Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Special Branch - Unmarked Garda Cars

• 25-12-2009 9:42am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 702 ✭✭✭

Besides the usual signs such as aerials and ford mondeo's, how can you pin point a special branch. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Zainal

Do something illegal. That should help you identify them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

There'll be two fella's with garda heads on em sitting in it.
    Sticking pins in a voodoo doll of Brian Linehan and Cowen...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭The Express

No Insurance disc, rough bodywork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

A dublin reg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

ANXIOUS wrote: »
    A dublin reg.

Not always.

Unmarked Garda cars are taking a new twist recently with Focus Hatchbacks, 3 door Focus, Berlingo Van in Cork(with blue strobes in Grille and rear window), Toyota Camrys(years back with TN Reg), Citroen C5, Isuzu Troopers.

If you look at the rear level brake light there is usually an LED in the middle of it or just somewhere on the back window.

On the front besides maybe having strobes on the corner of the bumper, you may see strobes in the Grille, like the M7's BMW 3 Series or you might see just where the dash meets the window an LED strobe cluster.

The days of the aerials are gone as now they can be built into wipers and the rear windows or now, like modern cars, shark fins.

I personally think they are easy to spot. Often the drivers will still be wearing their Garda garb unless detectives, ERU, Special Branch.

In Limerick they have a VERY OLD Citroen Xsara in white which is not D reg. I cannot remember what reg though.

Spotting special branch though. Well they do not want to be spotted SO if they are looking for you then you have been a bad boy but unless you have done something seriously messed up then special branch will just ignore you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭1922

rough bodywork.

he he he

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

The camrys are customs

been a while since toyota made a camry!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Whitewater-AGS

You wont spot a car used to monitor the movements of subversives, terrorists, and major criminals thats kinda the point of such cars;)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

1922 wrote: »

Yep they are all 93 94 models

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭alo1587

The driver will be looking around at everything but the road ahead of him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 994 ✭✭✭LookBehindYou

The question should have been about how to spot a traffic car or the types of vehicles used to give you fines and penalty points.

The special branch are in a different league, so its not a worry to the normal law abiding person. They have a different job to do.

Motorists should watch out for the silver bmw on the m7.
    also those vans parked in sneaky places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

The question should have been about how to spot a traffic car or the types of vehicles used to give you fines and penalty points.

The short answer is all the vehicles are now changing. The blue LED in break lights are being moved to strobes into the back light, ariels are nearly gone, insurance disc's are being put in.

At present the only sure way is the side bumper LEDs.......happy hunting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

three ariels on the roof is a good indicator. Co-incidentally you will see a lot of these cops on the phone as they drive as the pretty much don't give a crap about the law unless they are applying it.

DrumSteve wrote: »
    three ariels on the roof is a good indicator. Co-incidentally you will see a lot of these cops on the phone as they drive as the pretty much don't give a crap about the law unless they are applying it.

Read the law and you might understand;)

Section 3 (2) Road Traffic Act 2006

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Did anyone see a Garda commissioners car? 3.0 v6 mondeo, plenty of voom voom:pac:
    There just black, no different from any other car on the road, no ariels or sirens, nothing Gardi about them.

Plug wrote: »
    Did anyone see a Garda commissioners car? 3.0 v6 mondeo, plenty of voom voom:pac:
    There just black, no different from any other car on the road, no ariels or sirens, nothing Gardi about them.

A/C and above get a state car. 3ltr petrol. Blue lights build into grill and into back reverse lights. Siren also.

Some, but not all, have Tetra fitted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭fl4pj4ck

there's a red auris in limerick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

A/C and above get a state car. 3ltr petrol. Blue lights build into grill and into back reverse lights. Siren also.

There nice cars I have to say, another waste of the tax payers money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

Read the law and you might understand;)

Section 3 (2) Road Traffic Act 2006

Interesting read!

So we can talk on a mobile while driving if we ring a garda station or an emergency services. Good to know to report stupid drivers to the garda instead of pulling in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

The commissioner has a Volvo S80 in black. Car is GORGEOUS!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭emurphy

:confused::confused::confused:

they still make them. I drove a new one a few months back in oz

emurphy wrote: »

then i stand corrected....i just don't think they are on sale here anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

Plug wrote: »
    They're nice cars I have to say, another waste of the tax payers money.
    Totally disagree, a 3.0l v6 Ford is hardly what you'd call a 'blingin company car...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

then i stand corrected....i just don't think they are on sale here anymore?

