Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stolen mail/crappy neighbours!

• 22-12-2009 3:30am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭

Ok so I don't know if this is the appropriate board to be posting on, but can't seem to find anything more relevant.... (mod feel free to move if inappropriate)

My apologies in advance for this being such a long post, but I need to get opinions on this...

I have "ranted and raved" on here about my neighbours before, but things are getting out of control now...

Noisy neighbours apart, the block that we live in seems to be full of idiots... myself and my hubby work more than 40 hours each so are very rarely there during the day.

Over the past few months (maybe 5) we have noticed that if we don't catch our mail just after the postie arrives we don't get it.... the postal boxes are located on the ground floor of the apt block and are locked with us only having a key, unfortunately post can be "poked out of it". Someone is stealing my mail. One day a few months back, I was off work that day and was heading up to the local shop, I only had my purse and keys with me, so when I seen the BT logo on a letter in the postbox I thought I would leave it till I cam back to get it as if I took it now I would have left it in the car and forgotten about it. When I returned from the shop some 20 min's later, the letter was gone!! I had previously suspected that letters were going missing, but wasn't 100% sure.

More recently every time I open my postbox a letter (opened with only a compliment slip in it) has been posted through my letter box, with no other mail there. The letter is addressed to No 38 (with a name I would never be able to pronounce on it), I live at No 40. I have always just taken it out and put it ontop of the other letterbox's as it was really unimportant as the letters contents had been removed and the cleaners are there once a week so would normally clear the contents of the top of the letterbox's. I assumed it was kid's pranking.

Things took a more sinister turn on Friday evening, I was at home alone with my 4 yr old daughter (hubby on his Xmas nite). About 10.15 pm I heard someone messing with my door, went out into my hallway and seen something slipping under the front door. So as u would I opened the door to see who was putting something under it.... I honestly thought it was a neighbour downstairs with a crimbo card as I know she wouldn't have knocked so as not to awake the child. When I opened the door, it was the tenant at No 38... who immediately flew into a rage..... claiming that I had continually put this item into her letter box and that her hubby had seen me do it.... the woman is of african origin (absolutely relevant to this post), the shouting was unbearable, accusing me of allsorts, I closed the door after telling this "lady" that she was a lunatic! I was absolutely terrified, crying and shaking, she kept kicking my front door, I'm Scottish my hubby is Irish (but could be Irish under the "granny rule" lol!!) when the neighbours came out of their apts she was still kicking and screaming and saying "she is BRITISH... BRITISH.... she should not be here!!!!". "I will make you move out of here" I was standing in my hallway, not only devestated by events but very angry, I was seriously going to get out my hammer from my tool box and go out to her, but had to check myself and say no, I'm a mother and I cannot go about things in that way! So instead I phoned the Garda, who came within about 20 min's, in which time this woman was still in the hallway, not shouting as much but still giving out...

My husband had not told me that during the week (maybe Wed/Thu) when he had been coming home (he didn't think anything of it) the husband of this woman was at the letter boxes's when he drew up to the apt, it took him at least 2 min's to get our child and the bit's and bob's out of the car, all the while the man was at the postbox's, my hubby said that when he opened the front door he was clearly flustered and rooted in his pockets for keys to open his own letterbox, my hubby just continued on as he was doing only when events happened that the relevance of this incidence hit home.

Guard's spoke to her and sort of calmed her, but she still insisted to them that I had done something on her..... I swear on all I hold close to me I have NEVER done anything on this woman!!

