Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

• 22-12-2009 2:50am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭

Could this be the year that electronic/dance music pushes to the forefront of mainstream music? With hip-hop already beginning to walk the green mile, and artists like Lady Gaga wetting the mainstream's appetite for electronic music (albeit horribly cheap and generic), will the release of the big three's (Daft Punk, The Chemical Brothers, and Justice) new albums early next year be enough to push the genre into the spotlight?

Just wanted to hear some thoughts about this as this is a question that has been dancing around my mind for a while. I really think that this upcoming decade is going to be more important to the genre than even the 90's were.

• Registered Users Posts: 512 ✭✭✭gavkm27

With all the new Indie Dance/Nu Disco and some of the commercial Dubstep it is becoming more accessaible to alot of folk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

If 2009 is anything to go by,i would say yes.09 has been so healthy right across the board in all types of dance music so roll on 2010!!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 686 ✭✭✭insert-gear

Whether its a good thing or not I'd say it's definitely heading that way. It might be nice for people to have a little more of a clue and not assume that I listen to dush dush dush drug music

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Four-Percent

Whether its a good thing or not I'd say it's definitely heading that way. It might be nice for people to have a little more of a clue and not assume that I listen to dush dush dush drug music

Yeah exactly! Nothing worse than hearing someone declare an interest in the Daft Punk's remix of Harder Better Faster Stronger when I say I like electronic music...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

SRFC90 wrote: »
    Could this be the year that electronic/dance music pushes to the forefront of mainstream music? With hip-hop already beginning to walk the green mile, and artists like Lady Gaga wetting the mainstream's appetite for electronic music (albeit horribly cheap and generic), will the release of the big three's (Daft Punk, The Chemical Brothers, and Justice) new albums early next year be enough to push the genre into the spotlight?

Just wanted to hear some thoughts about this as this is a question that has been dancing around my mind for a while. I really think that this upcoming decade is going to be more important to the genre than even the 90's were.

I can only speak for myself but i hate the mainstream and commercialism in general and i wouldn't like to see dance music in the charts, tripe like "Lady Ga Ga" shouldn't even be considered as dance music, it's rubbish pop music with a few clicks and some beats, i cringe when i hear this type of crap!!

If some people want to see dance music in the charts then that is their perogative, but i always have and will always remain into dance music that is underground and not commercial.

Dance music needs to reinvent itself totally, the late 80's a lot of the 90's were the catalyst for what is around today but they are running out of ideas IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,328 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Dance has had a few big explosions into the mainstream but it has always drifted back a bit again. We had the acid house/summer of love, we had the 90's/superstar Djs and all that happens is the record companies then push out a pile of sh!te that sounds similar to whatever hit captured peoples attention and in 6 months time people get sick of it and go back to listening to Shania fuking Twain or whatever pish they listen to and we wait for the next big thing.

Lady GaGa is just Madonna for people who are still young enough to be adopted by Madonna. As for LaRoux, Little Boots, Beyonce, Black Eyed Peas, Shakira, Britney and anyother sh!tebag who thinks they are producing Dance music...Just fuk off would ye? Its pop, nothing more. No edgieness, no rumbling bass lines, no bollock bursting kick drum, no breakdown that leaves you flailing like a photoepileptic in a thunderstorm, just cheezy muck with a well rehearsed dance routine. Its the fukin Marcarena or Whigfield.

So called dance music, i.e music that is deemed dance by mainstream audiences may be a bigger comercial success in the next year but i cant see how thats going to do anything to improve the quality of music we get to hear. It just means the radio gets filled with dung. Proper high quality electronic music will not get airplay and conversely those of us who want to listen to it will seek it outside of the airwaves.

The other big contributing factor to the explosions of dance music in the past was the drugs. Acid house got the first wave of ectasy and everyone was on the same buzz. The late 90's got Mitzis and everyone was on the same buzz. The drugs and music complimented each other. It was the same with acid and Psychadelic rock. It was probably the same with Speed and Jiving. Now theres cocaine and a vast array of designer drugs but its just pick'n'mix and a whole load of different vibes clashing. Until the next single drug emerges above the rest and inspires musicians in the same way then we'll be stuck with coked up fukwits dancing to David Guetta.

• Registered Users Posts: 254 ✭✭BigDaddyCan

Daroxtar wrote: »
    Dance has had a few big explosions into the mainstream but it has always drifted back a bit again. We had the acid house/summer of love, we had the 90's/superstar Djs and all that happens is the record companies then push out a pile of sh!te that sounds similar to whatever hit captured peoples attention and in 6 months time people get sick of it and go back to listening to Shania fuking Twain or whatever pish they listen to and we wait for the next big thing.

