Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

when does it become illegal

• 24-12-2009 12:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭

or not really legal, with a touch of gray..... ok lads i have a bit of land ... that i target shoot on...... all is safe..... some times a bud shoots with me....... i was thinking of asking another friend.... at what point does it become an organised shoot....and then attract heat from the local police force.....:confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭mossfort

myself and a few friends do a bit of clay shooting on our bog which is isolated away from any houses .
    if its only one or two and its not causing a nuisance to anyone there should be no problems.
    im not sure of the legal side of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭andyone

mossfort wrote: »
    myself and a few friends do a bit of clay shooting on our bog which is isolated away from any houses .
    if its only one or two and its not causing a nuisance to anyone there should be no problems.
    im not sure of the legal side of things.

sounds like fun..... were using centre fire's .223 and up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

andyone wrote: »
    or not really legal, with a touch of gray..... ok lads i have a bit of land ... that i target shoot on...... all is safe..... some times a bud shoots with me....... i was thinking of asking another friend.... at what point does it become an organised shoot....and then attract heat from the local police force.....:confused::confused:

what they dont know wont trouble them;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

I think this has been mentioned here before. Under the relevant act, its ok to "zero" rifles but not target shoot them. How anybody can tell the difference is beyond me;)

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

what they dont know wont trouble them;):D
    Jonty wrote: »
    I think this has been mentioned here before. Under the relevant act, its ok to "zero" rifles but not target shoot them. How anybody can tell the difference is beyond me;)

As far as I can tell, the situation is as follows:
    • There hasn't been a test case determining the difference between zeroing and an organised range.
    • You really don't want to be the test case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

IRLConor wrote: »
    As far as I can tell, the situation is as follows:
    • There hasn't been a test case determining the difference between zeroing and an organised range.
    • You really don't want to be the test case.

Oh Yes We Do

Oh No We Don't

Look Behind You :eek:

Panto Time :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

your safe enough its wexford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

I'm doing something that might be illegal, so why don't I post all about it on an internet bulletin board where nobody can find out about it. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭happyjack

Your risking going to jail, been there done that and had Gardai try their very best to charge me. They spent two hours shouting at me that I was a criminal in the local barracks.

Under the law you must be directly licensed to the gun you are firing, unless you are on a Garda approved range and they take this very very seriously.

Clays up the bog is ok, but any form of rifle shooting with friends and they will charge you, take your guns and may even get a jail term, not joking, it's that serious.

Please be careful with firearms, what you do and how you do it, this country is not gun friendly and everybody talks.

As to safety, unless one of you was a trained range officer and you all had some form of safety trainning, safe is a very elastic term, if one of your "friends" hurts his big toe your looking at a massive claim, if you organize an event and some one trips your liable all the way to the bank. It's all fine till the guy cant work for a month or so!

Why not join a club or even go the whole hog and set up a fully legal club, but the other road is well and truly closed, to much risk involved.

I think part of the reason the Gardai are so down on it is because crims are looking to train on the sly and crims look like everyone else, so whos to know.

Another down side is that local County councils are hiding CCTV cameras in bogs to catch dumpers and also we used to get fly overs in small planes watching us, every where has eyes these days, including boards.

HJ:)

rrpc wrote: »
    I'm doing something that might be illegal, so why don't I post all about it on an internet bulletin board where nobody can find out about it. :rolleyes:

ah hello.... i haven't started YET(and in case you haven't noticed... thats a big yet)... i just wanted to find out.... what if.....

thank you one and all for your input, productive and not so.....

i dont think its a runner anyway.... mind you i have my daughters old teddy bear..... and from the far corner of a field i shoot in.......(600yds) it looks like a rabbit...... i swear officer......L.M.A.O.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Valhalla18

What if 2 - 3 or more are going hunting together ,( either shotgun or rifle ) is that going to be classed as an organised event ,you might want to check zero on a rifle before starting out etc ,how far can the borders be pushed either by the shooters or the Gardai.

Valhalla18 wrote: »
    What if 2 - 3 or more are going hunting together ,( either shotgun or rifle ) is that going to be classed as an organised event ,you might want to check zero on a rifle before starting out etc ,how far can the borders be pushed either by the shooters or the Gardai.

i normally go out with one friend....... and we might get one or two bunnies in the bag.... but i have also been out in groups of four or more..... and don't get anything cause every one is to busy talking..... so really were only out walking..... ****e talking.... catching up...... comparing tall storys....... the stuff friends do when they get together....:D:D

and as for the rifle, its always zeroed..... i wouldn't bring it out otherwise... many a day i've gone out just for the banter and the crack and left the gun at home in the safe..... isn't that what makes it so enjoyable....:o:o

and as for the gaurds... don't get me started..... they aren't handing out licences in this neck of the woods if you have the silencer box ticked...... and yet in other places the gardai think that silencer's/moderators are a wonderful idea....whats that all about...:mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

