Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst RTÉ "Comedy" of the Year?

• 28-12-2009 6:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭

Well?

Well? 240 votes

Podge and Rodge
    0%
    Karl Spain wants to Rock
    9%
    Mossy MonkomahaidEKRIUQmobbyMF2HDseanybiker[Deleted User]cashbackTomohawkcopaceticthe flananatorDroileenDermot2468ColumbiaWindSockzeppedublinceltSmartly Dressedtheowenblueirishangel 23 votes
    Val Falvey
    8%
    BlaasForRafaAORDowlinnjap gtronnie3585donmeisterAfterDuskJennyAntdiscobeakerWizard007Diabhal BeagThargorfriendfaceculchienatortherokerroarjd007NamlubshanofinToyota_Avensisnolllaig 20 votes
    Colin and Graham's Excellent Adventures
    21%
    VenommewsoOur man in HavanaAnnasopraFighting IrishSarkyHippoleftismNightwishyoucancallmealawhirMikeC101ArmaniJeanssmuffinmanJonathanAnon[Deleted User]clickhereEuro_Krautabelardciano1 52 votes
    The Panel
    5%
    Ruu_Oldairetam_stormp2koneKazooieLeoGillyKristopherusmurpho999Wobbuffetuncleoswaldbrowner85johnfurlongfromEmacB 12 votes
    The Byrne Ultimatum
    7%
    eamon234Ravage1616AskaTallspoon30txsbzmcu2k9wstanley1mailrewopEarth Travellerrovers_runnerDriver 8GunnersonnyRoyal Seahawkboodlesdoodles994MURF71glanmanrj55xmcp 18 votes
    The Savage Eye
    27%
    ElmoparasitefjonBasqfrancie BradyIIhumanjiapplehunterMr.Nice GuyHavermeyerKnifeWRENCHNate--IRL--#15salad dodgerUtopia ParkwayLeslie91Tipsy MacstesaurusJesus WeptBondvillaintommyboy2222 66 votes
    Republic of Telly
    11%
    ChinafoothusseyfolanRichard DowerBig Earsgreglo23joblessgizmoLister1Kinetic^RoanmoreyoyoArathornDirk GentlyphasersConor108SRFC90ProfilerCD87adamski8 28 votes
    Other (please specify)
    8%
    LovelessSullyshowrydelta_bravoCorkfeenthebmanel diabloroverthiscanDeepBlueDennis the StonephlegmsFunglegunkashylecheaterkeane2097Nic'nameTskTskAidricfryup 21 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

Republic of Telly
    Hard to pick just one. Savage Eye is pretty dire.

Karl Spain wants to Rock
    Podge and rodge just aint funny anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Karl Spain wants to Rock
    Used to be a big fan of Podge and Rodge, but this Stick it in tripe is unwatchable, just not funny and the people they have as guests on are equally as bad. The worst out of that lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭Black Magic

Come on Val Falvey is a disgrace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Neil Delamare's TV Burp thing was pretty awful, to be honest.

The whole show seemed overly scripted and was lacking in personality and humour.

Not something I'd tune in to again, having watched it once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭My name is Mud

The Maeve Higgins Yuletide crap-o-rama tipped the scale of RTE's ability to transfer faeces to my television screen

Jaysus, she was so bad I forgot. Didn't look at it once except the clips for ads.

"Happy Christmas to you. If you don't celebrate Christmas then eh um happy days to you"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

Republic of Telly

Ah fancy vittles! Forgot about that! That should win.

I kinda like Republic of Telly.

Anyone remember 'The English Class' from 2008?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,563 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

The Savage Eye
    RTE make this a very competitive award every year.:D

Conor108 wrote: »
    Anyone remember 'The English Class' from 2008?

I wish they would repeat it. Likewise with Stew. I'm sick of seeing repeats of Killinaskully and Naked Camera.

