Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Innapropriate songs for a friends funeral

• 24-12-2009 8:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭

I've to go to a funeral for a friend who just died. He had a wicked dark sense of humour and had joked with me before about playing the 'Chicken' song or doing the conga at our funeral should one of us die.

Do you think it would be appropriate to play the following at his funeral?

1. Wake me up (before you go go) - Wham!

2. Highway to hell - AC/DC

3. Thriller - Michael Jackson

4. Another one bites the dust - Queen

5. "Celebration" by Kool & The Gang

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,654 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

Die Die My Darling by The Misfits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭Neonjack

Tough one to call. While the deceased's wishes have to be taken into account, I can see how a lot of people would find those songs inappropriate. They're not exactly the type of song you associate with the sombre mood of a funeral. Personally, I couldn't care less what songs are played at funerals. It should be the deceased's choice I reckon. Sorry for your loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

I'm sorry for your trouble.

As humorous as many people think it would be to play daft songs at their funeral, I don't think it when it comes down to it, that they really mean it.

I didn't know the person or the relatives left behind, but I think that playing any of the songs you have listed would be a cause for upset among family members...

From my own experiences of the funerals of young friends or relatives, music has generally been performed by friends/family or played on a speaker, but the songs have always "fitted the occasion", if you know what I mean.

If you are trying to honour your friend by playing a song along the lines of what you have mentioned, that is very noble, but I'm sure the last thing they would have wanted would have been to cause any more upset.

This is a very sad time for you all, I'm sure. and I've tried my best to be helpful.

Again, my condolences CrazyRabbit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

The Bright Side of Life - Monty Python.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭ElectroJazz

....See you later alligator.......

Bill Haley if I remember correctly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Sit on my face and tell me that you love me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Very sorry for your loss especially so at this time of year.

I doubt the priest would let you play those songs in any case. We had problems with a few priests over the years whilst burying elderly relatives. One priest infamously would not let Andrea Bocelli's The Prayer and Time to say Goodbye as "they were not religious songs"...@sshole. I believe a lot of priests are like that.

Perhaps save your collection for the traditional pub send off later today and bring a smile to peoples faces then.

Again sorry for your loss :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Sorry for your loss ...

Comes down to this... if you have any bit of class you won't play that stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

My condolences, horrible thing to happen to have a friend die. My take on the issue? Just listen to the songs yourself, maybe with other friends who would know it was his wishes. Trying to explain it to others, well, I can't see it getting far.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

Rage against the machine?

Nothing like hearing the word 'Fuck' 17 times at a funeral!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

jaysus no!
    if ur dead set on it, then at least run it by the parents and see what they say. but jokes aside, and funny stories aside, just stick to the norm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭koHd

It's hard to tell. Only you and the people close to him and his family would know really. But i do think funerals don't need to be what society and the church tells us they are. If he and his family and friends want to honour his life and personality in this way go right a head and don't listen to people saying funderals should be sombre afairs atc. But do just think about the emotions certain songs could stir up. But again only you and the people close to him know his personality and how his famoily and friends might react to such a song.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

Laughing Policeman,This set as my funeral song :D,carrying my coffin down the walkway "Waaaah Ha Ha Ha...."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

H.I.M. - Join Me In Death

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

"ding dong the witch is dead, which old witch, the wicked witch...."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Condolences OP.

At my funeral, I want either 'Return to Sender' or 'Stayin Alive'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I'd like something more uncompromising meself.....

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

brummytom wrote: »
    Condolences OP.

At my funeral, I want either 'Return to Sender' or 'Stayin Alive'
    not "like a virgin"?

my condolences op

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭BigDuffman

I want Fascination by Alpha Beat played at my funeral possibly happiest song EVER!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

My sincere condolences OP.

Don't Stop Believin' by Journey?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Sorry for your loss, OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭GrizzlyMan

Ive had my share of friends funerals. I would recommend play something your friend actually enjoyed listening to! Regardless of what the song is about. theres only so much sad funeral songs you can listen to i.e. november rain, stairway to heaven Etc. Sorry for your loss dude!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

My condolences OP, it's shit to lose a friend any time of the year.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Staying Alive , Bee Gees

Down Down Deeper and Down , Status Quo

+1 for
    Always look on the bright side of life , Monty Python

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Thanks for the replies.