...........and as for the gaurds... don't get me started..... they aren't handing out licences in this neck of the woods if you have the silencer box ticked...... and yet in other places the gardai think that silencer's/moderators are a wonderful idea....whats that all about...:mad::mad::mad:

It's the legislation being applied fairly and evenly accross the board as we were told that it would be after the latest shake-up ......... in my area you can tick the box, you'll get your licence with no "s" on it as the Super ignores it and when you query it he'll write you a letter telling you you can't have it ............................................ there is a thread here with a copy of the letter I recieved .......... a trip to the DC was my only option, which I decided not to take, as I was advised not to bother as the "public safety" excuse I was given for the refusal would be hard to get a judge to over rule :(

I know your pain :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Another down side is that local County councils are hiding CCTV cameras in bogs to catch dumpers and also we used to get fly overs in small planes watching us, every where has eyes these days, including boards.

URBAN MYTH!!! It is a bunch of signs or dummy CCTV stuck up to scare the gulllible.Councils are too cheap,broke or just generally clueless as to how to get the correct covert surveillance equipment.Or how to operate it properly.Been there,seen it done it with councils.:rolleyes:
    Dont even GO there with the airplane story..

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    URBAN MYTH!!! It is a bunch of signs or dummy CCTV stuck up to scare the gulllible.Councils are too cheap,broke or just generally clueless as to how to get the correct covert surveillance equipment.Or how to operate it properly.Been there,seen it done it with councils.:rolleyes:

Tis urban myth around us anyways. I know because i needed the videos for a car accident and there was none:rolleyes::mad:
    Worked out in the end though:)

Dusty87 wrote: »
    Tis urban myth around us anyways. I know because i needed the videos for a car accident and there was none:rolleyes::mad:
    Worked out in the end though:)

A local bouner got 5 years in jail off a council CCTV camera in Listowel, believe me they put a lot of effort into catching folks dumping or burning waste/rubbish.
    This is the big brother age. I've seen with my own eyes a council worker using a hand held video camera from a hidden position videoing a farmer burning rubbish near our local bog. In 6 months Spectra will be wheeling out mobile speed camers through out the whole country, with special night camers to catch speeding truckers and boy racers at 3am times. You can get CCTV cameras in Argos, Lidl, etc and game / hunter camers work independantly of a main power source , are camo finished and record video or still of anything that move s infront of them that gives of body heat. I dont have a CCTV kit myself, but theirs loads of it at work.

I agree, most signs and cameras are dummys, but not all, look at the bouncer in Listowel who is serving 5 years in jail over a Listowel County Council CCTV camera evidence. That camera was very much real.

As for the Cessna small plane I saw circle us that day up the bog, as god is my judge I saw a passenger stick a camera type thing out his window while the plane circuled the lot of us a few times,

in the late 80's around North Kerry the Labour struck lots of guys off the dole showing them arial pictures of themselves working up the bog, so maybe it was that, but we did get mystery shooters who no one new come along taking part, one admitted after an hour and a half that he was Garda, nice guy, but he was snooping doing his job.

Remember the three lads caught using a centerfire rifle and a single barrel shotgun training in Tip for the RIRA, how did the Gardai catch them? Forests are massive in some places, how would they track down 3 lads with 2 guns?

As to CCTV cameras, get ready for the speed camera near you, within 6 months Listowel firm Spectra will be running mobile speed cameras the lenght of the country.

Also I've seen a council worker with my own eyes hidden up a local bog with a hand held video camera filming a local farmer burning rubbish and locals that live around that bog who had tipped me off said they use hidden CCTV also. If they do are not I'm not 100%, but I know they use hand held cameras as I've seen them do it.

I do some work with CCTV as part of my job, and I can tell you now most places cant be bothered helping folks over car prangs, it's really none of their business, the cameras are really there for the owners use, not that of folks passing through, unless theirs a felony charge.

CCTV cameras dont put most crims off they just wear hoodys, push them out of the way with sticks or footballs, our if stoned dont care either way, but this is the tec age, everyone with a mobile phone has a camera, if they dont like the way your hunting/ shooting, it's out with the mobile phone.