I firmly now believe that these ppl have been tampering with our mail (hope they enjoy looking at my debt letters!!) but I want to catch them in the act (might well be someone else but I believe it's them)

this is not the first time this has happened, this woman assualted me just about 1 1/2 years ago, because I closed the main front door of the apartment when she had left ajar to get back in without a key, I was carrying my then 2 1/2 year old child and bags of wet washing for my mil to hang on the line for me, I honestly did not see her (she was inside her car cleaning it and had obviously left it ajar so that she could get in) I backed out of the door and let it slam and no sooner had I left the door when she was grabbing at me! I went to the Gard's at that stage and made a statement to be held on record that if anything else happened we could recall it.......

anyway I am so disgusted by this we own our apt but cannot sell, this person is a tenant, the management co will not get involved.... Today I was off work and wanted to go out for Xmas shopping but I was afraid to incase yer woman started anything and it was just me and my 4 year old there..... as a general rule I would not be afraid of someone like that but I just don't want my little girl to be afraid... She actually does remember the initial assualt, because said to me not to long ago, "mummy remember when the bold lady was grabbing your jumper" that absolutely broke my heart.

So now I am in a dilema, I really don't want to go to court, I rang the gards today to ask them about an injunction against this woman, who directed me to the court, the lady there told me I would have to go to the high court which means a lot of money (which I don't have).

I am after Friday's events pretty sure that these are the people who have been tampering with my mail (too much of a coincidence for my liking) but I have no proof.

I was thinking aloud to the Garda about putting a trap in my letter box with that "visible dye" to catch thiefs, I could just put it on a letter, which would mean it would be visible on them under UV light, but I would love to make a letter "pop" if you understand, cos they could always wear gloves to cover their hands, no explosives or anything but just wish I could cover whoever has been stealing my mail in dye. The Gard said it was legal, but I wish I had asked him if I could follow the trace of the dye would they prosecute?

Please don't be argumentative on this post, because I am seriously at the end of my tether and would love some constructive advice on what to do...

Actually does anyone know if there is anywhere in Ireland that sells this visible dye to catch thiefs?

Thanks in advance

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

i'd start posting Pornography of yourself to yourself...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

African women can be a bit hostile - I'm not sure if that is a politically correct thing to say, but I'll check with my cleaner in the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

bernyh wrote: »
    I'm Scottish

Give the woman a Glasgow kiss.

Ok, that's probably not very helpful, but you said this woman probably stole your mail in about a 20 min time while you were out at the shop. Surely you could just make it seem as if you've gone out, and try and catch her in the act, perhaps even photograph her?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭bernyh

Yep first part quite unhelpful, (but I had to laugh cos I really wanted to do that!!) but just happened that time I was only out at the spar for about 20 mins, it would only take prob 2 min's to take the mail, ( I haven't timed it)I'm three flights up, so how do I run a lead for photography? The block can be quite quiet during the day so the chances of being caught is slim, plus it seems not everyone has a key so it's not unusual to see someone sticking something in a letter box to get out mail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭phlegms

Shíte on the bonnet of their car.
    That'll learn em' good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I have no idea what that opening post was about - it was long even by PI standards - but all I can say is this: a bazooka is your only friend.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

I was seriously going to get out my hammer from my tool box and go out to her

You can take the woman out of Scotland......................

Thought I better help if I'm going to make an arsehole comment considering you sound very upset.

http://www.frozencpu.com/products/7540/ex-liq-101/PrimoChill_Dye_Bomb_-_Black_UV_Blue.html

What you are looking for is a dye pack. Here is some information on them and how they work.

http://www.howstuffworks.com/question671.htm

phlegms wrote: »
    Shíte on the bonnet of their car.
    That'll learn em' good.

Would you be willing to come and do that cos I'd pay for ur taxi!! lol!! (so long as it's not the "lady's husband" lol!!!!!!!!!!)

No seriously this is a serious subject, I am actually afraid to leave my house for fear of this person, not for me but for my wee girl...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Are you looking to gt rid of them or to stop them stealing your mail?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭koHd

the dye is a good idea. Somebody stealing mail is so childish. But I think if you can catch her on a good day for a civil chat and see why she is so angry towards you would be a better idea.. She must be angry about something besides that one door closing incident to react to you the way she is. Could be a misunderstanding somewhere. Maybe her mail is also being stolen and she suspects you. But little do you know some other neighbour is stealing noth and giggling away while you both get at one anothers throats over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Resi12

I'd say place a camera at the back of the letterbox, if anything you will be able to tell whether the hand is black or white to discredit the african couple?

cloneslad wrote: »
    You can take the woman out of Scotland......................

