Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Game of the Decade

• 23-12-2009 3:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭

So, what's everyone's favourite game of the decade, with a few runners up?

Gonna go with San Andreas, simply as it made history and was the funnest game ever. Hitman: Contracts definitely deserves a mention, along with PoP: Sands of Time.

Anyone got a definitive game of the decade?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

Half Life 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Mine was The Darkness. Excellent storyline and action. Never got boring and scared me a little with the lights off and surround on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Bonavox

Half Life 2.

Forgot about that! If I was to make a top ten (which I might do for my site), I'd throw in Oblivion. It would probably be the only game from this generation that would get a mention as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭Lands Leaving

Fallout 3 would probably be what absorbed me the most. Weak decade now I think about it. The 90's were great.

Runners up...

Halo
    Morrowind (screw Oblivion)
    Half Life 2/Portal
    Resident Evil 4
    Super Mario Galaxy
    Burnout 3
    Shenmue 2 (would be no1 but its too similar to shenmue 1)

Do they have to be playstation only?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭eddiehead

Bono Vox wrote: »

There is no definitive game of the dacade, different strokes and all that. Had it been released 2 years later I would have said MGS1 but failing that I would have to say San Andreas. It was, for me, the one game that stands out as being rediculously far ahead of everything else at the time of its release.

Having said that, I'm not a big FPS fan so I'm almost certainly overlooking a lot of possible other contenders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭thorbarry

Resident Evil 4

I remember playing that on launch day on my friends game cube. We were in awe, what an amazing game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

San Andreas hands down. It never got boring and was so much fun. Runner up, I would have to say Call of Duty 4. A massive breakthrough for online gaming, despite a short campaign...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

Bono Vox wrote: »
    So, what's everyone's favourite game of the decade, with a few runners up?

Gonna go with San Andreas, simply as it made history and was the funnest game ever. Hitman: Contracts definitely deserves a mention, along with PoP: Sands of Time.

mmm Well I hated all three of those games so that's a bad start lol.

I would have to say my favorites where
    il2 1946
    Battlefield 2
    Half-Life 2
    Dragon Age Origins
    Aliens Vs Predator (original) (although I think that may be 1999 not 2000)
    Resident Evil 4
    Resident Evil 1 (Gamecube)
    Eternal Darkness (Gamecube)
    Singstar lol ( great for pulling women at parties haha)
    Day of Defeat Source
    too many more to mention..

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Optimus Prime

Halo for me, purely because of the laugh i had playing splitscreen multiplayer! many nights sat in drinking playing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭RAIN

Hmmmh mine would be

Oblivion
    Halo3
    San Andreas
    Half Life 2
    MGS:Snake Eater
    WOW
    Gears of War
    Modern Warfare
    Mario Galaxy
    Shadow of the Coll
    Counter-Strike Source
    Prince of Persia SOT
    Splinter Cell Chaos Theory
    Uncharted 2

Overall winner for me would be Fallout 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭Joneser

Gotta be Half-Life 2 for me, altho the game i put the most time into was definitely WoW.
    Oblivion and GT4 deserve an honorable mention too tho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

San Andreas, definately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

mgs 3 snake eater or COD4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,439 ✭✭✭Josey Wales

Pro Evolution Soccer 5. Maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

God Of War
    Pro Evo
    Call of Duty

Winner Call of Duty 4 for the online.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭Rev. Kitchen

Oh trying to think back through a decade of gaming when gaming ruins your ...what do you call it .... ability to ... remember thats it !!

Not sure of the year but Desert storm on the original xbox was brilliant 4 player co-op.
    Pro evo has to be up there as it was the best game out for at least 6 of the 10 years.
    Resi evil, GTA and MGS have to be in or around the top 10.
    COD4.
    Half life 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭cokedrinker

Delta Force : Land Warrior !!!

Damn that was a great multiplayer game back in the day - I spent more time playing that game than all other games combined

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,406 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Hard to chooseone but right now it would be shadow of the colossus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭valleyoftheunos

The game I enjoyed most might well be Mario Galaxy but I also really loved Halo, the execution was just spot on.

I think GTA3 (or Vice City or San Andreas as you prefer) might be a winner though simply because it changed everything and really showed where games were going. It was the first sand lot game to really pull it off, it was pretty eye opening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭irishjim111

Fifa is a game iv always been biting my nail to wait till october every to get it but the last two years iv got bored of it very qickly so its one of my favourates. and any racing or rally game i loved or the war games like medal of honour or the mafia games they were great aswell.

God its hard to say which was the best of the best though:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭Walsh

GTA Vice City/San Andreas! Definitly changed gaming for the good!