They're not.

The Camry hasnt been sold in Europe in years. They went out with Mussolini and the wireless....:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭G Luxel

emurphy wrote: »

Theres a 06 and 07 camry in kilkenny and West Cork, one is an oz import and the other from the States.

As for the unmarked cars, they still have the 3 aerials, no hubcaps, so many dents I dont know how they pass the NCT (if they are exempt from it)...:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Garda vehicles are exempt from NCT and DOE tests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭jk86

They're the ones driving 60mph through the city centre

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭pacman.podge

blue lights on the sides of front bumpers, they stick out quite a bit....usually a dark colour like navy or blue.. garda cars even tho there drove to ****e are always being put into the garage!! very well maintained.. to a certain degree anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

Berty wrote: »
    Not always.

Unmarked Garda cars are taking a new twist recently with Focus Hatchbacks, 3 door Focus, Berlingo Van in Cork(with blue strobes in Grille and rear window), Toyota Camrys(years back with TN Reg), Citroen C5, Isuzu Troopers.

If you look at the rear level brake light there is usually an LED in the middle of it or just somewhere on the back window.

On the front besides maybe having strobes on the corner of the bumper, you may see strobes in the Grille, like the M7's BMW 3 Series or you might see just where the dash meets the window an LED strobe cluster.

The days of the aerials are gone as now they can be built into wipers and the rear windows or now, like modern cars, shark fins.

I personally think they are easy to spot. Often the drivers will still be wearing their Garda garb unless detectives, ERU, Special Branch.

In Limerick they have a VERY OLD Citroen Xsara in white which is not D reg. I cannot remember what reg though.

Spotting special branch though. Well they do not want to be spotted SO if they are looking for you then you have been a bad boy but unless you have done something seriously messed up then special branch will just ignore you.

You need a hobby mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Dero

brayblue24 wrote: »
    You need a hobby mate

Pretty sure this (motors) is his hobby. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

Dero wrote: »

OK fair point so with hindsight I retract that post and apologise to poster:(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

You need a hobby mate
    Dero wrote: »
    OK fair point so with hindsight I retract that post and apologise to poster:(.

Jeez, what happened here? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭jk86

Something beautiful, man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Apart from the lights etc

One of these on the roof:

combined-aerial.jpg

Thats the Tetra aerial. There was a case in the UK where the police refused to put the aerial in the car. They did it for a while and noticed it was causing headaches etc. They then did a medical servey and some evidence was found to suggest the Tetra signal was causing it (Tetra operates at about 400MHz)

Personally, if you are in the Gardai, refuse to Operate with the Tetra aerial in the car.

Another thing is the AVPR system. Its a small box (About four CD cases on top of each other in size) that normally sits on the boot of the car (or in some cases the roof) Dead give away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Don't worry Berty, they're just jealous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Tragedy

blue lights on the sides of front bumpers, they stick out quite a bit....usually a dark colour like navy or blue.. garda cars even tho there drove to ****e are always being put into the garage!! very well maintained.. to a certain degree anyway.
    The most common unmarked car I see is a red Ford Mondeo. Seen loads of the yokes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Barname

??

eh, no actually

Toyota produce between 400,000 and 500,000 Camry's annually

Just because a particular automobile is not retailed in Ireland does not mean it is no longer manufactured.

Barname wrote: »
    ??

eh, no actually

Toyota produce between 400,000 and 500,000 Camry's annually

Just because a particular automobile is not retailed in Ireland does not mean it is no longer manufactured.

yes i did clarify that a few posts back thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭sofia11

A bit off topic but my husband thought he'd been caught in the 30 speed limit outside cork city. He's since figured out that yes it was a garda who owns an ex-gatso van and he uses it to take out his greyhounds for exercise. It was parked on the side of the road. Well I thought it was funny, he must be giving other motorists a heart attack too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

The camrys are customs

Nope, OCU

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

there are unmarked Toyota Avensis around Dublin. Silver and beige .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

ironclaw wrote: »
    Apart from the lights etc

One of these on the roof:

combined-aerial.jpg

Thats the Tetra aerial. There was a case in the UK where the police refused to put the aerial in the car. They did it for a while and noticed it was causing headaches etc. They then did a medical servey and some evidence was found to suggest the Tetra signal was causing it (Tetra operates at about 400MHz)

Personally, if you are in the Gardai, refuse to Operate with the Tetra aerial in the car.