Thought I better help if I'm going to make an arsehole comment considering you sound very upset.

http://www.frozencpu.com/products/7540/ex-liq-101/PrimoChill_Dye_Bomb_-_Black_UV_Blue.html

Yeah ok I agree with that statement I am your typical Scot's woman, but I don't want to be fighting in the streets, cos really I would have wanted to string yer woman up!! but I am a mother now and I want my child to grow up as leveled as I can and brawling in the corridor is not the way to got about it!!

dont understand this product but more info is appreciated

Resi12 wrote: »
    I'd say place a camera at the back of the letterbox, if anything you will be able to tell whether the hand is black or white to discredit the african couple?

RACIST!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Cheeky monkey

Put a razor blade in your mail box setup so the next person to put their hand it get cut off it..... I think its called negative reinforcement

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

OP the lady in question probably has a mental issue - a psychosis of some sort maybe. I speak with some authority as my dad was the neighbour from hell - he threw rocks through my neighbour's windows because the were from the North and were Gaurds and he thought they were bugging him. Fortunately the declined to press charges after the police were called, he was admitted to a public mental hospital (horrible place) was treated and is now fine. The neighbours thought myself, my brother and mum were nuts for not stopping him - but what could we do? He'd been in hospital so many times before. Anyway he's fine now but believe me OP, unless this lady moves out of the apartment the crap you're taking won't stop. The Gardai won't be able to do much unless they catch her in the act of physically attacking you. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news.

Are you looking to gt rid of them or to stop them stealing your mail?

I want to stop the whole situation, I don't want to deal with them on any level as it plainly is not possible so if getting rid of them is my only option that would be the route I would like to go
    I would rather not fight with my neighbours but now I want to know who is stealing my mail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Resi12

RACIST!!!

I sincerely hope your being sarcastic, OP I would say a camera and dye is the best option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

Yeah ok I agree with that statement I am your typical Scot's woman, but I don't want to be fighting in the streets, cos really I would have wanted to string yer woman up!! but I am a mother now and I want my child to grow up as leveled as I can and brawling in the corridor is not the way to got about it!!

dont understand this product but more info is appreciated

Ignore the link, I just copied and pasted the first link that came up with dye pack in it, it is not the right product.

However you do need to just search for dye packs/exploding dye packs etc.

I would do it but it's half four and I'm about to go to sleep as I have spent the past while negotiating an employment contract for myself in Korea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

well seen as none of the usual suspects are offering

Address of the woman in question and a few certin members of AH will have her gone in a week :cool: :pac:

Resi12 wrote: »
    I sincerely hope your being sarcastic

WAH WAH WAH!

Grow up!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

robbie_998 wrote: »
    well seen as none of the usual suspects are offering

Address of the woman in question and a few certin members of AH will have her gone in a week :cool: :pac:

+1 on that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 TamNaz

Sorry to hear about your troubles.

Don't you have post office boxes in Ireland you can rent for not much money per year? Over her you pay, I think $16 a year for a safe, locked box at the nearest post office and then you no longer have to worry about someone stealing your mail. Inconvenient having to stop to pick it up, but safe and at least that cures one area of concern.

As for exploding dyes, etc, very doubtful that would IMPROVE your situation/relationship with a woman who is already terrorizing you for something you didn't do.

Other thoughts are, maybe contacting the owner of her apt and lodging a complaint with them if she continues to cause problems. I am sure the laws are different there, but filing a restraining order over here is not costly, not sure why you would have to go to 'high court' for that. You usually need to file an incident report with the police department before you can get a restraining order, but if she continues to harrass you might be worth looking into.