A new series "You Bad Self" is starting in the new year. Some of you may remember the pilot was on last Christmas.

http://www.rte.ie/tv/christmas/yourbadself.html

Watch the pilot - http://www.rte.ie/tv/christmas/yourbadself_av.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

What about Colm & JimJim's show?

orla wrote: »
    What about Colm & JimJim's show?

Ah yeah.

'Twas useless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

Republic of Telly
    all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Antbert

Remember when The Panel was good? Seems pretty distant now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Val Falvey was ****e, I'v seen better comedy at Scor back in the day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 211 ✭✭MickTipp

The Savage Eye
    Has to Be Jason Byrnes ****e programme, god it was fuc!ing terrible!
    Karls Spains programme was actually good enough

MickTipp wrote: »
    Karls Spains programme was actually good enough

Good for nothing fat penguin. He was bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

are people nuts, the savage eye was one of the best of the decade.

Jip wrote: »

Agreed

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Jip wrote: »

Get out and dont ever come back.

Hard to pick just one. Val Falvey is pretty bad.

Get out and dont ever come back.

Hard to pick just one. Val Falvey is pretty bad.

Savage Eye. was the best creation ever.

Agree on Val Falvey. It ended with him lying in prison. The tool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

The Savage Eye
    It really is a sad state of affairs that pretty much every show that is on RTE can be considered crap by most.

I voted for Jason Byrne's atrocity of a television show, it's probably the worst show I have ever seen in my life.

I think that The Panel is probably up there as one of the best things on RTE and that's so pathetic that I think I'm going to cry...frown.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,767 ✭✭✭el diablo

Other (please specify)
    It's a toss-up between Byrne Ultimatum and Republic of Telly. Both were extrememy shíte and both presenters are just not funny. :rolleyes:

Savage Eye was one of the best RTÉ productions in many years. :)

Orange pilled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Wyndman

Republic of Telly
    Savage Eye is muck, stolen jokes and empty cursing, about as satirical as Bosco. I know it's standard tele practice the world over to steal formats but actual jokes, characters and dialogue - that's a disgrace.

This list is a shameful book of evidence of why Eddie Doyle has to go. His tenure as Head of Entertainment has been a disaster. Not a single good show has resulted from his commissioning decisions. Millions of euro has been wasted on indulgent, underdeveloped, unfunny trash.

He had zero experience in comedy going into the job (just another RTE lifer, promoted to a department they know nothing about.) Two years later he has even less.

el diablo wrote: »

Savage Eye was one of the best RTÉ productions in many years. :)

It was

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Val Falvey
    I didn't know Karl Spain wants to Rock was a comedy! He just fails at everything he does.

Maeve Higgins is a very close second. She makes me change the channel straight away. Hate her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,767 ✭✭✭el diablo

Other (please specify)
    I didn't know Karl Spain wants to Rock was a comedy! He just fails at everything he does.

Maeve Higgins is a very close second. She makes me change the channel straight away. Hate her!
    Yep, that Fancy Vittles yoke was bleedin' brutal. :o

Orange pilled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭Lemondrop kid

Very hard to decide...:D

To be honest I could only watch 6 seconds (time to locate remote) of the Byrne Ult - I despise that creature.

Val is the winner otherwise. A strong winner.

Can't wait for next year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

thanks to this forum i've seen none of them. my time is too precious to be wasting it on shite.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 211 ✭✭MickTipp

The Savage Eye
    the republic of telly is just a cheap rip off of harry hills tv burp (which is also another sh!t show)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭boodlesdoodles

The Byrne Ultimatum
    The Panel for me. It used to be funny until someone decided it was ok for Andrew Maxwell to go off on those scripted tirades. I'd love to shove his pipe in his unfunny gob :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭dougal

thanks to this forum i've seen none of them. my time is too precious to be wasting it on shite.

Either have I but RTE pulled a sneaky one Christmas day and put on the worst excuse for comedy I have seen in years!
    I was stuck in the in-laws and saw that Pat Short crap Mattie.
    FFS it was pure torture!