Another thing is the AVPR system. Its a small box (About four CD cases on top of each other in size) that normally sits on the boot of the car (or in some cases the roof) Dead give away.
    dont ya mean ANPR

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I got stopped by a Punto witha TS reg while walking home after a bar shift, Guards wanted to know what I was up to so late at night, I clearly look like a drug dealer or something.*

*there had been a shooting near where I was walking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭Heroditas

They have a black E60 5 Series in the Dublin area.
    I got flashed at and had the horn blown at me one morning by him on the M50 for not overtaking someone quickly enough (I was doing 130!!!).
    As he passed he waved his fist at me and gestured at the blue LED on the dash. I was sure I was going to be pulled over but he continued on his way.

I've seen it a couple of times since, both times it was escorting diplomatic corps limos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Just to point out, this topic comes up regularly and some people always assume there is only one "type" of car without official markings. Some also assume that plain clothes = special branch. Not so, the special branch are specifically for bad bad boys, they're not going to be checking your car is taxed.

Not being a guard, I don't know if there's specific terminology, but

General Unmarked - I take this to refer to the cars that are fairly obviously Garda cars in everything but official paintwork and stickers. D reg mondeos, steel wheels, 3 aerials etc.

Traffic Corp unmarked - as above, but with cameras,ANPR, and sometimes a bit more poke under the bonnet?

Undercover cars - as used by surveillance units, drug units, etc could be anything. May not have any garda fittings at all?

Special branch I'd say would have access to higher powered debadged stuff as they are responsible for counter terrorism, minding VIPs etc
    The 3 litre Mondeo's (ST220) already mentioned, or equivalent, would be an obvious choice - discreet cars that handle a pursuit( or a quick getaway when escorting VIPs?)
    Tetra radios most likely, and integrated lights/flashers
    Dunno if special branch would bother with the ANPR?

Someone told me once about seeing an escort in progress or maybe training for one? 3 cars, at least one Jag*, high speed aggressive but controlled driving. Cars zooming ahead to block off entrances to roundabouts etc so the other could come through quick and safe, then the blocking car(s) would have to floor it to catch up.

*No surprise for a Jag to be the escorted car, but if jags were part of the escorting cars it suggests it may not have been Gardai, but maybe an english special branch on escort duty under permission?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭dsane1

I pulled over to let a car with blue lights on its wing mirrors pass the other night ,thought it was a garda car . Another boy racer ,bloody crazy that they're getting away with this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Shires

dsane1 wrote: »
    I pulled over to let a car with blue lights on its wing mirrors pass the other night ,thought it was a garda car . Another boy racer ,bloody crazy that they're getting away with this.

Did ya report it? They can't do anything otherwise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,782 ✭✭✭P.C.

Onkle wrote: »
    I got stopped by a Punto witha TS reg while walking home after a bar shift, Guards wanted to know what I was up to so late at night, I clearly look like a drug dealer or something.*

*there had been a shooting near where I was walking

Earlier in the year a few of us were out on the bikes on a Wednesday evening. The lad in the lead stoped behind an 'oldish' Punto, and would not filter past. He called me up, and when I pulled alongside, he said 'Unmarked Garda car - check it out'.
    I spotted the light cluster in the rear widow, but would not normally have seen it.

Anyway, a driver in a pickup decided to drive past the queing traffic, and pull into the que at the lights.
    When the lights went green, off we all go, and after the junction, the Punto floors it, put on lights and pulls the pickup over.

We just rode past and laughed. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

guil wrote: »
    dont ya mean ANPR

Depends if your American or not :) But yes ANPR is the same.

"Automatic (Vehicle / Number) Plate Recognition"