Eh, I just googled it, looks like maybe a 'safety order' is what you are looking for if she is still threatening you.

http://www.traceysolicitors.ie/barring-orders.html

(not sure if this is only for domestic violence or not in Ireland).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Gonzales

could you try to modify the slot on your mailbox to make it harder for someone to steal your mail? narrow the slot.

I like the idea of the camera inside the mailbox.

Watch out for identity theft, the person stealing your mail may be building up a profile of you /your husband or family in order to use your identity for fraudulent purposes. Maybe no harm to mention this concern to the Gardai in case someone comes a knocking some fine day saying you have run up a 50,000 credit card debt that you know nothing about.

good luck with your problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Buy a hypodermic syringe, take the top off and leave it in mailbox at the bottom. You are leaving it in a place only yourself and husband should have access to (postman wont be rooting around at bottom of mailbox). Dont do anything nasty to it, just leave it at bottom. If they even brush off it, and see it, dam sure they wont be sticking their hand down their again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭smcelhinney

On a more serious note (though I do applaud the essence of After Hours replies), make sure that they are not engaging in identity theft. And before you all judge me for casting aspersions on their characters based on their ethnic origin... actually, judge me, I dont care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Scorpion in the mail box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Ticktactoe

Hi OP. What a pain in the ar$e!! I like Tamnaz idea and if i were you would go with that. Get a postbox in the post office and have your mail delivered there for a while anyway. See how it goes.

I would just avoid them at all costs. So first thing to do is to change where your mail is been delivered. Dont give them any reason to confront you but if they continue to, then I would get solicitors advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Wow. Tl;dr and I won't be the only one :P

Sorry but it's early, I'll read it later after my brekkie roll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

You'd be amazed at what has 'value'. A string of consecutive ESB bills for instance, is worth gold. A person will then change the other (fraudulent) identification to fit the bills, not vice versa.

We had a friendly looking oriental gentleman (smiling politely) who would occasionally root through our apartment bins and waddle off with a clutch of utility bills.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Report it to the Gardai, An Post and the management Company. I know you probably did. Keep reporting it.

Redirect your post to your parents/friend/work. Unfortunately this is probably your best solution - costs €110.00 per year :eek:

You can get a PO box, but they are very expensive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

She's black, put in some melted ice cream.

If there's ice cream on her hands, she's GUILTY.

(might be slightly racist).

On a severiously serious note, buy yourself a small portable cctv camera, ask reception can you use one of their plugs, and catch that b1tch in action.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Mail yourself a letter that reads. "Ah we've got her now. That woman from number 38 won't even suspect that all our mail is cyanide coated. Muwwwaaahhhaaaa!"

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Post yourself a letter of white powder. Cut out pieces from a newspaper claiming that its anthrax.

Can you buy one of those brush things, so its easier to put mail in (or even a one way slot) so they cant get at it.

Post yourself some rats from the petshop (the dead ones for snakes). Que enjoyment of her opening it up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

I'd say start keeping a diary of events in case it all ends up in court at a later date. Sorry to hear about all that. You are actually not the first person I have heard of who has problems with african neighbours tampering with their mail in an apartment block while they are out at work (believe it or not).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭trackcar

What about asking the management company to install CCTV in the area of the post boxes and also putting up signs in this area as well

+ 1 for the identify teft

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭ddarraghh

alarm your post box

a letter attached to a personal alarm, when they pull it out it sets off the alarm.
    you can get luggage alarms to which could be easily used
    a modified smoke alarm

modify the opening, make it smaller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

here's a cheap solution.

get a piece of strong cardboard the size of your mailbox front. If your mailbox is like my mailbox, when you unlock it the whole front should lift up. (does the mailflap on the front open out, or in? )

Cut a narrow gap the width of your mailslot in the cardboard, then stick it to the underside of the mail slot.

when you open the mailflap on the front, there is now a much thinner slot that mail can still go through, but would be very noticable if someone tried to stick their hand into.