And I'll finish with this, honest folks really dont have much to fear from cameras, and if you do, then you have to ask yourself why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭kakashka

It is a fact that CC's are using Plane/helicopter's to collect evidence of dumping/illegal building etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Darr

I was involved flying a few years back and can confrim that in the UK this is done (and its effective)

But I dont belive or have ever heard of ANYONE actually flying these jobs in Ireland ... its a very small number of people in the industry here so would have gotten out sooner or later ..

while the use of a Light AC might run in to a few hundred an hour as it would be a commerical operation and not a private flight the use of a helicopter would have a massive fee to go with it and I dont know any councel in ireland that can afford to keep the roads gritted or the pot holes filled rather then choppers or AC flying around on the chance they catch some one buring rubbish ...

lots of rumour but can anyone actually provide details of a trial where this was used >?

p.s thats not to say you may not have a pilot report it off his own back , fly tipping and backyard buring are not exactly popular (and rightly so )

Darr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭foxshooter243

Darr wrote: »
    I was involved flying a few years back and can confrim that in the UK this is done (and its effective)

But I dont belive or have ever heard of ANYONE actually flying these jobs in Ireland ... its a very small number of people in the industry here so would have gotten out sooner or later ..

while the use of a Light AC might run in to a few hundred an hour as it would be a commerical operation and not a private flight the use of a helicopter would have a massive fee to go with it and I dont know any councel in ireland that can afford to keep the roads gritted or the pot holes filled rather then choppers or AC flying around on the chance they catch some one buring rubbish ...

lots of rumour but can anyone actually provide details of a trial where this was used >?

p.s thats not to say you may not have a pilot report it off his own back , fly tipping and backyard buring are not exactly popular (and rightly so )

Darr

I tend to agree with your side of things, there was a cessna flying about here a while back and the usual stories emerged about fly tipping , dumping and garden fires, turns out it was some crew taking snaps of houses and then trying to sell them later:)

There was a helicopter flying around here said to be looking for people burning stuff. The helicopter has since crashed, was on the news, no one hurt.
    Weather thats what he was doing or not i dont know. There is cameras on bog roads here, they probably do work, im just saying about the ones on the road i was driving on. They dont have any where people are dumping their **** on the cul de sacs around here. Make ya sick the amount of rubbish. In fairness to the council though, they're fairly quick to clear it up. Some people would rather drive out here dump two bags of rubbish instead off paying 14 euro for a car load to the dump. Iv often had to bring rubbish to the dump that was left in drains around us. I like having the country clean but i hate having to clean up after lazy b******s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Dusty87 wrote: »
    The helicopter has since crashed, was on the news, no one hurt.
    That wasn't the one that tried landing in a car park only to have it all go wrong, was it?

I agree, most signs and cameras are dummys, but not all, look at the bouncer in Listowel who is serving 5 years in jail over a Listowel County Council CCTV camera evidence. That camera was very much real.
    Bit different to having one out in a bog though isnt it????
    As for the Cessna small plane I saw circle us that day up the bog, as god is my judge I saw a passenger stick a camera type thing out his window while the plane circuled the lot of us a few times,
    Did you get the planes registration????Usually written on the side and underwing.If you check the reg and the pilots lic number from the Irish Aviation Authorithy.You can enquire what was this purpose of buzzing you at that time.Hope he was a commericallly rated pilot too.
    in the late 80's around North Kerry the Labour struck lots of guys off the dole showing them arial pictures of themselves working up the bog, so maybe it was that,

More like a very good PI who worked in that area in those times actually.;)

Remember the three lads caught using a centerfire rifle and a single barrel shotgun training in Tip for the RIRA, how did the Gardai catch them? Forests are massive in some places, how would they track down 3 lads with 2 guns?

More likely internal tipoffs and proper Garda surveillance techniques????
    As to CCTV cameras, get ready for the speed camera near you, within 6 months Listowel firm Spectra will be running mobile speed cameras the lenght of the country.

And this is revelant to???

Also I've seen a council worker with my own eyes hidden up a local bog with a hand held video camera filming a local farmer burning rubbish and locals that live around that bog who had tipped me off said they use hidden CCTV also. If they do are not I'm not 100%, but I know they use hand held cameras as I've seen them do it.

ROTFLAMO..Well he wasnt very good then was he ???If you have spotted him!! So third hand info means it is true then?
    I do some work with CCTV as part of my job, and I can tell you now most places cant be bothered helping folks over car prangs, it's really none of their business, the cameras are really there for the owners use, not that of folks passing through, unless theirs a felony charge.

I was involved in investigating [and unwittingly training],providing covert surveillance to to city and county councills for this very problem.
    98% of our hits weredone by good human surveillance and evidence dumped in the rubbish.
    I can tell you straight that once they learned the methods off us they decided they could do it themselves,and have made pigs mickies of it ever since.Proper self contained undectable covert CCTV equipment that will withstand the weather abuse and actually works,will cost over 8k here per set..
    Cheap is the way to go here.So expect cheap/No results.

CCTV cameras dont put most crims off they just wear hoodys, push them out of the way with sticks or footballs, our if stoned dont care either way, but this is the tec age, everyone with a mobile phone has a camera, if they dont like the way your hunting/ shooting, it's out with the mobile phone.