Lady GaGa is just Madonna for people who are still young enough to be adopted by Madonna. As for LaRoux, Little Boots, Beyonce, Black Eyed Peas, Shakira, Britney and anyother sh!tebag who thinks they are producing Dance music...Just fuk off would ye? Its pop, nothing more. No edgieness, no rumbling bass lines, no bollock bursting kick drum, no breakdown that leaves you flailing like a photoepileptic in a thunderstorm, just cheezy muck with a well rehearsed dance routine. Its the fukin Marcarena or Whigfield.

So called dance music, i.e music that is deemed dance by mainstream audiences may be a bigger comercial success in the next year but i cant see how thats going to do anything to improve the quality of music we get to hear. It just means the radio gets filled with dung. Proper high quality electronic music will not get airplay and conversely those of us who want to listen to it will seek it outside of the airwaves.

The other big contributing factor to the explosions of dance music in the past was the drugs. Acid house got the first wave of ectasy and everyone was on the same buzz. The late 90's got Mitzis and everyone was on the same buzz. The drugs and music complimented each other. It was the same with acid and Psychadelic rock. It was probably the same with Speed and Jiving. Now theres cocaine and a vast array of designer drugs but its just pick'n'mix and a whole load of different vibes clashing. Until the next single drug emerges above the rest and inspires musicians in the same way then we'll be stuck with coked up fukwits dancing to David Guetta.

i must say i agree with most of this

what i will say, i was watching a review recently with ellie jackson from la roux, and the question was put to her "do you think you are the future for dance/electronic music?" to which she replied "its pop music, thats it, were not super star djs, were just making pop music"

i will agree with all the other artists mentioned, i find it hard to believe that lady gaga will make much of an impact in 2010, people loved her at the start, she dressed like a gob****e, sang about sex but it was sellable to the younger generation, i reckon next year it will be a case of "thats totally 2009"

about "commercial dance music" i think the best electronic music is the underground stuff, where your in a club with people who genuinely love the music, not just there cos they want to be part of the scene...

on the note of drugs, i agree its totally flooded, if you go to any electronic event at the moment you get the group on coke, the group on k, group on MDMA and everyone else then, i reckon we need to decide what we want and stick to it :D

i think 2010 will be a great year for music though! i have mentioned to many friends recently the scene in Cork has certainly flourished in these recessionary times, people now want more for their buck, also people dont wanna hear about how much money some big black fella has!

• Registered Users Posts: 332 ✭✭xdeletiax

Could this be the year that electronic/dance music pushes to the forefront of mainstream music?

i really hope not. and i really dont think its possible. i think more than any other genre the motivation electronic music producers have for making music is non commercial. (apart from obvious, usually awful, exceptions) plus most electronic music is really hard to market. if you were first exposed to say, dubstep, on MTV you wouldnt really like it. a televisions audio system isnt suitable for listening to most dance music. i can definatly see dubstep gaining in popularity as cynical indie bands cash in on dubsteps cultural capital and commission dubstep producers to make dubstep remixs of their tracks. sometimes this works (la rouxs voice was perfect for a jungle/dubstep track) sometimes it doesnt (every remix that crookers guy has done pisses me off). the only way i can see any decent dance artists becoming popular is if they are hyped up by influencial bloggers/websites/ magazines the way animal collective were this year. justice are pretty popular but a lot of thats due to the fact that theyv put a lot of effort into a subtle but complex promotional system.

edbanger and other roudy labels have a nice niche market for boozed up students but thats as far as it will go really.

as for the chemical brothers, and im a huge fan, their fairly past it. their last two albums sounded like failed experiments to sound contempory made worse by hiring favours of the month to callaberate with. they need to retire for a few years until they come up with a few new ideas.

id say 2010 will be exactly like 2009, therel be tonnes of quality tunes being produced by artists who love music and having people show up to their gigs and have fun is a greater reward to them than a chart number or pics in magazines, etc etc. promoters like test industries, bodytonic, and others will continue to bring serious talent over for us to dance to. and bloc will be the best festival EVER.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

Chemical brothers are well passed it, last few albums were terrible
    Justice!!!! big three??
    Daft Punk - cockmunchers
    The prodigy - are the biggest and again last years album was rubbish
    Perhaps Orbital might come up with something - again no decent albums in the last decade
    Aphex Twin one be somebody i would keep an eye out for - usually releases original quality albums and he is now becoming more and more known!
    Bring back Kraftwerk!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

vermonaman wrote: »
    Daft Punk - cockmunchers

This statement makes me thing that either you're a troll, or you've no idea what you're talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

no their the trolls!

vermonaman wrote: »
    no their the trolls!

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

I would have thought that it did push to the front of mainstream music many years ago? Maybe with Madonna or someone singing over what would otherwise have been a strictly underground dance track, but the difference is the vocals and the singer.