*except the bit where the oul wan hit him with a stick - if only that lasted the full half hour!!!!

The Panel for me. It used to be funny until someone decided it was ok for Andrew Maxwell to go off on those scripted tirades. I'd love to shove his pipe in his unfunny gob :mad:

He's a tool but I wouldn't even go as far as seeing what's under his trousers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

The Savage Eye
    Hank_Jones wrote:
    It really is a sad state of affairs that pretty much every show that is on RTE can be considered crap by most.

Absolutely. This poll typifies how dire things really are. The sad thing is the ratings are probably pretty respectable for most of these shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭A Disgrace

Karl Spain wants to Rock

Indeed, why bother having an opinion when you can just go by someone elses..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

The Savage Eye
    I think your either being kind or mean to Colin and Graham by thinking its a comedy.

I think it is a hard choice. So I amn't voting. Pretty Dire TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Other (please specify)
    The Republic of Telly wins hands down followed closely by Val Falvey. I'm surprised The Savage Eye has picked up a nice share of votes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭Hippo

So many to choose from. I voted for Val Falvey because it's a proper attempt to do something and it still turns out awful. Podge Rodge/The Panel/Republic of Telly were all produced after 5 minutes discussion in the pub at the end of the night.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

Other (please specify)
    I thought Maeve Higgin's Christmas special was rather good you just need to give her show time. There is some really funny observational humour.

rovert wrote: »
    I thought Maeve Higgin's Christmas special was rather good you just need to give her show time. There is some really funny observational humour.

That woman is not one bit funny.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

Other (please specify)
    That woman is not one bit funny.

You are confusing the objective with the subjective here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

The Savage Eye
    The Byrne Ultimatum, worst programme of all time. The only person who found it funny was Jason Byrne himself, purely because he clearly thinks that his "aul wan" accent is hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Reginald P. DuM

The Savage Eye
    I found it very difficult to choose between Byrne, Savage and Falvey now to be honest. Tough competition. All are scandalous, but for it being utterly ridiculous in its format, its repetitive nature and stoopid props n gags I gave Byrne the nod. I don't think there's an adjective good enough to describe how inept it really was but the closest I can think of now is Diabolical. Doesn't say much for the other two either does it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Shea O'Meara

The Savage Eye
    As with all RTE programs, 'What can we make?' Get Michael to put together a comedy show. 'What about using yer one from Naked Camera?' Great idea, ooh and give Jason Byrne a ring.
    That's as much thought as goes into these creations. They are filling time slots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭andrew90

The Savage Eye
    Byrne Ultimatum closely follewed by Maeve Higgins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭eoghanie

The Savage Eye
    Byrne by far. Don't much care for McSavage either. RTE need to get Hardy Bucks on tv. Has everyone forgotten about that show? Genius. To be honest it would probably be ruined if it did get on RTE. They'd have to tone down the language and such. Maybe it's better for it to be remembered as the greatest online comedy of all time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭APM

Colm and Dim Jim's home run was the worst Comedy of 2009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭claiva

The Savage Eye
    Wyndman wrote: »
    Savage Eye is muck, stolen jokes and empty cursing, about as satirical as Bosco. I know it's standard tele practice the world over to steal formats but actual jokes, characters and dialogue - that's a disgrace.

Every funny story, every joke, anecdote etc you have ever heard has been told before and recycled for your listening pleasure.
    I really don't understand why a lot of boardsies hate McSavage.
    I think he is brilliant and has finally found a medium (character based sketch show) which suits him and shows off his talents.
    I don't mean to sound condescending here but how old are you guys who hate him so much ?
    I'm probably the same age as him and I think he has really hit the nail on the head with regards to modern irish society.
    Perhaps younger people don't properly GET whats he's saying with his cutting right to the bone comedy?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭hblock21

I went for 'other'.

Hector and Tommys Craic House

APM wrote: »
    Colm and Dim Jim's home run was the worst Comedy of 2009

You mean 2008?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colm_and_Jim-Jim's_Home_Run