Call of Duty aswell in terms of the whole online gaming scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Evolute

Gears of War 1/2
    Fallout 3
    Mario kart wii
    Guitar hero
    Star wars battlefront 2
    and san andreas had hours upon hours of fun with that game and then they wrecked gta4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

My Top 3:

Fallout 3
    Final Fantasy X
    Resident Evil 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,955 ✭✭✭rizzla

Silent Hill 2.

Haven't given it much thought yet, but that game would certainly be up near the top.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Fallout 3
    Mario kart wii
    San Andreas
    Halo
    COD 4
    Conflict Desort Storm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭liverpo

A bit unfair to say a weak decade:

In no particular order:

GTA
    PES
    Fallout3
    DeadSpace
    Virtua Tennis3
    Splinter Cell
    Burnout
    COD4
    GT4
    MOH
    MGS
    Uncharted 1&2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

For me its san andreas or whichever game started the guitar hero/singstar/rockband malarky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

GTA3 gets my vote, I remember just been blown away from start to finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Evolute

God of war is in there too as one of the best ones Ive played the two of them so far and have played away happily without getting bored in the slightest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Fallout 3, Uncharted 2 and Shadow of the Colossus take the top spots for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

MGS3: Snake Eater

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Bonavox

Have to agree with God of War too. Great game. Hard to pick a top 50, never mind top 10!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Grand Theft Auto III probably wins in my book.

Frick forgot about guitar hero, SOTC, GOW at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,621 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

On the playstation anyway, for me it has to be Grand Theft Auto: Vice City, never had so much fun playing a game in my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Big Knox

Couldn't pick a definative one right now but at the top of my list would be:

Silent Hill 2 - Still the scariest game ever made
    Resident Evil 1 - Fantastic remake of the original daddy of survival horror
    Burnout Paradise - Most fun you can have in a car and great online
    Demon's Souls - Completly innovative and a fresh look at the RPG scene
    Call of Duty 4 - Amazing single player experience and unrivaled online
    Uncharted 2 - The best single player action game ever made

I know there's probably more I can't think of right now but they're the ones that stand out at the moment!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

Vice City

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭weiland79

max payne but thats prob from the nineties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

San Andreas
    CoD4:MW
    PES6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭BigDuffman

Play Station:

MW2
    COD4
    MGS 4
    Fallout 3
    Uncharted

PC:

Deus Ex
    Oblivion
    Operation Flashpoint 1
    Rainbow Six (Pre Ghost recon where it was actually tactical)
    Dawn Of War (Pre-DOW 2)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭Dunnie1982

In no particular order,
    Vice City/San Andreas.
    Fallout 3.
    Final Fantasy 10.
    God Of War/God Of War 2.
    Call Of Duty Modern Warfare.
    Gran Turismo 4.
    Splinter Cell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭CombatCow

Im gonna say Fallout 3 aswell, BUT not the GOTY edition, cause it was shíte :P

CC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭Lucious Sweet

PES 05 or 06
    Infamous
    Batman Arkham Asylum
    Uncharted 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Shadow of the Colossus- as close to a work of art as a video game can get, anyone who think games are for kids and have no depth should be made to play this

Resident Evil 4- just amazing from start to finish

Uncharted 2- the same as playing a great summer blockbuster, took everything that was annoying about the first one (some niggly jumps, too many combat sections) and evened everything out for a much more satisifying experience, i didnt want it to end

Bioshock- A great plot, amazing design and visuals and some genuinely emotional moments

Metal Gear 4- overlong cutscenes, you watch it more than you play it, plot tries to cram in everything from the previous games to give every charcter an ending, but when its firing on all cylinders its an incredible experience, the
    return to Shadow Moses, with the sniper battle, Raiden being a badass and ther subsequent Rex vs Ray fight
    is one of the most enjoyable parts of a game I've ever played

The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess- have only played the GC version but its stunning from start to finish

Half Life 2- still hasnt been bettered as a single player fps, Modern Warfare 1+2 have come close with epic scenes and making you feel like you're playing a movie, but HL2 is still the daddy

God of War series: just balls to the wall fun from start to finish, to think the first one wasnt even going to get a release over here

Honorable mentions to:
    Okami
    Ico
    Silent Hill 2
    Dead Space
    Burnout 3
    Knights of the Old Republic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭prettyboy81

GTA on PS3,

Pro Evo 5 - PS2

Metal Gear Solid - PS2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭Rev. Kitchen

God of war never did it for me, it did look brilliant graphically but the game was just mindless button bashing over and over again. I dont think it added anything to the gaming world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Toss up between Morrowind and Vice City.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 free gaff?

pes6
    san andreas(was without doubt the best, gta iv was a massive letdown)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭sarumite

Personally my favourite was probably Elder Scrolls:oblivion.

Its funny how GTA4 and San Andreas seem to polrize people, often they love one but hate the other.