• Registered Users Posts: 668 ✭✭✭brianc27

This statement makes me thing that either you're a troll, or you've no idea what you're talking about.

i agree with him, what exactly have daft punk done since about 1997, a couple of really **** albums, that marley park gig was complete sh*te as well, the pyramid looked class but musically it was horrendous, i think all that justifies a "cockmuncher" tag.

anyway 2010 will exactly the same as 2009, sh!t music in the charts, mediocre to really bad tracks being released in any specific genre with a couple of brilliant tracks to compensate

• Registered Users Posts: 749 ✭✭✭SteveDon

Have to agree, Daft Punk are crappppp, I despise Justice aswell, I just hate that French sound.

Really hope dance music stays underground, the amount of posers in techno clubs these days is baffling. Asking the dj for the latest Deadmau5 number and what not. I fear further popularity will only serve to evoke more of these types of punters.

brianc27 wrote: »
    i agree with him, what exactly have daft punk done since about 1997, a couple of really **** albums, that marley park gig was complete sh*te as well, the pyramid looked class but musically it was horrendous, i think all that justifies a "cockmuncher" tag.

I dunno what you were watching at Marley Park, because their Alive tour won Grammies, and it was the best gig I've ever seen. Your posts give the impression that you've no clue how to respect music.
    SteveDon wrote: »
    Have to agree, Daft Punk are crappppp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Daft Punk are brilliant and the filter French house sound is the business, some absolute quality over the years like, Dimitri From Paris too is brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 djfilthmonger

cant believe ye think Daft punk are crap?:eek:

I dunno what you were watching at Marley Park, because their Alive tour won Grammies, and it was the best gig I've ever seen. Your posts give the impression that you've no clue how to respect music.

i respect good music, daft punk havent produced anything good since homework FACT

so what if they won a grammy, coldplay won a grammy and they are really sh!t

your posts give me the impression that you like sh!t music

i respect good music, daft punk havent produced anything good since homework FACT

How is that fact? Saying fact doesn't make it fact, it's still opinion. Because I respect Daft Punk I like shit music? Nice logic.

its just as logical as........

Your posts give the impression that you've no clue how to respect music

Declaring someone as shite with no reasonable basis is quite obviously not respecting good music.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,328 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

so what if they won a grammy, coldplay won a grammy and they are really sh!t

your posts give me the impression that you like sh!t music

Declaring someone as shite with no reasonable basis is quite obviously not respecting good music.

handbags.jpg

:o

• Registered Users Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

Have to agree, Daft Punk are crappppp, I despise Justice aswell, I just hate that French sound.

Really hope dance music stays underground, the amount of posers in techno clubs these days is baffling. Asking the dj for the latest Deadmau5 number and what not. I fear further popularity will only serve to evoke more of these types of punters.

Agreed they are rubbish, I would also love dance music to stay underground, really don't want a situation where all the electro pop folk flock to the techno nights because the see it as the done thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

Oh in my opinion of course, in case anyone gets sand in their vagina and starts giving out :)

i have got reasonable basis, both discovery and human after all are not good electronic music albums, discovery is riddled with cheap cheesey 80's sounding synth pop tracks, it is nothing more then a pop album, Human after all is dull and soulless, it was like daft punk trying to be daft punk in 1997 and forgetting to inject some soul into the music, no dept or originallity just very repetitive irritating noise. daft punk rose up and fell again around the mid-ninties, they have done absolutely nothing respectful since then, now dont get me wrong homework is a fantastic album, some great really raw sounding tracks on it and the Alive 1997 mix from birmingham is great as well

• Registered Users Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭JackKelly

so much musical snobbery here. Whether "dance music" will go commercial or not isn't really the question, and hoping that it stays "underground" for the sake of belonging to a niche market is retarded.

I hate this "I listen to bands no one knows/All your DJs are shíte/It was better in the old days" attitudes that infect music fans across all genres. As long as the bands/artists/groups/Djs I like keep producing great tunes (whether they are the latest Deadmau5 tune or not) I'm happy. If millions of other people happen to like that sound all the better. There's been a massive popularization in House/Electro etc. over the last few years, and I've certainly latched onto it having not been a particular fan before hand. I don't see why that illegitimizes my opinion on it though.

• Registered Users Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Plumpynutt

i completely agree with this. i used to go to a lot of electro nights, but i just got too pissed off with the scenesters and posers and hipsters that have no love or respect or love for the music, and are only there because its the latest trend. BASTARDS!

seriously though ive started going to dnb nights and the people there are amazing. nobody cares what you wear, who you are, or your age(im a youngun'-just 18) everyone there loves the music, and are just there for the music, no posing etc.
    electronic music belongs in the underground IMO

• Registered Users Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Plumpynutt

jonny68 wrote: »
    Daft Punk are brilliant and the filter French house sound is the business, some absolute quality over the years like, Dimitri From Paris too is brilliant.

etienne de crecy:D. ****s all over justice etc imo.

as for daft punk, its not that i don't like them, they are amazing there's no denying that, im just bored of their sound. ive heard their songs so many times and their sound wears thin on my ears nowadays unfortunately. its a shame, but i just cant listen to them anymore