And if they want to push it.THEY have to be willing to make astatement on this and stand up in court to testify to it as well.
    Not to mind a Judge this week has stated in the UK that he seriously doubts that "hunt monitors" evidence is legal under the Regulatory Investigatory Powers Act 2001.IOW unless it is an offical body investigating for crime [of which the antis are most certainly not].

And to add onto this point of pics.Unless digital pics are handled very specifically as evidence,it is too easy to dispute that they have been alterd or enhanced somway.They are fine for things like buildings or landscapes that wont change much.But for things that could be alterd [IE injuries]
    It is better to stick to the old chemical films.Still alot harder to doctor.
    And I'll finish with this, honest folks really dont have much to fear from cameras, and if you do, then you have to ask yourself why?

Well, ask yourself this then HJ.With that mindset you surely wouldnt mind the Gardai,social welfare,child protection,the revenue etc .Installing one in all your rooms of your house??Plenty of crime happens behind closed doors here in Ireland..After all, if you have done nothing wrong,you have nothing to fear right??

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Sparks wrote: »
    That wasn't the one that tried landing in a car park only to have it all go wrong, was it?

No no, this was in Ballycumber/Clara in Offaly.

I suppose you could call some car parks around here fields alright.

Was that the one with the two killed?? Flew into wire.

happyjack wrote: »

It was insurance thing, so id say if there was working camera's at the time, AXA would have got them. Maybe not, but i presume they would be given to insurance companys

No Grizz, afaik everyone was ok. There was sneering from some people at the time of the crash, regarding him being who he was (seemingly reporting to council where fires were) so i dont think anyone was hurt.

EDIT; the one your on about grizzly was in Meath not so long ago. This happened a year and half ago, there there abouts

Sparks wrote: »

http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/0912/helicopter.html
    Believe it was this fella.
    Also,
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=63523781

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I heard of one chopper being used by the council, but it wasn't instrument rated so they couldn't fly it at night.

gone way of topic lads.....:confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭tomcat220t

Andy ,i think you should work away !I have a good idea of the guys your shooting with and all are safe and very competant shooters .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

tomcat220t wrote: »
    Andy ,i think you should work away !I have a good idea of the guys your shooting with and all are safe and very competant shooters .
    Facepalm.jpg

really????? well firstly my name is george...... and if your physic..... your **** at it... cause you got my name wrong..... and these guy's your talking about..... as fictious as they may...its all your opinion, and not mine:cool::cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

Georgie....Can I come play in your sand pit?;);):D:D

dwighet wrote: »
    Georgie....Can I come play in your sand pit?;);):D:D

of course my auld friend...... only today, i took ten shots down range, all of which were bull.......(10" bull at a hundred yds)...... sure ya can't go wrong.....then back to the homestead for garlic and basil sausages....... num num num....

Was that with the CZ or Elmor Fods carbine ,George ?;)

would that be the same Elmor fod that drive's a ford focus.... in fairness i was getting better groups with his lux...... ah well... like a girl friend i had years ago.... cheap ammo sucks:D:D

Gorgeous George....Give me that piece of poo cz you have for a day and i`ll sort it out...;);)

I`ll be up on sunday for the craic ok....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Hi George ;) good to see you back posting again, you been away to loooong

We have to get down to you again great fun the last time and I'v gota bigger clay buster now. :D:D:D

AND I say zero away till your stopped - your not target shooting :rolleyes:

We all ues excuses at times ,as for cheap ammo .....id have to take your word for that ,George ;);)

clivej wrote: »
    Hi George ;) good to see you back posting again, you been away to loooong

We have to get down to you again great fun the last time and I'v gota bigger clay buster now. :D:D:D

AND I say zero away till your stopped - your not target shooting :rolleyes:

glad to hear you got the permission for the howitzer...... will Dwights car be able to tow it...:D:D

and by the way.... my back yard is your back yard.... so when ever

We all ues excuses at times ,as for cheap ammo .....id have to take your word for that ,George ;);)

you know something tom you may be right..... maybe its not the ammo, maybe its the man.... could be time to trade it in for a sling shot....:(:(

Na George ,your selling yourself short....id say.I do lessons on the weekend if ya want ...;)

pm sent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,370 ✭✭✭ranger4

Was zeroing my rifle with some berger 105g VLDs on my own streatch of land, 120y.

ranger4 wrote: »
    Was zeroing my rifle with some berger 105g VLDs on my own streatch of land, 120y.
    what make and caliber is it??????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,370 ✭✭✭ranger4

what make and caliber is it??????

Blaser 243 win.

mmm berger vld`s...would like to me hands on some of them puppies for my 300 winnie

dwighet wrote: »
    mmm berger vld`s...would like to me hands on some of them puppies for my 300 winnie

ask nicely.... you never know..
    :cool::cool: