, I get the need for not wanting to be all bundled up.

Agree with Starpants, once they are clean is doesn't really matter. Wouldn't be a brief fan tho, boxers are my preferred undies on men!

Tight-ish ones that show a cute bum are sometimes nice! ;):p

But then as Fonpokno said earlier thongs very uncomfortable so I wouldn'd expect my man to wear something he's not comfortable in either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Not really, to be honest. Fitted and supported undergarments are relatively new on the scene, in relation to how long good old homo-sapiens have been running around the place.

Basically, as low as anything goes ( nuts, boobs...whatever ) is pretty much what nature intends. :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

I've been commando for about 20 years now and it's all in good shape and how the good lord intended it to hang. This has been verified by a second party as often as possible.

I did have the need to wear jocks a few years back and needed some support so selected briefs. Partner at the time laughed her socks off when she saw them. The jocks gave more support to my condition than the OH (at the time)...there you go. She got the flick and the briefs were last seen peeking out of the wheelybin.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

I'd definitely notice what underwear a man is wearing.

Lets just say when my ex was wearing tight boxers it would definitely put me in the mood.

When he was wearing his most awful pair of baggy stretchy navy comfort granny knicker boxers, it was a real turn off. They were the most unflattering yokes I'd seen in my life.

Underwear is a major factor in turning people on I think.

For exmple what's more attactive: a woman wearing Bridget Jones grey knickers up to her waist or wearing black lacy pants?

Mmmmmm tight boxers.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Dragan wrote: »
    Not really, to be honest. Fitted and supported undergarments are relatively new on the scene, in relation to how long good old homo-sapiens have been running around the place.

Basically, as low as anything goes ( nuts, boobs...whatever ) is pretty much what nature intends. :D

Swing low, sweet chariot.:pac:

Hmmmm...looking at this thread, it seems that I will have to get rid of the long johns and cumberbund, and get me a pair of "boxers".

Underwear is a major factor in turning people on I think.

For exmple what's more attactive: a woman wearing Bridget Jones grey knickers up to her waist or wearing black lacy pants?

Mmmmmm tight boxers.:D

Fully agree from my point of view anyhow, however I'd opt for the Bridgets any day ahead of lace and never ever thongs. Thongs make me shiver...oooh no. However simple white cotton sporty briefs on a lady is hard to beat.

off topic I know - but I'm so glad to see I'm not the only one who thinks that thongs are over rated bits of dental floss that couldn't possibly be any more uncomfortable if they tried.

So I understand a guys need for comfort down there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

As Will said, most probably don't care as long as they are clean etc, but I suppose it's like men preferring their ladies in nice knickers rather than granny pants all the time.

couldnt care less what kinda pants a bird is wearing to be honest :confused:

apparently as time goes by and certain *ahem* parts of you are...unsupported...the skin can stretch, causing things to 'swing low' a bit more than nature intended.

erm

thats laughable

our natural state is naked, so how do you make out that having no support under your balls makes them unnaturally sag?

Helix wrote: »

our natural state is naked, so how do you make out that having no support under your balls makes them unnaturally sag?

Hardly our natural state, that kinda falls flat when evolution is thrown into the equation. Humans have been supporting and protecting that region as soon as we figured out that eating fur wasn't a good idea and throwing it out is a bit wasteful. We've evolved as a species. Sure nature flings us out in our nuddy but that's because it knows we'll sort it out at the other end depending on our enviroments.
    I don't think there were too many cultures around the world that when discovered by Europeans they weren't already on the ball with regards to a bit of support in the nethers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

i have to say i dont like briefs/y fronts on a man

loose boxers or snug boxers are fine, but not briefs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Sean!

I wear fitted boxers, anything but briefs though !
    Ditch them ball stranglers Grandpa :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭LivingDeadGirl

Not a fan of briefs tbh. I also support the fitted boxer movement....

off topic I know - but I'm so glad to see I'm not the only one who thinks that thongs are over rated bits of dental floss that couldn't possibly be any more uncomfortable if they tried.

So I understand a guys need for comfort down there.

I dont like thongs on women either, french cut knickers are fantastic though, or those cute little boyshort things, my missus wears them at times, its kinda hard to keep my hands off her then, oh yeah :D

One thing i utterly hate are those novelty underwear, not ones with jokey christmas or superhero stuff on them, they can be a laugh, but the ones that Ann Summers sell with pouches looking like crocodiles and snakes and shyte like that, I'd never in a million years wear one of those, i do love my Superman underpants though lol

LOL @ odd underwear, yeah... novelty in that way are never good.

I own superhero underwear though :o but they're ok. They're french knicker/that sort of shape which is grand. I've no issue with guys having boxers with superheros on em :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭Black Magic

krudler wrote: »
    i do love my Superman underpants though lol

StephIrelandSIE_468x787.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

i am purchasing superhero boxers tomorrow

Paulegend I might have to retract this as I can't seem to find the link to the article I read on it (and I don't like not having backup on it)

I don't think the effect was to a detrimental degree but just that over a lifetime of wearing loose fitting underwear, gravity may takes its toll to a degree and cause slight stretching of the skin. But on the plus side apparently it does boost sperm production!!

Sorry for any alarm caused, should've been clearer :(

[dear god if anyone sees the stuff I've just googled for this... :p ]

Phew!!:D

id say there was alot of deleting history after you searched that:P

LOL @ odd underwear, yeah... novelty in that way are never good.

I own superhero underwear though :o but they're ok. They're french knicker/that sort of shape which is grand. I've no issue with guys having boxers with superheros on em :)

french cut superhero pants you say? must invest in some of those for the missus :D

humberklog wrote: »
    Humans have been supporting and protecting that region as soon as we figured out that eating fur wasn't a good idea and throwing it out is a bit wasteful

no we havent

look at the romans, robes all the way

underwear is relatively recent

it made sense to tuck your dangly bits away when you were hunting things that could bite tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Used to pick up about 10 pairs everytime I went to the States on holiday. Didn't have them anywhere the last time :(

I would recommend that everyone do themselves a favour and get a pair. Awesome!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

Ive tried most and these were a find.

If you want snug ,comfy and something she will like try Marks and Spenser Micro Fibre Hipsters

http://www.marksandspencer.com/Hipsters-Underwear-Mens/b/53900031

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

Briefs are awful! They are like knickers for men, so feminine. I like my men manly! So anything but really.. Not a huge fan of tight boxers either but I think it's because I imagine they would be uncomfortably tight and make everything sweaty and it wouldn't be very sexy to slip my hand into boxers that are so skin tight to find bits that are possibly overheated..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Used to pick up about 10 pairs everytime I went to the States on holiday. Didn't have them anywhere the last time :(

I would recommend that everyone do themselves a favour and get a pair. Awesome!!

hahah - some of us are not so built as the guy in the ad - so not unless they come with an instant six pack :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

Briefs on a guy is a total turn-off for me... They remind me of little boy underwear :(

Boxers all the way, either fitted or loose cotton :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

* takes note of female posters who say boxers are a turn on *

I think this thread needs a poll.

am a boxers man myself - mave a mix of tight and loose boxers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

PCPhoto decides to cynically use the thread to determine his buying choices ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Little Miss Cutie

Briefs should be banned - total turn off.
    Boxers all the way - loose or fitted.