Mail the Management company to tell them you are doing this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

Wow - and I thought my neighbours were bad.
    Seriously thought, and somebody else mentioned this already, is it possible that there's a person tampering with both of your mail? It could even be a kid with too much time on her hands. That would explain the other woman's anger if she thinks that you're doing to her the same thing as is happening to you!
    If there's any way you could leave your place in the morning when you're sure there is post and hang around outside the doors to see if you could catch somebody in the act, that would be the simplest way. I know it might be time consuming, but there's no point in calling the guards etc. if all of your problems are being caused by some knackery 13 year old!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

Contact the PRTB to make a complaint against the tenant. Also as an owner you are a member of the management company and are entitled to contact details for other owners including the owner of the apartment in question. Try contacting them.

You also need to get on to your management agent and tell them that the owner of the apartment is in breach of their lease agreement by allowing the tenant to interfere with your quiet enjoyment of your home. Put everything in writing. Sit on your management agent, call them every day if necessary until they take action.

hth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

+1 on the Send her a letter full of "white powder" and then call the gardi :D:D:D:D:D

That'll learn 'em good :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭Darksaga87

If it was me, i would advise them to stop for the sake of thier health.

Let them know of your close family/friends from up north.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

I had a problem with mail before and it does have potentially far reaching consequences when you are not aware of missing post. (you could end up on a defaulters blacklist/identity theft etc)

Definitely go to the post office and get all your post sent to a PO Box or re-direct it to work/InLaws/Friends house (its about 65 euro for 6 mths I think as far as I remember)

Contact all your Utility companies/Insurance/Medical/Tax etc in writing and let them know there has been a problem with malicious interference to your post.

That way its on record with everywhere.

Report your suspicions to the guards and thepost office. I'd say she is fuming over you reporting her for assualt. Well, fcuk her, serves her right. See if you can have the guards go around and have a word with the b1tch.

Other than that blank her but don't let her intimidate you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

You could mail yourself a letter from 'the guards' saying that they'll arrest her or something.

Imo the ideas already posted should work anyway. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭MAB83

I had a problem with mail before and it does have potentially far reaching consequences when you are not aware of missing post. (you could end up on a defaulters blacklist/identity theft etc)

Definitely go to the post office and get all your post sent to a PO Box or re-direct it to work/InLaws/Friends house (its about 65 euro for 6 mths I think as far as I remember)

Contact all your Utility companies/Insurance/Medical/Tax etc in writing and let them know there has been a problem with malicious interference to your post.

That way its on record with everywhere.

Report your suspicions to the guards and thepost office. I'd say she is fuming over you reporting her for assualt. Well, fcuk her, serves her right. See if you can have the guards go around and have a word with the b1tch.

Other than that blank her but don't let her intimidate you.
    Bang on. Though I could think of worse things to do to the bitch, I think this is all the most practical.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Mail yourself a claim form for a prize that you won (€1500 - to make it seem someway believeable). Get them to ring a number (buy a prepay sim or something) or email an address with their bank details. Make sure to state that the prize can be transferred to another person. Not only will you sting her, but you will also have her bank details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Dancor wrote: »
    Scorpion in the mail box.

Pfft hungry crocodile in the mailbox FTW.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

We have one locked mail box for the whole apt block and everyone has a key to get their mail. However some genius has missed the point and insists on taking everyone's mail out of the box and leaving it on the stairs. What I do is take this mail off the stairs and chuck it into the bin in the street!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭Corkbah

Nolanger wrote: »
    We have one locked mail box for the whole apt block and everyone has a key to get their mail. However some genius has missed the point and insists on taking everyone's mail out of the box and leaving it on the stairs. What I do is take this mail off the stairs and chuck it into the bin in the street!
    do you at least check for your own mail first ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

I havn't read the entire thread, but have you checked with the ICB - to see if anyone has been running up debts in your name?
    All people need is a passport and a utility bill to get credit out in your name.

Identity theft is no joke.