To be clear, I wasn't going to play anything without talking to his parents. Perhaps it's best to hold off playing anything until the wake after the funeral.

Dave was a joker, and everyone knows he would have gotten a kick out of any of the above songs being played at his funeral. I think it's a good way to remember him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Condolences :(

Sleep Now In he Fire by Rage would be VERY inappropriate :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Alive - Pearl Jam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Dr Strange

My sympathies.

I'd play this:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭kiad

I think this could be what you're looking for

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

GrizzlyMan wrote: »
    I would recommend play something your friend actually enjoyed listening to!
    I'd second this. It'd probably sit well with the parents, as it'd help them remember him enjoying himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Ciaran187

I want "There goes my hero" by Foo Fighters!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Neonjack wrote: »
    Tough one to call. While the deceased's wishes have to be taken into account, I can see how a lot of people would find those songs inappropriate. They're not exactly the type of song you associate with the sombre mood of a funeral. Personally, I couldn't care less what songs are played at funerals. It should be the deceased's choice I reckon. Sorry for your loss.
    Yeah, the deceased don't really have a musical preference I find.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Surprise, you're dead! - Faith No More

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

By the way it's an awful idea to play an innapropriate song at his funeral. You have to remember there will be a lot of people there to pay their respects who didn't know his humour as well as you, and they'll be wondering what the **** is going on. Respect the funeral for those paying their respects. Best not to rock the boat. Get together with some who knew him best and play awful music in his name after the funeral.

Sorry for your loss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Well I don't know about ye..but I don't view a funeral as something for the mourners, it's for the deceased and it should be done in whatever manner they wanted it to be done.

At my Grannys funeral she wanted the birdie song played, she expressed this many times before she had died.
    It was played, there was some wondering wtf was going on but who gives a fúck? It's not about them, not in the slightest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

My sincere condolences OP.

Would do nothing without the concent of the immediate family.

I was at a bikers funeral a few years ago where they played Sabbath, Alice Cooper and a number of hits from Judice Priest. It is also not uncommon to see lads doing burnouts outside the church after the service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

East 17 - Stay Anoter Day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 632 ✭✭✭jimmyendless

I also like the idea of europa - the final countdown (as apposed to their other hits) and as the coffin is lowered there would be loads of dry ice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭The Saint

Sorry for your loss OP.

For whom the bell tolls - Metallica

The show must go on - Queen

Fuck her gently - Tenacious D :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

GrizzlyMan wrote: »
    Ive had my share of friends funerals... ...theres only so much sad funeral songs you can listen to

Too true. I've been asked to play a certain song at a number of funerals of close friends and relatives. I'm not normally a very emotional person, but I can't bring myself to play it in any other circumstance, due to the memories it now holds. You somehow hold it together for a funeral I think, but my throat closes up and I start to well up when I attempt it, so I try to avoid it.

I haven't read through the whole thread, but I stand by my original post. Just keep the family in mind when you choose the music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

I also like the idea of europa - the final countdown (as apposed to their other hits) and as the coffin is lowered there would be loads of dry ice.

That's a wonderful idea. It's the way I want my funeral to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Dartz

This

It's something I'd ask for meself...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

my friends have been forewarned that if i die i want motley crues girls girls girls played at my funeral

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,372 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

Jungle Boogie by Kool and the Gang.

United States of Whatever by Liam Lynch

What is Love by Haddaway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

If you have somebody you really hate you should play Aslan songs at their funeral, but nobody is that cruel surely?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Jerry and the pace makers-you'll never walk alone

sorry for your loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Sorry for your loss ...

Comes down to this... if you have any bit of class you won't play that stuff.

Why not? nothing wrong with putting the fun in funeral

I want the Muppet show theme played at mine, "its time to play the music, its time to light the lights"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭uncle-mofo